Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Spy Catchers of Maple Hill eSampler - cover

The Spy Catchers of Maple Hill eSampler

Megan Frazer Blakemore

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

  • 4
  • 22
  • 0

Summary

Get a FREE sneak peek at charming new mystery from Megan Frazer Blakemore that will have readers rooting for the irresistibly precocious Hazel Kaplansky 
 
Hazel Kaplansky is a firm believer in the pursuit of knowledge and  truth-and she also happens to love a good mystery. When suspicions swirl  that a Russian spy has infiltrated her small town of Maple Hill,  Vermont, amidst the fervor of Cold War era McCarthyism, Hazel knows it's  up to her to find a suspect… starting with Mr. Jones, the quietly  suspicious grave digger. Plus she's found a perfect sleuthing partner in  Samuel Butler, the new boy in school with a few secrets of his own. But  as Hazel and Samuel piece together clues from the past and present, the  truth is suddenly not what they expected, and what they find reveals  more about themselves and the people of their cozy little town than they  could ever have imagined.

Who read this book also read:

  • The Vanished - Blemished #2 - cover

    The Vanished - Blemished #2

    Sarah Dalton

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    Book Two in the bestselling dystopian series!
    
     
    “You’re part of the vanished now. That’s what we all are. The people who have been forgotten.”  
     
    
    Mina Hart fought her way out of Area 14. She made it to The Clans so that she can live a normal life with her friends and her father. But what she finds is no safe haven.  
     
    
    As her best friend turns against her and the Compounders treat her with distrust, Mina begins to suspect foul play at the very heart of her new home. Just to make matters worse, the threat of war is coming. The Clans are turning against each other, and Mina is caught in the middle.  
     
    
    Join Mina as she is reunited with her father, meets new and surprising friends and tries to figure out her complicated love life. The Vanished promises even more rebellion and romance with betrayal just around the corner…
    Show book
  • Enna Burning - cover

    Enna Burning

    Shannon Hale

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    When her mother dies, Enna leaves the city and her friends to move back home with her brother, Leifer. She thought life would be simpler and more manageable in the forest. But Enna's was not meant to be a simple life, and when Leifer brings home a mysterious piece of vellum and starts setting fires-without a spark, without flint-something seems wrong. Enna cannot decide if that something is a power she wants for herself, or if it's a power that should be extinguished forever. And when her country, Bayern, goes to war, that choice becomes unbearable as her friendships are tested and her sense of self nearly lost in the fires she creates. Ultimately Enna and her best friend, Isi, take a nearly impossible journey in search of a cure for the war around them-and for the wars within themselves.br/br/* A New York Public Library Book for the Teen Agebr/br/* An Amazon "Editor's Pick" for Best Book of the Yearbr/br/* An Association of Booksellers for Children "Best Book," Science Fiction  Fantasy categorybr/br/"[T]his novel's pulsing heart lies in rich writing and sharply drawn characters, elements that will be devoured by genre fans just like kindling beneath flames." -Booklistbr/br/"[An] original tale that stands on its own . . . with a richly detailed setting, eloquent descriptions, a complex plot, a large cast of characters, and romance, this high fantasy will be welcomed by fans of iThe Goose Girl /iand those who have yet to discover it."-iSchool Library Journal /i"Powerful and romantic." -iKirkus Reviews/i br/br/Don't miss the companion novels: br/THE GOOSE GIRL 1-58234-990-8 pb - $8.95 1-58234-843-X hc - $17.95 br/RIVER SECRETSa href="../Sales/released.asp?isbn=9781599902937imp=3"/a 1-59990-293-1 pb - $8.99 1-58234-901-0 hc - $17.95br/FOREST BORN 1-59990-167-6 hc - $17.99
    Show book
  • Labor of Love - cover

    Labor of Love

    Rachel Hawthorne

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    To Do:Investigate the French QuarterBuy new hammerStop worrying that hard hat is going to ruin my hairStop thinking about ex-boyfriend. No guys this summer!Find some cool jazz clubs to visit laterGet psychic readings with Jenna and AmberGet Jenna and Amber to stop talking about psychic readings, the cute guy the psychic said I would meet, and the cute guy I just met. No guys this summer!!!Throw self into work. Stop thinking about the cute guy!
    Show book
  • Perfect Chemistry - cover

    Perfect Chemistry

    Simone Elkeles

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    A fresh, urban twist on the classic tale of star-crossed lovers.    When Brittany Ellis walks into chemistry class on the first day of senior year, she has no clue that her carefully created "perfect" life is about to unravel before her eyes. She's forced to be lab partners with Alex Fuentes, a gang member from the other side of town, and he is about to threaten everything she's worked so hard for-her flawless reputation, her relationship with her boyfriend, and the secret that her home life is anything but perfect. Alex is a bad boy and he knows it. So when he makes a bet with his friends to lure Brittany into his life, he thinks nothing of it. But soon Alex realizes Brittany is a real person with real problems, and suddenly the bet he made in arrogance turns into something much more.    In a passionate story about looking beneath the surface, Simone Elkeles breaks through the stereotypes and barriers that threaten to keep Brittany and Alex apart.
    Show book
  • Date Me - The Keatyn Chronicles Series #3 - cover

    Date Me - The Keatyn Chronicles...

    Jillian Dodd

    • 0
    • 10
    • 0
    From USA Today bestselling author Jillian Dodd comes the third book in the addictive Keatyn Chronicles series. Discover a breathless fairy-tale romance with swoon-worthy characters, suspense, and a glittering celebrity world. Fans of Gossip Girl, Pretty Little Liars, and reality TV shows like Keeping up with the Kardashians will devour this pulse-pounding, sexy teen drama set against the backdrop of Hollywood and an East Coast boarding school. 
    I’m not scripting my life anymore.  
    I’m living it.  
    I’m done with the God of all Hotties.  
    I’m going to give my heart to the boy who I think deserves it.  
    The boy whose kisses are hotter than molten lava.  
    The boy who offered me the key to his heart.  
    The boy who asked me to Homecoming in a big, sexy way.  
     
    There are so many things to look forward to.  
    Parties at the Cave. Homecoming festivities. Drama Tryouts. Shopping trips to NY.  
    But things aren’t always as perfect as they seem.  
    I find out that my best friend has been keeping a secret from me.  
    Not that I can blame him.  
    I have secrets too.  
    But, for now, I’m going to pretend I’m just a normal girl.  
    I’m going to pretend he’s not still out there.  
    I’m going to pretend he’s not getting desperate.  
    I’m going to pretend I’ll never see him again.  
    But, I will.  
    And this time, I might not get away.
    Show book
  • The Last Time We Say Goodbye - cover

    The Last Time We Say Goodbye

    Cynthia Hand

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand comes a gorgeous, heart-wrenching novel of love and loss, which ALA Booklist called "both shatteringly painful and bright with life and hope" in a starred review. 
    Since her brother, Tyler, committed suicide, Lex has been trying to keep her grief locked away, and to forget about what happened that night. But as she starts putting her life, her family, and her friendships back together, Lex is haunted by a secret she hasn't told anyone—a text Tyler sent, that could have changed everything. 
    In the tradition of Jay Asher's Thirteen Reasons Why, Gayle Forman's If I Stay, and Lauren Oliver's Before I Fall, The Last Time We Say Goodbye is a thoughtful and deeply affecting novel that will change the way you look at life and death.
    Show book