Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
The Golovlevs - cover

The Golovlevs

M.E. Saltykov-Shchedrin

Publisher: Apollo Library

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Arina Petrovna rules the Golovlev family with an iron hand. Around her swarm her family; her alcoholic sons, dissipated grandchildren and degenerate husband. But in his darkened study, her son Porfiry schemes for an overthrow of power. In this powerful novel, the great Russian satirist presents a stark portrait of the Russian gentry sapped by generations of idleness and social irrelevance.

Other books that might interest you

  • If Tomorrow Comes - cover

    If Tomorrow Comes

    Sidney Sheldon

    • 0
    • 14
    • 0
    Lovely, idealistic Tracy Whitney is framed into a fifteen year sentence in an escape-proof penitentiary. With dazzling ingenuity she fights back to destroy the untouchable crime lords who put her there. With her intelligence and beauty as her only weapons, Tracy embarks on a series of extraordinary escapades that sweep her across the globe. In an explosive confrontation Tracy meets her equal in irresistible Jeff Stevens, whose past is as colorful as Tracy's.
    Show book
  • Whisper the Dead - A Cotsworld village mystery - cover

    Whisper the Dead - A Cotsworld...

    Cameron Stella

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    With plot twists galore and an array of credible suspects, this traditional village mystery series will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders
    When Alex Duggins comes across a terrifying scene at the site of a new housing development, once again she is drawn into a case of brutal murder. A new year arrives and winter holds Britain’s Cotswold Hills in its icy grip once more. But it’s the construction of a new housing development that’s causing the residents of Folly-on-Weir most concern. As she passes the site late one afternoon, pub owner Alex Duggins is confronted by the terrifying scene of a construction trailer on fire and a man desperately trying to break the door down.Her efforts to help – and the subsequent findings of the police forensic pathologist – draw Alex and her friend Tony Harrison into a major murder investigation whose tentacles will reach right to the heart of the tight-knit Folly community – and into Alex’s own past … Will appeal to fans of M.C. Beaton and Midsomer Murders.
    Show book
  • Splashdown- A Dane and Bones Origin Story - Dane Maddock Origins #3 - cover

    Splashdown- A Dane and Bones...

    David Wood, Rick Chesler

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    1961- Space capsule Liberty Bell 7 crashes into the Atlantic Ocean and sinks in what was called an accident. But was it? 
     
    When Navy SEALs Dane Maddock and “Bones” Bonebrake are called upon to find the Liberty Bell 7 and recover its secret cargo, they find themselves caught up in a conspiracy from the Cold War era, and only they stand in the way of a powerful man bent on vengeance. Dane and Bones are back in another “Origins” adventure. Sunken ships, deadly creatures, dangerous enemies, mysteries from the past, and all the thrills your heart can stand await you in Splashdown! 
     
    “Wood and Chesler make one powerhouse team! Just when you thought Dane and Bones just couldn't get any better, Rick Chesler comes on board for one tidal wave of a thrilling adventure. Sunken galleons, giant sea creatures, and one heck of a mystery makes Splashdown one book you won't put down 'til the very end.” - J. Kent Holloway, author of The Dirge of Briarsnare Marsh and Primal Thirst.
    Show book
  • The Long Good Boy - cover

    The Long Good Boy

    Carol Lea Benjamin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A dog trainer–turned-PI and her pit bull go after a killer—with a little help from a courageous dachshund—in this mystery by a Shamus Award winner. Rachel and Dash have a new client. Well, three new clients. A trio of transvestite working girls want Rachel to investigate the death of one of their own. Rosalinda’s throat was slashed on Halloween right after the Greenwich Village parade. Finding her killer isn’t exactly the NYPD’s top priority—and LaDonna, Chi Chi, and Jasmine are terrified that they’ll be next. With her cash retainer in hand—and very few leads—Rachel starts digging. What is the connection between Rosalinda and a dead butcher? Soon, with the help of Chi Chi’s mini-dachshund, Clint, Rachel is breaking into a plant in the Meatpacking District. But her future is suddenly on the line when she sets herself up as bait to catch the killer. As Rachel follows a twisting trail with only Dash for protection, she discovers that her foray into “the life” could end with her own untimely death. The Long Good Boy is the 6th book in the Rachel Alexander and Dash Mysteries, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.
    Show book
  • The Vanished - cover

    The Vanished

    Lotte Hammer, Søren Hammer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Lying at the bottom of his apartment stairs, a postman is found dead.  
     
    At first glance, his death appears to be a simple fall, a straightforward accident and the perfect case for Detective Chief Superintendent Konrad Simonsen to return to after a severe heart attack. But when he is called to investigate, new forensic evidence comes to light and something doesn't add up. Did the postman fall or was he pushed? 
     
    When life-size images of a girl are discovered plastering the walls of the dead man's attic, the case takes a new and sinister turn. Who is she? Could she be alive? 
     
    Soon the homicide team find themselves delving into the past, but as they approach the truth, Simonsen discovers long-hidden skeletons in his own closet.
    Show book
  • The Zombie MEGAPACK ® - cover

    The Zombie MEGAPACK ®

    H.P. Lovecraft, Jack Dann,...

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Resurrected corpses, voodoo conjuring, black magic (and blacker science)...these are all well known to cause zombie breakouts. Here are classic and modern tales, full of thrills and chills and the living dead...tales of zombies! These stories don't (well, mostly don't!) go for the gross-out. Great writing, lots of atmosphere and suspense (and the occasional laugh) -- if you want more than just extreme horror and gross-out scares, this is the zombie collection for you!
    Included are:
    SYMPATHY FOR ZOMBIES, by John Gregory Betancourt
    LARGER THAN LIFE, by Lawrence Watt-Evans
    PLAGUE PIT, by Sydney J. Bounds
    COOL AIR, by H.P. Lovecraft
    THE LAST BEST FRIEND, by C.J. Henderson
    UNDER THE SHADOW OF JONAH, by Jack Dann
    ZOMBIES ON BROADWAY, by Jack Dolphin
    SOME NOTES ON THE "ZOMBI," by Lafcadio Hearn
    THE HOLLOW MAN, by Thomas Burke
    OUTSIDE THE BOX, by John Haggerty
    WHILE ZOMBIES WALKED, by Thorp McClusky
    THE CORPSE MASTER, by Seabury Quinn
    WHAT THE MOON BRINGS, by George T. Wetzel
    NIGHTFALL ON THE DEAD SEA, by Ray Faraday Nelson
    BUB AND THE ZOMB BOYS, by A. R. Morlan
    THE MENTAL GANGSTER, by John Russell Fearn
    THE DIGGING AT PISTOL KEY, by Carl Jacobi
    CRIME AND AUTHORITY, by C.J. Henderson
    DEAD MEN WORKING IN THE CANE FIELDS, by William Seabrook
    HERBERT WEST: REANIMATOR, by H.P. Lovecraft
    I WALTZED WITH A ZOMBIE, by Ron Goulart
    BLACK CANAAN, by Robert E. Howard
    If you enjoy this ebook, don't forget to search your favorite ebook store for "Wildside Press Megapack" to see more of the 260+ volumes in this series, covering adventure, historical fiction, mysteries, westerns, ghost stories, science fiction -- and much, much more!
    Show book