Reading without limits, the perfect plan for #stayhome
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Gone - cover

Gone

Michael Grant

Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books

  • 4
  • 93
  • 0

Summary

The first in New York Times bestselling author Michael Grant's breathtaking dystopian sci-fi saga, Gone is a page-turning thriller that invokes the classic The Lord of the Flies along with the horror of Stephen King. 
In the blink of an eye, everyone disappears. Gone. Except for the young. There are teens, but not one single adult. Just as suddenly, there are no phones, no internet, no television. No way to get help. And no way to figure out what's happened. 
Hunger threatens. Bullies rule. A sinister creature lurks. Animals are mutating. And the teens themselves are changing, developing new talents—unimaginable, dangerous, deadly powers—that grow stronger by the day. 
It's a terrifying new world. Sides are being chosen, a fight is shaping up. Townies against rich kids. Bullies against the weak. Powerful against powerless. And time is running out: on your birthday, you disappear just like everyone else. . . . 
Michael Grant's Gone has been praised for its compelling storytelling, multidimensional characters, and multiple points of view.

Other books that might interest you

  • Tally la niña tigre - 0 - cover

    Tally la niña tigre - 0

    Libby Scott

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    UNA DE LAS HISTORIAS MÁS TIERNAS Y HONESTAS DEL AÑO
     
    «Hace un tiempo que escondo un pedazo de mí. Es difícil mostrar aquellas cosas por las que los demás me hacen sentir incómoda.»
     
    Tally es autista, pero lo esconde tanto como puede. Sabe lo incómoda que se siente la gente a su alrededor: no entienden el autismo. No la entienden a ella. Al enmascarar su autismo, Tally está ocultando su verdadero yo. Pero cuando tu verdadero yo es valiente y maravilloso, no puede permanecer escondido para siempre. 
    Con potentes entradas de diario escritas por Libby Scott, de 11 años, basadas en su propia experiencia viviendo con autismo, Tally, la niña tigre es una novela auténtica y poderosa que cambiará tu forma de ver el mundo.
    Show book
  • Beyond - cover

    Beyond

    Georgia Springate

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    What happens when we die? Is this really all there is? What exists beyond this life?Alex Duncan is just an ordinary 14 year old boy. His main worries are homework, girls, the school bully......and his sister, Jenna who has ovarian cancer, stage B. As his parents retreat into themselves, Alex is desperate to find a way to help, a way to make things better for his sister. After all, it’s the not knowing that’s the worst thing.Whilst he tries to untangle the ultimate question, life still goes on: his best friend seems oblivious to his feelings about her, the school bully has taken a special interest in him, and everything he does just makes him feel more and more awkward and out of place.What Alex learns on his journey helps him to come to terms with not only his sister's mortality but also how he and his family and friends cope with that most compelling of questions: what lies beyond?Georgia Springate’s debut novel, Beyond, is a touchingly compelling and uplifting coming-of-age story about love, loss and discovery. Get it today, and take an emotional journey through one boy’s quest to understand that most tricky of questions: what lies beyond this life?
    Show book
  • Coco & Mumu - Big Brain Adventure - cover

    Coco & Mumu - Big Brain Adventure

    Carina Castro Fumero

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Blast off with Coco and Mumu as they travel through space in their cardboard rocket ship, learning lessons from every planet they visit! The friends meet turtles, bulls, hippos, gorillas, and brains on their interplanetary search for playmates.
     
    With English and Spanish text side-by-side, this easy-to-follow adventure book will help children strengthen their language skills while learning important lessons about how to live a healthy, happy life.
     
    In Coco & Mumu: Big Brain Adventure, author Carina Castro Fumero, pediatric neuropsychology expert, integrates the seven secrets science has revealed about how to have a healthy brain. Filled with vibrant illustrations, kid-friendly adventures, lessons about perseverance, tolerance, and inclusion, and health secrets backed by science, Coco & Mumu: Big Brain Adventure will delight children and parents alike.
    Show book
  • Hate That Cat - A Novel - cover

    Hate That Cat - A Novel

    Sharon Creech

    • 6
    • 58
    • 0
    Return to Miss Stretchberry's class with Jack, the reluctant poet, who over the course of a year encounters new and challenging things like metaphors, alliterations, onomatopoeia, and one mean fat black cat! 
    The Newbery Medal-winning author of Walk Two Moons, Sharon Creech, introduced Jack in Love That Dog, a New York Times bestseller. Both Love That Dog and Hate That Cat are approachable, funny, warm-hearted introductions to poetry told from the point of view of a very real kid wrestling with school assignments. 
    These books are fast reads that will be welcomed by middle graders as they too wonder how poetry and schoolwork connect with their interests and how to uncover their true voices. 
    In Hate That Cat, Jack is only trying to save that fat black cat stuck in the tree by his bus stop—but the cat scratches him instead! At school Miss Stretchberry begins teaching new poems, everything from William Carlos Williams to Valerie Worth to T.S. Eliot. 
    As the year progresses, Jack gradually learns to love that cat and finds new ways to express himself.
    Show book
  • Body Swap - cover

    Body Swap

    Sylvia McNicoll

    • 2
    • 15
    • 0
    A darkly comic YA story, where the generation gap challenges the two protagonists, told with morbid humour
    Focuses on empathy between two very different characters forced to trade lives
    A strong theme of corporate responsibility and justice
    Author has written over thirty novels, including Silver Birch Award–winner Bringing Up Beauty
    Author's recent children's title The Best Mistake Mystery sold over 3,200 copies in the US and Canada
    Show book
  • Touchdown Kid - cover

    Touchdown Kid

    Tim Green

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    From New York Times bestselling author and former NFL defensive end Tim Green comes a football story about a boy who is given a chance to prove that wealth and privilege don’t matter on the football field, as long as he has the skills to compete. Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica! 
    Cory has always been passionate about football. But life for him and his single mom has been hard, making it difficult for Cory to play. And though Cory is a good kid, he’s constantly surrounded by negative influences. But when the coach from an elite private school with one of the best football programs in the country recognizes his talents on the field, Cory is presented with an unbelievable opportunity. 
    Cory knows that football could be his ticket out. But leaving to attend private school also means struggling to fit into a world where most people look at him and just see a scholarship kid from the wrong side of town. Cory knows that if he can fight hard enough—both on and off the field—he may be able to secure a bright future that looks different from his unpromising past.
    Show book