Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Music: A Novel Through Sound - A Novel through Sound - cover

The Music: A Novel Through Sound - A Novel through Sound

Matthew Herbert

Publisher: Unbound

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Matthew Herbert is an award-winning artist and musician who has collaborated with the likes of Björk, Dizzee Rascal and Caryl Churchill, and whose recent commissions include a piece of music for the BBC’s New European Songbook, as well as the soundtrack for Disobedience, starring Rachel McAdams and Rachel Weiss.  
This is a truly unique, innovative novel – a story about humanity in the modern world using a form that reflects our information-saturated era. 
For fans of Brian Eno, David Byrne, Eimear McBride, Mike McCormack.

Other books that might interest you

  • The New Neighbours - cover

    The New Neighbours

    Diney Costeloe

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    THE NEW NEIGHBOURS was previously published as DARTMOUTH CIRCLE. 
     
    A gripping contemporary drama from the bestselling author of The Throwaway Children. 
     
    When one of the houses in an exclusive cul-de-sac is sold to students, dramas begin to unfold and secrets long hidden come to the surface. 
     
    Local battle-axe Sheila Colby is appalled when Ned Short sells his house as student accommodation. The residents of Dartmouth Circle look on themselves as an exclusive little club, where everyone knows each other and privacy is respected. 
     
    But now that is about to end and all kinds of things long hidden will come out into the light of day, with dramatic consequences. 
     
    'Brilliant novel! Excellent characters. A very enjoyable read' 
     
    'Funny, sensitive, sad. Good holiday read' 
     
    'A great read, loved it' 
     
    'Diney Costeloe never fails to keep you entertained'
    Show book
  • Miss Mary's Daughter - cover

    Miss Mary's Daughter

    Diney Costeloe

    • 2
    • 7
    • 0
    A new emotional and gritty drama from the bestselling author of The Throwaway Children. 
     
    After her mother's death, twenty-year-old Sophie Ross is left orphaned, with only her erstwhile nursemaid and faithful friend, Hannah for company. Penniless and little chance of an income, she looks for work as a governess in London to avoid destitution. 
     
    But unbeknown to Sophie, her mother instructed Hannah to post a letter to Trescadinnick House in Cornwall upon her death. The letter will be the catalyst that changes Sophie's life forever as she learns of her mother's doomed romance and family she left behind in Cornwall. 
     
    The Penvarrow family welcomes Sophie into their fold, but the new life she's built is threatened by secrets and lies that soon come to light... 
     
    What readers are saying about Miss Mary's Daughter: 
     
    'Diney Costeloe's books are always first on my list, she writes such wonderful stories' 
     
    'I loved everything about this novel. It's an intriguing plot with a well-rounded group of characters and a beautifully written setting'.
    Show book
  • Blood & Darkness Box Set - cover

    Blood & Darkness Box Set

    Melissa Sercia

    • 2
    • 10
    • 0
    Now in one ebook volume: Blood and Magic, Flesh and Bone, Gods and Demons, and a bonus preview of Smoke and Ritual, the first Beautiful Dark Beasts book.   Enter the paranormal Underworld with the Dhampir Gray as your guide . . .  Blood and Magic (Book 1)  With supernatural powers and an insatiable need for blood, her existence is cursed.    After four hundred years, Gray, a reluctant Dhampir, still yearns for her humanity—and vengeance against those who stole it from her. To stop the Consilium from doing this to anyone else, she must wield a power she swore never to use—blood magic.  Flesh and Bone (Book 2)  With the dark power rising within her, she risks losing everything.   When Gray’s partner Aldric mysteriously disappears, she seeks allies in the Hall of Secrets. During her search, she discovers a mysterious cult, an ancient curse, and a family secret that is darker than she could ever imagine . . .  Gods and Demons (Book 3)  Will Gray send the demons back to the Underworld or watch her world burn to the ground?   Demons have escaped the Underworld and descended upon New Orleans. Gray tries to unite the covens as they gear up for the fight of their lives. But when one of her closest allies abandons her, Gray is forced to make a life altering choice that threatens everyone she loves . . .  Series praise   “Keeps you on the edge of your seat . . . action packed and full of emotional depth.”—Sydney Ashcroft, coauthor of Chasing Destiny   “Rich world building and [a] unique interpretation of gothic literature.”—Samantha Huewagen, author of the Starless Series
    Show book
  • All That We Carried - A Novel - cover

    All That We Carried - A Novel

    Erin Bartels

    • 0
    • 12
    • 1
    "Bartels proves herself a master wordsmith and storyteller."--Library Journal, starred review 
     
    "This subdued tale of learning to forgive is Bartels's best yet."--Publishers Weekly 
     
    "A deeply personal, thoughtful exploration of dealing with pain and grief."--Life Is Story 
     
    "Taut and engaging."--Foreword 
     
    *** 
     
    Ten years ago, sisters Olivia and Melanie Greene were on a backcountry hiking trip when their parents were in a fatal car accident. Over the years, they grew apart, each coping with the loss in her own way. Olivia plunged herself into law school, work, and a materialist view of the world--what you see is what you get, and that's all you get. Melanie dropped out of college and developed an online life-coaching business around her cafeteria-style spirituality--a little of this, a little of that, whatever makes you happy. 
     
    Now, at Melanie's insistence (and against Olivia's better judgment), they are embarking on a hike in the Porcupine Mountains of Michigan's Upper Peninsula. In this remote wilderness they'll face their deepest fears, question their most dearly held beliefs, and begin to see that perhaps the best way to move forward is the one way they had never considered. 
     
    Michigan Notable Book Award winner Erin Bartels draws from personal experience hiking backcountry trails with her sister to bring you a story about the complexities of grief, faith, and sisterhood.
    Show book
  • The Runaway Family - cover

    The Runaway Family

    Diney Costeloe

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    THE RUNAWAY FAMILY was previously published as EVIL ON THE WIND. 
     
    From bestselling author Diney Costeloe, a gritty drama about a mother's struggle to protect her family and escape Nazi persecution in World War Two Germany. 
     
    Germany 1937: Fear and betrayal stalk the streets. People disappear. Persecution of the Jews has become a national pastime. 
     
    When Ruth Friedman's husband is arrested by the SS, she is left to fend for herself and her four children. She alone stands as their shield against the Nazis. But where can she go? Where will her family be safe? 
     
    Ruth must overcome the indifference, hatred and cruelty that surrounds her as she and her family race to escape the advancing Nazi army's final solution. 
     
    What readers are saying about THE RUNAWAY FAMILY: 
     
    'A powerful and moving account of the dark era of Germany's history ... A story which needed to be told and should be read by people of all ages' 
     
    'I personally loved this book ... A harrowing insight into the lives of a young Jewish family at the beginning of Hitler's reign of terror ... A sound reminder of man's inhumanity to man!' 
     
    'My university studies had to go on hold for a while because I couldn't put it down!' 
     
    'Another great story by Diney Costeloe'
    Show book
  • The Woman in the Wood - a gripping crime thriller set in Essex - cover

    The Woman in the Wood - a...

    M.K. Hill

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A reality TV star becomes a suspect in an Essex murder case in the sharp, funny and moving new thriller from M.K. Hill
     
    Three years ago, Danny 'Abs' Cruikshank, star of reality show Laid in Essex!, was living the dream. But on the night of the party, everything changed.
     
    It was supposed to be an intimate weekend gathering, just a few close friends in a remote cottage in Wales. But after a night of heavy drinking in the village pub, a local girl was reported missing – and never seen again. Abs and his friends had been the last to see her alive.
     
    No-one was ever charged, but the controversy destroyed Abs's career. And now one of his mates has been murdered...
     
    DI Sasha Dawson and her team must race against the clock to find the killer before they strike again – but first she must discover what happened to Rhiannon Jenkins on the night she vanished. Will the truth set Abs free? Or bury him?
     
    Praise for M.K. Hill:'Devilishly clever and twisty, The Woman in the Wood is a gripping thriller with a brilliantly compelling protagonist' Tom Wood'Everything a police procedural should be: sharp, funny, moving and tremendously exciting' The Times Crime Book of the Month'Dark, gripping and fast paced, The Bad Place grabs a hold and won't let you go ... Addictive summer reading' Katerina Diamond'Superb, smart, seat-edge stuff. DI Sasha Dawson is a brilliant creation' William Shaw'Absorbing and twisty' Mark Edwards'Utterly compelling and brilliantly realistic, The Bad Place is Mark's best book yet. One that will appeal to crime fans everywhere' Lisa Hall
    Show book