Reading without limits, the perfect plan for #stayhome
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Cherringham - Mystery at the Manor - A Cosy Crime Series - cover

Cherringham - Mystery at the Manor - A Cosy Crime Series

Matthew Costello, Neil Richards

Publisher: Bastei Entertainment

  • 1
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

The elderly owner of Mogdon Manor, Victor Hamblyn, dies in a mysterious fire. But was it really an accident? Jack and Sarah are sceptical ... The victim's three middle-aged children, who all live in the village of Cherringham, are possible heirs. And possible murderers ... Did one of them set the fire?

Cherringham is a serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new mystery thriller released each month. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. Each of the self-contained episodes is a quick read for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa.
 
For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's The Cat Who series, Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders, and the American TV series Murder She Wrote, starring Angela Lansbury.
 
Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), have been writing together since the mid 90’s, creating content and working on projects for the BBC, Disney Channel, Sony, ABC, Eidos, and Nintendo to name but a few.  Their transatlantic collaboration has underpinned scores of TV drama scripts, computer games, radio shows, and - most recently - the successful crime fiction series Cherringham. Now into its second season of 12 novellas, Cherringham is popular around the world and has been adapted as a series of audiobooks in English and German.

Other books that might interest you

  • Inspector Ghote Plays a Joker - cover

    Inspector Ghote Plays a Joker

    H. R. F. Keating

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Inspector Ghote, 'one of the great creations of detective fiction' (Alexander McCall Smith), is assigned his most baffling case yet: preventing the murder . . . of a flamingo, in this classic mystery - with a brand-new introduction by bestselling author Vaseem Khan.
    
    Inspector Ganesh Ghote of the Bombay CID is taken aback when his boss, the rage-prone Deputy Superintendent Naik, cheerfully summons him with an unusual order: to stop a murder. But his boss's good mood turns out to be the least bizarre thing about the situation. For the potential murder victim is an expensive flamingo - a gift from the US Consul - and if Ghote doesn't prevent it meeting the same tragic end as its three companions, it could result in serious embarrassment for the government.
    
    Saddled with the most incompetent sergeant in the history of policing, Ghote investigates with his usual thoroughness, and soon suspects the flamingo-slaying is linked to a whole series of elaborate, unkind pranks. Who would do such a thing, and why? The hard-working inspector doesn't get the joke. But when the case takes a darker turn, all thoughts of humour are forgotten . . .
    Show book
  • Obsession - A Crime Of The Heart - cover

    Obsession - A Crime Of The Heart

    Robin Storey

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    He’s lonely and desperate. 
     
    But he wants far more than her attention…
     
    The one thing Benny wants more than anything is a relationship. But he's not smart or good-looking, so women ignore him or run the other way. ​​Then Olivia moves into the neighbourhood. It’s love at first sight for Benny. Olivia is beautiful and kind, his fairy tale princess.
     
    But there are two big obstacles.
     
    Olivia doesn't love him. Yet.
     
    And her abusive ex-husband Lucas is still hanging around, making life difficult for her.  ​​ There's only one course of action. But will it give Benny what he wants?
     
    If you love suspenseful stories with flawed characters who’ll touch your heart, you’ll love this novel you can read in one sitting.
    Show book
  • Inspector Ghote Goes by Train - cover

    Inspector Ghote Goes by Train

    H. R. F. Keating

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Quietly dignified Inspector Ghote, 'one of the great creations of detective fiction' (Alexander McCall Smith), finds himself trapped on a train with a fellow passenger who may - or may not - be the legendary confidence trickster he is travelling to collect, in this classic mystery - with a brand-new introduction by bestselling author Vaseem Khan.
     
    When Inspector Ganesh Ghote boards the train to Calcutta, he's looking forward to spending forty hours detached from his responsibilities, but nevertheless still doing his job. He is on his way to collect legendary swindler A. K. Bhattacharya, who's defrauded wealthy art-lovers for years, and bring him back to Bombay to stand trial.
     
    But his peace and quiet is immediately disturbed by a chatty fellow traveller, who, Ghote soon realises, talks relentlessly but never gives anything personal away. Who is this man, who never takes off his sunglasses, and whose hair appears freshly dyed? The good inspector's heart stops when he sees the initials on his companion's case: A.K.B.
     
    A. K. Bhattacharaya, the master trickster, is in prison in Calcutta, awaiting transfer under Ghote's custody to Bombay. It would be the wildest fantasy to think he should be sitting on the train with Ghote instead. 
    
    Wouldn't it?
    Show book
  • Nothing Else Remains - The compulsive read - cover

    Nothing Else Remains - The...

    Robert Scragg

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    'Intricately plotted and expertly paced, Nothing Else Remains is British crime writing at its finest' M. W. Craven, author of The Puppet Show 
    When Max Brennan’s estranged father and then his own girlfriend go missing in quick succession, he turns to his old friend Detective Jake Porter for help. As Max is then attacked in his own home, Porter and his partner Nick Styles waste no time in investigating. But when their main suspect turns up dead, alongside a list of other targets, it seems the case is much bigger than it first appeared. With events spiraling, can Porter and Styles catch the killer before another victim is claimed?
    Show book
  • The Perfect Girl - A Novel - cover

    The Perfect Girl - A Novel

    Gilly Macmillan

    • 2
    • 21
    • 0
    The New York Times bestselling author of What She Knew returns with an electrifying new novel about how the past will always find us... 
    "Literary suspense at its finest.”—Mary Kubica, New York Times bestselling author of Pretty Baby 
    “A wonderfully addictive book with virtuoso plotting and characters - for anyone who loved Girl on the Train, it’s a must read.” 
       — Rosamund Lupton 
    Zoe Maisey is a seventeen-year-old musical prodigy with a genius IQ. Three years ago, she was involved in a tragic incident that left three classmates dead. She served her time, and now her mother, Maria, is resolved to keep that devastating fact tucked far away from their new beginning, hiding the past even from her new husband and demanding Zoe do the same.   
    Tonight Zoe is giving a recital that Maria has been planning for months. It needs to be the performance of her life. But instead, by the end of the evening, Maria is dead.  
    In the aftermath, everyone—police, family, Zoe’s former solicitor, and Zoe herself—tries to piece together what happened. But as Zoe knows all too well, the truth is rarely straightforward, and the closer we are to someone, the less we may see.
    Show book
  • The King's Beast - A Mystery of the American Revolution - cover

    The King's Beast - A Mystery of...

    Eliot Pattison

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    When Duncan McCallum is asked by Benjamin Franklin to retrieve an
    astonishing cache of fossils from the Kentucky wilderness, his excitement
    as a naturalist blinds him to his treacherous path. His journey to deliver
    the fossils to Franklin in London becomes a nightmare of deceit and violence as he seeks the cryptic link between the bones of the American incognitum and the king. Duncan’s last desperate hope for survival, and the rescue of his aged native friend Conawago—imprisoned in Bedlam—requires the help of freed slaves, an aristocratic maiden, a band of street urchins, and the gods of his tribal allies.
    Show book