Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Dance on a Sinking Ship - cover

Dance on a Sinking Ship

Michael Kilian

Publisher: MysteriousPress.com

  • 0
  • 4
  • 0

Summary

A foreign correspondent discovers the scoop of a lifetime onboard a doomed ocean liner C. Jamieson Spencer is sipping cognac when Paris starts to burn. As Communists and Fascists battle in the streets below his hotel balcony, this world-weary foreign correspondent does not bother taking notes. He’s too busy falling in love with an enchantingly beautiful stranger. The reporter is just working up the courage to ask the woman her name when a stray bullet pierces her skull. In Paris, love comes quickly and life ends fast.   After Spencer files his story on the riots, his editor recalls him to the United States and assigns him to sail on the new luxury liner Wilhelmina, which carries some of the world’s most scandalous figures: from Prince Edward and Wallis Simpson to the Nazi-sympathizing Charles Lindbergh. As the royals play bedroom games, Spencer digs up plenty of gossip—but the real story starts when the lifeboats hit the water.

Other books that might interest you

  • Murder In Mayfair - A Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery - cover

    Murder In Mayfair - A Juliette...

    Marilyn Clay

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    MURDER IN MAYFAIR, A Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery, Book 2 by Marilyn Clay takes place in London. 
    Fresh from her terrifying fortnight at Morland Manor, eight-and-ten-year-old Miss Juliette Abbott and her friend Miss Cathleen Haworth are cataloguing Lady Carstairs' priceless artifacts in preparation to sell. But before they even approach the curiosity dealer, the handsome gentleman turns up dead! 
    With only two likely suspects and no funds to hire a Bow Street detective to investigate the crime, Juliette is left to unravel the mystery herself. Attempting to uncover who could have killed the kind gentleman, who made female hearts flutter and whom everyone declares was the most thoughtful man alive, keeps Juliette awake at night and on her toes each day. 
    Can Miss Abbott succeed without putting herself in jeopardy, or will the killer strike again before she sorts out the puzzle and brings the real killer to justice? 
    "Cleverly written with enough twists and turns to keep readers guessing! The final twist surprised even me, a voracious reader of British cozy mysteries..." Elizabeth Morrison 
    “I LOVED it! Author Marilyn Clay has penned a refreshing read from a different perspective, not the same old, same old. Marilyn Clay’s Regency-set mysteries breathe new life into the genre! Well done!!!  -A. Hall. 
    "You won't be able to put this one down!" -Hailey Stanhope 
    Look for MURDER AT MORLAND MANOR, Book 1 in the Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery Series, Book 2, MURDER IN MAYFAIR and Book 3, MURDER IN MARGATE. Coming soon Book 4, MURDER AT MEDLEY PARK. 
    Best-selling author MARILYN CLAY has written many Regency romances, all originally published in print and now as ebooks. The Wrong Miss Fairfax, Felicity’s Folly, Bewitching Lord Winterton, Miss Darby's Debut, Hyde Park Spectacle, Miss Eliza’s Gentleman Caller, Brighton Beauty, A Pretty Puzzle, The Uppity Earl, and The Unsuitable Suitor. 
    NEW! THE WRONG MISS FAIRFAX by Marilyn Clay. Emma and her look-alike cousin Jemima are as different as chalk and cheese. Unfortunately, when Lord Townsend comes to call, he loses his heart to the wrong Miss Fairfax! 
    MARILYN CLAY’s historical romantic suspense novels set in the New World in the 1600s include: DECEPTIONS: A Colonial Jamestown Novel, originally released in hardcover. Catherine travels to the New World in search of her betrothed, but what she finds in Jamestown is not at all what she expects! 
    SECRETS AND LIES also published in hardcover and recently re-released in paperback and ebook as A PETTICOAT AND LAMBSKIN GLOVES features some of the same characters who appear in DECEPTIONS. The inspirational story of four young English girls who travel to the New World on a Bride Ship, all in search of love, a new life and the adventure of a lifetime. What they find instead is that someone in Jamestown wants one, or all of them, dead! 
    BETSY ROSS: ACCIDENTAL SPY Set in 1776 Philadelphia, Betsy Ross determines to uncover who killed her beloved husband John Ross, but can she bring down the ruthless double spy before he kills her, or her sisters? 
    STALKING A KILLER, a contemporary murder mystery by Marilyn Clay. Aspiring PI Amanda Mason's first case to solve is a murder charge against her own father! But, can she trust the handsome man who has agreed to help her? 
    All of Marilyn Clay’s non-fiction titles, and many of her Regencies have become online best sellers. 
    For more information visit the Marilyn Clay Author website.
    Show book
  • The Walworth Beauty - cover

    The Walworth Beauty

    Michèle Roberts

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the Booker-shortlisted author comes a sensuous, evocative novel exploring the lives of women in Victorian London, for fans of Sarah Waters, Emma Donoghue and Kate Atkinson 
     
    2011: When Madeleine loses her job as a lecturer, she decides to leave her riverside flat in cobbled Stew Lane, where history never feels far away, and move to Apricot Place. Yet here too, in this quiet Walworth cul-de-sac, she senses the past encroaching: a shifting in the atmosphere, a current of unseen life.  
     
    1851: and Joseph Benson has been employed by Henry Mayhew to help research his articles on the working classes. A family man with mouths to feed, Joseph is tasked with coaxing testimony from prostitutes. Roaming the Southwark streets, he is tempted by brothels' promises of pleasure – and as he struggles with his assignment, he seeks answers in Apricot Place, where the enigmatic Mrs Dulcimer runs a boarding house. 
     
    As these entwined stories unfold, alive with the sensations of London past and present, the two eras brush against each other – a breath at Madeleine's neck, a voice in her head – the murmurs of ghosts echoing through time. Rendered in immediate, intoxicating prose, The Walworth Beauty is a haunting tale of desire and exploitation, isolation and loss, and the faltering search for human connection; this is Michèle Roberts at her masterful best.
    Show book
  • Danny - A Journey on the Oregon Trail - cover

    Danny - A Journey on the Oregon...

    R. S. Heller

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the spring of 1867, the country is focused on rebuilding after the Civil War. As westward emigration begins once again, two thousand miles of desolation and dust, drenching rains and blazing sun, and life and death await those brave enough to tackle the Oregon Trail.
    
    Ian OFallon, a solitary scout with a mysterious past, arrives in St. Louis on the request of his boss, Captain Tom Williams, to investigate an Irish horse breeder who wants to join his wagon train to Oregon. But everything changes when he meets the breederthe beautiful widow, Danny Seabhac, who has a dream of starting a horse farm in Oregon. As the two become acquainted, Ian begins to fall in love with her. But there is one problem: Danny has her own secreta past that may have more to do with Ian than he realizes.
    
    Danny is a story of determination and perseverance, life and death, and beginnings and endings as a wagon train embarks on a dangerous journey on the Oregon Trail with two passengers about to realize their true destinies.
    Show book
  • The White Company - cover

    The White Company

    Arthur Conan Doyle

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A historical adventure set during the Hundred Years' War. The story follows a young man as he leaves the shelter of an abbey in England and becomes involved with Edward, the Black Prince's campaign in Spain. Doyle later wrote a prequel, titled "Sir Nigel", concerning the early life of one of the heroes in this novel.
    
     
    
    “We go to France, and from thence I trust to Spain, in humble search of a field in which we may win advancement and perchance some small share of glory. For this purpose I would have you know that it is not my wont to let any occasion pass where it is in any way possible that honor may be gained. I would have you bear this in mind, and give great heed to it that you may bring me word of all cartels, challenges, wrongs, tyrannies, infamies, and wronging of damsels. Nor is any occasion too small to take note of, for I have known such trifles as the dropping of a gauntlet, or the flicking of a breadcrumb, when well and properly followed up, lead to a most noble spear-running.”
    
     
    
    - Sir Nigel, “The White Company”
    Show book
  • Dragonflies - cover

    Dragonflies

    Grant Buday

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    After ten years the Trojan War is at a deadlock. Both sides are exhausted, and Odysseus, cleverest of men, wants more than anything to return to Ithaka and his wife and son and orange grove. He aches for home, but not without a certain fear that he will return a stranger to the son he hasn't seen in ten years. When Agamemnon, King of the Greeks, asks Odysseus to devise a scheme to settle the conflict once and for all, Odysseus comes up with the idea of the great horse. No Trojan, he thinks, can resist a magnificent horse. Yet many think the idea mad. The comic and iconoclastic Odysseus will have more than his ingenuity tested before he can set sail for home. This deeply imagined and exquisitely written novel details the last days of the Trojan War. Told from Odysseus' perspective, it fleshes out the myth and mystery of one of the greatest stories in the Western canon.
    Show book
  • The Bride Price - cover

    The Bride Price

    Anne Mallory

    • 3
    • 39
    • 0
    Winner take all . . .  
    Sebastien Deville, the debauched, dangerously handsome illegitimate son of the Duke of Grandien, has waited his whole life for revenge—and suddenly it is there for the taking. A competition sponsored by the ing has all the ton talking. The winner will receive an immense fortune, a newly created title, sponsorship, and a well-born bride—everything Sebastien needs to reclaim his mother's stolen lands and to wield the colossal power itching beneath his fingertips. His victory is all but assured . . . until he meets Caroline. 
    Caroline Martin knows all about Sebastien, the legendary heartbreaker who leaves women weeping in his wake, and she is determined not to see him win the competition in which he would claim her friend as his bride. Yet sabotage is so very hard to concentrate on when the target's searing glances promise incredible pleasure and his skillful hands vow unimaginable desire. She knows the danger he presents, the temptation he offers, yet she is willing to risk everything for all she holds dear. 
    But Sebastien Deville will do anything to win . . . and Caroline's heart may become the ultimate prize.
    Show book