Enjoy 2020 without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Cherringham - The Secret of Combe Castle - A Cosy Crime Series - cover

Cherringham - The Secret of Combe Castle - A Cosy Crime Series

Matthew Costello, Neil Richards

Publisher: Bastei Entertainment

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

When the penniless FitzHenrys, proprietors of the rundown Combe Castle Heritage Site, find themselves victims of a threatening campaign to oust them from their ancestral home, Jack and Sarah are called in to track down the culprit. But nothing is what it seems at this castle - from the curious and unnerving waxwork displays of the 'Odditorium' to the in-laws and neighbours who can't wait to see the last of aristocratic couple. Soon Jack and Sarah discover that truth is often stranger than fiction, and in Combe Castle things do indeed go bump in the night ... 

Cherringham is a serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new mystery thriller released each month. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. Each of the self-contained episodes is a quick read for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa. 

For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's The Cat Who series, Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders, and the American TV series Murder She Wrote, starring Angela Lansbury. 

Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), have been writing together since the mid 90’s, creating content and working on projects for the BBC, Disney Channel, Sony, ABC, Eidos, and Nintendo to name but a few.  Their transatlantic collaboration has underpinned scores of TV drama scripts, computer games, radio shows, and - most recently - the successful crime fiction series Cherringham. Now into its second season of 12 novellas, Cherringham is popular around the world and has been adapted as a series of audiobooks in English and German.

Other books that might interest you

  • Rough Justice - cover

    Rough Justice

    Lisa Scottoline

    • 2
    • 2
    • 0
    The third electrifying book in #1 bestselling author Lisa Scottoline’s Rosato & Associates series has criminal lawyer Marta Richter in a race to prove one man’s innocence. 
    “Lisa Scottoline writes riveting thrillers that keep me up all night, with plots that twist and turn.”--Harlan Coben 
     
    Criminal lawyer Marta Richter is hours away from winning an acquittal for her client, millionaire businessman Elliot Steere. Elliot is on trial for the murder of a homeless man who had tried to carjack him. But as the jury begins deliberations, Marta discovers the chilling truth about her client’s innocence. 
    Taking justice into her own hands, she sets out to prove the truth, with the help of two young associates. In an excruciating game of beat-the-clock with both the jury and the worst blizzard to hit Philadelphia in decades, Marta will learn that the search for justice isn’t only rough—it can also be deadly.
    Show book
  • Mistaken Identity - cover

    Mistaken Identity

    Lisa Scottoline

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “A humdinger”—USA Today 
    “Ratcheting suspense, dynamic characters, and a master’s touch”—David Baldacci, New York Times bestselling author of The Sixth Man 
    With the spellbinding crime fiction masterwork, Mistaken Identity, Lisa Scottoline rocketed onto the New York Times bestseller list—and she’s remained there ever since! A stunning tale of mystery and suspense, this classic from the beloved, Edgar® Award-winning author once again leads readers down the gritty streets of Philadelphia and into the offices of the law firm of Rosato & Associates. When a new client who’s been accused of murder—and who bears an astonishing resemblance to Bennie Rosato—asks the crusading criminal defense attorney to take her case, Bennie finds herself entangled in a sticky web of murder, corruption, and violence that threatens to reveal the shocking truth about her own past. If you haven’t read Lisa Scottoline before, Mistaken Identity will prove to you what her many fans already know: nobody does it better!
    Show book
  • Moment of Truth - cover

    Moment of Truth

    Lisa Scottoline

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    When attorney Jack Newlin discovers his wife dead in their home, he's convinced he knows who killed her—and is equally determined to hide the truth. He decides to frame himself for murder, and to seal his fate he hires the most inexperienced lawyer he can find: a reluctant rookie by the name of Mary DiNunzio from the hot Philadelphia firm of Rosato & Associates. But hiring Mary may turn out to be his biggest mistake. She doubts Jack's confession, and her ethics and instincts tell her she can't defend a man who wants to convict himself. Smarter, gutsier, and more persistent than she has any right to be, Mary sets out to prove what really happened—because, as any lawyer knows, a case is never as simple as it seems. And nothing is ever certain until the final moment of truth.
    Show book
  • Red Light - cover

    Red Light

    Graham Masterton

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Somewhere in the city of Cork, a woman's cry echoes through the rainy streets. 
     
    On a bloodstained mattress in a grimy flat, a burly man lies dead. A terrified girl kneels over his body. She has been trapped here for three days. It doesn't take DS Katie Maguire long to identify the murder victim: he's a cruel and powerful pimp she's been trying to convict for years. 
     
    It's Katie's job to catch the killer. But with men like this dead, the city is safer – and so are the frightened young women who are trafficked into Cork. When a second pimp is horrifically murdered, Katie must decide. Should she do her job, or follow her conscience? Should she allow the killer to strike again?
    Show book
  • Burning - An Anthology of Short Thrillers - cover

    Burning - An Anthology of Short...

    Peter Oxley, Simon Finnie, Craig...

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    If you woke up with a gun in your face, what would you do?Plagued by mysterious dreams which are quickly becoming a real-life nightmare, where would you turn?What was the real truth behind the Iraqi invasion and the search for WMDs?What if the one person you relied on to keep you safe, instead became your jailer?Forced to confront the mistakes of your past, where would you hide?14 original stories with one red-hot connection… Burning.Thrillers to shock. Thrillers to excite. Thrillers to challenge and make you think.An anthology of 14 original short stories by a collection of outstanding thriller writers.Craig Hart’s "Loose Ends" thrusts a wise-cracking PI into the center of a deadly—and highly personal—case.In Fiona Campbell’s "From a Flicker to a Flame", a woman finds herself trapped, a prisoner in a loveless marriage.In "The Five Votive Candles of Joe Wray" by Simon Bewick, Joe Wray is a husband, a father, a brother and a business owner. They all need his protection. He doesn’t have a prayer.A mysterious man sparks unexplainable fires in Carla Day’s "Scintillation", where a woman’s dreams may be the clue to saving the world.The dark and seedy underbelly of the City of London is exposed in Will Patching’s "Old Flame": a tale of lust, greed and a decidedly nasty twist.The repercussions of the Iraq war and memories of WMDs plague the characters of Dana Lyons’ "Fire and Brimstone", with a weapon which could truly be the end of all things.In "Ava Edison and the Burning Man", by Marcus Cook, a thief with an unlikely accomplice faces a race against time to get a priceless jewel for a ruthless client.Tom Goymour’s "Circle of Friends" finds a man and his long-forgotten friends being forced to finally confront the mistakes of their youth.In Peter Ellis’ "Reprogrammed", a woman wakes in a strange warehouse with terrifying new abilities, but with no knowledge of how she got there.The hero of Michael Peirce’s "Accidental Operator" unwittingly becomes the key member of a new, highly deadly team of mercenaries."Valley of the Shadow" by Pat Moore is a moving exploration of love and loss, where those left behind suffer more than the ones they mourn.Lori Lacefield’s "The Fire Keeper" follows Frankie Johnson, an FBI Profiler, as she tries to decode a terrifyingly macabre fire ritual, before the killers strike again.Free will, morality and redemption lie at the heart of Simon Finnie’s "Burning", as a Professor is forced to confront the mistakes of his youth.And finally, in Peter Oxley’s "Burning Greed", a thief simply has to battle through a burning island to steal the score of his life: what could possibly go wrong?Burning - bringing destruction or a new beginning? To find out, get Burning: An Anthology of Short Thrillers - now!
    Show book
  • Legal Tender - cover

    Legal Tender

    Lisa Scottoline

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Bennie Rosato is a maverick lawyer, and business at her law firm has never been better. Then, without warning, a savage murder tears the firm apart. All evidence points to Bennie, who has motive aplenty and an unconfirmable alibi. Her world turns upside-down as the lawyer becomes the client, and the law is now after her. When another killing takes place, Bennie runs for her life, a fugitive armed only with her wits and courage. She is determined to find the real killer -- or die trying.
    Show book