Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Untimely Deaths of Alex Wayfare - cover

The Untimely Deaths of Alex Wayfare

M.G. Buehrlen

Publisher: Diversion Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Time travel, adventure, and romance come together in the dramatic sequel to The 57 Lives of Alex Wayfare. Alex Wayfare is back in Base Life. Her 57th life. She’s in Chicago searching for Blue, who travels with her whenever she goes back in time. She’s never met him in Base Life, but she’s hoping he’ll remember her in the present, and that he’ll want to be with her like he does in the past. Their romance is put on hold when she’s attacked by henchmen working for Durham Gesh, who wants to harness her abilities for his own ugly purposes. But that threat seems insignificant when she returns home to face her younger sister’s deteriorating health. Researching every possible remedy, from ancient herbs to forgotten medical advancements, Alex seeks a cure for her sister’s cancer in the past. The journeys are never simple. From the countryside of eighteenth-century China to a top-secret research lab in 1970s Michigan, Alex is plagued by enemy Descenders who seem to anticipate her every move, and realizes she may have a traitor in her small band of allies. A traitor who might bring Gesh straight to Alex’s front door. The only person Alex feels she can trust is Blue. But there are secrets Alex doesn’t know—secrets about Blue, about her team, and about herself. And the biggest secret of all will change her life, or her lives, forever.“Recommend to teens who enjoy time travel and stories of possible reincarnation.”—School Library Journal A traitor who might bring Gesh straight to Alex's front door. The only person Alex feels she can trust is Blue. But there are secrets Alex doesn't know—secrets about Blue, about her team, and about herself. And the biggest secret of all will change her life, or her lives, forever.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Assassin's Blade - The Throne of Glass Novellas - cover

    The Assassin's Blade - The...

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 3
    • 33
    • 0
    Celaena Sardothien is her kingdom's most feared assassin. Though she  works for the powerful and ruthless Assassin's Guild, Celaena yields to  no one and trusts only her fellow killer for hire, Sam. 
     
    When  Celaena's scheming master, Arobynn Hamel, dispatches her on missions  that take her from remote islands to hostile deserts, she finds herself  acting independently of his wishes-and questioning her own allegiance.  Along the way, she makes friends and enemies alike, and discovers that  she feels far more for Sam than just friendship. But by defying  Arobynn's orders, Celaena risks unimaginable punishment, and with Sam by  her side, he is in danger, too. They will have to risk it all if they  hope to escape Arobynn's clutches-and if they fail, they'll lose not  just a chance at freedom, but their lives . . . 
     
    A prequel to  Throne of Glass, this collection of five novellas offers readers a  deeper look into the history of this cunning assassin and her  enthralling-and deadly-world. 
     
    Included in this volume: 
      The Assassin and the Pirate Lord 
      The Assassin and the Healer 
      The Assassin and the Desert 
      The Assassin and the Underworld 
      The Assassin and the Empire
    Show book
  • The Assassin and the Pirate Lord - A Throne of Glass Novella - cover

    The Assassin and the Pirate Lord...

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 3
    • 1
    • 0
    On a remote island in a tropical sea, Celaena Sardothien, feared assassin, has come for retribution. She's been sent by the Assassin's Guild to collect on a debt they are owed by the Lord of the Pirates.  But when Celaena learns that the agreed payment is not in money, but in slaves, her mission suddenly changes - and she will risk everything to right the wrong she's been sent to bring about.
    Show book
  • Empire of Storms - cover

    Empire of Storms

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 7
    • 67
    • 0
    Kingdoms collide in Sarah J. Maas's epic fifth installment in the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series. 
     
    The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those don't. 
     
    As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.    
     
    Aelin's journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?
    Show book
  • Tower of Dawn - cover

    Tower of Dawn

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 6
    • 13
    • 1
    In the next installment of the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series, follow Chaol on his sweeping journey to a distant empire. 
     
    Chaol Westfall has always defined himself by his unwavering loyalty, his strength, and his position as the Captain of the Guard. But all of that has changed since the glass castle shattered, since his men were slaughtered, since the King of Adarlan spared him from a killing blow, but left his body broken. 
     
    His only shot at recovery lies with the legendary healers of the Torre Cesme in Antica--the stronghold of the southern continent's mighty empire. And with war looming over Dorian and Aelin back home, their survival might lie with Chaol and Nesryn convincing its rulers to ally with them. 
     
    But what they discover in Antica will change them both--and be more vital to saving Erilea than they could have imagined.
    Show book
  • Piecing Me Together - cover

    Piecing Me Together

    Renée Watson

    • 7
    • 246
    • 0
    Newbery Honor and Coretta Scott King Author Award Winner 
    New York Times bestseller 
    "Timely and timeless." --Jacqueline Woodson 
    "Important and deeply moving." --John Green 
     
    Acclaimed author Renee Watson offers a powerful story about a girl striving for success in a  world that too often seems like it's trying to break her. 
     
    Jade believes she must get out of her poor neighborhood if she's ever going to succeed. Her mother tells her to take advantage of every opportunity that comes her way. And Jade has: every day she rides the bus away from her friends and to the private school where she feels like an outsider, but where she has plenty of opportunities. But some opportunities she doesn't really welcome, like an invitation to join Women to Women, a mentorship program for "at-risk" girls. Just because her mentor is black and graduated from the same high school doesn't mean she understands where Jade is coming from. She's tired of being singled out as someone who needs help, someone people want to fix. Jade wants to speak, to create, to express her joys and sorrows, her pain and her hope. Maybe there are some things she could show other women about understanding the world and finding ways to be real, to make a difference. 
     
    NPR's Best Books of 2017 
    A 2017 New York Public Library Best Teen Book of the Year 
    Chicago Public Library's Best Books of 2017 
    A School Library Journal Best Book of 2017 
    Kirkus Reviews' Best Teen Books of 2017 
    2018 Josette Frank Award Winner
    Show book
  • On the Ghost Trail: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    On the Ghost Trail: A Bloomsbury...

    Chris Powling

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A spooky comedy from Chris Powling with hilarious illustrations by Loretta Schauer. Perfect for fans of Amelia Fang and Knitbone Pepper. 
     
    A ghost has been haunting Ben's grandpa's house with cobweb trails and the TAP-TAP-TAP of its heartbeat. So when the clock strikes twelve, Ben's brother dares him to go on a hunt for the ghost in the church graveyard. Will he be brave enough?  
     
    This quirky story from Chris Powling has engaging black-and-white illustrations by Loretta Schauer and is perfect for children who are developing as readers.  
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    Book Band: Brown 
    Ideal for ages 7+
    Show book