Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Isle of Man - Stone Age to Swinging Sixties - cover

The Isle of Man - Stone Age to Swinging Sixties

Matthew Richardson

Publisher: Pen & Sword History

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Discover the long and fascinating history of this tiny self-governing island in the Irish Sea.   Many people don’t know that the tiny Isle of Man, midway between the coasts of Lancashire and Northern Ireland, is one of the richest historic landscapes in Europe. Packed into its 225 square miles are dramatic stories of Bronze Age conflict, Viking warriors, medieval kings, smugglers, maritime and railway history, wartime airfields, and even a pirate radio station.   Add to that the island's unique motorsport heritage (on two, three and four wheels), and you have a combination unrivaled anywhere in the British Isles. Whatever your passion, or whichever historical period appeals to you, the Isle of Man will have something fascinating to offer. Packed with illustrations, and using first-hand accounts to enhance the narrative, this book takes you on a chronological journey through the island’s history, before offering a series of guided tours which pick up the highlights of each district. From Bronze Age hill forts to medieval castles, from heritage railways to historic quaysides, from award-winning museums to country mansions, the Isle of Man has it all. Let this book be your guide to historic Britain's best-kept secret, as you explore a place untouched by the hectic pace of twenty-first-century life.  Includes photos
Available since: 05/30/2020.
Print length: 160 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Attack Poodles and Other Media Mutants - The Looting of the News in a Time of Terror - cover

    Attack Poodles and Other Media...

    James Wolcott

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Attack Poodles and Other Media Mutants is a hilarious and scathing critique of the so-called news establishment. Wolcott’s book pokes, prods, and stirs up controversy. It also makes some serious points about the lamentable state of our news, and our nation.
    Show book
  • The New Serfdom - The Triumph of Conservative Ideas and How to Defeat Them - cover

    The New Serfdom - The Triumph of...

    Angela Eagle, Imran Ahmed

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Great Britain is one of the wealthiest, most successful nations in the world. Why, then, do so many people feel short-changed?
    The old assumption that 'if you work hard and play by the rules, you can get on in life' looks increasingly like a cruel joke. Homeownership, secure employment and fair wages seem like relics of a bygone era. Meanwhile exploitative workplace practices have created a new serfdom, leaving many people trapped in unfulfilling, underpaid work.
    At a time of huge political upheaval and ever-increasing inequality, this powerful new book asks: how can we build a successful economy, powered by a happy and productive workforce that benefits everyone in the twenty-first century?
    Show book
  • The Secret of the Golden Flower - A Chinese Book Of Life - cover

    The Secret of the Golden Flower...

    Richard Wilhelm, Carl Jung

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Secret of the Golden Flower is an ancient Chinese text passed on for centuries, in which Taoist mystics reveal the path to true enlightenment. The first written version was believed to have originated with Lü Dongbin, a legendary scholar, poet, and spiritual master. Lü Dongbin was the founder of the School of the Golden Elixir of Life during the Tang dynasty. In the text, symbols for light represented awareness, which is normally directed outward toward externals. The method of redirecting one’s consciousness inward towards the self through a straightforward form of silent meditation and breathing was known as “turning the light around”. Through this process of channeling energy beyond the limits of the discriminating intellect, one’s psyche—indeed one’s very fundamental being—can gradually open and bloom. This leads to a pure awakening of the mind and spirit. The result can be metaphorically pictured as a bright “golden flower” mandala, representing the rewarding end goal of a personal alchemy of inner transformation. This remarkable and important work, first published in the United States in 1931, is Cary F. Baynes’ elegant English translation of sinologist Richard Wilhelm’s 1929 German translation of the original Taoist texts. It is nothing less than a spiritual seeker’s road map to discovering the secret to peace of mind. The simple method described has been called “Zen with details”. This edition includes insightful philosophical commentary by psychologist Carl Jung that helps explain the metaphysical aspects of the text, providing valuable insights for Westerners. For many generations, The Secret of the Golden Flower has been an invaluable tool and guide for personal and spiritual growth. Like a practical workbook for achieving enlightenment, this clearly written meditation manual explores foundational techniques to help you experience elevated states of consciousness.
    Show book
  • Sustainable Resilient Free - The Future of Public Higher Education - cover

    Sustainable Resilient Free - The...

    John Warner

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    After the coronavirus pandemic has laid bare the unsustainability of our public higher education system, an author and educator maps out a path for change. In 1983, U.S. News and World Report started to rank colleges and universities, throwing them into competition with each other for students and precious resources. Over the course of the next thirty or so years, a Reagan-era ethos of privatization and competition transformed students into consumers and colleges into businesses.  Now, tuition is unaffordable. Student loan debt is more than $1.6 trillion, and most college faculty work in adjunct positions for low pay and with no job security. Colleges seem to exist only to enroll students, collect tuition, and hold classes. When learning happens, it is in spite of the system, not because of it.  In Sustainable. Resilient. Free., John Warner envisions a future in which our public colleges and universities are reoriented around enhancing the intellectual, social, and economic potentials of students while providing broad-based benefits to the community at large. As Warner explains, it’s not even all that complicated. It’s no more costly than the current system. We just have to choose to live the values we claim to hold dear.  A critical read for anyone invested in the future of public higher education.
    Show book
  • Four Queens - The Provencal Sisters Who Ruled Europe - cover

    Four Queens - The Provencal...

    Nancy Goldstone

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Set against the backdrop of the turbulent thirteenth century, a time of chivalry and crusades, poetry, knights, and monarchs comes the story of the four beautiful daughters of the count of Provence whose brilliant marriages made them the queens of France, England, Germany, and Sicily. From a cultured childhood in Provence, each sister was propelled into a world marked by shifting alliances, intrigue, and subterfuge. Marguerite, the eldest, whose resolution and spirit would be tested by the cold splendor of the Palais du Roi in Paris; Eleanor, whose soaring political aspirations would provoke her kingdom to civil war; Sanchia, the neglected wife of the richest man in England who bought himself the crown of Germany; and Beatrice, whose desire for sovereignty was so acute that she risked her life to earn her place at the royal table. A compulsively readable narrative, Four Queens shatters the myth that women were helpless pawns in a society that celebrated physical prowess and masculine intellect. A riveting historical saga for fans of Alison Weir and Antonia Fraser.
    Show book
  • The Phenomenology of Internal Time-Consciousness - cover

    The Phenomenology of Internal...

    Edmund Husserl

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    An exploration of the terrain of consciousness in the light of its temporality from the father of phenomenology. The Phenomenology of Internal Time-Consciousness is a translation of Edmund Husserl’s Vorlesungen zur Phänomenologie des inneren Zeitbewußtseins. The first part of the book was originally presented as a lecture course at the University of Göttingen in the winter semester of 1904–1905, while the second part is based on additional supplementary lectures that he gave between 1905 and 1910. The pervading theme of these essays and lectures is the temporal constitution of a pure datum of sensation and the self-constitution of “phenomenological time” which underlies such a constitution. Husserl identifies two categories of temporality—retention and protention—and outlines how temporality provides the form for perception, phantasy, imagination, memory, and recollection. He demonstrates a distinction between cosmic and phenomenological time and explores the relevance of phenomenological time for the constitution of temporal objects. The ideas Husserl developed here are explored further in his Ideas and were pursued until the end of his philosophical career.“As an addition to the small body of Husserl’s writings now available in English (Ideas 1931; Meditations, 1960), this book is essential to even a small collection of source works on contemporary philosophy.” —Choice
    Show book