Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Mothers & Other Monsters - cover

Mothers & Other Monsters

Maureen F. McHugh

Publisher: Small Beer Press

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

Nancy Pearl selected Mothers & Other Monsters as a "Books for a Rainy Day" on Morning Edition on NPR.

 
In her luminous, long-awaited debut collection, award-winning novelist Maureen F. McHugh wryly and delicately examines the impacts of social and technological shifts on families. Using beautiful, deceptively simple prose, she illuminates the relationship between parents and children and the expected and unexpected chasms that open between generations.

— A woman introduces her new lover to her late brother.
— A teenager is interviewed about her peer group's attitudes toward sex and baby boomers.
— A missing stepson sets a marriage on edge.
— Anthropologists visiting an isolated outpost mission are threatened by nomadic raiders.

McHugh's characters—her Alzheimers-afflicted parents or her smart and rebellious teenagers—are always recognizable: stubborn, human, and heartbreakingly real.

 
Print editions, including a collector's limited edition, are available from Small Beer Press.
Listed by Unglue.it.

Other books that might interest you

  • Santa's Big Helper - cover

    Santa's Big Helper

    Olivia Gaines

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Big Charlie Pines knew his days in the Santa suit was almost over.  His one wish was to make his son believe in the power of Christmas before his eyes closed for the last time.  With the help of his favorite elf, Patience, together, they would restore Nick’s faith. 
     
    Patience Miller wasn’t sure what Sana wanted her to do to help his son, but she often taught the children at her orphanage to always have hope.  She had a plan and she hoped it would work.  Only if she could get Nick to believe in the magic of Christmas.
    Show book
  • Riders of the Purple Sage - cover

    Riders of the Purple Sage

    Zane Grey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Riders of the Purple Sage is a classic of the Western genre. It is the story of Lassiter, a gunslinging avenger in black, who shows up in a remote Utah town just in time to save the young and beautiful rancher Jane Withersteen from having to marry a Mormon elder against her will.
    Show book
  • The Lone Star Ranger - cover

    The Lone Star Ranger

    Zane Grey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When he is forced to kill a man after a deadly attack, Buck Duane begins a life on the run while trying to clear his name, and his fortunes are changed by a beautiful woman and a Texas Ranger who offers to pardon him for a price.
    Show book
  • Harry Heron: Midshipman's Journey - cover

    Harry Heron: Midshipman's Journey

    Patrick G Cox

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the vein of Horatio Hornblower, Patrick G. Cox weaves an exciting, authentic tale of Harry Nelson-Heron, a young midshipman in the British Navy in the early 1800s. Born in 1789 during the Irish Rebellion, Harry must overcome the prejudice against the Irish, the ancient enmity between his family and another, and the usual hazards of an active and inquisitive youth in order to realise his dream of becoming an officer in Britain’s Royal Navy. When he and his faithful friend and companion Ferghal make the treacherous journey to London to find a ship, fate smiles on them. Harry is appointed a midshipman, and Ferghal joins him on the HMS Bellerophon as a seaman. Corsairs, diplomacy, and exploration challenge their skills as the seafaring life takes Harry and Ferghal across the seas and beyond. This book is entirely a work of historical fiction. Be sure to read book two in the series, Harry Heron: Into the Unknown, to see where the adventure leads.
    Show book
  • Night Beast - cover

    Night Beast

    Ruth Joffre

    • 1
    • 5
    • 0
    A masterful collection from an important new voice in American fiction, Night Beast is a gorgeously written work of profound originality and vision. These doomed love stories and twisted fairytales explore the lives of women—particularly queer women and mothers—and reveal the monsters lurking in our daily lives: the madness, isolation, betrayals, and regrets that arise as we seek human connection.
    
     
    
    Through this collection, readers are taken to places where the sun never sets, where cornfields rustle ominously and sleepwalkers prowl the night. In “Weekend,” the lead actors of an avant-garde television show begin to confuse their characters’ identities with their own; in “Go West, and Grow Up,” a young girl living in a car with her mother is forced to shed her innocence too soon; and in “Safekeeping,” a woman trapped inside a futuristic safehouse gradually unravels as she waits for her lover, who may never return.
    
     
    
    With exquisite prose and transfixing imagery, Joffre explores worlds both strange and familiar, homing in on the darker side of humanity. Powerful, unsettling, and wildly imaginative, Night Beast is a mind-bending, genre-hopping debut, a provocative and uncommonly raw examination of relationships and sexuality, trauma and redemption, the meaning of family, and coming-of-age—and growing old—as an outsider.
    Show book
  • Trick or Threat - cover

    Trick or Threat

    Andrea Frazer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Rev. Goodfellow pays a visit to Lady Amanda Golightly at Belchester Towers, upset by the trick-or-treat antics of some local youths who are apparently using this innocent Hallowe’en pastime as a means of extracting money with menaces.
    
     
    Incensed at this bullying of vulnerable local residents, including one of her own circle, Lady Amanda, aided by her faithful friend Hugo Cholmondley-Crichton-Crump, girds her loins and prepares to bring the perpetrators to justice.
    Show book