Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Cherringham - Episode 1 - 3 - A Cosy Crime Series Compilation - cover

Cherringham - Episode 1 - 3 - A Cosy Crime Series Compilation

Matthew Costello, Neil Richards

Publisher: Bastei Entertainment

  • 1
  • 13
  • 0

Summary

Jack's a retired ex-cop from New York, seeking the simple life in Cherringham. Sarah's a Web designer who's moved back to the village find herself. But their lives are anything but quiet as the two team up to solve Cherringham's criminal mysteries. 

This compilation contains episodes 1 - 3: MURDER ON THAMES, MYSTERY AT THE MANOR and MURDER BY MOONLIGHT. Here Jack and Sarah investigate a suicide in the River Thames - or was it murder? They investigate an "accidental" fire with deadly consequences, and they nab the culprit behind the Rotary Club choir poisoning. 

Cherringham is a serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new mystery thriller released each month. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. Each of the self-contained episodes is a quick read for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa. 

For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's The Cat Who series, Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders, and the American TV series Murder She Wrote, starring Angela Lansbury. 

Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), are known for their script work on major computer games. The Cherringham crime series is their first fictional transatlantic collaboration.

+++ "A clever twist, which you might - or might not - have spotted." Bookbag

+++ "Comparisons with 'Midsomer Murders' [...] are inevitable, but 'Cherringham' comes out on top when it comes to originality and - probably most crucially - the avoidance of irritating stereotypes." Killing Time Crime

+++ "Sarah and Jack make an interesting combination. [...] The perfect partnership, which I can't wait to see develop over the next 11 episodes." Shaz's Book Blog

Other books that might interest you

  • Sideman The - A Scottish police procedural set in Glasgow - cover

    Sideman The - A Scottish police...

    Caro Ramsay

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    With no evidence against him and no known motive, DI Costello must break the rules if she is to get her man.
    Detective Inspector Costello has resigned. No notice, no goodbyes. Convinced that George Haggerty murdered his wife and son despite his cast-iron alibi, Costello has gone solo, determined to expose a ruthless killer without being hampered by police protocol. But is she right about Haggerty’s guilt? And where has she disappeared to?
    DCI Colin Anderson has no time to ponder the loss of his partner of twenty years. With a badly beaten body found on a remote mountain pass; a woman with a serious head wound who won’t communicate in any way; and a substantial pool of blood discovered at the edge of Loch Lomond, Police Scotland have their hands full. Could there be any connection to Costello’s disappearance …?
    Show book
  • The Guards - Jack Taylor #1 - cover

    The Guards - Jack Taylor #1

    Ken Bruen

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    It's almost impossible to be thrown out of the Gardaí, but former police detective Jack Taylor has managed it… 
    Following the death of his father, Jack finds himself disgraced, unemployed, and drinking himself into oblivion when he is asked to privately investigate a teenage suicide.  
    The case is one of several successive suicides from the same bridge in Galway, and all the victims are teenage females.  
    The Irish police, the Guards, are quick to dismiss the deaths as coincidences, suggesting the bridge has become a destination spot for depressed teens.  
    However, when he is approached by Ann Henderson, the mother of one of the girls, Jack begins to uncover facts that suggest otherwise…  
    Plunged into a dangerous confrontation with the police and a powerful but suspicious businessman, Jack finds himself questioning his instincts, his motives, and who – if anyone – he can trust.  
    The Guards, winner of the Shamus Award for Best Novel and finalist for Edgar Award for Best Novel, is the first title in Ken Bruen's best-selling crime series featuring Jack Taylor.  
    Praise for Ken Bruen: 
    'Taylor is a classic figure: an ex-cop turned seedy private eye . . . The book's pleasure comes from listening to Taylor's eloquent rants, studded with references to songs and books. His voice is wry and bittersweet, but somehow always hopeful.' - Seattle Times  
    'Ken Bruen, Ireland's first real crime novelist . . . the Godfather of the modern Irish crime novel . . . Bruen writes in machine gun fashion, his words verbal bullets that rip through the veneer of the safe bourgeois Catholic society in which he was reared . . . The acerbic wit and off-the-wall comments throughout all the books are somewhat reminiscent of the work of Raymond Chandler and Peter Cheyenne.' - Irish Times  
    'Ken Bruen doesn't need a lot of words to tell his tales of perpetually falling Irish angel Jack Taylor—he knows the right ones. Bruen gets more done in a paragraph, a word, even a fragment of a word, than most writers get in an entire four-hundred page doorstop. If his prose was any sharper, your eyeballs would bleed.' - Mystery Scene  
    'One sign of a winning detective series is how much fun the author has with the creation. In the 11th Jack Taylor novel, Green Hell, Ken Bruen is having a shameless good time . . . Go ahead—crack open Green Hell and have some fun.' - Shelf Awareness  
    'The Taylor series is generally very pleasurable to read . . . filled with a glorious love of the language and an engaging protagonist who is unlike almost any other. It's unclear at this point how many more go-arounds Taylor has left in him . . . but it will be a privilege to be with him for as long as he's able.' - Strand Magazine 
    Ken Bruen received a doctorate in metaphysics, taught English in Africa, and then became a crime novelist. The critically acclaimed author of ten previous Jack Taylor novels and The White Trilogy, he is the recipient of two Barry Awards and two Shamus Awards and has twice been a finalist for the Edgar Award. He lives in Galway, Ireland.
    Show book
  • Recalled to Death - A Martha Gunn Police Procedural - cover

    Recalled to Death - A Martha...

    Priscilla Masters

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Coroner Martha Gunn is baffled by the discovery of an unidentified body in the ruins of a local beauty spot.
    
    
    
    On a bright spring morning, John Hyde opens the gates to the grounds of Moreton Corbet Castle, a local medieval ruin, and discovers the body of a homeless man with his throat slashed.
    
    
    
    Detective Inspector Alex Randall and his team soon face some disturbing questions: was this a random attack, or does someone have a vendetta against the homeless? For coroner Martha Gunn, establishing the man’s identity is essential, but there are no clues . . . Who is he? What was he doing in the grounds of a Shropshire beauty spot?
    
    
    
    As the mystery deepens, the need for answers becomes increasingly important. Can Martha and Alex solve the puzzle?
    Show book
  • Under a Silent Moon - A Novel - cover

    Under a Silent Moon - A Novel

    Elizabeth Haynes

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    P. D. James meets E. L. James in Under a Silent Moon, this first novel in an exciting British crime series—a blend of literary suspense and page-turning thriller that introduces formidable Detective Chief Inspector Louisa Smith—from suspense talent Elizabeth Haynes, author of the bestselling Into the Darkest Corner. 
    In the crisp, early hours of an autumn morning, the police are called to investigate two deaths. The first is a suspected murder at a farm on the outskirts of a small village. A beautiful young woman has been found dead, her cottage drenched with blood. The second is a reported suicide at a nearby quarry. A car with a woman’s body inside was found at the bottom of the pit. 
    As DI Louisa Smith and her team gather evidence, they discover a shocking link between the two cases and the two deaths—a bond that sealed their terrible fates one cold night, under a silent moon. 
    In Under a Silent Moon, Elizabeth Haynes interweaves fictional primary source materials—police reports, phone messages, interviews—and multiple character viewpoints to create a sexy, edgy, and compulsively readable tale of murder, mystery, and unsettling suspense. 
    Show book
  • Rat Run - An Scottish police procedural - cover

    Rat Run - An Scottish police...

    Caro Ramsay

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A complex plot with plenty of red herrings, taut suspense, and graphic details make this a gruesome but gripping read”Booklist A macabre discovery throws disturbing new light on a 20-year-old murder case in the latest tense and twisting Anderson and Costello mystery.     
    
    In August 1992, a young mother and her two small sons were brutally murdered in the woods behind their home. Her neighbour Andrew Gyle was convicted of the crime and sentenced to life imprisonment. Now, twenty-three years later, a macabre discovery throws new light on the case. Could there have been a shocking miscarriage of justice? 
    
    Having only just returned to work following an enforced leave of absence, DCI Colin Anderson knows he must make a success of his comeback case. But, as he and his partner, DI Costello, uncover serious discrepancies in the original investigation, it becomes clear that not everyone is telling them the truth. Meanwhile, Costello worries that Anderson is struggling to cope – and his increasingly odd behaviour causes her to begin to think the unthinkable: can she trust her own partner?
    Show book
  • Tears of Angels The - A Scottish police procedural - cover

    Tears of Angels The - A Scottish...

    Caro Ramsay

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Past crimes cause new murder in this tense and twisting psychological thriller
    
    A few days before the summer solstice a 92-year-old woman is found burned to death in her home. On the same day, a man’s mutilated corpse is discovered in a field, his arms ripped from their sockets, a Tarot card depicting The Fool inserted in his mouth.
    
    When the victim is identified as someone for whom the police have been looking for almost a year, detectives Anderson and Costello find themselves caught up in a case where nothing is as it seems. Was the dead man really responsible for three child murders? And what is the connection with the death of the elderly woman?
    
    The investigation leads to the tranquil shores of Loch Lomond where Anderson and Costello will finally uncover the shocking truth.
    Show book