Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Secrets - cover

Secrets

Mary Reason Theriot

Publisher: Mary Reason Theriot

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Sometimes, what happens behind closed doors should stay there… 
When the women of Campton, Louisiana found a new stay at home job—being a virtual Dominatrix—they are excited about the easy money.  But what seemed to have started out as a dream, quickly becomes a nightmare for many of them.  As they will find out, few things are easy in life and there is always a price to pay.  Some of these women will pay with their lives. 
As the city is plagued with unsolved murders, Detectives LeDoux and Riley are faced with the job of finding out what is true, and what is make believe. 
It seems the victims only have one thing in common, their jobs.  With everything in an uproar, some people will find love in the strangest of places, while others are  
forced to deal with the consequences of their actions.  
After victim after victim pop up, the Dominatrix’s must start to ask themselves, how far would they be willing to go to provide for their family? What sacrifices are they willing to make to keep their home?  And even more, how many secrets can one woman hold onto before she starts telling someone what happens behind her closed doors? 
 

Other books that might interest you

  • Open Your Eyes - cover

    Open Your Eyes

    Paula Daly

    • 0
    • 21
    • 0
    From acclaimed novelist and “master of psychological thrillers” (Library Journal) Paula Daly, Open Your Eyes follows a bestselling crime novelist’s tragic turn from fictional perpetrator into real-life victim.
     
    Jane Campbell avoids confrontation at any costs. Given the choice, she’ll always let her husband, Leon—a bestselling crime writer—take the lead, while she focuses on her two precious young children and her job as a creative writing teacher. After she receives another rejection for her novel, Leon urges Jane to put her hobby to rest. And why shouldn’t she, when through Jane’s rose-tinted glasses, they appear to have the perfect house and the perfect life?
     
    But then Leon is brutally attacked in their driveway while their children wait quietly in the car, and suddenly, their perfect life becomes the stuff of nightmares. Who would commit such a hateful offense in broad daylight? With her husband in a coma, Jane must open her eyes to the problems in her life, as well as the secrets that have been kept from her. Although she might not like what she sees, if she’s committed to discovering who hurt her husband—and why—Jane must take matters into her own hands.
     
    A surprising and gripping thriller of pride, ambition, and envy, Open Your Eyes is an unsettling whodunit about the illusions of a perfect marriage that confirms Paula Daly as a writer at the forefront of domestic suspense.
    Show book
  • A Simple Favor - A Novel - cover

    A Simple Favor - A Novel

    Darcey Bell

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Soon to be a major motion picture from Lionsgate starring Anna Kendrick, Blake Lively and Henry Golding, and directed by Paul Feig 
    "Riveting and brilliantly structured, A Simple Favor is an edge-of-your seat domestic thriller about a missing wife and mother that relies on a rotating cast of unreliable narrators to ingeniously examine the cost of competitive mom-friends, the toll of ordinary marital discontent and the fallacy of the picture-perfect, suburban family."—Kimberly McCreight, New York Times bestselling author 
    She’s your best friend. 
    She knows all your secrets. 
    That’s why she’s so dangerous. 
    A single mother's life is turned upside down when her best friend vanishes in this chilling debut thriller in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. 
    It starts with a simple favor—an ordinary kindness mothers do for one another. When her best friend, Emily, asks Stephanie to pick up her son Nicky after school, she happily says yes. Nicky and her son, Miles, are classmates and best friends, and the five-year-olds love being together—just like she and Emily. A widow and stay-at-home mommy blogger living in woodsy suburban Connecticut, Stephanie was lonely until she met Emily, a sophisticated PR executive whose job in Manhattan demands so much of her time.  
    But Emily doesn’t come back. She doesn’t answer calls or return texts. Stephanie knows something is terribly wrong—Emily would never leave Nicky, no matter what the police say. Terrified, she reaches out to her blog readers for help. She also reaches out to Emily’s husband, the handsome, reticent Sean, offering emotional support. It’s the least she can do for her best friend. Then, she and Sean receive shocking news. Emily is dead. The nightmare of her disappearance is over. 
    Or is it? Because soon, Stephanie will begin to see that nothing—not friendship, love, or even an ordinary favor—is as simple as it seems.  
    A Simple Favor is a remarkable tale of psychological suspense—a clever and twisting free-fall of a ride filled with betrayals and reversals, twists and turns, secrets and revelations, love and loyalty, murder and revenge. Darcey Bell masterfully ratchets up the tension in a taut, unsettling, and completely absorbing story that holds you in its grip until the final page.
    Show book
  • Suffering of Strangers The - A Scottish police procedural - cover

    Suffering of Strangers The - A...

    Caro Ramsay

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    When a six-week-old baby is stolen from outside a village shop, Detective Inspector Costello quickly surmises there?s more to this case than meets the eye. As she questions those involved, she uncovers evidence that this was no impulsive act as the police initially assumed, but something cold, logical, meticulously planned. Who has taken Baby Sholto ? and why?Colin Anderson meanwhile is on the Cold Case Unit, reviewing the unsolved rape of a young mother back in 1996. Convinced this wasn?t the first ? or last - time the attacker struck, Anderson looks for a pattern. But when he does find a connection, it reaches back into his own past . . .
    Show book
  • The Red Ledger: 5 - cover

    The Red Ledger: 5

    Meredith Wild

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The next installment in The Red Ledger series from #1 New York Times Bestselling author Meredith Wild is coming soon…
    Show book
  • No Spoken Word - A Manchester crime thriller featuring DSI Jeff Barton - cover

    No Spoken Word - A Manchester...

    David Menon

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Why would a woman who runs a corner shop in South Manchester be shot dead in cold blood in apparently contract killing? Who could she have offended so much that they wanted her out of the way permanently? And what's happened to her partner? They're supposed to be inseperable but she hasn't been seen at all on the day of the killing and has disappeared.
    
     
    DSI Jeff Barton and his team, including newcomer Louisa Pilkington who joins as a civilian member but who holds a pretty big secret of her own, begin to unravel a complicated trail in pursuit of a killer who brings a touch of espionage and the Cold war into the investigation. More murders put the pressure on Jeff to find a way through and see what's really going on and apprehend a determined killer.
    Show book
  • The Quiet American - cover

    The Quiet American

    Graham Greene

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A “masterful . . . brilliantly constructed novel” of love and chaos in 1950s Vietnam (Zadie Smith, The Guardian).   It’s 1955 and British journalist Thomas Fowler has been in Vietnam for two years covering the insurgency against French colonial rule. But it’s not just a political tangle that’s kept him tethered to the country. There’s also his lover, Phuong, a young Vietnamese woman who clings to Fowler for protection. Then comes Alden Pyle, an idealistic American working in service of the CIA. Devotedly, disastrously patriotic, he believes neither communism nor colonialism is what’s best for Southeast Asia, but rather a “Third Force”: American democracy by any means necessary. His ideas of conquest include Phuong, to whom he promises a sweet life in the states. But as Pyle’s blind moral conviction wreaks havoc upon innocent lives, it’s ultimately his romantic compulsions that will play a role in his own undoing.   Although criticized upon publication as anti-American, Graham Greene’s “complex but compelling story of intrigue and counter-intrigue” would, in a few short years, prove prescient in its own condemnation of American interventionism (The New York Times).    
    Show book