Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Missed Murder A - cover

Missed Murder A

Michael Jecks

Publisher: Severn House

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

When Jack Blackjack disobeys the orders of his spymaster, he enters dangerous waters in this lively Tudor mystery. London, 1555.  Queen Mary is newly married to Philip II of Spain – and not everyone is happy about the alliance. The kingdom is divided between those loyal to Catholic Mary and those who support her half-sister, Lady Elizabeth.Former cutpurse turned paid assassin Jack Blackjack has more immediate matters to worry about. Having been ordered to kill a man, he determines to save him instead. But Jack defies his spymaster at his peril … and even the best-laid plans can sometimes go awry. When it appears that Jack has killed the wrong man, he reluctantly finds himself drawn into affairs of state, making new enemies wherever he turns. Can he survive long enough to put matters right? This engaging Tudor mystery will appeal to fans of S J PARRIS and RORY CLEMENTS.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Day She Died - cover

    The Day She Died

    S. M. Freedman

    • 4
    • 19
    • 1
    A mind-bending psychological thriller that's The Girl on the Train meets The Silent Patient with a tragic, whimsical tone
    Told in alternating chapters of Eve’s unreliable, murky memories, and flashbacks of her childhood birthdays and that of her dead friend, the picture of Eve’s dark, twisted past begins to form, leaving the reader guessing until the very end
    Central questions around what is real and what is imagined and what makes something “real” or “fake”
    Author's debut novel was selected by Suspense Magazine as one of the "Best Books of 2015" in the Debut Author category
    Author is a former private investigator
    Show book
  • Borrowed Time - cover

    Borrowed Time

    David Mark

    • 1
    • 8
    • 0
    Adam Nunn's search for his true identity has horrifying consequences in this compelling psychological thriller.
    
    
    
    A badly mutilated body has been discovered in a remote woodland pond on the Essex borders – a location known to be the haunt of the ruthless crime gang that ruled London in the 70s. When one of the victim's hands is found nearby, forensic tests reveal a number scrawled on the palm. It is quickly identified as the National Insurance number of struggling family man Adam Nunn.
    
    
    
    As Adam is arrested in connection with the murder, it emerges that the dead man was a private investigator he had hired to find out the identity of his birth parents. Just what did Larry Paris discover that got him killed?
    
    
    
    As Adam seeks the truth surrounding his origins and promises justice for the mother he never knew, he is drawn into a lurid criminal world of violence and violation, reprisal and merciless death.  Torn between the man he wants to be and the man he fears becoming, Adam's investigations will lead him ever deeper into darkness.
    Show book
  • Murder in the Manor (A Lacey Doyle Cozy Mystery—Book 1) - cover

    Murder in the Manor (A Lacey...

    Fiona Grace

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    MURDER IN THE MANOR (A LACEY DOYLE COZY MYSTERY—BOOK 1) is the debut novel in a charming new cozy mystery series by Fiona Grace. 
    
    Lacey Doyle, 39 years old and freshly divorced, needs a drastic change. She needs to quit her job, leave her horrendous boss and New York City, and walk away from the fast life. Making good on her childhood promise to herself, she decides to walk away from it all, and to relive a beloved childhood vacation in the quaint English seaside town of Wilfordshire.
    
    Wilfordshire is exactly as Lacey remembers it, with its ageless architecture, cobblestone streets, and with nature at its doorstep. Lacey doesn’t want to go back home—and spontaneously, she decides to stay, and to give her childhood dream a try: she will open her own antique shop.
    
    Lacey finally feels that her life is taking a step in the right direction—until her new star customer turns up dead.
    
    As the newcomer in town, all eyes are on Lacey, and it’s up to her to clear her own name.
    
    With a business to run, a next-door neighbor turned nemesis, a flirty baker across the street, and a crime to solve – is this new life all that Lacey thought it would be?
    
    Book #2 in the series—DEATH AND A DOG—is also available for preorder!
    Show book
  • Three Bodies by the River - cover

    Three Bodies by the River

    John Kralik

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
     Sam Straight wants to be a good lawyer. Instead he finds himself disillusioned in 1990s LA, daydreaming in court of the gentle savior he wants to be, and drinking away his frustrations at night in his office. But he is violently shaken from the despairing emptiness of his life one evening when an intruder at the law firm brutally stabs him and his partner. 
    With his partner on the brink of death, Sam discovers that he is the LAPD's most likely suspect. But the answer to the mystery attacker might lie with the law firm's prized new client, an eighteen-year-old dot-com entrepreneur known as "the Kid." Is the Kid a money launderer? An inspirational religious leader? A sexual predator? 
    Sam struggles to stay out of prison as he makes his way through an apocalyptic LA landscape of bombings, fires, and organized crime to a fateful encounter with three bodies on the concrete banks of the LA River. His only hope is a first-year associate with an athlete's body but an unproven legal mind. Can he maintain his integrity while exposing depravity in his own client? But more importantly, will he even survive?
    Show book
  • Every City Is Every Other City - A Gordon Stewart Mystery - cover

    Every City Is Every Other City -...

    John McFetridge

    • 0
    • 3
    • 1
    Behind the scenes, nothing is what it seems.
    		 
    Gord Stewart, 40 years old, single, moved back into his sub­urban childhood home to care for his widowed father. But his father no longer needs care and Gord is stuck in limbo. He’s been working in the movie business as a location scout for years, and when there isn’t much filming, as a private eye for a security company run by ex-cops, OBC. When a fellow crew member asks him to find her missing uncle, Gord reluctantly takes the job. The police say the uncle walked into some dense woods in Northern Ontario and shot himself, but the man’s wife thinks he’s still alive.
    		 
    With the help of his movie business and OBC connections, Gord finds a little evidence that the uncle may be alive. Now Gord has two problems: what to do when he finds a man who doesn’t want to be found, and admitting that he’s getting invested in this job. For the first time in his life, Gord Stewart is going to have to leave the sidelines and get into the game. Even if it might get him killed.
    Show book
  • Del Rio - A Novel - cover

    Del Rio - A Novel

    Jane Rosenthal

    • 1
    • 3
    • 1
    Del Rio, California, a once-thriving Central Valley farm town, is now filled with run-down Dollar Stores, llanterias, carnicerias, and shabby mini-marts that sell one-way bus tickets straight to Tijuana on the Flecha Amarilla line. It’s a place you drive through with windows up and doors locked, especially at night—a place the locals call Cartel Country. While it’s no longer the California of postcards, for local District Attorney Callie McCall, her dying hometown is the perfect place to launch a political career and try to make a difference.But when the dismembered body of a migrant teen is found in one of Del Rio’s surrounding citrus groves, Callie faces a career make-or-break case that takes her on a dangerous journey down the violent west coast of Mexico, to a tropical paradise hiding a terrible secret, and finally back home again, where her determination to find the killer pits her against the wealthiest, most politically connected, most ruthless farming family in California: her own.
    Show book