Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
The Iron Pirate - cover

The Iron Pirate

Max Pemberton

Publisher: Aeterna Classics

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

If it has not been your privilege to hear a French guard utter these words, you have lost a lesson in the dignity of elocution which nothing can replace. En voiture, en voi ture; five minutes for Paris. At the well-delivered warning, the Englishman in the adjoining buffet raises on high the frothing tankard, and vaunts before the world his capacity for deep draughts and long; the fair American spills her coffee and looks an exclamation; the Bishop pays for his daughter's tea, drops the change in the one chink which the buffet boards disclose, and thinks one; the trav eled person, disdaining haste, smiles on all with a pitying leer; the foolish man, who has forgotten something, makes public his conviction that he will lose his train. The adamantine official alone is at his ease, and, as the minutes go, the knell of the train-loser sounds the deeper, the horrid jargon is yet more irritating.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Bowness Bequest - cover

    The Bowness Bequest

    Rebecca Tope

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    When winter draws in around Windermere it brings with it the death of Frances Henderson, best friend of Persimmon ‘Simmy’ Brown’s mother. Coping with the loss of a woman she has known all her life is hard, particularly coupled with the antagonism Simmy faces from some of Frances’s remaining family and the confusion of being bequeathed something in the will.  
    Then a violent murder is discovered close to home and Simmy must face the fact that the family she was once so close to as a child holds some dark and sinister secrets. Simmy’s efforts to keep out of the investigation are frustrated when people from the past resurface, rumours of infidelity in the Henderson household whirl around, and her friends Ben and Bonnie become involved in solving the crime. The Lake District’s tranquillity will be uncertain until the mystery is completely resolved.
    Show book
  • First Love and Other Sorrows - Stories - cover

    First Love and Other Sorrows -...

    Harold Brodkey

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    In the vein of John Cheever and J. D. Salinger, this powerful collection of short stories chronicles the loss of innocence, the harsh cruelty of social distinctions, and the anguish of young loveFirst Love and Other Sorrows is the hauntingly beautiful debut collection of short stories from American master Harold Brodkey. Written when the author was in his twenties, these strong, affecting tales recall the intoxicating joy of young, springtime love, while lamenting the betrayal of dreams and false ideals in the glaring light of reality. Set in the Midwest during the 1950s, First Love and Other Sorrows centers around a Jewish family that has recently lost its patriarch—and with him the world of privilege.  Through the eyes of a son, a sister, and a mother—each one struggling to find a foothold in both family and society—these stories explore class prejudice, obsessive love, and the tragic foibles and emotional truths of being human. First Love and Other Sorrows is masterful fiction from an extraordinary literary artist.
    Show book
  • Bite Me If You Can - cover

    Bite Me If You Can

    Lynsay Sands

    • 4
    • 13
    • 0
    Once Bitten . . . 
    One minute Leigh is walking home in the early hours of the morning, and the next a vampire is sinking his teeth into her neck. Turns out it was a rogue vampire marked for termination, but it does Leigh little good because the damage's already been done. She's become one of them. 
    Lucian Argeneau, hunter of rogue vampires, has been alive for over two thousand years, and there's very little to excite him anymore. Food has become tasteless, sex is ordinary. Then Leigh drops into his life. Suddenly he finds himself craving coffee . . . and imagining the sassy brunette atop the black satin sheets on his nice big bed. It's Lucian's job now to enlighten Leigh on the inner workings of being immortal . . . and tutoring her is igniting a fire in him that hasn't burned in centuries. 
    But until they stop a renegade bloodsucker from destroying the human race, passion will have to wait!
    Show book
  • The Bride Price - cover

    The Bride Price

    Anne Mallory

    • 3
    • 39
    • 0
    Winner take all . . .  
    Sebastien Deville, the debauched, dangerously handsome illegitimate son of the Duke of Grandien, has waited his whole life for revenge—and suddenly it is there for the taking. A competition sponsored by the ing has all the ton talking. The winner will receive an immense fortune, a newly created title, sponsorship, and a well-born bride—everything Sebastien needs to reclaim his mother's stolen lands and to wield the colossal power itching beneath his fingertips. His victory is all but assured . . . until he meets Caroline. 
    Caroline Martin knows all about Sebastien, the legendary heartbreaker who leaves women weeping in his wake, and she is determined not to see him win the competition in which he would claim her friend as his bride. Yet sabotage is so very hard to concentrate on when the target's searing glances promise incredible pleasure and his skillful hands vow unimaginable desire. She knows the danger he presents, the temptation he offers, yet she is willing to risk everything for all she holds dear. 
    But Sebastien Deville will do anything to win . . . and Caroline's heart may become the ultimate prize.
    Show book
  • Bella and the Alien Tentacle - and the Alien Tentacle - cover

    Bella and the Alien Tentacle -...

    Jacqui Callen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Stranded on an alien planet, Bella gets more than she bargained for when she's left to fend for herself and discovers that she's not the only intelligent creature around. 
     
    Bella experiences changes and situations no human woman should be forced to endure at the tentacles of her alien captor. 
     
    "Made me shiver in anticipation." ~ Chance Cover "A fun short story for fans of sci-fi and erotica." ~ J.D.
    Show book
  • To Catch a Queen - Fairy Tale #2 - cover

    To Catch a Queen - Fairy Tale #2

    Shanna Swendson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Uneasy lies the head that wears a crown – especially the crown of the fairy realm… 
    Sophie Drake has made a promise, and she never breaks her word. She will free Michael Murray’s long-lost wife from the fairy realm even if her intensifying feelings for him make it the most painful thing she’s ever done. 
    But Sophie is running out of time. Dark fae forces are stirring, threatening the human world. To make matters worse, humans are being cast out of the Realm, whether or not they want to leave, and the shock from these sudden evictions can even prove fatal. It’s only a matter of time before it happens to Michael’s wife. 
    All this in the name of the fairy queen. 
    Stunned, Sophie knows this is impossible because she’s the queen. She won the throne fair and square, through trials and blood. 
    Now she must find and fight an impostor for a crown she never wanted in order to save both the Realm and the human world.
    Show book