Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
My Body's Superpower: The Girls' Guide to Growing Up Healthy - cover

My Body's Superpower: The Girls' Guide to Growing Up Healthy

Maryann Jacobsen

Publisher: Maryann Jacobsen

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Body dissatisfaction skyrockets during puberty, putting a girl's physical and emotional health at risk. Now there's a book that helps girls see body changes as "superpowers," leading them to a healthy and satisfying life.  
In this first-of-its-kind book, family nutrition expert Maryann Jacobsen empowers adolescent girls to see their body in a positive light. Utilizing a fun and relevant Superpower theme, girls learn what is happening inside the body (Super Knowledge), how to decode and respond to body signals (Body Talk), and "time travel" when making decisions. The book introduces 9 superpowers based on the research of puberty, nutritional needs, emotional health, sleep, physical activity, intuitive/mindful eating, motivation, media literacy, and body image. 
The book teaches girls to: 
-Understand physical changes during puberty and giving the body what it needs -- food, sleep, and activity -- to thrive. 
-Decode the inner world of feelings, choose the best super friends, and take time to discover more about yourself and what excites you. 
-Learn how to critically think about media messages and reduce pressure in both the "virtual" and "real" worlds. 
My Body's Superpower helps build a foundation for lifelong health during a critical time of development. Meant to guide parents and educate girls (and bring them together), it's destined to be a classic every girl reads growing up.

Other books that might interest you

  • Warriors: Dawn of the Clans #6: Path of Stars - cover

    Warriors: Dawn of the Clans #6:...

    Erin Hunter

    • 2
    • 4
    • 0
    Discover the origins of the warrior Clans in this thrilling prequel to Erin Hunter’s #1 nationally bestselling Warriors series 
    The sixth book in the Dawn of the Clans series takes readers back to the earliest days of the Clans, when the cats first settled in the forest and began to forge the warrior code. 
    After moons of strife, the forest cats have settled into five camps. But now the dangerous rogue Slash has kidnapped Clear Sky's mate, Star Flower, and made demands for prey that the cats cannot afford to meet. Desperate to save Star Flower, Clear Sky must convince the other groups—led by Tall Shadow, Wind Runner, Thunder, and River Ripple—to join forces, or their new way of life may not survive. 
    Also includes a sneak peek at the next Warriors series, A Vision of Shadows! 
      
     
    Show book
  • Warriors: Omen of the Stars #5: The Forgotten Warrior - cover

    Warriors: Omen of the Stars #5:...

    Erin Hunter

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    The end of the stars draws near. Three must become four to battle the darkness that lasts forever. . . .  
    With a divided StarClan driving a treacherous rift between the four warrior Clans, the spirits of the Dark Forest are gaining strength. Ivypool’s role as a spy is becoming more dangerous with each passing day. Dovewing is haunted by nightmares about the mountains and finds herself paralyzed by fear of what lies ahead. 
    Then an outsider appears in ThunderClan’s midst, spreading discord and pushing the Clans further apart. As tensions mount and Clanmates turn against one another, the warrior cats will be forced to choose whose word they can trust—before it’s too late.
    Show book
  • No Filter - cover

    No Filter

    Orlagh Collins

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    This poignant, sweepingly romantic debut novel told in dual POVs is perfect for fans of Everything, Everything and All the Bright Places. 
     
    Anyone who follows Emerald on her social media accounts only sees a perfect life-her loving, wealthy family, tight-knit circle of friends, and devoted internet following. But the truth hides behind the scenes of her perfectly framed, filtered photos. . . Emerald's family is far from happy, and when she finds her mom unconscious on the bathroom floor, she can no longer keep it a secret.  
      
     Sent to stay with her grandmother in a small beach town while her mother recovers and her father works non-stop, Emerald fears the long, lonely summer ahead of her . . . until she meets Liam. He's an aspiring songwriter with his own baggage, but neither of them can deny their connection. With secrets and lies all that they're used to, can Emerald and Liam really fall for each other-brave and true-with no filter? 
      
    This fresh, funny, and poignant debut from Orlagh Collins is refreshingly grounded and sweepingly romantic all at once.
    Show book
  • Nothing Bad Is Going to Happen - cover

    Nothing Bad Is Going to Happen

    Kathleen Hale

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    “I hope if I am ever murdered, Kippy Bushman takes up the case. I also hope that I am not murdered.”— John Mulaney 
    “Kathleen Hale somehow manages to write satire without condescension, humor without disdain and a genuine thriller without ever letting up.”— Jesse Eisenberg, Academy Award nominee for The Social Network 
    Teenage sleuth Kippy Bushman is back in Kathleen Hale’s murderously funny sequel to No One Else Can Have You, which was named one of Time’s Best Young Adult Books of the Year. Even more shocking and thrilling than its critically acclaimed predecessor, Nothing Bad Is Going to Happen is another clever, riotous dark comedy that’s perfect for fans of the cult-classic film Fargo, the beloved television show Veronica Mars, and books like Sara Shepard’s Pretty Little Liars series. 
    Just when you thought it was safe to go back to Friendship, Wisconsin…  
    After catching her best friend’s murderer a few months ago, Kippy thought the worst was over. Then she found her boyfriend at home, barely breathing and clinging to life. The sheriff insists it was a suicide attempt, but Kippy refuses to believe it. And with everything that’s happened to her, Kippy wonders if something more sinister is going on. But in a town where everyone has their secrets and a next-door neighbor could be a serial killer, who can she turn to for help?
    Show book
  • She Saw Colors - cover

    She Saw Colors

    Tabitha E. Stevens

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A young African American teen, Rosalind comes from a family of empaths, but when she inherits a gift of seeing auras everything takes a different turn for her. She tries to handle both gifts in her current daily life. Rosalind has a hard time trying to cope with both, but she remembers that seeing auras and becoming an empath is much more than she realizes Rosalind begins to mature in both gifts and truly sees the colors of auras around her.
    Show book
  • Odd Gods - cover

    Odd Gods

    David Slavin, Daniel Weitzman

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    Diary of a Wimpy Kid meets Percy Jackson in Odd Gods, the first book in a hilarious illustrated series about the most unlikely, unusual Gods ever to grace the halls of Mount Olympus Middle School. 
    A Summer 2019 Kids' Indie Next Pick! 
    Oddonis may be the son of Zeus, but he’s a little bit…odd for a God. He’s so odd, in fact, he’s not sure if he has any powers at all. And if that isn’t enough, his twin brother Adonis is the most popular, most athletic, and most otherworldly handsome God of them all. 
    Oddonis’s future at Mount Olympus Middle isn’t looking bright, especially when he makes the last-minute decision to run against Adonis to be class president. 
    With the help of his friends Mathena (Goddess of math and poultry), Germes (God of all things sniffling and snotty), Puneous (the smallest God of them all), and Gaseous (enough said?), Oddonis is determined to win the race, prove that his friends are as good as any Greek God, and maybe, just maybe, find out what his true powers really are. 
    Read the hilarious new adventures of Oddonis and his friends from debut children’s authors David Slavin and Daniel Weitzman, filled with dozens of black-and-white illustrations by award-winning artist Adam Lane. 
    Show book