Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Political Categories - Thinking Beyond Concepts - cover

Political Categories - Thinking Beyond Concepts

Michael Marder

Publisher: Columbia University Press

  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Western philosophy has been dominated by the concept or the idea—the belief that there is one sovereign notion or singular principle that can make reality explicable and bring all that exists under its sway. In modern politics, this role is played by ideology. Left, right, or center, political schools of thought share a metaphysics of simplification. We internalize a dominant, largely unnoticeable framework, oblivious to complex, plural, and occasionally conflicting or mutually contradictory explanations for what is the case.In this groundbreaking work, Michael Marder proposes a new methodology for political science and philosophy, one which he terms “categorial thinking.” In contrast to the concept, no category alone can exhaust the meaning of anything: categories are so many folds, complications, respectful of multiplicity. Ranging from classical Aristotelian and Kantian philosophies to phenomenology and contemporary politics, Marder's book offers readers a theoretical toolbox for the interpretation of political phenomena, processes, institutions, and ideas. His categorial apparatus encompasses political temporality and spatiality; the revolutionary and conservative modalities of political actuality, possibility, and necessity; quantitative and qualitative approaches to the study of political reality; the meaning of political relations; and various senses of political being. Under this lens, the political appears not as a singular concept but as a family of categories, allowing room for new, plural, and often antagonistic ideas about the state, the people, sovereignty, and power.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Black Cabinet - The Untold Story of African Americans and Politics During the Age of Roosevelt - cover

    The Black Cabinet - The Untold...

    Jill Watts

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Watts’s The Black Cabinet is the first of its kind full-scale in-depth examination of Roosevelt’s Black Cabinet.The Black Cabinet traces an arc directly from Reconstruction to the Black Cabinet assembled for Theodore Roosevelt and subsequently disbanded by Taft and Wilson, past the New Deal era to the March on Washington and the Civil Rights Movement. It is a missing link in a continuous African American fight to be treated as equal citizensRoosevelt’s Black Cabinet was a diverse group made up of social scientists, legal minds, educators, politicos, and journalists who sought to get the black community’s needs on the table during the New Deal, a time when Black Americans were in even direr economic straits than whites.Because the Democratic Party of the day was so dependent on Southern white votes, Roosevelt never publicly acknowledged the Black Cabinet and only met personally with a tiny number of its members. Besides a red-baiting Senator, its name was never spoken aloud except in the black press, which has been underexploited as a source by historians. As a result Mary McLeod Bethune, a celebrity in her day, is the only one of these figures who has made it into the mainstream historical record; Watts has uncovered a rich story here.From assimilation and accommodation vs protest, #OwnVoices leadership vs working with white leadership, and down to the very basic question of whom the federal government is supposed to serve and protect, and what the unique history of and resulting challenges facing African Americans entitles them to, The Black Cabinet demonstrates that events that happened 75+ years ago share themes ripped from today’s headlines.Watts’s narrative synthesizes the story of the Black Cabinet, which at one time numbered over a hundred, into a character-driven story focusing in on five key figures, tracing them from their infancy in politics to their ascent into key powerful positions.For fans of The Warmth of Other Suns, The New Jim Crow, and The New Negro.
    Show book
  • Overcoming Bias - Building Authentic Relationships across Differences - cover

    Overcoming Bias - Building...

    Tiffany Jana, Matthew Freeman

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Control, Conquer, and Prevail! Everybody's biased. The truth is, we all harbor unconscious assumptions that can get in the way of our good intentions and keep us from building authentic relationships with people different from ourselves. Tiffany Jana and Matthew Freeman use vivid stories and fun (yes, fun!) exercises and activities to help us reflect on our personal experiences and uncover how our hidden biases are formed. By becoming more self-aware, we can control knee-jerk reactions, conquer fears of the unknown, and prevail over closed-mindedness. In the end, Jana and Freeman's central message is that you are not the problem—but you can be the solution.
    Show book