Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read
without limits.
Subscribe to the pleasure of reading and enjoy the already more than a million books on all your digital devices.
All characters a62979f362eee8153229a51fdca0de40524eab52f63679cf7c23b9c6bb4e80d5
The Iron Pirate - cover

The Iron Pirate

Max Pemberton

Publisher: Aeterna Classics

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

If it has not been your privilege to hear a French guard utter these words, you have lost a lesson in the dignity of elocution which nothing can replace. En voiture, en voi ture; five minutes for Paris. At the well-delivered warning, the Englishman in the adjoining buffet raises on high the frothing tankard, and vaunts before the world his capacity for deep draughts and long; the fair American spills her coffee and looks an exclamation; the Bishop pays for his daughter's tea, drops the change in the one chink which the buffet boards disclose, and thinks one; the trav eled person, disdaining haste, smiles on all with a pitying leer; the foolish man, who has forgotten something, makes public his conviction that he will lose his train. The adamantine official alone is at his ease, and, as the minutes go, the knell of the train-loser sounds the deeper, the horrid jargon is yet more irritating.

Other books that might interest you

  • Kill Zone - cover

    Kill Zone

    CJ Lyons

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    From New York Times and USA Today Bestseller, CJ Lyons:
     
    Lucy’s back! In a story ripped from the headlines, the violence is the worst she’s ever seen, the stakes are higher than ever, and then…things get personal.
     
    It’s a vicious, horrific crime: the brutal killing of a teenaged girl. When Pittsburgh detectives call FBI Supervisory Special Agent Lucy Guardino to the scene, their focus is on who and why?
     
    Was it the girl’s Afghan father striving to regain his honor after she became too Westernized? Her Jewish boyfriend? Someone from Afghanistan settling an old grudge? Or one of the many drug cartels the father helped the DEA bring down seeking revenge?
     
    The answers seem clear when Pittsburgh becomes engulfed in flames as a violent narcoterrorist turns the city into a kill zone…But in the dark of night, surrounded by men intent on destroying the truth, Lucy learns that secrets hide in shadows.
    Show book
  • Caught in the Act - The Charlie Davies Mysteries #7 - cover

    Caught in the Act - The Charlie...

    Clare Kauter

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Charlie’s back, and this time she – well, she lets a murderer escape. Oops. Now she has to track the killer down, which would be a lot easier if she wasn’t still healing from her last scrape with a murderer. And it’s not just her injuries slowing her down. The constant nightmares about that guy she stabbed aren’t helping either.  
    Plus now that Topher's back, keeping her thing with James McKenzie a secret is going to be tricky – especially since James and her bro are living together. 
    Charlie needs to catch the murderer, if she doesn’t get caught out first. 
    So basically it’s business as usual. 
    Books in this series: 
    1. Losing Your Head 
    2. Unfinished Sentence 
    3. Graceless 
    4. Higher Learning 
    5. Santa's Little Helper 
    6. Undetected 
    7. Caught in the Act 
    8. Raising Hell 
    0. Short Fuse (prequel novella)
    Show book
  • A Charlie Davies Mystery Collection Books 4-6 - The Charlie Davies Mysteries - cover

    A Charlie Davies Mystery...

    Clare Kauter

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Charlie Davies is back, and now that she's a licensed PI there's no stopping her.  
    Join Charlie on her mystery-solving adventures in this value-packed, binge-worthy boxset! 
    Higher Learning: 
    Charlie Davies is about to face her worst nightmare: she's going back to high school. Following the death of a local schoolgirl, Charlie must go undercover to find out who is dealing drugs to students. Not only does this mean heading back to class, but she must also get to know the girl's friends - who happen to be cheerleaders. Time to break out the pom-poms. 
    Santa's Little Helper: 
    There's a flashing Santa on the loose, jingling his bells at unsuspecting holiday shoppers. Since Charlie is currently on her boss's naughty list, she must go undercover as an elf to try and track this wayward Santa down. This means that at the jolliest time of year, Charlie will be reunited with her greatest enemy: retail. 
    Undetected: 
    All the signs point to Charlie's big bro, Topher, being back in town. The trouble is, Charlie can't find him - and she's not the only one looking. Even for an amazing PI, this is a tricky case, and Charlie's hardly in the 'amazing' category. With the police searching for her brother, convinced that he's a murderer, Charlie's racing against the clock to find him and help him before he's arrested - or worse. 
    What other readers are saying… 
    "action-packed, laugh filled adventure" 
    "This author makes me laugh out loud and re-read lines just to keep giggling." 
    "entertaining and addictive" 
    "I haven't come across a Charlie Davies Mystery that I haven't enjoyed yet"
    Show book
  • The Criminals We Deserve - An Inspector Carlyle Mystery - cover

    The Criminals We Deserve - An...

    James Craig

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    It's always dangerous when you know too much . . . 
    When the body of a journalist is found in the back of a garbage truck, Inspector Carlyle is thrown into the middle of a scandal that threatens to expose corrupt links between the police, parliament, and a hugely powerful media mogul. 
    In his search for the killer, Carlyle goes head-to-head with his nemesis, Trevor Miller—a policeman-turned-security adviser to the Prime Minister. Miller has dirty money in his pockets and blood on his hands. And he would do anything to get rid of John Carlyle . . .
    Show book
  • Fertile for the Dragon Shifter #2: Kenna - cover

    Fertile for the Dragon Shifter...

    Jade Bleu

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    I was claimed hard in the water by a dragon shifter!
    When I started obsessing about getting myself off while in water, I didn’t know it was because I was fated to be a water dragon’s mate. He came to me as I floated naked on the lake, shifting into a seductive male who took my fertility hard right then and there.
    
    An erotic paranormal short featuring a dragon shifter and fertile, raw sex with a stranger.
    Show book
  • Devil Smoke - A Beacon Falls Mystery - cover

    Devil Smoke - A Beacon Falls...

    CJ Lyons

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From New York Times and USA Today bestselling author CJ Lyons. For fans of Lisa Gardner, Tami Hoag, and Jeffery Deaver:
     
    "Everything a great thriller should be—action packed, authentic, and intense." ~#1 New York Times bestselling author Lee Child
     
    After leaving the FBI, Lucy Guardino still feels like the new kid on the block with her team at Beacon Falls. But then a new case involving a young woman with amnesia searching for her lost memories shines a spotlight on a past case involving one of Lucy's team members.
     
    Dr. Tommy Worth left his job as a pediatrician ER physician to join the Beacon Group after his wife went missing, leaving him to raise their five-year-old daughter alone. Now the press is hounding him on the anniversary of his wife’s disappearance. Distracting himself with the newest case at Beacon Falls fails miserably after the woman he is trying to help becomes the target of an anonymous stalker. 
     
    Because, when you can’t even remember who you are, how do you know who to trust? Or who to run from?
    Show book