Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Venice Observed - cover

Venice Observed

Mary McCarthy

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Mary McCarthy takes readers on a captivating journey to one of the world’s most beloved citiesMary McCarthy brings her novelist’s unerring eye to a book that blends art, politics, religion, music, and history to create a living portrait of “the world’s loveliest city.”Like a painter capturing the city’s essence on canvas, McCarthy uses words to create stunning visuals that bring both the old and new Venice to enchanting life. From her apartment overlooking the garden of a palazzo, McCarthy takes us into the museums and monasteries of this city of canals and gondolas, Machiavelli and Tintoretto. And she reveals some little-known facts: Venetians love pets, but prefer cats to dogs; during World War II, the Allies captured the city with a fleet of gondolas; and without Napoleon, Venice wouldn’t be what it is today.  From the ancient roots of The Merchant of Venice’s pound of flesh to the quotidian details of daily life, it’s all here—the magnificent frescoes, the sublime music of Mozart, the virgins, and the saints. At once a comprehensive travelogue and a powerful piece of reportage, Venice Observed is a testimony of McCarthy’s love affair with the City of Canals.This ebook features superb color reproductions of the works of Giorgione, Veronese, Titian, Canaletto, Guardo, Bellini, and Tiepolo, and an illustrated biography of Mary McCarthy including rare images from the author’s estate.

Who read this book also read:

  • The Happiness Project (Revised Edition) - Or Why I Spent a Year Trying to Sing in the Morning Clean My Closets Fight Right Read Aristotle and Generally Have More Fun - cover

    The Happiness Project (Revised...

    Gretchen Rubin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “This book made me happy in the first five pages.” —AJ Jacobs, author of The Year of Living Biblically: One Man's Humble Quest to Follow the Bible as Literally as Possible  
    Award-winning author Gretchen Rubin is back with a bang, with The Happiness Project. The author of the bestselling 40 Ways to Look at Winston Churchill has produced a work that is “a cross between the Dalai Lama’s The Art of Happiness and Elizabeth Gilbert’s Eat, Pray, Love.” (Sonya Lyubomirsky, author of The How of Happiness: A Scientific Approach to Getting the Life You Want) In the vein of Julie and Julia, The Happiness Project describes one person’s year-long attempt to discover what leads to true contentment. Drawing at once on cutting-edge science, classical philosophy, and real-world applicability, Rubin has written an engaging, eminently relatable chronicle of transformation.
    Show book
  • The Pyramids - The Mystery Culture and Science of Egypt's Great Monuments - cover

    The Pyramids - The Mystery...

    Miroslav Verner

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Hailed by Science News as "the new seminal text," The Pyramids is the most up-to-date, comprehensive record of Egypt's ancient monuments to become available in the last six decades. Distinguished Egyptologist Miroslav Verner draws from the research of the earliest Egyptologists as well as the startling discoveries arising from the technological advances of the 1980s and 1990s. His Pyramids offers a clear, authoritative guide to the ancient culture that created the pyramids five thousand years ago without iron or bronze, and with only the most elementary systems of calculation. As he explains the magnitude of this accomplishment, he also traces the stories and ideas of the intrepid scientists who have uncovered them. "Editor's Choice ... this comprehensive volume details everything you ever wanted to know about pyramids." -- Rosemary Herbert, The Boston Herald "Engaging, lucid ... Richly illustrated ... displays both a deep respect for the research of Egyptologists and a comprehensive knowledge of it... -- Kirkus Reviews "Miroslav Verner ... provides an accessible introduction to the culture of the ancient Egyptians." -- Die Welt
    Show book
  • Understanding Your Child's and Teen's Behavior - Simple Steps and Resources to Guide You Through the Journey - cover

    Understanding Your Child's and...

    Angie Rumaldo

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    As a licensed clinical psychologist and psychiatric nurse practitioner, Dr. Angie Rumaldo has helped adolescents make huge advancements in their lives. Now, she's here to shed new light on your own child's challenges and how to overcome them. 
    Worried about your child's behavior and future? Discover how to decode their conduct to build a brighter tomorrow. 
    Is your child struggling with schoolwork, friendships, or home life? Are you concerned about their ability to succeed? 
    Through a series of action plans, Understanding Your Child's and Teen's Behavior helps kids correct common behavioral problems before they inflict lasting damage. With insights into typical issues at each phase of an adolescent's growth and development, you'll learn red-flag behaviors early on and develop a plan to fix them. 
    In Understanding Your Child's and Teen's Behavior, you'll discover: 
    - How to identify your parenting style and find out why your child breaks your rules 
    - When to consult teachers, physicians, and health providers 
    - How different environments, financial concerns, and medical needs impact behavior 
    - How to maximize the resources of your school district and your child's 504 plan and IEP 
    - How the straightforward action plan can jumpstart your family's optimum wellness, and much, much more! 
    This invaluable guidebook is a must-read for all parents. If you like frank advice from industry experts, comprehensive action plans, and easy-to-follow directions, then you'll love Dr. Angie Rumaldo's groundbreaking resource. 
    Buy Understanding Your Child's and Teen's Behavior today for a fresh new start to your family's future! 
     
    Show book
  • Three Sisters - cover

    Three Sisters

    Anton Chekhov

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    Premiered at the Steppenwolf Theatre in Chicago in summer 2012 to critical acclaim.Chris Jones of the Chicago Tribune describes the adaptation: “It's not so much that Letts is translating Chekhov rather than writing his own play… Letts' main achievement here is to make Chekhov more emotional, accessible and active”.A great title for academic audiences and readers of classics – it’s a modern master-playwright’s collaboration with a classic playwright’s textLetts’ previous work August: Osage County earned him the 2008 Pulitzer Prize for Drama and a Tony Award for Best Play, and was later adapted into an Oscar Award-nominated film starring Meryl Streep and Julia Roberts in 2013.As a performer, Letts was honored with the 2013 Tony Award for Best Performance by a Leading Actor in a Play for his work on Broadway in Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?Letts is also known for his role in Showtime’s Homeland as Senator Andrew Lockhart
    Show book
  • Written in the Ruins - Cape Breton Island’s Second Pre-Columbian Chinese Settlement - cover

    Written in the Ruins - Cape...

    Paul Chiasson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    2017 Robbie Robertson Dartmouth Book Award — Shortlisted 
     
    Paul Chiasson reveals the possibility that early Chinese settlers landed in Cape Breton long before Europeans. 
    
     
    
    From the very beginning of the European Age of Discovery, Cape Breton was considered unusual. The history of the area even includes early references to the island having once been the land of the Chinese. In 1497, at least a century before any attempt at European settlement in the region, the explorer John Cabot had referred to Cape Breton as the “Island of Seven Cities.”  
    
     
    
    The indigenous people of the region, the Mi’kmaq, were the only aboriginal people of North America who had a written language when Europeans first arrived. This writing, clothing, and customs also suggested an early Chinese presence.  
    
     
    
    In Written in the Ruins, Chiasson investigates the ruins at St. Peters in the southern part of the island, where evidence brought to light supports a theory that could answer all the questions raised by the island’s curious, unresolved history.
    Show book
  • The Kingdom of New York - Knights Knaves Billionaires and Beauties in the City of Big Shots - cover

    The Kingdom of New York -...

    The New York Observer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Kingdom of New York is rollicking insider;s history of contemporary New York, as seen through the lens of the city’s most irreverent newspaper, the New York Observer. Handsomely designed with great drawings, cartoons, and other illustrations throughout and filled with the paper’s unique attention to politics, status, and wealth, this unique insider’s view features essays by Cynthia Ozick, Gay Talese, Woody Allen, and Martin Scorsese, and covers such iconic New York personalities as Bill and Hillary Clinton, Rudy Giuliani, Michael Bloomberg, Graydon Carter, Katie Couric, Tom Wolfe, Norman Mailer, Tina Fey, J. Lo, Seinfeld, Tina Brown, and Anderson Cooper.
    Show book