Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Golovlevs - cover

The Golovlevs

M.E. Saltykov-Shchedrin

Publisher: Apollo Library

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Arina Petrovna rules the Golovlev family with an iron hand. Around her swarm her family;her alcoholic sons, dissipated grandchildren and degenerate husband. But in his darkened study, her son Porfiry schemes for an overthrow of power. In this powerful novel, the great Russian satirist presents a stark portrait of the Russian gentry sapped by generations of idleness and social irrelevance.

Other books that might interest you

  • Anatomy of Fear - cover

    Anatomy of Fear

    Jonathan Santlofer

    • 3
    • 22
    • 0
    NYPD sketch artist Nate Rodriguez possesses a remarkable gift. From the smallest clues—an off-hand comment, a brief flash of fear in a victim's eyes—he is able to create an uncanny likeness of the assailant. Now Detective Terri Russo needs his help to solve a particularly shocking series of murders, perpetrated by a psychopath who enjoys drawing pictures of his crimes before committing them. Nate is being asked to enter the dark, twisted mind of a monster—to re-create a face that no one has lived to identify. But as a portrait slowly begins taking shape in Nate's mind and on the page, an electrifying game of cat and mouse reaches an unexpected new level—as a brilliant killer uses his own unique talents to turn the investigation in a terrifying new direction... 
    A breathtakingly original novel of suspense, Jonathan Santlofer's Anatomy of Fear mixes prose and pictures to create a story that burns its way into the brain and brilliantly revitalizes the crime fiction genre.
    Show book
  • Career in C Major - And Other Fiction - cover

    Career in C Major - And Other...

    James M Cain

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From a famous tough-guy writer, a collection of shockingly funny storiesEver since she got married, Doris has regretted giving up her singing career. After years of domestic drudgery, she decides to take one last crack at becoming an opera singer, even if it means sacrificing everything for the sake of her dream. Her contractor husband is fully supportive, having no idea that the family’s true musical genius isn’t Doris—it’s him.In this and other stories in Career in C Major, James M. Cain shows off a light comedic touch that will surprise readers who are familiar only with his crime novels The Postman Always Rings Twice and Double Indemnity. But Cain had been publishing funny stories, articles, and satire since his early days as a reporter for H. L. Mencken’s Baltimore Sun, and was just as comfortable writing about singers as he was about killers. This collection of Cain’s lighter work shows that if an author is tough it doesn’t mean he can’t crack a smile.
    Show book
  • Madoc - cover

    Madoc

    Bernard Knight

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    An epic historical novel by award-winning author Bernard Knight, which tells the story of Madoc, a Welsh prince who, legend says, was one of the first people to discover the continent of North America.
    Show book
  • Vampires Don't Share With Dragons 4 in 1 - Vampires Don't Share With Dragons - cover

    Vampires Don't Share With...

    Mandy Rosko

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    All Four Serial Novellas Included! 
    Katie White is struggling to get by and pay her bills in an attic apartment when one night, the tall, dark, and gorgeous (and big tipper) from the diner breaks in and steals her away. 
    Katie can barely resist. The same physical attraction that pulled her to this man is calling to her again, demanding she release herself to him, give him everything. Even if Alexandru is a vampire. 
    There's just one problem, the dashing green scaled dragon that swooped in to her rescue. Frederick spotted Katie being "kidnapped" as he flew above, and smelling the delicious scent of his mate, he had to act. 
    Katie doesn't mind so much being taken by him, but there's just one problem. She always thought of herself as a one man only sort of girl, and yet now here are two incredibly gorgeous men fighting for her love and affection, and the three of them left with the very real possibility that they might all be connected in ways they never before. 
    And when terrible people from Alexandru's past come looking for revenge, since vampires never forget or forgive, Katie is left with a terrible choice. 
    Walk the safer path with Frederick, or risk everything for both the men she loves.
    Show book
  • Giving it Up to Werewolves 2017 Mega Bundle - cover

    Giving it Up to Werewolves 2017...

    Jade Bleu

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    9 stories of women being taken rough by werewolves!
    A collection of tales where women encounter werewolves or dragon shifters who are ready to claim them hard. Includes A Werewolf Claimed Me Rough 1-3, A Werewolf Found Me Fertile! 1-3, and Fertile for a Werewolf 1-3. Get this mega bundle and save!
    
    A bundle of erotic werewolf shorts featuring rough ramming with strangers and fertile fun.
    Show book
  • Letters from the Dead - cover

    Letters from the Dead

    Campbell Armstrong

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “A satisfying dank and creepy chiller” about hauntings and horror in a broken-down beach house on the Virginia shore (Kirkus Reviews). A battered Ouija board promises entertainment for the renters of a crumbling seaside cottage a few miles outside Cochrane Crossing. But when they play, thirteen-year-olds Lindy and Tommy receive sinister messages about someone named “Roscoe”—and their mothers encounter even more disturbing visions in the tiny, gloomy town nearby.   Something terrible happened here long ago, and one of the vacationers is about to be drawn slowly into the grip of possession by a frightening force that may prevent them all from ever returning home . . .   From an international bestselling author of horror and suspense novels, including such titles as Concert of Ghosts and the Frank Pagan series, as well as the riveting personal memoir I Hope You Have a Good Life, this is a tale of the macabre for fans of Dean Koontz and Stephen King or anyone who enjoys a spooky occult thriller.  
    Show book