Do you want to read 1 year without limits?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Killer of Kings - cover

Killer of Kings

Matthew Harffy

Publisher: Aria

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

AD 636. Anglo-Saxon Britain. A gripping, action-packed historical thriller and the fourth instalment in The Bernicia Chronicles. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell. 
 
Beobrand has land, men and riches. He should be content. And yet he cannot find peace until his enemies are food for the ravens. But before Beobrand can embark on his bloodfeud, King Oswald orders him southward, to escort holy men bearing sacred relics. 
 
When Penda of Mercia marches a warhost into the southern kingdoms, Beobrand and his men are thrown into the midst of the conflict. Beobrand soon finds himself fighting for his life and his honour. 
 
In the chaos that grips the south, dark secrets are exposed, bringing into question much that Beobrand had believed true. Can he unearth the answers and exact the vengeance he craves? Or will the blood-price prove too high, even for a warrior of his battle-fame and skill?

Who read this book also read:

  • Her Mother's Mother's Mother and Her Daughters - cover

    Her Mother's Mother's Mother and...

    Maria José Silveira

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Spanning 500 years of Brazilian history, Her Mother's Mother's Mother and Her Daughters chronicles a family of women, beginning in 1500 with the birth of Inaiá, daughter of a Tupiniquim warrior, and ending in 2001 with Inaiá's distant descendent, Maria Flor. As each new daughter takes the place of her mother, and the mothers before her, Maria José Silveira's captivating, cinematic prose takes us through the formation of the country itself, as well as through the roles, customs, challenges, and intrigues of the women within it. 
    Subversive and refreshing, Silveira blends great storytelling with personal politics to critique the machismo, authoritarianism, and abuses of power prevalent in Brazilian culture. 
    It's a delicate subject, the family story is complicated, and not everything was wine and roses. There was, of course, much happiness and love, many battles and accomplishments, great feats—after all, the women here helped to build this country from nearly nothing. But there were also stories of insanity, or murderesses, and not a few sorrows and tragedies. Great disappointments. A good many of them. 
    Maria José Silveira is the author of ten novels, including the prize-winning Her Mother's Mother's Mother and Her Daughters, the film rights to which were sold to TV Globo. 
    Eric M. B. Becker is editor of Words Without Borders and an award-winning journalist and literary translator. He received a PEN/Heim Translation grant for his work on Mia Couto, and has also translated works by Lygia Fagundes Telles, Noemi Jaffe, and others.
    Show book
  • The Book of Kells - cover

    The Book of Kells

    R. A. MacAvoy

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A contemporary couple journeys back in time to ancient Ireland in this delightful fantasy by the author of Tea with the Black Dragon. John Thornburn is an artist, mild-mannered and nonviolent. To make ends meet, he teaches some courses in Celtic design. And although his background is half Micmac Indian, he lives in Ireland for two reasons: his far more confrontational and warrior-like girlfriend, Derval O’Keane, and his fascination with the beautiful illuminated manuscript known as the Book of Kells.   But he’s about to take a journey to a far more distant place, one that he could not have imagined. Along with Derval, John will find himself in an ancient Celtic realm, where a Viking attack begs to be avenged and a fantastic—and sometimes terrifying—adventure awaits . . .   From a master of magical fantasy, the author of the Damiano Trilogy and a winner of the John W. Campbell Award, this is a tale of warriors, love, danger, and Irish history that will cast a spell on anyone who dreams of discovering treasures in long-lost worlds.  
    Show book
  • Shadow of Ashland - cover

    Shadow of Ashland

    Terence M. Green

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “THE BOOK YOU HAVE TO READ”–Entertainment Weekly"Things have to be settled, or they never go away."Only weeks before she dies in March, 1984, Leo Nolan’s mother shows her son a rose she says was just given to her by her brother, Jack, who disappeared 50 years earlier. After her death, letters from Jack begin to arrive at the family home. They are postmarked 1934. The final one is from Ashland, Kentucky.Leo heads to Ashland, to track down the source of the letters…. And to find out why they are arriving now, after 50 years.Time shifts. Time runs underground, then surfaces. It is 1934, and Leo experiences the Great Depression and the ghosts of the past as no one has in 50 years, in Ashland, where dreams die and are born again.“A love story, time travel epic, ghost story, labor history, road novel and a bank heist, all with the added touch of Steinbeckian metaphysics. For me it was the surprise of the year, a rich evocation of 1934 small-town Kentucky that winds up completely unpredictable.”–The Edmonton Journal, “Top Fiction Pick of the Year”“Green has devised a truly mysterious mystery, he writes with a real and rare sympathy for his characters.”–The Atlanta Constitution“A jewel of a novel”–Booklist“A deceptive novel, one that begins and ends simply yet is filled with extraordinary events…. SHADOW OF ASHLAND succeeds.”–The New York TimesWORLD FANTASY AWARD FINALIST 
    Show book
  • The Miniaturist - A Novel - cover

    The Miniaturist - A Novel

    Jessie Burton

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam—a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion—a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant. 
    ”There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed . . .“ 
    On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office—leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin. 
    But Nella’s world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist—an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways . . . 
    Johannes’ gift helps Nella to pierce the closed world of the Brandt household. But as she uncovers its unusual secrets, she begins to understand—and fear—the escalating dangers that await them all. In this repressively pious society where gold is worshipped second only to God, to be different is a threat to the moral fabric of society, and not even a man as rich as Johannes is safe. Only one person seems to see the fate that awaits them. Is the miniaturist the key to their salvation . . . or the architect of their destruction? 
    Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth.
    Show book
  • A Song of War - cover

    A Song of War

    Christian Cameron, Kate Quinn,...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Troy: city of gold, gatekeeper of the east, haven of the god-born and the lucky, a city destined to last a thousand years. But the Fates have other plans—the Fates, and a woman named Helen. In the shadow of Troy's gates, all must be reborn in the greatest war of the ancient world: slaves and queens, heroes and cowards, seers and kings . . . and these are their stories. 
    A young princess and an embittered prince join forces to prevent a fatal elopement. 
    A tormented seeress challenges the gods themselves to save her city from the impending disaster. 
    A tragedy-haunted king battles private demons and envious rivals as the siege grinds on. 
    A captured slave girl seizes the reins of her future as two mighty heroes meet in an epic duel. 
    A grizzled archer and a desperate Amazon risk their lives to avenge their dead. 
    A trickster conceives the greatest trick of all.  
    A goddess' son battles to save the spirit of Troy even as the walls are breached in fire and blood. 
    Seven authors bring to life the epic tale of the Trojan War: its heroes, its villains, its survivors, its dead. Who will lie forgotten in the embers, and who will rise to shape the bloody dawn of a new age?   
    Show book
  • The Hell Bent Kid - A Novel - cover

    The Hell Bent Kid - A Novel

    Charles O. Locke

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Hailed by the Western Writers of America as one of the top twenty-five Westerns ever written: The harrowing story of an innocent young man pursued across west Texas by a relentless posse  A crack shot more skilled with a rifle than are men twice his age, eighteen-year-old Tot Lohman has no intention of using his genius for evil. But when a fight erupts at a schoolhouse dance, Lohman is forced to defend himself, and a young rancher named Shorty Boyd winds up dead. The Boyds are numerous, powerful, and vicious, and they want revenge. With no one else to turn to, Lohman sets out across canyon country to reunite with his ailing father in New Mexico Territory. The journey will be long, hot, and perilous, and to survive it, this mild-mannered boy must become the cold-blooded killer he never wanted to be.    Based on real events, The Hell Bent Kid is a tale of pursuit as stark and mesmerizing as the Southwestern landscape in which it is set. Unrelenting from first page to last, it ranks alongside The Ox-Bow Incident, True Grit, and The Searchers as one of the most unique and artful stories of the West ever told. In 1958 it was adapted into the film From Hell to Texas, directed by the famed Henry Hathaway and starring Don Murray, Diane Varsi, Chill Wills, and Dennis Hopper.
    Show book