A world full of adventures is waiting for you!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Cherringham - A Lesson in Murder - A Cosy Crime Series - cover

Cherringham - A Lesson in Murder - A Cosy Crime Series

Matthew Costello, Neil Richards

Publisher: Bastei Entertainment

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

When Jack and Sarah are called in to investigate mysterious pranks at an exclusive girls' private school, it seems at first that it might be the work of a few mean pupils with a grudge. But things quickly turn serious when a popular teacher meets a sudden, violent death. Now, with murder in the air, Jack and Sarah have their own lessons to learn about the Cherringham Girls School, its dark secrets ... and who wanted that teacher dead before they learned the truth. 

Cherringham is a serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new mystery thriller released each month. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. Each of the self-contained episodes is a quick read for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa. 

For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's The Cat Who series, Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders, and the American TV series Murder She Wrote, starring Angela Lansbury. 

Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), have been writing together since the mid 90’s, creating content and working on projects for the BBC, Disney Channel, Sony, ABC, Eidos, and Nintendo to name but a few.  Their transatlantic collaboration has underpinned scores of TV drama scripts, computer games, radio shows, and - most recently - the successful crime fiction series Cherringham. Now into its second season of 12 novellas, Cherringham is popular around the world and has been adapted as a series of audiobooks in English and German.

Other books that might interest you

  • Trust Me I'm Dead - cover

    Trust Me I'm Dead

    Sherryl Clark

    • 3
    • 23
    • 1
    SHORTLISTED FOR THE 2018 CWA DEBUT DAGGER FOR UNPUBLISHED FIRST NOVEL
     
    She hasn't seen her brother in years. Now, he's dead.
     
    When Judi Westerholme finds out her estranged brother has been murdered, she assumes it's connected to his long term drug addiction. Returning home, she is shocked to discover he had been clean for years, had a wife – now missing – a child and led a respectable life. But if he had turned his life around, why was he killed in a drug deal shooting? And where is his wife?
     
    Desperate to know what really happened, Judi sets out to uncover the truth, even though it means confronting her own traumatic past. But she's not the only one looking for answers...
     
    With a gutsy, unapologetic protagonist, Trust Me, I'm Dead is a gritty and bold crime thriller that explores the sacrifices people will make for their families.
     
    'Gripping and disturbing, Clark delves into dark places close to home. Trust Me, I’m Dead will linger in your mind after you have read it' - Leigh Russell, author of the bestselling Geraldine Steel series
    Show book
  • Random Acts - A Joanna Brady and Ali Reynolds Novella - cover

    Random Acts - A Joanna Brady and...

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From New York Times bestselling author 
    J. A. JANCE 
    comes an all- new novella, 
    in which Sheriff Joanna Brady and investigator 
    Ali Reynolds join forces to solve a crime that 
    has hit dangerously close to home 
      
    Sheriff Joanna Brady has a lot on her plate—she is up for re-election as sheriff, pregnant with her third child, and her eldest is packing up to leave for college. Then Joanna is woken in the middle of the night by a call reporting a motor vehicle accident. Her mother and stepfather’s RV ran off the road at high speed and hit the pillar of an overpass.  
    Something about the accident seems suspicious, though, and when Joanna gets a call from Ali Reynolds, a journalist turned investigator, she accepts her offer to help. They come up with a plan to find out who was responsible…even if that person is not the villain they’d expected. 
      
    Published by William Morrow
    Show book
  • Dead End - cover

    Dead End

    Sally Spencer

    • 1
    • 12
    • 0
    He was going to have to terminate Monika, he decided. It was a pity, but there it was.
    
    The body has lain buried for years, and has no face and no fingertips. Monika Paniatowski’s team have no real leads, but when they discuss the case at her hospital bedside – where she lies paralysed – Monika begins to see possible links with a case she closed four years earlier.
    
    Are the two cases connected? Did the first murder make the second almost inevitable? She doesn’t know, but she does know that she is being watched by an old enemy who will kill her if he decides there is ever any chance of her sharing her thoughts and information with her team.
    Show book
  • The Riddle of St Leonard's - The Owen Archer Series - Book Five - cover

    The Riddle of St Leonard's - The...

    Candace Robb

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    “Gripping and believable…you can almost smell the streets of 14th-century York as you delve deeper into an engrossing plot.” —PRIMA
    
    In the year of our Lord 1369 the much-loved Queen Philippa lies dying in Windsor Castle, the harvest has failed, and the pestilence has returned. In York, the atmosphere of fear and superstition is heightened by a series of thefts and violent deaths at St. Leonard’s Hospital, as well as rumors that these crimes are connected to the hospital’s dwindling funds. The Master of St. Leonard’s, Sir Richard Ravenser, hurries north from the queen’s deathbed to summon Owen Archer, soldier-spy, to investigate the scandal before it ruins him. 
    
    While his wife Lucie faces the plague-panicked townsfolk at the apothecary, Owen encounters a seemingly random series of clues: a riddle posed by one of the victims at the hospital, a lay sister with a scandalous past, the kidnapping of a child from the hospital orphanage, and a case of arson. The answer to the riddle of St. Leonard’s lies in the past, and as Owen’s family is caught up in the sweep of the pestilence, he must abandon them to race across the countryside to save the next victim.
    Show book
  • Guilt in the Cotswolds - cover

    Guilt in the Cotswolds

    Rebecca Tope

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Sinister secrets are revealed in a sleepy village 
    Thea Osborne’s latest house-sitting assignment is a little different to the rest. She finds herself in the village of Chedworth making an inventory of Rita Wilshire’s possessions after she has moved into a care home. All goes to plan, with Hepzie the spaniel for company, until Thea and her fiancé, Drew, find a body in a barn. 
    When family members come knocking, Thea and Drew struggle to give them answers. Was it suicide, or something more sinister? The clues lead Thea and Drew in circles, but with a crime to solve, neither of them is willing to give up just yet . . . 
    ‘A GOOD PLOT WITH OODLES OF ATMOSPHERE MAKES THIS A REAL PAGE-TURNER’ THE BOOKBAG
    Show book
  • Trouble in the Cotswolds - cover

    Trouble in the Cotswolds

    Rebecca Tope

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Thea Osborne hopes to spend a quiet Christmas house-sitting for the Shepherds in the picturesque Cotswold village of Stanton, close to Broadway. Walks in the local countryside with the dogs and perhaps a meal in the pub are all the excitement she wants. When her arrival at the village coincides with the funeral of local businessman Douglas Callendar, found electrocuted in his bath, Thea’s interest is stirred but the onset of flu threatens to prevent any sleuthing. However, when two people show up brutally murdered the following afternoon, even battling a fever, Thea finds herself thrust into the middle of yet another police investigation. 
    With the Callendar family linked to most of the village, Stanton is bursting with motives for the murders including jealousy, closures of footpaths and secret animal research. Thea turns to local residents for clarification and protection, but even the most seemingly trustworthy of them might turn out to be unsafe, and she wonders whether there is anybody at all who might be relied on to help her survive the festive season.
    Show book