Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
The Sense of Reckoning - The Ann Kinnear Suspense Novels #2 - cover

The Sense of Reckoning - The Ann Kinnear Suspense Novels #2

Matty Dalrymple

Publisher: William Kingsfield Publishers

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

After solving the Philadelphia Socialite murder, Ann Kinnear should be riding high. Instead, she's depressed and considering abandoning her spirit sensing business. To add to her problems, Ann has suffered a series of injuries to her hands—could these be the ghostly repercussions of the violence that ended her last case?  
 
Ann goes to Maine to solicit help from fellow spirit senser Garrick Masser. Ann and Garrick find more trouble than they bargained for in a tale of obsession and misplaced loyalty that has its roots in a crumbling summer hotel, international art theft, and the historic wildfire that destroyed large swaths of Mount Desert Island in 1947.  
 
Unless Ann can fit together the pieces of the past while staying ahead of whatever—or whomever—is causing her harm, her future, and that of her friend Garrick, may be very brief indeed.

Who read this book also read:

  • Stranger at the Gates - cover

    Stranger at the Gates

    Evelyn Anthony

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Louise de Bernard’s long-ago past in Nazi-occupied France comes back to haunt her when a woman shows up on her doorstep demanding payback    On a tranquil tree-lined street in Paris, a woman exits a taxi. She has come from Bonn, Germany, on a mission of desperation and revenge. And in a house on the Rue de Varenne, a wife and mother is about to relive the past she thought she’d left far behind.   In 1944, in Nazi-occupied France, circumstances forced Jean de Bernard and his wife to put up a German officer at their isolated chateau in St. Blaize. The American-born Louise de Bernard despised Major Heinz Minden—and her husband even more for collaborating with the Germans when their tanks first rumbled through their centuries-old village. Into this seething hotbed of betrayal and brutality, Roger Savage arrives. The undercover Allied agent recruits Louise to help him destroy a lethal nerve gas the Germans are secretly manufacturing nearby. But now a high-ranking Nazi general is dead, and an entire village is about to be punished in the most merciless and horrifying way.   Culminating in post-war Germany as an SS officer prepares to stand trial for wartime atrocities, Stranger at the Gates is a spine-tingling page-turner about family and sacrifice, loyalty and love, and how ordinary people can become heroes.  
    Show book
  • Before He Feels (A Mackenzie White Mystery—Book 6) - cover

    Before He Feels (A Mackenzie...

    Blake Pierce

    • 1
    • 8
    • 0
    From Blake Pierce, bestselling author of ONCE GONE (a #1 bestseller with over 900 five star reviews), comes book #6 in the heart-pounding Mackenzie White mystery series. 
     
    In BEFORE HE FEELS (A Mackenzie White Mystery—Book 6), FBI special agent Mackenzie White is stunned to be assigned a case with victims matching no profile she has ever seen: shockingly, all of the victims are blind. 
     
    Does this mean that the killer himself is blind, too? 
     
    Plunged into the subculture of the blind, Mackenzie struggles to understand, finding herself out of her element as she crisscrosses the state, racing from group homes to private houses, interviewing caretakers, librarians, experts and psychologists.  
     
    And yet, despite the best minds in the country, Mackenzie seems unable to prevent the spree of killings. 
     
    Has she finally met her match? 
     
    A dark psychological thriller with heart-pounding suspense, BEFORE HE FEELS is book #6 in a riveting new series—with a beloved new character—that will leave you turning pages late into the night.  
     
    Also available by Blake Pierce is ONCE GONE (A Riley Paige mystery—Book #1), a #1 bestseller with over 900 five star reviews.
    Show book
  • The Gilded Nightmare - cover

    The Gilded Nightmare

    Hugh Pentecost

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A Nazi’s widow comes to the Beaumont Hotel with death in her entourageAs befits the manager of New York’s finest hotel, Pierre Chambrun has certain standards for his guests at the Beaumont. Were it not for the pleading of the hotel’s owner, no amount of money could persuade him to allow the Baroness Charmian Zetterstrom a room. She is the stunning young widow of a Nazi war criminal; her husband was an infamous sadist who escaped before the fall of the Reich to live out the rest of his days in hedonistic isolation on a Mediterranean isle. Off the island for the first time since the war, the baroness comes to New York with an entourage of misfits, and mayhem follows. The first victim is the baroness’s dog, which is savagely murdered by an unknown hand. The next to die will be human, forcing Chambrun to identify the killer, or risk having his hotel destroyed by the vindictive ghosts of the fallen Reich.
    Show book
  • Remember to Kill Me - cover

    Remember to Kill Me

    Hugh Pentecost

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A group of thugs storms the Beaumont Hotel, and only Pierre Chambrun can stop the chaosThere has been trouble in Central Park. Free concerts given on the great lawn have been ending in upheaval as gangs of toughs maraud through the crowd with bats, chains, and knives—taking what they want and crushing those who stand in their way. During a performance by red-hot diva Donna Ward, the park is peaceful. But afterward, the horde descends on the Beaumont Hotel, smashing the bar and storming the elevators in search of beautiful things to steal or destroy.  In the chaos, someone takes three shots at Victoria Haven, the onetime beauty queen who has, for decades, occupied the penthouse. After the throng is expelled from the premises, manager Pierre Chambrun tries to discover who would want to kill this harmless old glamour girl. But his investigation is about to be upended—for the riot is only the beginning of his trouble.
    Show book
  • Shades of Fortune - A Novel - cover

    Shades of Fortune - A Novel

    Stephen Birmingham

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From the New York Times–bestselling author of “Our Crowd”: A novel of a powerful family, a cosmetics empire, and the dark secrets that could destroy both. Mireille “Mimi” Myerson took her grandfather’s struggling cosmetics company and turned it into an empire. But suddenly, as she prepares to launch a new perfume line, Mimi is faced with hidden threats at every turn. Her efforts to further expand the enormously successful Miray Corporation could be sabotaged from within by her own treacherous family, for there is a dangerous rot beneath the surface of the wealthy and aristocratic “Magnificent Myersons”: a dark tradition of lies, sexual perversity, and criminal activity that could undermine everything Mimi hopes to accomplish. With the discovery of her husband’s affair and the return of real estate magnate Michael Horowitz, her first and most enduring love, Mimi must determine whom she can trust—especially in light of the shocking revelations that are about to emerge regarding the birth of the Miray Corporation.   In both his bestselling nonfiction (“Our Crowd”, The Right People) and fiction (Carriage Trade, The Auerbach Will) author Stephen Birmingham has demonstrated an unparalleled understanding of the ways of America’s extremely rich. This unique knowledge comes into glorious play in his blistering novel Shades of Fortune, a thrilling and unforgettable breakneck ride through the darkest passageways of wealth and success.
    Show book
  • Spycatcher - cover

    Spycatcher

    Matthew Dunn

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “Great talent, great imagination, and real been-there done-that authenticity make this one of the year’s best thriller debuts.”—Lee Child 
    “Not since Fleming charged Bond with the safety of the world has the international secret agent mystique been so anchored with an insider’s reality.”—Noah Boyd, New York Times bestselling author of Agent X and The Bricklayer 
    “A real spy proves he is a real writer—and a truly deft and inventive one. Spycatcher is a stunning debut.”—Ted Bell, New York Times bestselling author of Warlord 
    A real life former field officer, Matthew Dunn makes an extraordinary debut with Spycatcher, a masterwork of international espionage fiction that crackles with electrifying authenticity. Fans of Daniel Silva, Robert Ludlum, Brad Thor, and Vince Flynn will be on the edge of their seats as intelligence agent Will Cochrane—working on a joint covert mission for the CIA and MI6—sets out to capture a brilliant and ruthless Iranian spy. Timely and gripping, Spycatcher rockets the reader into a shadowy world of terrorism and counter-terrorism, and holds them in an iron grip until the last pulse-pounding page is turned.
    Show book