Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Design Like Nature - Biomimicry for a Healthy Planet - cover

Design Like Nature - Biomimicry for a Healthy Planet

Megan Clendenan, Kim Ryall Woolcock

Publisher: Orca Book Publishers

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

★“Fascinating…An appealing resource sure to spark an interest in biomimicry, from casual readers to budding scientists. Recommended for all ­libraries.”&#8212School Library Journal, starred review

Did you know that lamps can be powered by glowing bacteria instead of electricity? That gloves designed like gecko feet let people climb straight up glass walls? Or that kids are finding ways to make compostable plastic out of banana peels? Biomimicry, the scientific term for when we learn from and copy nature, is a revolutionary way to look to nature for answers to environmental problems such as climate change. 

In Design Like Nature young readers discover innovations and inventions inspired by the environment. Nature runs the entire planet with no waste and no pollution. Can humans learn to do this too? It's time to step outside and start designing like nature.

Other books that might interest you

  • Empire of Storms - cover

    Empire of Storms

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 7
    • 67
    • 0
    Kingdoms collide in Sarah J. Maas's epic fifth installment in the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series. 
     
    The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those don't. 
     
    As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.    
     
    Aelin's journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?
    Show book
  • On the Ghost Trail: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    On the Ghost Trail: A Bloomsbury...

    Chris Powling

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A spooky comedy from Chris Powling with hilarious illustrations by Loretta Schauer. Perfect for fans of Amelia Fang and Knitbone Pepper. 
     
    A ghost has been haunting Ben's grandpa's house with cobweb trails and the TAP-TAP-TAP of its heartbeat. So when the clock strikes twelve, Ben's brother dares him to go on a hunt for the ghost in the church graveyard. Will he be brave enough?  
     
    This quirky story from Chris Powling has engaging black-and-white illustrations by Loretta Schauer and is perfect for children who are developing as readers.  
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    Book Band: Brown 
    Ideal for ages 7+
    Show book
  • A Court of Frost and Starlight - cover

    A Court of Frost and Starlight

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 4
    • 18
    • 0
    A tender addition to the #1 New York Times bestselling Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas, bridging the events of A Court of Wings and Ruin and upcoming books. 
     
    Feyre, Rhysand, and their friends are still busy rebuilding the Night Court and the vastly altered world beyond, recovering from the war that changed everything. But Winter Solstice is finally approaching, and with it, the joy of a hard-earned reprieve.  
     
    Yet even the festive atmosphere can't keep the shadows of the past from looming. As Feyre navigates her first Winter Solstice as High Lady, her concern for those dearest to her deepens. They have more wounds than she anticipated-scars that will have a far-reaching impact on the future of their court. 
    Bridging the events of A Court of Wings and Ruin with the later books in the series, A Court of Frost and Starlight explores the far-reaching effects of a devastating war and the fierce love between friends.
    Show book
  • Line and Scribble - cover

    Line and Scribble

    Debora Vogrig

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Line and Scribble is a picture book that celebrates imagination and friendship through simple shapes.Line and Scribble do things differently. Line goes straight while Scribble wanders. Line walks a tightrope as Scribble bursts into fireworks. Line likes to draw with a ruler, and Scribble, well . . . doesn't.But no matter how different they may seem, Line and Scribble always have enough in common to be best friends.• A friendship story that embraces differences instead of competing• Emphasizes how imagination, creativity, and art can change how we see the world—and each other• Promotes visual literacy, recognition, and learning to make connectionsFrom constellations to roller coasters and breadsticks to bubbles, Line and Scribble shows how the two can come together to create beautiful, moving, and delightfully unexpected results.This sweet book brims with opportunities for young readers to engage with the building blocks of familiar shapes (lines, circles, squiggles), as well as spotting opposites and differences.• Harold and the Purple Crayon meets Press Here in this highly visual, effortlessly imaginative friendship story.• Resonates year-round as a go-to new gift for birthdays and holidays• Perfect for children ages 3 to 5 years old• Makes a great pick for parents and grandparents, as well as librarians and teachers.• You'll love this book if you love books like Mouse Paint by Ellen Stoll Walsh, I'm NOT just a Scribble . . . by Diane Alber, and Eraser by Anna Kang.
    Show book
  • Piecing Me Together - cover

    Piecing Me Together

    Renée Watson

    • 7
    • 246
    • 0
    Newbery Honor and Coretta Scott King Author Award Winner 
    New York Times bestseller 
    "Timely and timeless." --Jacqueline Woodson 
    "Important and deeply moving." --John Green 
     
    Acclaimed author Renee Watson offers a powerful story about a girl striving for success in a  world that too often seems like it's trying to break her. 
     
    Jade believes she must get out of her poor neighborhood if she's ever going to succeed. Her mother tells her to take advantage of every opportunity that comes her way. And Jade has: every day she rides the bus away from her friends and to the private school where she feels like an outsider, but where she has plenty of opportunities. But some opportunities she doesn't really welcome, like an invitation to join Women to Women, a mentorship program for "at-risk" girls. Just because her mentor is black and graduated from the same high school doesn't mean she understands where Jade is coming from. She's tired of being singled out as someone who needs help, someone people want to fix. Jade wants to speak, to create, to express her joys and sorrows, her pain and her hope. Maybe there are some things she could show other women about understanding the world and finding ways to be real, to make a difference. 
     
    NPR's Best Books of 2017 
    A 2017 New York Public Library Best Teen Book of the Year 
    Chicago Public Library's Best Books of 2017 
    A School Library Journal Best Book of 2017 
    Kirkus Reviews' Best Teen Books of 2017 
    2018 Josette Frank Award Winner
    Show book
  • The Assassin and the Pirate Lord - A Throne of Glass Novella - cover

    The Assassin and the Pirate Lord...

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 3
    • 1
    • 0
    On a remote island in a tropical sea, Celaena Sardothien, feared assassin, has come for retribution. She's been sent by the Assassin's Guild to collect on a debt they are owed by the Lord of the Pirates.  But when Celaena learns that the agreed payment is not in money, but in slaves, her mission suddenly changes - and she will risk everything to right the wrong she's been sent to bring about.
    Show book