Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
May Sarton - A Self-Portrait - cover

May Sarton - A Self-Portrait

May Sarton

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 1
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

This transcript from the film World of Light: A Portrait of May Sarton illuminates the life and writing of the poet while celebrating the joys of creativity, love, and solitude In June of 1979, May Sarton answered the questions of two filmmakers and read to them from her poetry. This four-day “jam session” ultimately became an acclaimed documentary about her life and work.   For Sarton, the muse has always been female, and the writer says that her own poems “tell me where to go.” In this rare and inspiring window into a singular woman’s soul, Sarton speaks candidly about everything from how a single image opened the door to writing about her mother to the importance of transparency in art and life. She shares insights into her very personal art, including the unusual people and events that provide inspiration, how creativity can grow out of pain, solitude as a two-edged sword, the difficulties of being a female poet, and the ways love can open “the door into one’s own secret and . . . frightening real self.”   Featuring sections entitled “On Inner Space,” “On Nature,” and “On Love,” this revealing volume is also about the need go on, even when up against overwhelming odds. May Sarton: A Self-Portrait pays tribute to an artist’s vision and serves as a revealing window into a fascinating life.

Who read this book also read:

  • Everybody into the Pool - cover

    Everybody into the Pool

    Beth Lisick

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Beth Lisick started out as a homecoming princess with a Crisco-aided tan and a bad perm. And then everything changed. Plunging headlong into America's deepest subcultures, while keeping both feet firmly planted in her parents' Leave It to Beaver values, Lisick makes her adult home on the fringe of mainstream culture and finds it rich with paradox and humor. On the one hand, she lives in "Brokeley" with drug dealers and street gangs; on the other, she drives a station wagon with a baby seat in the back, makes her own chicken stock, and attends ladies' luncheons. How exactly did this suburban girl-next-door end up as one of San Francisco's foremost chroniclers of alternative culture? Lisick explains it all in her hilarious, irreverent, bestselling memoir, Everybody into the Pool. 
    Fans of David Sedaris and Sarah Vowell will relish Lisick's scathingly funny, smart, very real take on the effluvia of daily living. No matter what community she's exposing to the light, Lisick always hits the right chord.
    Show book
  • Don't You Know Who I Think I Am? - Confessions of a First-Class Asshole - cover

    Don't You Know Who I Think I Am?...

    Justin Ross Lee

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Who is JRL?
    
    How dare you not know! Justin Ross Lee is a completely self-created, self-inflated Internet celebrity; “Jew Jetter”; and social media virtuoso. When he’s not causing trouble on Bravo or headlining VH1, you’ll find Justin having red-carpet run-ins with A-list celebrities, getting blacklisted from airlines and nightclubs, and monopolizing the tabloid pages with his boisterous bad-boy behavior. Famous for being famous? He’s famous for telling you he’s famous.
    
    So how did this privileged prick from Scarsdale become a jet-setting, luxury-loving, travel-hacking aristo-brat with an army of followers on social media? Don’t worry, JRL is here to tell you. Love him or loathe him—he doesn’t care—he promises to make you laugh so hard you’ll cry, whether it’s at him or with him. Is this book satire or the instructional manual for the modern narcissist? Either way, Don’t You Know Who I Think I Am? is a story of how one man was dubbed “The ego that attacked NYC” by the New York Post and what that man can teach you so you’ll never have to wait in line again.
    Show book
  • Can't Forgive - My 20-Year Battle with OJ Simpson - cover

    Can't Forgive - My 20-Year...

    Kim Goldman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Don’t tell her she needs to find closure. Don’t ask her to forgive and forget.When Kim was just 22, her older brother, Ron Goldman, was brutally killed by O.J. Simpson. Ron and Kim were very close, and her devastation was compounded by the shocking not guilty verdict that allowed a smirking Simpson to leave as a free man.It wasn’t Kim’s first trauma. Her parents divorced when she was young, and she and Ron were raised by their father.  Her mother kidnapped her, telling her that her father didn’t love her any more. When she was 14, she was almost blinded from severe battery acid burns on her face during an automobile accident, requiring three reconstructive surgeries.But none of these early traumas compared to the loss of her brother, the painful knowledge that his killer was free, and fact that she could not even grieve privately—her grief was made painfully public. Counseled by friends, strangers, and even Oprah to “find closure,” Kim chose a different route. She chose to fight.Repeatedly, Kim and her family pursued Simpson by every legal means. Foiled over and over again, they ultimately achieved a small measure of justice.Kim’s story is one of tragedy, but also of humanity and, often, comedy. Living life as one of America’s most famous “victims” isn’t always easy, especially as a single mother in the dating market. She often had bizarre first date experiences, with one man even breaking down into tears and inconsolable with grief after realizing who she was.Ultimately Kim’s story is that of an ordinary person thrown into extraordinary circumstances at a very young age, and who had the courage—despite the discouragement of so many—to ignore the conventional wisdom and never give up her fight for justice.
    Show book
  • Gilliamesque - cover

    Gilliamesque

    Terry Gilliam

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    This is probably as good a time as any for me to make a full confession . . .
    Show book
  • Brainless - The Lies and Lunacy of Ann Coulter - cover

    Brainless - The Lies and Lunacy...

    Joe Maguire

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    She is an uncompromising apologist for the right and a hater of all things left. Is there anything she won't do or say to further her agenda? The answer is no. 
    Brainless: The Lies and Lunacy of Ann Coulter is an unbridled look at a woman who twists the truth, misleads, plays loose with facts and allusions, and has been accused of plagiarism in hammering home her logic-defying arguments. 
    Brainless illustrates the dangers, ironies, and hypocrisies of the Mistress of Malice. She spews her venom generously across the spectrum. Democrats and Liberals are just the beginning. If you're a woman (you shouldn't vote), gay (you're going to hell), a 9/11 widow (dancing on your murdered husband's grave) or Bill Clinton (slurs and charges too numerous to mention here), you will find yourself the object of her ire. 
    Now it's time to turn the tables and take a good hard look at the High Priestess of Hypocrisy. Journalist Joe Maguire takes apart her arguments, picks apart her agenda, and gives us a look at the psychology and background of the woman who has reduced public political and cultural debate to browbeating and name-calling. 
    Diligently researched (with source notes you can verify!), Maguire separates fact from myth and gives us an unvarnished look at the REAL Ann Coulter. 
    Let's face it. You don't ever want to read a book by Ann Coulter. Read this so you don't have to!
    Show book
  • The Great American Guru: A Mystic in the Bible Belt - cover

    The Great American Guru: A...

    E.V. Elam

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Great American Guru is a complete "how to" guide for spiritual enlightenment.  Read a page, this begins a spellbinding journey of Audle Allison through his luminous life, fully transforming into an enlightened man-God man!  His seventy years of difficult transformation and crystallizing pain also reveals the joy and humor of becoming more of the true self.
    Audle, born in Missouri during the First World War, suffers from multiple health issues with amazing results.  Nevertheless, his mother Effie dies of influenza before Audle fully recovers. Audle's father Oscar is a workaholic, expressing a wealthy mentality. However, he loses everything in the Depression Era when the banks fail.  After the family moves from their mansion to the poor side of town, Audle faces the hardships of poverty, family disagreements, and the cruelty of teenage gang fighters-yet inspires himself to get tough with body-building and sports. 
    Finally, he achieves the status of athletic hero, war veteran, and successful businessman. However, a midlife crisis brings him to his knees, asking, "What is life all about, and why am I here?"  He is desperate for answers, which attract his teachers and gurus, who open his mind to a direct experience into God consciousness.  Audle crystallizes his pain into wisdom as he propels his consciousness beyond the human veil.  With mastery comes the amazing realization that to serve the divine self is the first priority.  As a result, he realizes the Great Laws of the Universe and wants to share this philosophy.  He begins his spiritual job by teaching meditation in Oklahoma City-a mystic in the Bible Belt.  God has a sense of humor.  The results of his teaching are astounding: emotional people smile; hippies get a job; happiness resolves depression; atheists find God; alcoholics transform their lives; hundreds of people find incredible peace in meditation.  A new consciousness is born to humanity.  Follow a master's pattern.
    Show book