Today could be the day that you start a whole year of unlimited reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Dragon Teeth - A Novel - cover

Dragon Teeth - A Novel

Michael Crichton

Publisher: Harper

  • 1
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

Michael Crichton, the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Jurassic Park, returns to the world of paleontology in this recently discovered novel—a thrilling adventure set in the Wild West during the golden age of fossil hunting. 
The year is 1876. Warring Indian tribes still populate America’s western territories even as lawless gold-rush towns begin to mark the landscape. In much of the country it is still illegal to espouse evolution. Against this backdrop two monomaniacal paleontologists pillage the Wild West, hunting for dinosaur fossils, while surveilling, deceiving and sabotaging each other in a rivalry that will come to be known as the Bone Wars. 
Into this treacherous territory plunges the arrogant and entitled William Johnson, a Yale student with more privilege than sense. Determined to survive a summer in the west to win a bet against his arch-rival, William has joined world-renowned paleontologist Othniel Charles Marsh on his latest expedition.  But when the paranoid and secretive Marsh becomes convinced that William is spying for his nemesis, Edwin Drinker Cope, he abandons him in Cheyenne, Wyoming, a locus of crime and vice. William is forced to join forces with Cope and soon stumbles upon a discovery of historic proportions.  With this extraordinary treasure, however, comes exceptional danger, and William’s newfound resilience will be tested in his struggle to protect his cache, which pits him against some of the West’s most notorious characters. 
A page-turner that draws on both meticulously researched history and an exuberant imagination, Dragon Teeth is based on the rivalry between real-life paleontologists Cope and Marsh; in William Johnson readers will find an inspiring hero only Michael Crichton could have imagined. Perfectly paced and brilliantly plotted, this enormously winning adventure is destined to become another Crichton classic. 

Other books that might interest you

  • All the Broken People - cover

    All the Broken People

    Amy Rivers

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Alice Bennett knows what it means to suffer. After burying her abusive childhood and reinventing herself, Alice is living a life she never imagined could be hers. She’s married to a perfect Southern gentleman. She has a challenging job she loves—writing for a woman’s magazine. But when her past comes back with a vengeance, Alice finds herself on the outs with her husband, her perfect life crumbling around her feet.  
    Desperate to get things back to where they were, Alice travels to the mountains of North Georgia to care for her mother-in-law who was injured in a bad fall. Her motives aren’t purely altruistic; she’s hoping to get back into her husband’s good graces. When she arrives, Alice discovers that the fall was no accident. Alice must battle her own inner demons as she uncovers the not-so-perfect truth of her husband’s past. Ugly family secrets and devious attacks from an unknown assailant threaten to kill more than just Alice’s dreams. 
    A dark journey into the Georgia mountains where kudzu covers the landscape and a grudge can last generations. All the Broken People will leave you questioning who the good guys really are or whether they exist at all. 
    Show book
  • The Ways of the World - A James Maxted Thriller - cover

    The Ways of the World - A James...

    Robert Goddard

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the Edgar Award-winning, internationally bestselling British writer Robert Goddard comes a captivating new trilogy of historical thrillers, set at the tail end of World War I and featuring the devilishly charismatic James “Max” Maxted, a Royal Flying Corps veteran who has a hard time keeping himself out of trouble.Four years of horrific fighting have finally ended on the battlefield, but in the spring of 1919, Paris is filled with delegates from around the world who are still trying to hammer out the terms of peace. One such delegate is British diplomat Sir Henry Maxted, in charge of liaising with the Brazilians regarding seized ships. But before a deal is reached, Sir Henry turns up dead outside a Montparnasse apartment building, apparently having fallen from the roof. His sons Max and Ashley are sent to Paris to collect the body, and it quickly becomes clear that the theory the French police have put forward is flawed. But since the murder of a diplomat could be disastrous for the peace conference, no one is keen to ask questions—except Max.What begins as an innocent inquiry into his father’s death soon leads Max into a dangerous world of secret allegiances, international espionage, and people double-crossing each other at the highest levels of government. How far is he willing to go to discover the truth about the death of a father he barely knew? And how much will the authorities—and others—let him find out before threatening Max’s own life?
    Show book
  • Playing with Fire - A 1960s British mystery - cover

    Playing with Fire - A 1960s...

    Patricia L Hall

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The death of a young girl leads Detective Sergeant Harry Barnard and Kate O’Donnell into a hotbed of simmering tensions, violence and threats in sixties’ Soho. London, 1964. At three a.m. on a chilly autumn morning, Detective Sergeant Harry Barnard is called to a club in Greek Street where a young girl has fallen to her death from a top-floor window. A new breed of fans is flocking to Soho's rock and roll haunts. But was it a tragic accident, or something more sinister?Meanwhile, Kate O’Donnell, Harry’s photographer girlfriend, receives a call from her Liverpudlian ex, Dave Donovan, pleading for her help. His new squeeze, Bernie Collins, set off for London in the hope of getting a recording contract, but she’s not answering her phone. Where is she?With simmering tensions, intimidation and terror rife on Soho’s streets, Harry and Kate are drawn into its dark underbelly in their attempts to find answers.
    Show book
  • The Executive Series (Omnibus Edition) - cover

    The Executive Series (Omnibus...

    Gary Grossman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “Get ready to lose yourself in a hell of a story.” —Michael Palmer, New York Times bestselling author of Oath of Office   For Secret Service Agent Scott Roarke, every day is a ticking clock. In these three edge-of-your-seat thrillers, Roarke has the lives of the American people in his hands every day, from the leader of the free world on down, and every page brings him, and us, closer to annihilation. Perfect for fans of Brad Thor and David Baldacci, this bundle of political conspiracy thrillers pits a brilliant agent against an ruthless enemy, and will keep you turning pages to each jaw-dropping conclusion.
    Show book
  • Red Hand of Fury The - A pre-World War One historical mystery - cover

    Red Hand of Fury The - A...

    R.N. Morris

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    A series of bizarre suicides leads Detective Inspector Silas Quinn to revisit his own troubled past … June, 1914.  A young man is mauled to death by a polar bear at London Zoo. Shortly afterwards, another young man leaps to his death from a notorious Suicide Bridge. Two seemingly unconnected deaths – and yet there are similarities.Following a third attempted suicide, DI Silas Quinn knows he must uncover the link between the three men if he is to discover what caused them to take their own lives. The one tangible piece of evidence is a card found in each of the victims’ possession, depicting a crudely-drawn red hand. What does it signify? To find the answers, Quinn must revisit his own dark past. But can he keep his sanity in the process?
    Show book
  • The Savages - cover

    The Savages

    Peter Hill

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The
    Savages (A
    Murder Thriller)
    
     
     
    
     
    ‘This is a taut, handsome job, beautifully written, full of
    real characters and acute observations.’
    
     
    The New York Times
    
     
     
    
     
     
    
     
    When Colonel Bannister-Coates, an experienced Intelligence
    officer, fails to return to his Oxfordshire village home and his immaculate
    clothes are discovered dressing a scarecrow in a roadside field, there is a
    flurry of anxious activity in Whitehall.
    
     
     
    
     
    Detective Superintendent Staunton and his urbane Detective
    Inspector, Leo Wyndsor, are under pressure to discover if this is defection or
    assassination, or if there is some other, less obvious, answer.
    
     
     
    
     
    Despite local obstruction and sparse, enigmatic clues, and
    without the benefit of the more sophisticated aids to detection that are
    available now, a pattern gradually emerges, leading the detectives to a climax
    as intriguing and hazardous as any found in the earlier highly praised Staunton
    and Wyndsor novels.
    
     
     
    
     
     
    
     
    The
    Savages is the fourth in a series of classic police procedural
    murder mysteries set in the 1970s.
    
     
     
    
     
    These books were previously published worldwide, by major
    publishing houses, in hard and paperback editions and are now available as
    eBooks. 
    
     
    The Hunters is the first in The Staunton and Wyndsor Series
    which introduced the two memorable detectives, followed by The Liars and The
    Enthusiast. They are set in various locations in Britain. 
     
    
     
    Each novel is a stand-alone story, with the same two detectives
    as the major protagonists. 
    
     
    Press
    comments on the other Staunton and Wyndsor
    books
    
     
    ‘Exceptionally well told, with
    satisfying outcome.’
    
     
    Columbus
    Sunday Dispatch
    
     
    
    
     
     ‘Peter Hill does a fine job with character, plot, atmosphere
    and suspense.’
    
     
    Publishers
    Weekly
    
     
    
    
     
    ‘To follow… the brilliantly inspired tracking of Hill’s two
    detectives is a joy, apart from the brain
    teasing pleasure of accepting the author’s challenge to identify the
    murderer.’
    
     
    London
    Evening News
    
     
    
    
     
    ‘A tremendous piece of fast-moving fiction. Not one word
    wasted, the story starts and ends with a bang.’
    
     
    Coventry
    Evening Telegraph
    
     
     
    
     
     ‘I’d like to see Messrs. Staunton and Wyndsor in more books. They’re a lot of fun—and
    they’re good detectives.’
    
     
    Daily
    Press, Newport News, Virginia
    
     
     
    
     
     ‘A really good thriller writer.’
    
     
    The
    Daily Telegraph
    
     
    
    
     
     ‘Taut, sharp, fast-moving…’
    
     
    Manchester
    Evening News
    
     
     
    
     
    ‘A really first-class who-dunnit.’
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
     
    Essex
    Chronicle
    
     
     
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
    
     
     
    
     
     
    
     
     
    
     
        
    
     
    
    
     
    
    
     
     
    Show book