Enjoy 2020 without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Temple Bar - A History - cover

Temple Bar - A History

Maurice Curtis

Publisher: The History Press

  • 1
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

For as long as we have records, Temple Bar has been at the heart of Dublin’s cultural life. Its history is one of design, craft, publishing, the performing arts, coffee houses, political debate and great colour and energy. The world’s favourite oratorio and chorus – ‘Hallelujah’ from Handel’s Messiah – had its world premiere in Temple Bar in 1742 in Neals’ Musick Hall, and a tradition of great musical vibrancy has continued there over time. Today, it is one of the central tourist areas of Dublin, and one of the most visited sets of streets on the island of Ireland. This is its history.

Other books that might interest you

  • Common People - An Anthology of Working-Class Writers - cover

    Common People - An Anthology of...

    Kit de Waal

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Common People is the latest campaigning anthology from the publisher of bestsellers The Good Immigrant (70k copies sold to date) and Repeal the 8th.It features original work from some of our best-known writers: Kit De Waal, Malorie Blackman, Lisa McInerney, Cathy Rentzenbrink, Stuart Maconie, Louise Doughty, Damian Barr and Daljit Nagra among others.Kit de Waal’s debut novel, My Name is Leon, was an international bestseller. It won Kerry Group Irish Novel of the Year 2017 and was shortlisted for the Costa First Book Award, the Desmond Elliott Prize and the British Book Awards 2017 Best Debut Book of the Year.Kit is one of the UK’s most prominent voices calling for inclusivity and working-class representation in the arts, and has established a creative writing scholarship at Birkbeck University.Almost half of all authors, writers and
    translators in the UK come from professional, middle-class backgrounds,
    compared with just 10 per cent of those from working-class backgrounds. This
    anthology addresses that pressing imbalance.There will be events across the UK on publication, including all the major literary festivals.For fans of The Good Immigrant, Know Your Place: Essays on the Working Class by the Working Class, Brit(ish) by Afua Hirsch.
    Show book
  • King Warrior Magician Lover - Rediscovering the Archetypes of the Mature Masculine - cover

    King Warrior Magician Lover -...

    Robert Moore, Doug Gillette

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    The bestselling, widely heralded, Jungian introduction to the psychological foundation of a mature, authentic, and revitalized masculinity. 
    Redefining age-old concepts of masculinity, Jungian analysts Robert Moore and Douglas Gillette make the argument that mature masculinity is not abusive or domineering, but generative, creative, and empowering of the self and others. Moore and Gillette clearly define the four mature male archetypes that stand out through myth and literature across history: the king (the energy of just and creative ordering), the warrior (the energy of aggressive but nonviolent action), the magician (the energy of initiation and transformation), and the lover (the energy that connects one to others and the world), as well as the four immature patterns that interfere with masculine potential (divine child, oedipal child, trickster and hero).  King, Warrior, Magician, Lover is an exploratory journey that will help men and women reimagine and deepen their understanding of the masculine psyche.
    Show book
  • Philosophy and Civilization in the Middle Ages - cover

    Philosophy and Civilization in...

    Maurice DeWulf

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Paphos Publishers offers a wide catalog of rare classic titles, published for a new generation. 
    
    Philosophy and Civilization in the Middle Ages is a great overview of the 12th and 13th centuries social history and its influence on the modern world.
    Show book
  • Strange coincidences in your life - Small curious events Forebodings Telepathy Does it happen to you too? Quantum physics and the theory of synchronicity explain extrasensory phenomena - cover

    Strange coincidences in your...

    George Anderson

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    From the earliest developments of thought, mankind believed that some significant coincidences were signs by which a higher philosophical or divine level sought to inter-dialogue with men.
     
    In the last three centuries this had been erased from the new directions of science. Extraordinary coincidences were considered as fruits of chance. Anyone who wanted to interpret extraordinary events as divine signals was mocked. In the same way, premonitions were considered illusions or even signs of imbalance. This, despite many had experienced these extraordinary facts.
     
    Science denied the existence of a psychic dimension with which the human mind could interact. According to the common opinion, the only existing reality was matter. However, in the 1980s, experiments in quantum physics demonstrated the existence of a universe that is not just composed of matter. This universe holds a level in which energy and information do not suffer the limits of space and time typical of classical physics.
     
    This confirms all the intuitions matured in the history of humanity. Among these intuitions the concept of "Soul of the World" enunciated by the Greek philosopher Plato. More recently, the Swiss psychologist Carl Gustav Jung has elaborated the theory of the "collective unconscious".
     
    This book avoids investigating excessively specialized topics. The author clearly accompanies the reader in understanding the three levels that form a single reality.
     
    The first level is the physical one, which is part of our daily experience. The second level is the one described by quantum physics, typical of the smallest elementary particles of atoms.
     
    The third is the psychic level called "non-locality". It is the spiritual level, which can not be physically located anywhere.
     
    This path of knowledge refers to recent discoveries recognized by official science. The strange coincidences and phenomena of the mind become important parts of a new and surprising reality.
    Show book
  • Eyewitness to the Gods - What I Kept Secret for Decades - cover

    Eyewitness to the Gods - What I...

    Erich von Daniken

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The father of the ancient alien theory with more than 65 million books sold reveals everything he has withheld for years.In all his years of service, why didn't Erich von Däniken ever doubt his theory that inhabitants of other planets had come into contact with humanity ages ago, and that they still observe us today? How could von Däniken in all these years say firmly that the UFO phenomenon is real and that people are being abducted by aliens? Why does he repeatedly criticize the official historiography and our religions and thus accept scorn and hostility?The answers to these questions are: Because Erich von Däniken spoke to people who supported his theories. Because people who saw UFOs or were kidnapped by aliens trusted him. And because experts and insiders inaugurated secrets known to only a few people.In this book, the now 81-year-old presents selected eyewitnesses and insiders for the first time, reveals secrets and stories that he has hitherto kept private, and presents reports and revelations that leave one speechless!
    Show book
  • Patient Capital - The Challenges and Promises of Long-Term Investing - cover

    Patient Capital - The Challenges...

    Josh Lerner, Victoria Ivashina

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    How to overcome barriers to the long-term investments that are essential for solving the world’s biggest problems 
    There has never been a greater need for long-term investments to tackle the world’s most difficult problems, such as climate change and decaying infrastructure. And it is increasingly unlikely that the public sector will be willing or able to fill this gap. If these critical needs are to be met, the major pools of long-term, patient capital—including pensions, sovereign wealth funds, university endowments, and wealthy individuals and families—will have to play a large role. In this accessible and authoritative account of long-term capital investment, two leading experts on the subject, Harvard Business School professors Victoria Ivashina and Josh Lerner, highlight the significant hurdles facing long-term investors and propose concrete ways to overcome these difficulties. 
    Presenting the best evidence in an engaging way by using memorable stories and examples, Patient Capital describes how large investors increasingly want and need long-run investments that have the potential to deliver greater returns than those in the public markets. Yet success in such investments has been the exception. Performance has suffered from both the limitations of investors and the internal structure of their fund managers, often resulting in the wrong incentives and a lack of long-term planning. 
    Yet the challenges facing long-term investors can be surmounted and the rewards are potentially large, both for investors and society as a whole. Patient Capital shows how to make long-term investment work better for everyone.
    Show book