Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Traveling While Married - cover

Traveling While Married

Mary-Lou Weisman

Publisher: Algonquin Books

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Ah travel! New scenery, exciting adventures, time alone with a loved one. Truth is, travel can make or break a relationship. Just negotiating when to leave for the airport can be tricky: she insists on arriving hours ahead of flight time, he likes the excitement of a photo finish. But as Mary-Lou Weisman sees it, "The inevitable rage with which we begin each trip only helps us to better appreciate the good times that lie ahead."  Or maybe not. When people have jet lag, can't speak the language, figure out the money, or maintain intestinal regularity, they get cranky. And since they don't know anybody else in Kyoto to take it out on, they take it out on each other. Alas, couples therapy is rarely available on vacation, which is why we need this hilarious and truthful take on travel and togetherness.  Using her own misadventures--from honeymoon through Elderhostel--Weisman exposes all the gender landmines:  Destinations: He wants to outrun molten lava down a volcano, she prefers raking gravel in a Buddhist monastery.  Motivations: She longs for a change of scenery, he hopes for a change of self.  Preparations: She keeps a file of required sights, he won't be bullied by travel guides.  Accommodations: She divides every hotel room in half so he'll know on which side of the bed to throw his wet towel.  Inclinations: She shops a country, he eats it.  This is the real skinny on what happens when Mars and Venus hit the road. With a sly wink, a comic nod, and just the right amount of optimism, Weisman shows us that despite the shortcomings of one's beloved, harmonious travel is possible.

Other books that might interest you

  • Edward VIII 166 Success Facts - Everything you need to know about Edward VIII - cover

    Edward VIII 166 Success Facts -...

    Aaron Fields

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    First in its Edward VIII field. This book is your ultimate resource for Edward VIII. Here you will find the most up-to-date 166 Success Facts, Information, and much more.In easy to read chapters, with extensive references and links to get you to know all there is to know about Edward VIII's Early life, Career and Personal life right away. A quick look inside: British Merchant Navy - History, Château de Candé, Adolphus Cambridge, 1st Marquess of Cambridge - Marquess of Cambridge, Edward & Mrs. Simpson - In nobility, House of Windsor - Members, Culture of the United Kingdom - National costume and dress, Balmoral Castle - Ownership, Mary of Teck - Queen mother, Constitution (Amendment No. 27) Act 1936 - Timing, Great Seal of the Realm - History, Halfpenny (British coin) - Design, Lying in State - United Kingdom, George Nathaniel Curzon, 1st Marquess Curzon of Kedleston - First marriage (1895–1906), Commonwealth War Graves Commission - Formal establishment, Alberto Da Zara - Family, Cultural depictions of Edward VIII of the United Kingdom - Screen, Prince of Wales - Heraldic insignia, King Edward VIII of the United Kingdom - Early life, Claude Bowes-Lyon, 14th Earl of Strathmore and Kinghorne - Life and family, Coronation of the British monarch - History, Baron of Renfrew (title), Chariots of Fire - Cast, Alexander Hardinge, 2nd Baron Hardinge of Penshurst, Acapulco - History, Sandringham Time, Royal Shrovetide Football - The Ashbourne game, Reich Chancellery - Social legacy, Prince George, Duke of Kent, Green Mount Cemetery, Alan Lascelles - Life, Prince Edward, Duke of Kent - Early life, Joseph Lyons - Aftermath and legacy, Osborne Naval College - Naval College, and much more...
    Show book
  • Mark Twain's Medieval Romance - And Other Classic Mystery Stories - cover

    Mark Twain's Medieval Romance -...

    Otto Penzler

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A premier anthology of some of the finest mystery stories in literary history, including tales from Ray Bradbury, Roald Dahl, Aldous Huxley, O. Henry, and Mark Twain.Tantalizing, as ingenious as they are devious, the classic stories in this continually arresting collection come with an irresistible challenge: At their end they leave it to you, the reader, to determine how they end.For ultimately it’s the reader who authors the fate of the brave youth as he contemplates which of the two doors in the king’s arena he will choose in Frank Stockton’s famous and unforgettable “The Lady, or the Tiger?” And which of the two brothers in three-time Edgar-winner Stanley Ellin’s “Unreasonable Doubt” shoots a bullet square in the middle of their rich uncle’s forehead? And just what not-so-sweet secret is the prim Miss Spence hiding behind her smile in Aldous Huxley’s deliciously enigmatic tale? You decide.In all, as in “The Moment of Decision”—a chilling tale that seals an escape artist inside an airless stone cell with a heavy wooden door, which may or may not open—the moment of decision is yours.
    Show book
  • Her Majesty - Queen Elizabeth II and Her Court - cover

    Her Majesty - Queen Elizabeth II...

    Robert Hardman

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Perfect for fans of The Crown, this “intimate portrait” of England’s longest-reigning queen takes you behind the scenes of a thoroughly modern monarchy (BBC Entertainment). History knows no monarch like her. She has traveled farther than all her predecessors combined, lived the longest of any of them, and known more historic figures—from Winston Churchill to Nelson Mandela, Charles de Gaulle to Barack Obama—than anyone alive. Now, distinguished royal writer Robert Hardman has been granted special access to the world of Queen Elizabeth II in order to produce an unparalleled portrait of one of the most popular public figures on earth. Arguably Britain’s best-known observer of the royal family, Hardman follows Elizabeth’s journey through her country’s transformation from an imperial power to a multicultural nation; details a twenty-five-year period in which she steered the monarchy through more reforms than in the previous century; and interviews those closest to her, including her grandson Prince William, Duke of Cambridge. Written in celebration of Elizabeth’s Diamond Jubilee, Her Majesty celebrates the head of an ancient institution that remains simultaneously popular, regal, inclusive, and relevant in a twenty-first-century world. “At long last, we have the definitive portrait of Queen Elizabeth’s world today,” raves Andrew Roberts, author of The Royal House of Windsor. “Robert Hardman knows the true story and tells it superbly.”
    Show book
  • The Trembling of the Veil - cover

    The Trembling of the Veil

    W.B. Yeats

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    I have found in an old diary a quotation from Stephane Mallarmé, saying that his epoch was troubled by the trembling of the veil of the Temple. As those words were still true, during the years of my life described in this book, I have chosen The Trembling of the Veil for its title.
    Except in one or two trivial details, where I have the warrant of old friendship, I have not, without permission, quoted conversation or described occurrence from the private life of named or recognisable persons. I have not felt my freedom abated, for most of the friends of my youth are dead and over the dead I have an historian’s rights. They were artists and writers and certain among them men of genius, and the life of a man of genius, because of his greater sincerity, is often an experiment that needs analysis and record. At least my generation so valued personality that it thought so. I have said all the good I know and all the evil: I have kept nothing back necessary to understanding.
    Show book
  • Journey Without Maps - cover

    Journey Without Maps

    Graham Greene

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The British author embarks on an awe-inspiring trek through 1930s West Africa in “one of the best travel books [of the twentieth] century” (The Independent).   When Graham Greene left Liverpool in 1935 for what was then an Africa unmarked by colonization, it was to leave the known transgressions of his own civilization behind for those unknown. First by cargo ship, then by train and truck through Sierra Leone, and finally on foot, Greene embarked on a dangerous and unpredictable 350-mile, four-week trek through Liberia with his cousin, and a handful of servants and bearers, into a world where few had ever seen a white man. For Greene, this odyssey became as much a trip into the primitive interiors of the writer himself as it was a physical journey into a land foreign to his experience.   “No one who reads this book will question the value of Greene’s experiment, or emerge unshaken by the penetration, the richness, the integrity of this moving record.” —The Guardian  
    Show book
  • Mrs Guinness - The Rise and Fall of Diana Mitford the Thirties Socialite - cover

    Mrs Guinness - The Rise and Fall...

    Lyndsy Spence

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Before Diana Mosley (neé Mitford) became a social pariah, she was a principal member of the Bright Young Things set in London's 1920s and '30s high society. As the young wife of Bryan Guinness, heir to the Guinness family brewing empire, she lived a gilded life until fascist leader Oswald Mosley turned her head. This ground-breaking biography adopts a new approach in exploring the life of Diana Mitford - removing her from her famous family and fascism to look at the woman behind the myths. Combining the traditional rituals of the upper classes - the debutante season, social movements of the 1920s and social upheaval of the 1930s - allows Diana to be presented as a young woman desperately trying to find her place in a rapidly changing world. Benefitting from never-before published letters, diaries and archives has allowed her story to take shape. It is a character study of a beautiful woman whose charm and personality enthralled all who met her, but whose life would ultimately act as a cautionary tale.
    Show book