Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Iron Pirate - cover

The Iron Pirate

Max Pemberton

Publisher: Aeterna Classics

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

If it has not been your privilege to hear a French guard utter these words, you have lost a lesson in the dignity of elocution which nothing can replace. En voiture, en voi ture; five minutes for Paris. At the well-delivered warning, the Englishman in the adjoining buffet raises on high the frothing tankard, and vaunts before the world his capacity for deep draughts and long; the fair American spills her coffee and looks an exclamation; the Bishop pays for his daughter's tea, drops the change in the one chink which the buffet boards disclose, and thinks one; the trav eled person, disdaining haste, smiles on all with a pitying leer; the foolish man, who has forgotten something, makes public his conviction that he will lose his train. The adamantine official alone is at his ease, and, as the minutes go, the knell of the train-loser sounds the deeper, the horrid jargon is yet more irritating.

Other books that might interest you

  • Wicked Angel - A Novel - cover

    Wicked Angel - A Novel

    Taylor Caldwell

    • 1
    • 15
    • 0
    A tale of family horror in the tradition of The Bad Seed and The Omen from the #1 New York Times–bestselling author of Dialogues with the Devil. To his mother, Angelo is the most beautiful and brilliant child in the world. She caters to his every whim and dismisses his malicious outbursts as childish pranks. But as Angelo grows older, his behavior only becomes more disturbing.   A pet dog disappears. A playground run-in leaves one of his teachers with a broken arm. Still, his mother refuses to believe that anything is wrong with her precious angel. His father and his aunt, however, have begun to suspect that behind Angelo’s cherubic smile lurks a dark and twisted monster who preys on the innocent. But how do they reveal Angelo’s true nature before it’s too late?   A mesmerizing portrait of evil personified, Wicked Angel is a psychological tour-de-force from an author who “never falters when it comes to storytelling” (Publishers Weekly).
    Show book
  • Song of Fire - cover

    Song of Fire

    Yolanda Allard

    • 2
    • 3
    • 0
    Siren Willows was nine when she first discovered that not only was she not human but mostly likely evil, and when she sang, her song could bring an immediate fiery death to those around her. At sixteen, after holding her songs at bay for years, Siren breaks and sings once again. As it turns out, Siren is part phoenix as well—a long line of mythical beings called to protect their veiled land, Atara, from evil. 
    Her newfound friends decide to help her discover what other secrets her blood holds. Soon, they realize someone else must have heard Siren's song and is hiring monsters to assassinate her. With two childlike wisps as her guardians, she sets off on a perilous mission, leading Siren and company on an adventure of a lifetime into a hidden world of magic. 
    Siren never feels more whole than when she sings. If she can't find out what she is before someone discovers her secret abilities—which could wipe out all mythical creatures—it won't only be mysterious strangers she will have to worry about. The very phoenix she has come to care for just might call for her death.
    Show book
  • The Hurricane Sisters - A Novel - cover

    The Hurricane Sisters - A Novel

    Dorothea Benton Frank

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Hurricane season begins early and rumbles all summer long, well into September. Often people's lives reflect the weather and The Hurricane Sisters is just such a story. 
    Once again New York Times bestselling author Dorothea Benton Frank takes us deep into the heart of her magical South Carolina Lowcountry on a tumultuous journey filled with longings, disappointments, and, finally, a road toward happiness that is hard earned. There we meet three generations of women buried in secrets. The determined matriarch, Maisie Pringle, at eighty, is a force to be reckoned with because she will have the final word on everything, especially when she's dead wrong. Her daughter, Liz, is caught up in the classic maelstrom of being middle-age and in an emotionally demanding career that will eventually open all their eyes to a terrible truth. And Liz's beautiful twenty-something daughter, Ashley, whose dreamy ambitions of her unlikely future keeps them all at odds. 
    Luckily for Ashley, her wonderful older brother, Ivy, is her fierce champion but he can only do so much from San Francisco where he resides with his partner. And Mary Beth, her dearest friend, tries to have her back but even she can't talk headstrong Ashley out of a relationship with an ambitious politician who seems slightly too old for her. 
    Actually, Ashley and Mary Beth have yet to launch themselves into solvency. Their prospects seem bleak. So while they wait for the world to discover them and deliver them from a ramen-based existence, they placate themselves with a hare-brained scheme to make money but one that threatens to land them in huge trouble with the authorities. 
    So where is Clayton, Liz's husband? He seems more distracted than usual. Ashley desperately needs her father's love and attention but what kind of a parent can he be to Ashley with one foot in Manhattan and the other one planted in indiscretion? And Liz, who's an expert in the field of troubled domestic life, refuses to acknowledge Ashley's precarious situation. Who's in charge of this family? The wake-up call is about to arrive. 
    The Lowcountry has endured its share of war and bloodshed like the rest of the South, but this storm season we watch Maisie, Liz, Ashley, and Mary Beth deal with challenges that demand they face the truth about themselves. After a terrible confrontation they are forced to rise to forgiveness, but can they establish a new order for the future of them all? 
    Frank, with her hallmark scintillating wit and crisp insight, captures how a complex family of disparate characters and their close friends can overcome anything through the power of love and reconciliation. This is the often hilarious, sometimes sobering, but always entertaining story of how these unforgettable women became The Hurricane Sisters.
    Show book
  • Her Husband’S Crown - cover

    Her Husband’S Crown

    Katherine Namuddu

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A fascinating exploration of the changing face of social customs and gender politics.  Kirkus Reviews
    
    Nansamba is married off aged sixteen to young Ggalabuzi from a neighboring village. It is an arranged marriage in 1940s rural Uganda and she works hard to build a prosperous household together with her easy-going and hardworking husband. 
    
    Twelve years into the marriage, Ggalabuzi exercises his male right to enter into a second marriage without telling his wife; and does so with her younger sister Mucwa. Nansamba navigates this hazardous marital and familial road with extraordinary wisdom, courage and dignity. 
    
    At twenty-eight, educated, city-born Biiti is considered an old maid. Her anxious relatives find her a rural husband past his prime and with a secret history. He soon destroys their marriage and she abandons it to become a successful businesswoman and anchor of her family.
    
    For a quarter of a century relatives, friends and in-laws from Nansamba and Biitis families crisscross each others lives and create much drama and many children, including four sets of twins.
    Show book
  • Blogger Girl - cover

    Blogger Girl

    Meredith Schorr

    • 0
    • 22
    • 0
    “Sassy, sexy, endlessly entertaining, and full of laughs . . . one of those books that keeps you up at night because you can’t wait to see what happens next” (Tracie Banister, author of Izzy As Is).   Book blogger Kim Long has worked tirelessly to squash the claim that “chick lit is dead” once and for all. Not bad for a woman who by day ekes out a meager living as a pretty—and pretty-much-nameless—legal secretary in Manhattan. But while she finds no passion in the day job, she finds plenty in the handsome associate down the hall. At least until her high school nemesis, mean girl Hannah Marshak, bursts back into town. Not only does she flash onto the chick lit scene with a hot new book that’s turning heads—and pages—but Kim’s afraid she’s turning the head of her handsome colleague as well.   Adding salt to her wounded heart, Hannah’s book has popped into Kim’s inbox—along with a request for review. With a mere click of her mouse, Kim can deliver a nasty one-star review to thousands of followers. Or she could put on her big-girl panties and use Hannah’s success as a challenge to unearth a dream that she’s kept hidden for years . . .   “What a fun page-turning book this was!” —Katie Oliver, bestselling author of the Dating Mr. Darcy Series   “I consider it the Girls Just Want to Have Fun of books.” —Chick Lit Central   “What a fun book. The characters were incredibly well-written . . . Schorr is a talented author and I’m glad she has other books out for me to read! I’m definitely a fan!” —Becky Monson, bestselling author of the Spinster Series
    Show book
  • The Other Side of Midnight - cover

    The Other Side of Midnight

    Sidney Sheldon

    • 0
    • 29
    • 0
    The Other Side of Midnight is Sidney Sheldon at his best. This page-turner is full of tortured romantic entanglements, reverses of fortune, thrilling suspense, and ultimate justice. In Paris, Washington, and a fabulous villa in Greece, an innocent American becomes a bewildered, horror-stricken pawn in a game of vengeance and betrayal. She is Catherine Douglas, a woman caught in a web of four lives intertwined by passion as her handsome husband pursues an incredibly beautiful film star . . . and as Constantin Demeris, a legendary Greek tycoon, tightens the strands that control them all.
    Show book