Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Spy Catchers of Maple Hill eSampler - cover

The Spy Catchers of Maple Hill eSampler

Megan Frazer Blakemore

Publisher: Bloomsbury USA Childrens

  • 7
  • 29
  • 0

Summary

Get a FREE sneak peek at charming new mystery from Megan Frazer Blakemore that will have readers rooting for the irresistibly precocious Hazel Kaplansky 
 
Hazel Kaplansky is a firm believer in the pursuit of knowledge and  truth-and she also happens to love a good mystery. When suspicions swirl  that a Russian spy has infiltrated her small town of Maple Hill,  Vermont, amidst the fervor of Cold War era McCarthyism, Hazel knows it's  up to her to find a suspect… starting with Mr. Jones, the quietly  suspicious grave digger. Plus she's found a perfect sleuthing partner in  Samuel Butler, the new boy in school with a few secrets of his own. But  as Hazel and Samuel piece together clues from the past and present, the  truth is suddenly not what they expected, and what they find reveals  more about themselves and the people of their cozy little town than they  could ever have imagined.

Who read this book also read:

  • Poisoned Apples - Poems for You My Pretty - cover

    Poisoned Apples - Poems for You...

    Christine Heppermann

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Every little girl goes through her princess phase, whether she wants to be Snow White or Cinderella, Belle or Ariel. But then we grow up. And life is not a fairy tale. 
    Christine Heppermann's collection of fifty poems puts the ideals of fairy tales right beside the life of the modern teenage girl. With piercing truths reminiscent of Laurie Halse Anderson and Ellen Hopkins, this is a powerful and provocative book for every young woman. E. Lockhart, author of We Were Liars, calls it "a bloody poetic attack on the beauty myth that's caustic, funny, and heartbreaking." 
    Cruelties come not just from wicked stepmothers, but also from ourselves. There are expectations, pressures, judgment, and criticism. Self-doubt and self-confidence. But there are also friends, and sisters, and a whole hell of a lot of power there for the taking. In fifty poems, Christine Heppermann confronts society head on. Using fairy tale characters and tropes, Poisoned Apples explores how girls are taught to think about themselves, their bodies, and their friends. The poems range from contemporary retellings to first-person accounts set within the original tales, and from deadly funny to deadly serious. Complemented throughout with black-and-white photographs from up-and-coming artists, this is a stunning and sophisticated book to be treasured, shared, and paged through again and again.
    Show book
  • Bizenghast #1 - cover

    Bizenghast #1

    M. Alice LeGrow

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    Meet Dinah, a disturbed young girl who has been sent to the small town of Bizenghast to live with her aunt following the tragic death of her parents. Dinah thinks her aunt's house is haunted, but her aunt thinks she has some sort of mental illness. Dinah sneaks out with her only friend, Vincent, and together they discover a lost graveyard where Dinah reads from a stone engraving. This act binds her to a contract requiring Dinah to release spirits stuck somewhere between life and the afterlife. So Dinah begins her quest of "cleaning" the vaults, crypts and graves of lost souls, while struggling with the haunts at home and suspicions of her growing mental illness.
    Show book
  • The Body Finder - cover

    The Body Finder

    Kimberly Derting

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Violet Ambrose is grappling with two major issues: Jay Heaton and her morbid secret ability. While the sixteen-year-old is confused by her new feelings for her best friend since childhood, she is more disturbed by her "power" to sense dead bodies—or at least those that have been murdered. Since she was a little girl, she has felt the echoes the dead leave behind in the world . . . and the imprints that attach to their killers. 
    Violet has never considered her strange talent to be a gift; it mostly just led her to find dead birds her cat left for her. But now that a serial killer is terrorizing her small town, and the echoes of the local girls he's claimed haunt her daily, Violet realizes she might be the only person who can stop him. 
    Despite his fierce protectiveness over her, Jay reluctantly agrees to help Violet find the murderer—and Violet is unnerved by her hope that Jay's intentions are much more than friendly. But even as she's falling intensely in love, Violet is getting closer and closer to discovering a killer . . . and becoming his prey herself.
    Show book
  • Bizenghast #7 - cover

    Bizenghast #7

    M. Alice LeGrow

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    The final battle rages for the lives and souls of the inhabitants of Bizenghast, and no one is safe anymore. Shocking revelations of the town's dark history continue to emerge, and Dinah's struggle will go beyond the borders of the mausoleum, beyond Bizenghast itself... and perhaps even beyond the borders of our world.
    Show book
  • Geek Girl: Model Misfit - cover

    Geek Girl: Model Misfit

    Holly Smale

    • 1
    • 46
    • 0
    You can make a geek a model, but you can't make her chic. More hilarity and high fashion await in the second book in the internationally bestselling Geek Girl series! 
    Harriet Manners is a model—but she feels even less popular and more awkward than she did when she was just a geek. So a summer modeling job in Japan sounds like the perfect vacation, even if she has to bring along her crazy grandma Bunty, and even if she might run into Nick, her gorgeous supermodel ex-boyfriend. No one is going to ruin Harriet's fabulous Tokyo adventure—unless she accidentally ruins it herself. . . . 
    This sequel to Holly Smale's #1 bestselling debut novel, Geek Girl, is perfect for fans of Mag Cabot's Princess Diaries series and Louise Rennison's Georgia Nicolson series.
    Show book
  • Survivors #4: The Broken Path - cover

    Survivors #4: The Broken Path

    Erin Hunter

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From Erin Hunter, #1 nationally bestselling author of the Warriors series, comes the fourth book in the action-packed Survivors animal fantasy series. Full of “wild and wonderful adventure” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review), Survivors will thrill fans of Spirit Animals and Wings of Fire. 
    Lucky and Alpha have reached a shaky truce, but tensions within the newly united Pack are still running high. As the dogs search for a home far away from the Fierce Dog camp, they discover that no territory is truly safe—and encounter a terrifying new Pack.
    Show book