What's better than reading? Reading withour limits :D
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Rock - cover

The Rock

Maureen Mendelowitz

Publisher: Ginninderra Press

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

It is South Africa in the early years of the scourge of the apartheid system, its prejudices and injustices affecting the fabric of the society. Against this background is the thwarted love affair of Daniel and Maryssa, two young people from traumatic backgrounds. Daniel is a brilliant young doctor who is unable to admit to himself the love he has for Maryssa, and to take responsibility for their relationship. His actions are profoundly influenced by the negative impact from his childhood of his parents’ unhealthy marriage. Maryssa’s father is an abusive alcoholic. Her way of coping is to withdraw into herself. She is reticent and uncomplaining, accepting and forgiving – until pushed to the brink. Their ensuing relationship is one of frustration and insecurity, of passion and pain. But underlying this is a deep and unquestionable love for each other, a love that is unable to be resolved.

Other books that might interest you

  • Clifford’s Spiral - A Novel - cover

    Clifford’s Spiral - A Novel

    Gerald Everett Jones

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    Clifford’s Spiral is a quirkily comic literary novel. Its sardonic tone recalls the wry wisdom of Kurt Vonnegut, and its preoccupation with male centeredness is reminiscent of Philip Roth. Stroke survivor Clifford Klovis tries to piece together the colorful fragments of his memories. He fusses over his lifelong curiosities about astrophysics and metaphysics, Christian faith and New Age philosophy, and why the spiral shape appears in bathtub drains and at the centers of galaxies. He has imaginary conversations and arguments with wives and lovers, as well as with Hypatia of Alexandria, René Descartes, his old mentor Reverend Thurston, and Stephen Hawking. Clifford's best teacher turns out to be his paraplegic son Jeremy, who has found his father's old letters and journals. Jeremy also wonders: Who was Clifford Olmstead Klovis?
    Show book
  • Real Life & Liars - cover

    Real Life & Liars

    Kristina Riggle

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Sometimes you find happiness where, and when, you least expect it.  
    For Mirabelle Zielinski's children, happiness always seems to be just out of reach. Her polished oldest daughter, Katya, clings to a stale marriage with a workaholic husband and three spoiled children. Her son, Ivan, so creative, is a down-in-the-dumps songwriter with the worst taste in women. And the "baby," impulsive Irina, who lives life on a whim, is now reluctantly pregnant and hitched to a man who is twice her age. On the weekend of their parents' anniversary party, lies will be revealed, hearts will be broken...but love will also be found. And the biggest shock may come from Mirabelle herself, because she has a secret that will change everything.
    Show book
  • The Mangle Street Murders - cover

    The Mangle Street Murders

    M.R.C. Kasasian

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Two crime solvers venture into Victorian London’s East End to investigate a murder in this “excellent first novel by a British author who has a bright future” (Mystery Scene Magazine). March Middleton has moved to Gower Street to live with her curmudgeonly guardian, Sidney Grice, London’s most famous personal detective. She is intelligent, witty, and talkative. He thinks young women should be seen and not heard. But he grudgingly allows her to join his latest murder case: A young woman is dead and her loving husband is the only suspect. Their investigations lead the pair to the darkest alleys of the East End: Every twist leads Sidney Grice to think the husband guilty, but March is convinced that he is innocent. And as the case threatens to foment civil unrest, Sidney Grice finds his reputation is not the only thing in mortal danger . . .
    Show book
  • Her Last Hello - cover

    Her Last Hello

    Tara Sue Me

    • 2
    • 3
    • 0
    Athena Hamilton arrived in Vegas with empty pockets and a heart full of hope. Fifteen years later, her pockets are still empty and hope is a four letter word no longer in her vocabulary.
     
    Seduced by a gentleman she thought was her dream come true, she lives in an inescapable nightmare. Now after fifteen years, she’s living on borrowed time. All it takes is one mistake too many and she’ll disappear like so many others she’s known before.
     
    A chance meeting with a childhood friend seems to provide the way out she’s been desperate to find. However, she soon discovers that all is not what it seems. Freedom is only an illusion, but hope might be found in the most unlikely place.
     
    NOTE: This book  was originally published under the title OBSCURED. The content has not changed.
    Show book
  • All the Ever Afters - The Untold Story of Cinderella's Stepmother - cover

    All the Ever Afters - The Untold...

    Danielle Teller

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    In the vein of Wicked, The Woodcutter, and Boy, Snow, Bird, a luminous reimagining of a classic tale, told from the perspective of Agnes, Cinderella’s "evil" stepmother. 
    We all know the story of Cinderella. Or do we? 
    As rumors about the cruel upbringing of beautiful newlywed Princess Cinderella roil the kingdom, her stepmother, Agnes, who knows all too well about hardship, privately records the true story. . . . 
    A peasant born into serfdom, Agnes is separated from her family and forced into servitude as a laundress’s apprentice when she is only ten years old. Using her wits and ingenuity, she escapes her tyrannical matron and makes her way toward a hopeful future. When teenaged Agnes is seduced by an older man and becomes pregnant, she is transformed by love for her child. Once again left penniless, Agnes has no choice but to return to servitude at the manor she thought she had left behind. Her new position is nursemaid to Ella, an otherworldly infant. She struggles to love the child who in time becomes her stepdaughter and, eventually, the celebrated princess who embodies everyone’s unattainable fantasies. The story of their relationship reveals that nothing is what it seems, that beauty is not always desirable, and that love can take on many guises. 
    Lyrically told, emotionally evocative, and brilliantly perceptive, All the Ever Afters explores the hidden complexities that lie beneath classic tales of good and evil, all the while showing us that how we confront adversity reveals a more profound, and ultimately more important, truth than the ideal of "happily ever after."
    Show book
  • The Life You've Imagined - A Novel - cover

    The Life You've Imagined - A Novel

    Kristina Riggle

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “A richly woven story laced with unforgettable characters….A beautiful book.”—Therese Walsh, author of The Last Will of Moira Leahy“The Life You’ve Imagined is a terrific novel about love and loss, letting go and holding on. A book to share with family and friends—I loved it.”—Melissa Senate, author of The Secret of Joy From Kristina Riggle, author of the brilliant debut Real Life & Liars, comes The Life You’ve Imagined, an astonishing new novel about love, loss, life, and hope. It’s the story of four former high school friends who are forced to examine what happened to their high school dreams which are now at odds with their grown-up reality.
    Show book