Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Killer of Kings - cover

Killer of Kings

Matthew Harffy

Publisher: Aria

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

AD 636. Anglo-Saxon Britain. A gripping, action-packed historical thriller and the fourth instalment in The Bernicia Chronicles. Perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell. 
 
Beobrand has land, men and riches. He should be content. And yet he cannot find peace until his enemies are food for the ravens. But before Beobrand can embark on his bloodfeud, King Oswald orders him southward, to escort holy men bearing sacred relics. 
 
When Penda of Mercia marches a warhost into the southern kingdoms, Beobrand and his men are thrown into the midst of the conflict. Beobrand soon finds himself fighting for his life and his honour. 
 
In the chaos that grips the south, dark secrets are exposed, bringing into question much that Beobrand had believed true. Can he unearth the answers and exact the vengeance he craves? Or will the blood-price prove too high, even for a warrior of his battle-fame and skill?

Who read this book also read:

  • Secret Anniversaries - cover

    Secret Anniversaries

    Scott Spencer

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    A naïve young woman faces a decision so important it will change her life forever in this masterful novel from bestselling author Scott Spencer At the height of the Second World War, Caitlin Van Fleet moves to Washington, D.C., to become a “government girl” in the office of pro-German Congressman Stowe. Young and impressionable, she enters into a passionate love affair with the congressman’s aide, Betty Sinclair. But their relationship, while intense, is short-lived: When Caitlin befriends Joe Rose, an undercover reporter working to expose Stowe as a Nazi collaborator, she must decide once and for all what she stands for. Arranged like the calendar from January to December, while moving freely through the years, Secret Anniversaries brings to life the political controversies surrounding World War II, and delves into the universal themes surrounding friendship and love. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Scott Spencer, including rare photos from the author’s personal collection.
    Show book
  • If You Are There - A Novel - cover

    If You Are There - A Novel

    Susan Sherman

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Set in the early 1900s, the novel follows young Lucia Rutkowski who, thanks to the influence of her beloved grandmother, escapes the Warsaw ghetto to work as a kitchen maid in one of the wealthiest neighborhoods in the bustling city of Paris. Too talented for her lowly position, Lucia is thrown out on the street. Her only recourse is to take a job working for two disorganized, rather poor married scientists so distracted by their work that their house and young child are often neglected. Lucia soon bonds with her eccentric employers, watching as their work with radioactive materials grows increasing noticed by the world, then rising to fame as the great Marie and Pierre Curie.Soon, all of Paris is alit with the news of an impending visit from Eusapia Palladino, the world’s most famous medium. It is through her now famous employers that Lucia attends Eusapia’s gatherings and eventually falls under the medium’s spell, leaving the Curie household to travel with her to Italy. Ultimately, Lucia is placed directly in the crosshairs of faith versus science –what is more real, the glowing substances of the Curie laboratory or the glowing visions that surround the medium during her séance?
    Show book
  • Stranger at the Gates - cover

    Stranger at the Gates

    Evelyn Anthony

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Louise de Bernard’s long-ago past in Nazi-occupied France comes back to haunt her when a woman shows up on her doorstep demanding payback    On a tranquil tree-lined street in Paris, a woman exits a taxi. She has come from Bonn, Germany, on a mission of desperation and revenge. And in a house on the Rue de Varenne, a wife and mother is about to relive the past she thought she’d left far behind.   In 1944, in Nazi-occupied France, circumstances forced Jean de Bernard and his wife to put up a German officer at their isolated chateau in St. Blaize. The American-born Louise de Bernard despised Major Heinz Minden—and her husband even more for collaborating with the Germans when their tanks first rumbled through their centuries-old village. Into this seething hotbed of betrayal and brutality, Roger Savage arrives. The undercover Allied agent recruits Louise to help him destroy a lethal nerve gas the Germans are secretly manufacturing nearby. But now a high-ranking Nazi general is dead, and an entire village is about to be punished in the most merciless and horrifying way.   Culminating in post-war Germany as an SS officer prepares to stand trial for wartime atrocities, Stranger at the Gates is a spine-tingling page-turner about family and sacrifice, loyalty and love, and how ordinary people can become heroes.  
    Show book
  • World Gone By - A Novel - cover

    World Gone By - A Novel

    Dennis Lehane

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Dennis Lehane, the New York Times bestselling author of Live by Night—now a Warner Bros. movie starring Ben Affleck—delivers a psychologically, morally complex novel of blood, crime, passion, and vengeance, set in Cuba and Ybor City, Florida, during World War II, in which Joe Coughlin must confront the cost of his criminal past and present. 
    Ten years have passed since Joe Coughlin’s enemies killed his wife and destroyed his empire, and much has changed. Prohibition is dead, the world is at war again, and Joe’s son, Tomás, is growing up. Now, the former crime kingpin works as a consigliore to the Bartolo crime family, traveling between Tampa and Cuba, his wife’s homeland. 
    A master who moves in and out of the black, white, and Cuban underworlds, Joe effortlessly mixes with Tampa’s social elite, U.S. Naval intelligence, the Lansky-Luciano mob, and the mob-financed government of Fulgencio Batista. He has everything—money, power, a beautiful mistress, and anonymity. 
    But success cannot protect him from the dark truth of his past—and ultimately, the wages of a lifetime of sin will finally be paid in full. 
    Dennis Lehane vividly recreates the rise of the mob during a world at war, from a masterfully choreographed Ash Wednesday gun battle in the streets of Ybor City to a chilling, heartbreaking climax in a Cuban sugar cane field. Told with verve and skill, World Gone By is a superb work of historical fiction from one of “the most interesting and accomplished American novelists” (Washington Post) writing today. 
     
    Show book
  • Nuggets - cover

    Nuggets

    DAVID PHILLIPS

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Be a part of the Gold Rushes to California and Australia in the 1850's. Join convicts as they are transported from England to a hostile, distant land. Tramp across outback Australia with a swag on your shoulder. Share a drink with a great and famous colonial author and poet or an overnight camp with a notorious murderer. Go to war against the Boer in South Africa. Fight horrendous bush fires and sail the oceans in search of the lustrous pearl. 
    Share some of the history in a series of stories where fiction is woven into the reality of a fledgling nation, Australia. 
    Every life has a value.
    Show book
  • Dance on a Sinking Ship - cover

    Dance on a Sinking Ship

    Michael Kilian

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A foreign correspondent discovers the scoop of a lifetime onboard a doomed ocean liner C. Jamieson Spencer is sipping cognac when Paris starts to burn. As Communists and Fascists battle in the streets below his hotel balcony, this world-weary foreign correspondent does not bother taking notes. He’s too busy falling in love with an enchantingly beautiful stranger. The reporter is just working up the courage to ask the woman her name when a stray bullet pierces her skull. In Paris, love comes quickly and life ends fast.   After Spencer files his story on the riots, his editor recalls him to the United States and assigns him to sail on the new luxury liner Wilhelmina, which carries some of the world’s most scandalous figures: from Prince Edward and Wallis Simpson to the Nazi-sympathizing Charles Lindbergh. As the royals play bedroom games, Spencer digs up plenty of gossip—but the real story starts when the lifeboats hit the water.
    Show book