Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Girl From Blind River - A Novel - cover

The Girl From Blind River - A Novel

Massey Gale

Publisher: Crooked Lane Books

  • 0
  • 9
  • 0

Summary

BESTSELLING TRADITION: Fans of Daniel Woodrell and Emma Cline will love this taut, edgy tale of a young woman pulled into the criminal underbelly of her small town. MARKETABLE CONCEPT AND PROTAGONIST: Featuring a smart-mouthed heroine facing corruption and danger, this page-turning suspense debut perfectly marries a coming-of-age story with the thrill of a small-town crime drama. WELL-CONNECTED AUTHOR: A Pushcart Prize-nominated author and the recipient of numerous fiction accolades, Gale Massey has strong connections to established authors and will be seeking early praise from: Laura Lippman, Ann Hood, and Michael Koryta. The Girl From Blind River has already collected a handful of blurbs from well-reviewed authors including: Steve Yarbrough, Randall Kenan, and Sterling Watson.

Other books that might interest you

  • Agents of Darkness - cover

    Agents of Darkness

    Campbell Armstrong

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In international bestselling author Campbell Armstrong’s thrilling, sophisticated tale of espionage, an assassin’s vengeance triggers the exposure of a lethal conspiracy at the heart of the US government  The director of the CIA lies unconscious and close to death in a private clinic, and his likely successor waits on his Pennsylvania estate while the power brokers in Washington, DC, do their deals. In the meantime, a man in Dallas is murdered. And on the other side of the globe, in Manila, a nondescript American is killed in his lover’s back-alley apartment.   Hard-drinking Scotsman Charlie Galloway, who has been suspended from his job in the LAPD, unofficially looks into the murder of a Filipino woman. Step by step, his investigation leads him to the nation’s capital, where a shocking conspiracy reaches deep into the heart of government. [Reviews]
    Show book
  • Flash Point (Fault Lines) - cover

    Flash Point (Fault Lines)

    Thomas Locke

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    What If the Limits of Time and Space Were Breached?Junior financial analyst Lena Fennan loves managing risk and making money. Yet when she gets a mysterious invitation to take a leap into the unknown, she does not hesitate. Soon a series of events takes her to the brink of destruction. But Lena refuses to give in, entranced by glimpses of a future that redefine everything.Reese Clawson emerges from prison gripped by the slow burn of revenge. She will track everyone who hand a hand in destroying her--and take them out. First on the list is Charlie Hazard.As time and space become jumbled, Lena and Reese are pulled into a collision course that could alter the parameters of human consciousness.
    Show book
  • Murder with Majesty - Auguste Didier Mystery #10 - cover

    Murder with Majesty - Auguste...

    Amy Myers

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Spring of 1905. Getrude Pennyfather, American heiress and folklore enthusiast, is set to enjoy the perfect English village wedding. Even King Edward VII is due to attend. What more could a society bride dream of? For as she arrives in Frimhurst, Gertrude believes that her fiancé, Arthur Montfoy, is the lord of the manor and the joyful celebrations of the local folk seem to confirm this. Indeed, everything about Frimurst seems picture-perfect. Perhaps a bit too perfect… 
    As time goes by and her wedding approaches, Gertrude realises that not everything in Frimhurst is as it seems. Does that include her husband-to-be, and the wonderful future she has planned for them? 
    Meanwhile a renowned French chef, and distant relative of the King by marriage, is working hard to produce the perfect wedding banquet, at the King's command. August Didier is a master of his craft, and his focus is such that little distracts him from his enormous task. Until, that is, he spots a familiar face among the wedding guests. The face of a man who has sworn to murder him. Very shortly afterwards, the body of a murder victim is discovered, but it is not Auguste – for now, at least. 
    The death brings Scotland Yard to the scene, and Auguste is reunited with his friend, Inspector Rose. As the men investigate, the bucolic façade that Frimhurst has produced for the wedding is stripped away to reveal lies, frustrated loves, tales of financial ruin and rampant dishonesty. 
    Auguste Didier and Inspector Rose have just a short time to find out the truth. For death is closing in on Auguste — will the murders be solved in time for him to outwit it? Only time will tell…  
    Murder with Majesty is a delightful mystery, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie. 
    Praise for Amy Myers 
    'Reading like a cross between Hercule Poirot and Mrs Beeton…this feast of entertainment is packed with splendid late-Victorian detail' - Library Journal Amy Myers was born in Kent, where she still lives, although she has now ventured to the far side of the Medway. For many years a director of a London publishing company, she is now a full-time writer. Married to an American, she lived for some years in Paris, where, surrounded by food, she first dreamed up her Victorian chef detective Auguste Didier. Currently she is writing her contemporary crime series starring Jack Colby, car detective, and in between his adventures continuing her Marsh & Daughter series and her Victorian chimney sweep Tom Wasp novels .
    Show book
  • White Rage - cover

    White Rage

    Campbell Armstrong

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Glasgow is burning after a series of racially motivated murders, and it’s up to Detective-Sergeant Lou Perlman to put out the fire in international bestselling author Campbell Armstrong’s riveting thriller First an Asian business owner falls to his death from his sixth-story apartment. Next an Indian woman, a kindergarten teacher, is shot dead. Meanwhile, Detective Perlman grieves quietly for his brother, killed in a hail of gunfire, and wrestles with his attraction to his sister-in-law, Miriam. There is no rational motive for the killings—none except pure racially driven hatred.   With the emergence of a group called White Rage, fear ripples through the city and Perlman has to get answers fast. As he looks beneath the bright surface of the city where he was born, he finds longtime enemies, dangerous businessmen, and ancient connections that will disturb and threaten the wrong people when their secrets are finally revealed.White Rage is the 3rd book in the Glasgow Novels, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.  
    Show book
  • Remnants - Brandon Fisher FBI Series #6 - cover

    Remnants - Brandon Fisher FBI...

    Carolyn Arnold

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    "Arnold has created a gritty nightmare of a tale that will churn the stomachs of even the most hard-boiled of FBI agents... Full of grit, gore and enough twists to make even the most diligent of readers hard-pressed to discover the villain, even the ending will keep you on pins and needles." 
    –Tome Tender Book Blog 
     
    All that remains are whispers of the past… 
     
    When multiple body parts are recovered from the Little Ogeechee River in Savannah, Georgia, local law enforcement calls in FBI agent and profiler Brandon Fisher and his team to investigate. But with the remains pointing to three separate victims, this isn't proving to be an open-and-shut case. 
     
    With no quick means of identifying the deceased, building a profile of this serial killer is more challenging than usual. How are these targets being selected? Why are their limbs being severed and their bodies mutilated? And what is it about them that is triggering this person to murder? 
     
    The questions compound as the body count continues to rise, and when a torso painted blue and missing its heart is found, the case takes an even darker turn. But this is only the beginning, and these new leads draw the FBI into a creepy psychological nightmare. One thing is clear, though: The killing isn't going to stop until they figure it all out. And they are running out of time… 
     
    Never read a book in the Brandon Fisher FBI series before? 
    Right here's the place to start! (You can always go and read the rest after!) 
     
    "Feel free to jump in the series at this point because Remnants is a stand-alone thrilling profiler mystery that you will want to read." 
    –Crystal's Many Reviewers
    Show book
  • Silent Graves - Brandon Fisher FBI Series #2 - cover

    Silent Graves - Brandon Fisher...

    Carolyn Arnold

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    "Tense and terrifying..." 
    –The Reading Café 
     
    There's no such thing as a casual affair… 
     
    Thirty missing women in the period of six years. Now another has been abducted. 
     
    One officer was right all along. Prince William County, Virginia has a serial killer preying on women. 
     
    With the recent abduction, the FBI is called in and Brandon Fisher's team gets the assignment. There is more to it than just one missing woman–this dates back decades. They delve into the past cases, hoping it will shed light on the investigation, but with the discovery of a body and the report of another missing woman, their efforts are further intensified. They begin narrowing in on the cases from the last six years. 
     
    What they find are heinous acts that rival what they witnessed in Salt Lick, Kentucky. They must stop a killer who plays out his twisted game of rape and torture–and they need to do so fast if there's going to be anyone left to save.
    Show book