Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
A Black Deeper Than Death - Miki Radicci #1 - cover

A Black Deeper Than Death - Miki Radicci #1

M.E. Purfield

Publisher: M.E. Purfield

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Book 1 in the reader acclaimed nor fantasy series that will have guessing who the killer is to the very end. 
Miki Radicci is not your average sixteen-year-old city girl. She's emancipated from her grifter parents, a flavor of the month in the art world, and a psychic. 
When she witnesses a murder of a young college girl not only does she grab the attention of the police, but also the killer. 
To save her life as well as her family, Miki delves into the victim's past and follows a trail that leads her into a dark world of underground molding and low-level criminals. 
Book 1: A Black Deeper than Death 
Book 2: In a Blackened Sky Where Dreams Collide 
Book 3: Blood Like Cherry Ice 
Book 4: Surly Girly 
Book 5: Bawling Sugar Soul 
Book 6: A Girl Close to Death 
Book 7: Heart on the Devil's Sleeve 
Book 8: Sinking Stones in the Sky 
Book 9: The Ghost and the Stream 
Book 10: Expressway Thru the Skull 
Book 11: Hacker's Moon

Other books that might interest you

  • An Unmarked Grave - A Bess Crawford Mystery - cover

    An Unmarked Grave - A Bess...

    Charles Todd

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    “A wonderful new mystery series that will let us see the horrors of World War I through the eyes of Bess Crawford, battlefield nurse.”—Margaret Maron 
    “Readers who can’t get enough of Jacqueline Winspear’s novels, or Hester Latterly, who saw action in the Crimean War in a series of novels by Anne Perry, are bound to be caught up in the adventures of Bess Crawford.”—New York Times Book Review 
    The critically acclaimed, New York Times bestselling author of the Ian Rutledge mystery series, Charles Todd once again spotlights World War I nurse Bess Crawford in An Unmarked Grave. Gripping, powerful, and evocative, this superb mystery masterwork unfolds during the deadly Spanish Influenza pandemic of 1918, as Bess discovers the body of a murdered British officer among the many dead and sets out to unmask a craven killer.
    Show book
  • The Waters of Eternal Youth - cover

    The Waters of Eternal Youth

    Donna Leon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The twenty-fifth mystery in the New York Times–bestselling series “is cause for celebration. . . . Leon brilliantly exposes the corrupt world of Venice” (Bay Area Reporter).   At a fundraising dinner for a Venetian charity, a wealthy and aristocratic patroness asks Brunetti if he will investigate the fifteen-year-old attempted drowning of her granddaughter, which left the girl irreparably brain damaged. Brunetti’s not sure what to do, but out of a mixture of curiosity, pity, and a willingness to fulfill the wishes of a guilt-wracked older woman—who happens to be his mother-in-law’s best friend—he agrees.   Brunetti soon finds himself unable to let the case rest, if indeed there is a case. Awash in the haunting story of a woman trapped in a damaged perpetual childhood and the rhythms and concerns of contemporary Venetian life, from historical preservation to housing to new waves of African migrants, The Waters of Eternal Youth is another wonderful addition to this series.   “Donna Leon’s Venetian mysteries never disappoint . . . A bittersweet story that makes us appreciate Brunetti’s philosophical take on the indignities, insanities, and cruelties of life.” —The New York Times Book Review   “A new Brunetti adventure is always worth celebrating. . . . In a marvelous and moving last scene, we glimpse a moment of almost transcendent beauty that makes us realize again how important this series is to our reading lives.” —Booklist (starred review)   “Leon’s latest novel marks the 25th anniversary of her wonderfully atmospheric series. . . . A sweet poignancy flows through Leon’s narrative like the faint smell of chrysanthemums bordering the ancient palazzos.” —Minneapolis Star-Tribune
    Show book
  • By its Cover - cover

    By its Cover

    Donna Leon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The peace of a Venice library is shattered by the murder of a patron in the New York Times–bestselling series starring “a superb police detective” (Library Journal).   A Seattle Times Best Mystery and Crime Novel of the Year   One afternoon, Commissario Guido Brunetti gets a frantic call from the director of a prestigious Venetian library. Someone has stolen pages out of several rare books. After a round of questioning, the case seems clear: the culprit must be the man who requested the volumes, an American professor from a Kansas university. The only problem—the man fled the library earlier that day, and after they check his credentials, it seems the American professor doesn’t exist.   As the investigation proceeds, the suspects multiply. And when a seemingly harmless theologian who’d spent years reading at the library turns up brutally murdered, Brunetti must question his expectations about what makes a man innocent or guilty.   “Leon offers a finely drawn tale that encompasses theft, blackmail, emotional violence, and murder, as well as a rich array of characters [and] compellingly combines their workaday crime-solving with a detailed picture of a vanishing Venice.” —The Boston Globe   “Above all, Brunetti is a careful reader, of people, of places, of situations, and he never stops at surface meanings. That’s why we bookish types adore him the way we do, and why this will likely be one of his most-loved adventures.” —Booklist, starred review
    Show book
  • A Bitter Truth - A Bess Crawford Mystery - cover

    A Bitter Truth - A Bess Crawford...

    Charles Todd

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    “Highly recommended—well-rounded, believable characters, a multi-layered plot solidly based on human nature, all authentically set in the England of 1917…an outstanding and riveting read.”—New York Times bestselling author Stephanie Laurens  
    “Bess Crawford is a strong and likable character.”—Washington Times 
    Already deservedly lauded for the superb historical crime novels featuring shell-shocked Scotland Yard inspector Ian Rutledge (A Lonely Death, A Pale Horse et al), acclaimed author Charles Todd upped the ante by introducing readers to a wonderful new series protagonist, World War One battlefield nurse Bess Crawford. Featured for a third time in A Bitter Truth, Bess reaches out to help an abused and frightened young woman, only to discover that no good deed ever goes unpunished when the good Samaritan nurse finds herself falsely accused of murder. A terrific follow up to Todd’s A Duty to the Dead and An Impartial Witness, A Bitter Truth is another thrilling and evocative mystery from “one of the most respected writers in the genre” (Denver Post) and a treat for fans of Elizabeth George, Anne Perry, Martha Grimes, and Jacqueline Winspear.
    Show book
  • Dead and Gone - cover

    Dead and Gone

    Sherryl Clark

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    There's nothing more dangerous than revenge.
     
    Judi Westerholme has been through it. Brave and strong-willed, she's just about coping in her new role as foster parent to her orphaned niece, taking a job at the local pub to help make ends meet. Then the pub's landlord and Judi's friend, army veteran Pete 'Macca' Maccasfield, is murdered, and her world is suddenly turned upside down.
     
    Despite warnings from the city police to keep out of it, Judi can't help but get involved in the search for Macca's killer. But she soon becomes deeply entangled with some ruthlessly dangerous men. She must act fast and think smart to work out what they want - before anyone else gets hurt...
     
    Long buried secrets resurface in Sherryl Clark's pacey crime novel that pushes Judi Westerholme to her limits to protect the people she loves most.
     
    ----------------------------
     
    Praise for Sherryl Clark
     
    'Sherryl Clark is a worthy addition to the crime writing fraternity, and Trust Me, I’m Dead is a book you should definitely add to your reading list' - Shots Mag
     
    'A whodunnit worthy of a binge alert' - The Westsider
    Show book
  • Murder Served Cold - cover

    Murder Served Cold

    Eric Brown

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    The theft of a painting takes crime-writer sleuth Donald Langham to a country house full of seething tensions, resentment and dark secrets. 
    
    
    
    November, 1956. Lord Elsmere, an old friend of Donald Langham’s literary agent, Charles Elder, is in a pickle – his favourite painting, a Gainsborough, has been stolen from under his nose. What’s more, there’s no evidence of a break-in. The family heirloom was recently re-insured for a hefty price, and Elsmere is struggling financially. Could he have staged the theft, or was it taken by one of the guests?
    
    
    
    Old Major Rutherford, evasive beauty Rebecca Miles, Dutch war hero Patrick Verlinden, Elsmere’s son Dudley Mariner and his statuesque sculpture fiancée, Esmeralda Bellamy, are all guests at the manor. But who would steal the painting, and why?
    
    
    
    Private investigators Langham and Ralph Ryland take on the case and soon uncover seething animosities, jealousy, secrets and deception, before events take a shocking turn…
    Show book