Instant satisfaction for your thirst for knowledge!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
False Move - cover

False Move

Matt Hilton

Publisher: Severn House

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

When an ex-cop goes on the run from his employers, his daughter seeks help from an old friend . . . Tess Grey.

Ex-cop Aaron Lacey is on the run from Elite Custodian Services, a protection service of ex-military and police – and his current employers – and they will stop at nothing to track him down. His disappearance results in his daughter reaching out to her old schoolfriend, Tess Grey. But when Tess’s mother urges her to turn down helping her friend, Tess begins to question why. 

Is her mother simply being overprotective, or is there more to her past with Lacey than Tess realises? Why has Lacey gone underground and why are the Elite so determined to catch him?

As Tess and her partner Nicolas Villere get involved, they need to figure out who can be trusted and what secrets they are hiding.

Other books that might interest you

  • Blood on the Rocks - cover

    Blood on the Rocks

    Priscilla Masters

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    DI Joanna Piercy is irritated at what she perceives to be an attempt to wrap her up in cotton wool during her pregnancy when she is asked to take on the case of Zachary Foster, a missing ninety-six-year-old man suffering from dementia. Zachary has vanished from his residential care home on the edge of Leek during the night with his beloved old teddy bear. He can’t have gone far, surely, but how did a frail, elderly man manage to abscond from a secure house at night? As Joanna investigates, it soon becomes clear that this apparently minor case is far more sinister than it first appears. Could her own life, and that of her unborn child, be at risk?
    Show book
  • House of the Red Slayer - A Brother Athelstan Medieval Mystery 2 - cover

    House of the Red Slayer - A...

    Paul Doherty

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    December, 1377.  A great frost has London in its icy grip; even the Thames is frozen bank to bank. The Constable of the Tower of London, Sir Ralph Witton, is found murdered in a cold, bleak chamber in the North Bastion.  The door is still locked from the inside and guarded by trusted retainers. So how did the assassins slip across a frozen moat to climb the sheer wall to commit such a dreadful crime? Appointed to investigate, Brother Athelstan and Sir John Cranston soon discover that Sir Ralph’s murder is only the first in a series of macabre killings which have their roots in a terrible act of betrayal committed many years previously.
    Show book
  • Murder in Georgetown - cover

    Murder in Georgetown

    Margaret Truman

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    The author of Murdered at the FBI delivers a political thriller that “ends with several bangs. It may be deemed the best of Truman’s bestsellers” (Publishers Weekly).   When the corpse of a young woman is found floating down Washington’s C&O Canal, everyone is shocked to learn the victim is none other than Valerie Frolich—a senator’s daughter, Georgetown graduate, and a rising star in the cutthroat world of investigative journalism.  Washington Post reporter Joe Potamos is good at unearthing the skeletons in the nation’s capital, so when he’s assigned the Frolich story, he immediately senses this case is rife with secrets. As he digs further to uncover the truth about Valerie’s death, it soon becomes apparent someone wanted the young, beautiful reporter dead.   And when Joe’s search reveals an evil labyrinth of intrigue involving murder, bribery, kidnapping, and even international espionage, he’ll have to race to find Valerie’s killer—before his own life is snuffed out. “Truman[’s] . . . murder mysteries . . . evoke brilliantly the Washington she knows so well.” —The Houston Post   “Truman does it again!” —United Press International  
    Show book
  • The Woman in the Blue Cloak - cover

    The Woman in the Blue Cloak

    Deon Meyer

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    The Woman in the Blue Cloak marks Meyer’s return to his beloved Benny Griessel series.
    Meyer is a world-class thriller writer. He writes gripping books with inventive plots, realistic characters, and universal themes.
    The Woman in the Blue Cloak is a departure from Meyer’s previous work only in its brevity: just over 30,000 words, it is an accessible, fast read that will bring more fans to the Griessel series. This is a format which has seen considerable success in the past: Gillian Flynn’s 2015 novella The Grownup has sold nearly 50,000 copies according to Bookscan. 
    Readers of Donna Tartt will enjoy seeing the literary reappearance of Carel Fabritius, whose painting “The Goldfinch”—featured prominently in Tartt’s novel of the same name—was displayed in a 2014 exhibit at the Frick Collection in New York that had visitors lining around the block in frigid temperatures for hours. 
    Meyer has a devoted and growing following in the U.S., with avid fans across the crime community, including luminaries such as Stephen King, Michael Connelly, Tess Gerritsen, and Grove Atlantic’s own Thomas Perry.
    Meyer’s previous book, the standalone novel Fever, was named an Indie Next Selection and an Amazon Best Book of the Month (Science Fiction and Fantasy) and commended by Stephen King as “Reminiscent of The Stand and The Passage. Great stuff.” 
    Meyer’s most recent Benny Griessel thriller, Icarus, was shortlisted for the 2016 CWA International Dagger Award and the Nielson Booksellers’ Choice Award. It was named a Best Book of the Year by the Boston Globe and Financial Times and was named one of Publishers Weekly’s Best Audiobooks of 2015.
    An international bestseller, Meyer is known as the “King of South African Crime.” His books have been published in 27 languages and have netted just under 60,000 copies in all formats in the U.S. alone.
    Show book
  • Emily’s List - cover

    Emily’s List

    Sean Platt, David W. Wright

    • 3
    • 12
    • 0
    All Cora wants is a new start. But how do you start over when you’re still you? After the tragic loss of her horror writer father, Cora is starting over in a new town, at a new school where nobody knows her.Nobody knows about her OCD tics. Nobody knows about her time spent in a mental hospital. And nobody knows that she may be seeing her father’s ghost. But her new start is shattered when the OCD tics she tries to keep secret come out in class. She soon finds herself a target of bullies again.New town, same loneliness and shame. And she’s afraid to turn to her overworked mother who is already worried about her sanity.Then she meets Emily.The abused homeschooled girl has her own problems, but she’s the only person that gets Cora.Also, Emily has a list.A list of people who have hurt her.A list of people that include Cora’s bullies.And now Emily wants Cora’s help in getting revenge.Can Cora find a normal life by striking back at her tormentors? Or is she being lured into a darkness that will consume the sanity she’s desperately clinging to?Emily’s List is a character-driven suspense thriller full of dark secrets and twisted revelations perfect for fans of Thirteen Reasons Why and The Haunting of Hill House.
    Show book
  • Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing and gripping’ a psychological thriller that will bring you to the edge of your seat… - cover

    Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing...

    Susanna Beard

    • 0
    • 8
    • 0
    'I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened' --Tracy Buchanan 
    Reeling from a brutal attack that leaves her best friend dead and her badly injured, Lisa Fulbrook flees to the countryside to recuperate. With only vague memories of the event, she isolates herself from her friends and family, content to spend her days wandering the hills with her dog, Riley. 
    However, Lisa is soon plagued, not only by vivid flashbacks, but questions, too: how did their assailant know them? Why were they attacked? And what really happened that night? 
    As she desperately tries to piece together the memories, Lisa realises that there's another truth still hidden to her, a truth she can't escape from. A truth that may have been right in front of her all along. 
    A clever, sophisticated, psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah 
    What Reviewers and Readers Say: 
    'Dare to Remember is an intriguing and gripping debut novel. A perceptive exploration of the trauma of losing your best friend' --Rachel Abbott 
    'A tense journey into one woman’s struggle with the aftermath of a vicious attack that killed her best friend. I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened on the night of the attack. Susanna Beard is a thought-provoking, skilled debut writer who will no doubt win a new army of thriller fans with this clever novel.' -- Tracy Buchanan 
    'Beautifully taut and controlled writing - gripping all the way through' --Shelley Weiner 
    'Written with care and a deep level of understanding, while simultaneously building up the suspense until you are racing to find out what happened… a great read.' --Sue Fortin, bestselling author of 'The Girl Who Lied' 
    'A taut, compelling read. Full of atmosphere and humanity. Susanna brilliantly portrays through the central character the times in our lives that leave us guilty and emotionless and unable to move forward with purpose. A stunning and confident first novel.' --Sharon Bloom 
    'This is a great exploration into the psychological impact of a traumatic event. I warmed to Lisa immediately and felt every bit of her frustration as she struggled to remember the details of the night she and her best friend were attacked by someone they knew and trusted. It kept me reading into the night as I raced to find out how this twisty, shocking story would end.' --Sam Carrington 
    'A deep and dark look at how we can overcome trauma.' --Keeper of Pages 
    'The narrative is both uplifting and disquieting as Lisa pushes against her past attack, and dares not just to remember, but to hope as well. An impressive debut for Susanna Beard.' --Joy Kluver 
    'Sometimes you pick up a book and after reading only a few pages, you know that this book is going to be a worthy read. This is what happened to me when I picked up Dare to Remember.' --Day Dreamers Thoughts 
    'Susanna Beard unspools the story at just the right pace to keep interest and intrigue.' --Barbara Copperthwaite
    Show book