Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Golden Goose and Other Stories - cover

We are sorry! The publisher (or author) gave us the instruction to take down this book from our catalog. But please don't worry, you still have more than 1 million other books you can enjoy!

The Golden Goose and Other Stories

Maxine Barry

Publisher: Arcturus Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

From The Twelve Dancing Princesses to The Lion and the Mouse, this selection of 5 classic fables and fairy tales showcases the best-loved stories for children. Accompanied by beautiful illustrations by up-and-coming artists from around the world, this enchanting collection is the perfect introduction to these timeless tales for readers aged 4 and up.Help improve your child's reading in just 10 minutes a day with Storytime.10 minutes of reading a day can...
 
Boost VocabularyReading for a short period every day exposes your child to almost 1 million words per year, which helps to foster communication and understanding.
 
Encourage LearningReading at home is linked to better performance in spelling, comprehension and general knowledge, helping to develop important learning skills.
 
Promote RelaxationReading a book gives your child the quiet time they need each day to relax, and is a great way for you to spend quality time together.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Miracle of Hanukkah - cover

    The Miracle of Hanukkah

    Malachy Doyle

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Miracle of Hanukkah is the perfect picture book to introduce children to the story and traditions of Hanukkah, with text by award-winning author Malachy Doyle and stunning, colourful illustrations from Christopher Corr, the talented team behind Rama and Sita: The Story of Diwali. 
     
    King Antiochus has destroyed the temple and city because the Jews won't worship him instead of God. With no oil left, how will Judah Maccabee and the Jewish people keep the temple's flame alight? Whether you're looking for a gift for Hanukkah or a simple introduction to the story to share with children, this beautiful picture book is ideal.
    Show book
  • Pandora's Box: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    Pandora's Box: A Bloomsbury Reader

    Rose Impey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A beautiful retelling of a classic Greek myth, perfect for fans of Geraldine McCaughrean. 
     
    When the world was new and the gods ruled the whole of Earth, a large wooden chest was sent to a newly-married couple with a warning not to open it. The chest was hidden away with the thought 'out of sight, out of mind'. But curiosity is a powerful thing and it can't hurt to have one little look... can it? 
     
    This retelling of the classic Greek myth from Rose Impey has engaging black-and-white illustrations by Peter Bailey and is perfect for children who are developing as readers. 
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    Book Band: Brown 
    Ideal for ages 7+
    Show book
  • The Case of the Feathered Mask - cover

    The Case of the Feathered Mask

    Holly Webb

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this exciting mystery set in Victorian London, a young girl and her dog must search for a stolen artifact with just a feather to guide them. 
     
    In this fourth mystery about twelve-year-old Maisie, the young detective must solve a crime for her friend Professor Tobin. The professor travelled all over the world collecting strange and wonderful objects, and the British Museum is opening a special room to house his collection. But before the professor’s donation, a thief steals a valuable Amazonian tribal mask! With just a single feather left behind, Maisie doesn’t have much to go on, but the stakes in her newest case are higher than ever. 
     
    Can’t get enough of Maisie's mysteries? Look for The Case of the Stolen Sixpence, The Case of the Vanishing Emerald, and The Case of the Phantom Cat!
    Show book
  • Empire of Storms - cover

    Empire of Storms

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 7
    • 69
    • 0
    Kingdoms collide in Sarah J. Maas's epic fifth installment in the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series. 
     
    The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those don't. 
     
    As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.    
     
    Aelin's journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?
    Show book
  • Do Not Disturb the Dragons - cover

    Do Not Disturb the Dragons

    Michelle Robinson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Two intrepid girls go from ladies-in-waiting to knights-in-action when they rip up the rule book and go searching for adventure! 
     
    Wondermere is the luckiest kingdom in the land, all thanks to the dragons that nest on top of the castle. Nobody wants them to fly away, so everyone has to FOLLOW THE RULES and make sure everything STAYS THE SAME to keep the dragons HAPPY. 
     
    Princess Grace HATES the rules. They stop her doing everything she loves, like PLAYING TROLL-O and WEARING TROUSERS and training to be a BRAVE KNIGHT. Why do boys get all the FUN!  
     
    Determined to prove that the rules are a LOAD OF OLD SWAMP ROT, Grace and her sister Princess Portia secretly enter the year's BIGGEST TROLL-O TOURNAMENT. A couple of rule-breakers couldn't possibly disturb the dragons … could they?  
     
    Cheeky, charming and laugh-out-loud funny, the debut young fiction series from bestselling picture book author Michelle Robinson is chock-full of chuckles (and grumpy unicorns). Perfect for fans of Cressida Cowell, Pamela Butchart and Emer Stamp.
    Show book
  • Sky Ship and other stories: A Bloomsbury Reader - cover

    Sky Ship and other stories: A...

    Geraldine McCaughrean

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    'McCaughrean is one of the greatest living children's authors.' (The Bookseller) 
     
    Brilliant historical fiction from double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean. 
     
    From ships that sail in a sea in the sky and children who witness the deadly effects of a scientific experiment, to a magic carpet that brings about a day of judgement and a year where eleven days are lost and never to be found, this short-story collection will have you on the edge of your seat! 
     
    This collection of gripping historical short stories from award-winning author Geraldine McCaughrean has beautiful black-and-white illustrations by Ian McCaughrean and is perfect for children who are developing as readers.  
     
    The Bloomsbury Readers series is packed with brilliant books to get children reading independently in Key Stage 2, with book-banded stories by award-winning authors like double Carnegie Medal winner Geraldine McCaughrean and Waterstones Prize winner Patrice Lawrence covering a wide range of genres and topics. With charming illustrations and online guided reading notes written by the Centre for Literacy in Primary Education (CLPE), this series is ideal for reading both in the classroom and at home. For more information visit www.bloomsburyguidedreading.com. 
     
    Book Band: Dark Red 
    Ideal for ages 10+
    Show book