Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Acres of Unrest - cover

Acres of Unrest

Max Brand

Publisher: Good Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

"Acres of Unrest" by Max Brand. Published by Good Press. Good Press publishes a wide range of titles that encompasses every genre. From well-known classics & literary fiction and non-fiction to forgotten−or yet undiscovered gems−of world literature, we issue the books that need to be read. Each Good Press edition has been meticulously edited and formatted to boost readability for all e-readers and devices. Our goal is to produce eBooks that are user-friendly and accessible to everyone in a high-quality digital format.
Available since: 11/09/2021.
Print length: 172 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Right Beside You - A Must Read Mystery Thriller - cover

    Right Beside You - A Must Read...

    Helen Pryke

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this tense thriller, an English reporter doesn’t know whom to trust as threatening letters continue to arrive and a killer gets dangerously closer. 
     
    My brother and I had our future all mapped out until that fateful night destroyed it. Now those responsible must pay. 
     
    When Maggie receives an anonymous letter, she realises she’s being stalked. The only connection is a Hampshire gang she helped put in prison thirteen years earlier. As the stalking intensifies, Maggie suspects everyone around her. Even those she loves. But as Maggie becomes more and more paranoid, one by one the gang members suffer horrifying attacks. Someone from her past is out for revenge, and it’s clear that Maggie is next . . .  
     
    Tense, fast-paced, and gritty, Right Beside You is the second Maggie Turner mystery, though can easily be read as a stand-alone. It’s the perfect read for fans of authors like Angela Marsons, Carol Wyer and Helen Fields.
    Show book
  • The Healer's Betrayal - cover

    The Healer's Betrayal

    Helen Pryke

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “Wow . . . gripped from the first page. Would highly recommend . . . brilliant.” —Amazon reviewer, five starsIn an era of superstition and fear, it’s dangerous to be a woman—and even more so to be a healer . . .  Morgana Innocenti was born on the cusp of the 1600s, on the cursed ground inside the Grove. Deaf since the age of eight from a childhood illness, and able to see shadows where no shadow should be, she has learned to face any difficulty with strength and determination. But a three-hundred-year-old vow of revenge, and a terrible secret revealed on her grandmother’s deathbed, throw Morgana’s life into turmoil, and nothing will ever be the same again. To protect her family’s name, she must marry a man she hardly knows, and trust that she has made the right choice. While she settles into her new life, rumours arrive from England of witch hunters who leave a trail of death and devastation behind them as they cross the country. When her daughter is born with the mark of the devil, Morgana lives in constant fear that they will come to Italy. She has no idea that she is about to suffer the ultimate betrayal. Before, she had to marry to save her family’s name. What will she sacrifice to save her daughter?
    Show book
  • Three Stories and Ten Poems - cover

    Three Stories and Ten Poems

    Ernest Hemingway

    • 1
    • 3
    • 1
    This first literary collection from the Nobel Prize–winning author of The Sun Also Rises contains some of his earliest work.Three Stories and Ten Poems was originally published in a small print run in Paris in 1923. Of this collection’s three stories, two are all that remained after a suitcase containing his manuscripts was stolen in the Gare de Lyon, while the third was written the previous year in Italy. Their tight, economical prose is typical of Hemingway’s style. Each story explores themes found in the author’s later work, like masculinity and finding solace in alcohol, sports, and the outdoors. In “Up in Michigan,” a small-town waitress finds herself falling for the new man who has just bought the local smithy. In “Out of Season,” an American ex-pat living in northern Italy takes his wife on a fishing trip. And in “My Old Man,” the son of a jockey comes of age in the world of European horse racing. This collection also features ten poems, such as “Champs d’Honneur,” “Montparnasse,” and “Along with Youth.”
    Show book
  • The Settlers - cover

    The Settlers

    Vivian Stuart

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A RAW LAND DRENCHED IN BLOOD, PASSION, AND DREAMS...
    
    The third book in the dramatic and intriguing story about the colonisation of Australia: a country built on blood, passion, and dreams.
    
    England sends convicts to Australia, but among them, there are hard-working men and women who wish to create a new life for themselves. The same desire is shared by those who are free — but it will be a gruelling fight for survival.
    And the strong, young, and stubborn Jenny Taggart does not give up ...
    
    Rebels and outcasts, they fled halfway across the earth to settle the harsh Australian wastelands. Decades later — ennobled by love and strengthened by tragedy — they had transformed a wilderness into a fertile land. And themselves into The Australians.
    Show book
  • Fiona Range - A Novel - cover

    Fiona Range - A Novel

    Mary McGarry Morris

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this “complex, compelling” novel by the New York Times–bestselling author, a troubled woman uncovers the mysteries of her own past (Kirkus Reviews). Abandoned by her young mother, unsure of her father’s identity, and raised by her prominent aunt and uncle, thirty-year-old Fiona Range has developed a high threshold for emotional pain. Her recklessness, generosity, and poor judgment have landed her in more scrapes than her affluent family—or small-town community—can tolerate. Beautiful, volatile, and smart-tongued (or trashy, erratic, and wild, depending on whom you ask), Fiona hits rock bottom after she wakes up with a hangover and a strange man in her bed. Alienated from relatives and friends but determined to change, Fiona turns to the men in her life—among them, cruel and unstable Patrick Grady, who denies she is his daughter. When her gentle cousin Elizabeth arrives home with fiancé in tow, it sparks a storm where past mistakes and current passions collide.
    Show book
  • The Gaia Trilogy Books One to Three - Blue Gold Rose Gold White Gold - cover

    The Gaia Trilogy Books One to...

    David Barker

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The action-packed trilogy now in one volume—set in a water-starved world where international agents fight to keep doomsday at bay . . .   This three-in-one digital edition of the thrilling Gaia series includes:  Blue Gold Climate change and geopolitical tension have given rise to a new international threat: a world war over water. This vital resource has become a precious commodity, and some will stop at nothing to control its flow. When a satellite disappears over Iceland, Sim Atkins joins the Overseas Division to hunt for the terrorists responsible—a quest that will take him and his partner, Freda, to a billionaires’ tax haven in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean and into a web of deceit . . .  Rose Gold In the aftermath of war, tensions remain high and terrorism is a daily fact of life. But a mining base on the moon offers a rare example of international co-operation and a possible solution to the world’s energy problems. Yet not everyone on Earth is keen for this endeavour to succeed—and Sim Atkins’s plan to start a family with his wife may have to be put on hold . . .  White Gold Agent Atkins has returned home after surviving his last deadly mission, and all he can think about is finding the criminals responsible for a heinous act. But his fury and lust for revenge must be set aside when a nuclear warhead is stolen . . .
    Show book