Slay dragons. Discover the killer. Make Love. Read without limits. #WorldBookDay offer until April 28!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Boy Toy - cover

Boy Toy

Michael Craft

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 1
  • 8
  • 0

Summary

Journalist Mark Manning’s Midwestern hometown closes ranks against him when his nephew is suspected of murder For Mark Manning, running the local paper in his Wisconsin hometown is a refreshing change from his life as a hard-charging reporter for the Chicago Journal. Together with his partner, architect Neil Waite, he’s settling into scenic, sleepy Dumont, whose inhabitants have welcomed them into their fold. Until Manning’s nephew becomes the prime suspect in a murder case. Teenagers Thad Quatrain and Jason Thrush alternated the lead role in the community theatre’s production of Teen Play. Now Jason lies dead in his bedroom, the victim of mushroom poisoning. Amid rumors that Thad threatened to kill Jason, the town begins to turn against him. As a sweltering summer draws to an end, a shocking revelation has tempers seething—and threatening to boil over. A novel about sexual identity, desire, and the lies we tell ourselves, Boy Toy explores the secret passions that war within the human heart. Boy Toy is the fifth book in Michael Craft’s Mark Manning series, which begins with Flight Dreams and Eye Contact.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Girl on the Bridge - A McCabe and Savage Thriller - cover

    The Girl on the Bridge - A...

    James Hayman

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    From New York Times bestselling author of the acclaimed McCabe and Savage series comes an electrifying new thriller of taut and twisted suspense. 
    On a freezing December night, Hannah Reindel leaps to her death from an old railway bridge into the rushing waters of the river below. Yet the real cause of death was trauma suffered twelve years earlier when Hannah was plucked from a crowd of freshman girls at a college fraternity party, drugged, and then viciously assaulted by six members of the college football team.  
    Those responsible have never faced or feared justice. Until now. A month after Hannah’s death, Joshua Thorne—former Holden College quarterback and now a Wall Street millionaire—is found murdered, his body bound to a bed and brutally mutilated.  
    When a second attacker dies in mysterious circumstances, detectives Mike McCabe and Maggie Savage know they must find the killer before more of Hannah’s attackers are executed. But they soon realize, these murders may not be simple acts of revenge, but something far more sinister.  
    The Girl on the Bridge is a compelling and harrowing tale of suspense that once read will not easily be forgotten.   
      
      
      
      
     
    Show book
  • No Mardi Gras for the Dead - cover

    No Mardi Gras for the Dead

    D.J. Donaldson

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    A medical examiner and a psychologist once again make a “formidable team” in this mystery set in colorful New Orleans (The Washington Times).   Criminal psychologist Kit Franklyn feels like she’s been spinning her wheels in both life and career. She gets a lift from her malaise when she moves into a new home with a garden—and then a jolt when, in that garden, she discovers human remains.   Along with the unconventional and ever-cheerful chief medical examiner Andy Broussard, Franklyn sets out to close a case that’s well beyond cold. They identify the body as a streetwalker who vanished almost thirty years ago. But her death may be connected to a pair of recent killings . . . and a murderer who’s out to bury the past for good.   With an irresistible Big Easy attitude and a hard-to-crack mystery, “Donaldson’s genre gumbo keeps you coming back for more” (Booklist).   “Likable, modern protagonists, abundant forensic lore and vivid depictions of colorful New Orleans and its denizens.” —Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • The Miniaturist - A Novel - cover

    The Miniaturist - A Novel

    Jessie Burton

    • 3
    • 4
    • 0
    Now a television miniseries, as seen on Masterpiece on PBS 
    Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam—a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion—a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant. 
    ”There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed . . .“ 
    On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office—leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin. 
    But Nella’s world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist—an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways . . . 
    Johannes’ gift helps Nella to pierce the closed world of the Brandt household. But as she uncovers its unusual secrets, she begins to understand—and fear—the escalating dangers that await them all. In this repressively pious society where gold is worshipped second only to God, to be different is a threat to the moral fabric of society, and not even a man as rich as Johannes is safe. Only one person seems to see the fate that awaits them. Is the miniaturist the key to their salvation . . . or the architect of their destruction? 
    Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth.
    Show book
  • The Doomsday Key - A Sigma Force Novel - cover

    The Doomsday Key - A Sigma Force...

    James Rollins

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    “James Rollins knows adventure.” 
    —Chicago Sun Times 
    With The Doomsday Key—the latest Sigma Force blockbuster from New York Times bestselling author James Rollins—the critically acclaimed thrill-master continues to dazzle with an electrifying combination of history, religion, science, and adventure. The hero of Map of Bones, The Black Order, and other exceptional Rollins roller-coaster rides, Commander Pierce returns to solve a centuries-old secret, one coded in prophecies of doom—in a story that fans of Michael Crichton, Douglas Preston, and Indiana Jones will not be able to put down!
    Show book
  • Dismissed with Prejudice - A JP Beaumont Novel - cover

    Dismissed with Prejudice - A JP...

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Top ten New York Times bestselling author J.A. Jance′s classic tale of suspense featuring Seattle detective J.P. Beaumont and his desperate race to track down a twisted killer. 
     Japanese businessman Tadeo Kurobashi had many passions, including computers, poetry, money, and Samurai lore. So his suicide method of choice would naturally be the ancient art of seppuku - what the uninitiated call ⧡ra-kiri.⟂ut despite the bloody Samurai sword Kurobashi clutches tightly in his lifeless hand, Seattle detective J.P. Beaumont senses the dead software magnate played a less active role in his own demise. Because glaring errors have been made in the time-honoured Asian death ritual - which has Beau looking for someone with a less traditional passion䥯r cold-blooded homicide.
    Show book
  • Strange Tombs - An Essex Witch Museum Mystery - cover

    Strange Tombs - An Essex Witch...

    Syd Moore

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Halloween in Essex, and things are going well for the writers on the Mystery and Suspense course at old Ratchette Hall. Things however take a turn for the downright nasty when early on All Saints Day the course administrator is discovered dead in the hall. Lips drawn back, eyes wide open, his face a mask of utter terror, it looks to all intents and purposes that Graham has been scared to death. When he is found to be clutching a cold stone finger the writers are thrown into confusion and fear, convinced the long dead knights have claimed his soul.
    
    But how could the marble effigies have come back to life on Halloween? And why would anyone, dead or alive, want to kill mild-mannered Graham?
    
    There is only one way to get to the bottom of the mystery and the Essex Witch Museum investigators are quickly drafted in.
    
    Very soon, however, Rosie and Sam realise not everything, and everyone are what they seem at Ratchette Hall, appearances can be deceiving, someone certainly has a grudge.  As their investigation progresses they find more questions than answers:  who is making the unearthly howling noises late into the night? What is the strange glimmering glimpsed in the woods about the Hall? Why is one of the church crusaders missing a finger? And what of the enigma of the ancient empty tomb?
    
    When another one of the writers turns up dead Rosie and Sam realise strange forces are at play. The pair must use their experience of folklore, mystery and magic as well as their wits to solve the mystery before the body count grows.
    Show book