The perfect plan for booklovers!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Best at It - cover

The Best at It

Maulik Pancholy

Publisher: Balzer + Bray

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

From award-winning actor Maulik Pancholy comes a hilarious and heartfelt middle grade debut about a gay Indian American boy coming into his own. One of Time Out's “LGBTQ+ books for kids to read during Pride Month,” this is perfect for fans of Tim Federle’s Nate series. A Stonewall Honor Book! 
Rahul Kapoor is heading into seventh grade in a small town in Indiana. The start of middle school is making him feel increasingly anxious, so his favorite person in the whole world, his grandfather, Bhai, gives him some well-meaning advice: Find one thing you’re really good at and become the BEST at it. 
Those four little words sear themselves into Rahul’s brain. While he’s not quite sure what that special thing is, he is convinced that once he finds it, bullies like Brent Mason will stop torturing him at school. And he won’t be worried about staring too long at his classmate Justin Emery. With his best friend, Chelsea, by his side, Rahul is ready to crush this challenge.... But what if he discovers he isn’t the best at anything? 
Funny, charming, and incredibly touching, this is a story about friendship, family, and the courage it takes to live your truth. 

Other books that might interest you

  • Call It What You Want - cover

    Call It What You Want

    Brigid Kemmerer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    New York Times bestselling author Brigid Kemmerer pens a new emotionally compelling story about two teens struggling in the space between right and wrong. 
     
      When his dad is caught embezzling funds from half the town, Rob goes from popular lacrosse player to social pariah. Even worse, his father's failed suicide attempt leaves Rob and his mother responsible for his care. 
      
     Everyone thinks of Maegan as a typical overachiever, but she has a secret of her own after the pressure got to her last year. And when her sister comes home from college pregnant, keeping it from her parents might be more than she can handle. 
      
     When Rob and Maegan are paired together for a calculus project, they're both reluctant to let anyone through the walls they've built. But when Maegan learns of Rob's plan to fix the damage caused by his father, it could ruin more than their fragile new friendship . . . 
      
     In her compulsively readable storytelling, Brigid Kemmerer pens another captivating, heartfelt novel that asks the question: Is it okay to do something wrong for the right reasons?
    Show book
  • Room 555 - cover

    Room 555

    Cristy Watson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Fourteen-year-old Roonie loves hip-hop almost as much as she loves her grandmother. She cannot wait to compete in her school's dance competition. But as her grandmother's health deteriorates, Roonie becomes more and more reluctant to visit her in the care home. These feelings of guilt and frustration cause Roonie to mess things up with her hip-hop dance partner and best friend, Kira. But while doing some volunteer hours in the hospital geriatric ward, Roonie meets an active senior recovering from a bad fall. Their shared love of dance and the woman's zest for life help Roonie face her fears, make amends with Kira and reconnect with Gram before it’s too late.
    Show book
  • Breaking - cover

    Breaking

    Danielle Rollins

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Charlotte has always been content in the shadow of her two best friends at the prestigious Weston Preparatory Institute. Ariel is daring and mysterious. Devon is beautiful and brilliant. Although Charlotte never lived up to the standards of the school--or her demanding mother, Dr. Gruen--her two best friends became the family she never had.  
      
    When Ariel and Devon suddenly commit suicide within a month of each other, Charlotte refuses to accept it as a coincidence. But as the clues point to a dangerous secret about Weston Prep, Charlotte is suddenly in over her head. There's a reason the students of Weston are so exceptional, and the people responsible are willing to kill to protect the truth . . .  
      
    With suspense and danger at every turn, Danielle Rollins keeps readers on the edge of their seats with this haunting thriller.
    Show book
  • Big Nate Out Loud - cover

    Big Nate Out Loud

    Lincoln Peirce

    • 5
    • 121
    • 1
    Eleven-year-old Nate Wright is living OUT LOUD and he wouldn't have it any other way!Even though his friends won't let him be the lead singer in their band, Nate continues to rock. He's a superstar of the comics pages and of the best-selling series of Big Nate books and he's a big hit with kids everywhere. This collection features daily and Sunday strips that originally appeared in newspapers.Now in full-color with poster!
    Show book
  • Learning to Swear in America - cover

    Learning to Swear in America

    Kate Kennedy

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Brimming with humor and one-of-a-kind characters, this  end-of-the-world debut novel will grab hold of Andrew Smith and Rainbow  Rowell fans. 
     
    An asteroid is hurtling toward Earth. A big, bad one. Maybe not kill-all-the-dinosaurs bad, but at least kill-everyone-in-California-and-wipe-out-Japan-with-a-tsunami bad.  Yuri, a physicist prodigy from Russia, has been recruited to aid NASA as they calculate a plan to avoid disaster. 
     
    The good news is Yuri knows how to stop the asteroid--his research in antimatter will probably win him a Nobel prize if there's ever another Nobel prize awarded. But the trouble is, even though NASA asked for his help, no one there will listen to him. He's seventeen, and they've been studying physics longer than he's been alive.  
     
    Then he meets (pretty, wild, unpredictable) Dovie, who lives like a normal teenager, oblivious to the impending doom. Being with her, on the adventures she plans when he's not at NASA, Yuri catches a glimpse of what it means to save the world and live a life worth saving.  
     
    Also by Katie Kennedy: 
    What Goes Up
    Show book
  • More Than We Can Tell - cover

    More Than We Can Tell

    Brigid Kemmerer

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    * "Give to teens who enjoyed . . . The Perks of Being a Wallflower." - School Library Journal, starred review 
     
    New York Times bestselling author Brigid Kemmerer pens a new must-read story of two teens struggling under  the burden of secrets, and the love that sets them free. 
     
    With loving adoptive parents by his side, Rev Fletcher has managed to keep the demons of his past at bay. . . until he gets a letter from his abusive father and the trauma of his childhood comes hurtling back. 
      
    Emma Blue's parents are constantly fighting, and her only escape is the computer game she built from scratch. But when a cruel online troll's harassment escalates, she not only loses confidence but starts to fear for her safety. 
     
     When Rev and Emma meet, they're both longing to lift the burden of their secrets. They connect instantly and deeply, promising to help each other no matter what. But soon Rev and Emma's secrets threaten to crush them, and they'll need more than a promise to find their way out.
    Show book