Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Maps and Legends - Reading and Writing Along the Borderlands - cover

Maps and Legends - Reading and Writing Along the Borderlands

Michael Chabon

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

In these lively critical and personal essays, Chabon asserts his literary manifesto: “I read for entertainment, and I write to entertain. Period.”This collection of sixteen essays champions the cause of sci-fi and westerns, superheroes and horror shows, gumshoes and goblins—all the genre novels, comics, and pulp fiction that get pushed aside when literary discussion turns serious. For Chabon, the stories that give us great pleasure are in many ways our truest, best art—the building blocks of our shared imagination. Whether he’s taking up Superman or Sherlock Holmes, Poe or Proust, Chabon’s emphatic mission is to explore the reasons we tell each other tales, and to offer a glimpse of his own history as reader and writer. This ebook features a biography of the author.

Who read this book also read:

  • Beloved Demons - Confessions of an Unquiet Mind - cover

    Beloved Demons - Confessions of...

    C. Anthony Martignetti

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In his follow-up to Lunatic Heroes, Martignetti sheds all defenses to reveal the viscera of a mind shaped by the dark and confusing forces of his childhood. This collection of memoirs and essays focuses mainly on Martignetti's adult years, and features the pivotal characters of his ever-entertaining personal narrative. From the cascade of memories and emotions triggered by an accidental butterfly killing in "Cocoon Talk," to the homicidal impulses prompted by a visit to his boyhood home in "Sign," from the heartbreaking to the hilarious musings inspired by beloved pets in "Mochajava" and "Dog," and throughout the uncensored sexcapades of "Mad," "The Wild," and "Feast of the Hungry Ghost," Martignetti's colloquial, humorous, and intimate style will keep you riveted, crack you open, enthrall and embrace you with an honesty normally reserved for not even the closest of friends.
    Show book
  • 15 Minutes: All in the Reality Family: RuPaul Honey Boo Boo Kim Kardashian Sharon Osbourne & Kris Jenner Vol 1 #1 - cover

    15 Minutes: All in the Reality...

    Troy Michael

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    "15 Minutes" is a brand new series brought to you by Bluewater Productions that will focus on reality stars. These celebrities, for better or for worse, have grabbed onto the attention of millions of people around the world. This special edition features the biographies of the 1st ladies of reality television, RuPaul, Honey Boo Boo, Kim Kardashian, Sharon Osbourne & Kris Jenner.
    Show book
  • Summary of A Mother's Reckoning - by Sue Klebold | Includes Analysis - cover

    Summary of A Mother's Reckoning...

    . Instaread

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Summary of A Mother’s Reckoning by Sue Klebold | Includes Analysis
     
     
     
    Preview:
     
    In her memoir A Mother’s Reckoning, Sue Klebold struggles
     
    to come to terms with her son Dylan’s role in the infamous
     
    Columbine High School shooting. Writing 16 years after the
     
    shooting, she reflects on when and where things went wrong
     
    for Dylan—and how she and her husband, who were loving
     
    parents, could have missed the warning signs.
     
    Klebold’s story begins with the voicemail that changed
     
    her life. At lunchtime on April 20, 1999, in her office in
     
    Littleton, Colorado, she listened to a cryptic message from
     
    her husband, Tom. Though she intuited that something
     
    had happened to one of their two children, she had no
     
    way of knowing that Dylan was already a murderer.
     
     
     
    Returning Tom’s call, she had what would be the
     
    first of many vague and unsatisfying conversations that
     
    day. Her husband knew there had been a shooting at
     
    Columbine, Dylan’s high school, but little else...
     
     
     
     
     
     
     
    PLEASE NOTE: This is summary and analysis of the book and NOT the original book.
     
     
     
    Inside this Instaread Summary of A Mother’s Reckoning:
     
     
     
    Summary of the book
     
    Important People
     
    Character Analysis
     
    Analysis of the Themes and Author’s Style
     
     
     
    About the Author
     
    With Instaread, you can get the key takeaways, summary and analysis of a book in 15 minutes. We read every chapter, identify the key takeaways and analyze them for your convenience.
    Show book
  • Can't Forgive - My 20-Year Battle with OJ Simpson - cover

    Can't Forgive - My 20-Year...

    Kim Goldman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Don’t tell her she needs to find closure. Don’t ask her to forgive and forget.When Kim was just 22, her older brother, Ron Goldman, was brutally killed by O.J. Simpson. Ron and Kim were very close, and her devastation was compounded by the shocking not guilty verdict that allowed a smirking Simpson to leave as a free man.It wasn’t Kim’s first trauma. Her parents divorced when she was young, and she and Ron were raised by their father.  Her mother kidnapped her, telling her that her father didn’t love her any more. When she was 14, she was almost blinded from severe battery acid burns on her face during an automobile accident, requiring three reconstructive surgeries.But none of these early traumas compared to the loss of her brother, the painful knowledge that his killer was free, and fact that she could not even grieve privately—her grief was made painfully public. Counseled by friends, strangers, and even Oprah to “find closure,” Kim chose a different route. She chose to fight.Repeatedly, Kim and her family pursued Simpson by every legal means. Foiled over and over again, they ultimately achieved a small measure of justice.Kim’s story is one of tragedy, but also of humanity and, often, comedy. Living life as one of America’s most famous “victims” isn’t always easy, especially as a single mother in the dating market. She often had bizarre first date experiences, with one man even breaking down into tears and inconsolable with grief after realizing who she was.Ultimately Kim’s story is that of an ordinary person thrown into extraordinary circumstances at a very young age, and who had the courage—despite the discouragement of so many—to ignore the conventional wisdom and never give up her fight for justice.
    Show book
  • The Good Nurse - A True Story of Medicine Madness and Murder - cover

    The Good Nurse - A True Story of...

    Charles Graeber

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    '...aside from the murders , Charles Cullen might have been a pretty good nurse...'The true story of the most prolific serial killer in US history, The Good Nurse is 'a stunning book... that should and does bring to mind In Cold Blood' New York TimesAfter his December 2003 arrest, registered nurse Charlie Cullen was quickly dubbed 'The Angel of Death' by the media. But Cullen was no mercy killer, nor was he a simple monster. He was a favourite son, husband, beloved father, best friend, and celebrated caregiver. Implicated in the deaths of as many as 300 patients, he was also perhaps the most prolific serial killer in American history. Cullen's murderous career in the world's most trusted profession spanned sixteen years and nine hospitals across New Jersey and Pennsylvania.  
     Investigative journalist Charles Graeber's portrait of Cullen depicts a surprisingly intelligent and complicated young man whose promising career was overwhelmed by his compulsion to kill, and whose shy demeanor masked a twisted interior life hidden even to his family and friends. Were it not for the hardboiled, unrelenting work of two former Newark homicide detectives racing to put together the pieces of Cullen's professional past, and a fellow nurse willing to put everything at risk, including her job and the safety of her children, there's no telling how many more lives could have been lost. 
     In the tradition of In Cold Blood, The Good Nurse does more than chronicle Cullen's deadly career and the breathless efforts to stop him; it paints an incredibly vivid portrait of madness and offers an urgent, terrifying tale of murder, friendship and betrayal.
    Show book
  • Mustaine - A Heavy Metal Memoir - cover

    Mustaine - A Heavy Metal Memoir

    Dave Mustaine, Joe Layden

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From his early, crazy days as a founding member of Metallica, Dave Mustaine has seen and experienced everything in the world of rock n’ roll. From his young triumphs and ignominious ouster from the band for his hard-partying ways to his later rule over Megadeth, one of the most successful heavy metal bands of all time, Mustaine tells it all. Outrageously candid and in-your-face, this is classic rock memoir in the vein of Slash, Motley Crue: The Dirt, and Sound of the Beast—an insider’s look at the loud and sordid world of heavy metal.
    Show book