Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Spy Catchers of Maple Hill eSampler - cover

The Spy Catchers of Maple Hill eSampler

Megan Frazer Blakemore

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

  • 5
  • 25
  • 0

Summary

Get a FREE sneak peek at charming new mystery from Megan Frazer Blakemore that will have readers rooting for the irresistibly precocious Hazel Kaplansky 
 
Hazel Kaplansky is a firm believer in the pursuit of knowledge and  truth-and she also happens to love a good mystery. When suspicions swirl  that a Russian spy has infiltrated her small town of Maple Hill,  Vermont, amidst the fervor of Cold War era McCarthyism, Hazel knows it's  up to her to find a suspect… starting with Mr. Jones, the quietly  suspicious grave digger. Plus she's found a perfect sleuthing partner in  Samuel Butler, the new boy in school with a few secrets of his own. But  as Hazel and Samuel piece together clues from the past and present, the  truth is suddenly not what they expected, and what they find reveals  more about themselves and the people of their cozy little town than they  could ever have imagined.

Who read this book also read:

  • Tales of King Arthur - cover

    Tales of King Arthur

    Felicity Brooks, Rodney Matthews

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    These legendary tales of knights and nobility in ancient Britain, rivetingly retold for today's readers, remain as fresh and exciting as the day they were first written. From the sword in the stone to the lady in the lake, these stories bring to life the fantastic characters of Camelot: the wise wizard Merlin, the gallant Sir Lancelot, the wicked Morgan le Fay, and the beautiful Queen Guinevere.
    Show book
  • Blood Feud - cover

    Blood Feud

    Alyxandra Harvey

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    It's been centuries since Isabeau St. Croix barely survived the French Revolution. Now she's made her way back to the living and she must face the ultimate test by confronting the evil British lord who left her for dead the day she turned into a vampire. That's if she can control her affection for Logan Drake, a vampire whose bite is as sweet as the revenge she seeks.  
     
    The clans are gathering for Helena's royal coronation as the next vampire queen, and new alliances are beginning to form now that the old rifts of Lady Natasha's reign have started to heal. But with a new common enemy, Leander Montmarte-a vicious leader who hopes to force Solange to marry him and usurp the power of the throne for himself-the clans must stand together to preserve the peace he threatens to destroy. 
     
    This second adventure in the Drake Chronicles-told from both Logan's and Isabeau's perspectives-has all the same butt-kicking action, heart-pounding romances and snarky humor that readers loved in Hearts at Stake, as well as exciting new revelations about the vampire dynasties to keep readers coming back for more. 
     
    Look out for the other books in this series: Hearts at Stake, Out for Blood, and Bleeding Hearts-out next year!
    Show book
  • Dark Lord of Derkholm - cover

    Dark Lord of Derkholm

    Diana Wynne Jones

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Mr. Chesney operates Pilgrim Parties, a tour group that takes paying participants into an outer realm where the inhabitants play frightening and foreboding roles. The time has come to end the staged madness . . . but can it really be stopped? Master storyteller Diana Wynne Jones serves up twists and turns, introduces Querida, Derk, Blade, and Shona and a remarkable cast of wizards, soldiers, kings, dragons, and griffins, and mixes in a lively dash of humor. With all the ingredients of high fantasy, this unforgettable novel will delight fans old and new.
    Show book
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events #10: The Slippery Slope - cover

    A Series of Unfortunate Events...

    Lemony Snicket

    • 2
    • 4
    • 0
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES 
    Like bad smells, uninvited weekend guests or very old eggs, there are some things that ought to be avoided. 
    Snicket's saga about the charming, intelligent, and grossly unlucky Baudelaire orphans continues to alarm its distressed and suspicious fans the world over. The tenth book in this outrageous publishing effort features more than the usual dose of distressing details, such as snow gnats, an organised troupe of youngsters, an evil villain with a dastardly plan, a secret headquarters and some dangerous antics you should not try at home. With the weather turning colder, this is one chilling book you would be better off without.
    Show book
  • After the Train - cover

    After the Train

    Gloria Whelan

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Peter Liebig can't wait for summer. He's tired of classrooms, teachers, and the endless lectures about the horrible Nazis. The war has been over for ten years, and besides, his town of Rolfen, West Germany, has moved on nicely. Despite its bombed-out church, it looks just as calm and pretty as ever. There is money to be made at the beach, and there are whole days to spend with Father at his job. And, of course, there's soccer. Plenty for a thirteen-year-old boy to look forward to.  
    But when Peter stumbles across a letter he was never meant to see, he unravels a troubling secret. Soon he questions everything—the town's peaceful nature, his parents' stories about the war, and his own sense of belonging.
    Show book
  • The Terror of the Southlands - cover

    The Terror of the Southlands

    Caroline Carlson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    More pirates, more magic, and more adventure in the second book of the Very Nearly Honorable League of Pirates series! Caroline Carlson brings the unceasing wit, humor, and fun of the first book in the series, Magic Marks the Spot, to this epic sequel. Fans of Lemony Snicket’s Series of Unfortunate Events and Trenton Lee Stewart’s Mysterious Benedict Society will love this quirky tween series and hope to join the VNHLP just like Hilary! 
    Hilary Westfield is now a bona fide pirate, but when her daring, her magical know-how, and even her gargoyle don’t convince the VNHLP that she’s worthy of her title, the Terror of the Southlands, she sets off with her crew on a High Seas adventure. But then Miss Pimm disappears and Hilary decides to find the missing Enchantress and protect the magic of Augusta.
    Show book