Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Runaway Bride (With This Ring? Collection) - A Kincaid Brides and Trouble in Texas Novella - cover

Runaway Bride (With This Ring? Collection) - A Kincaid Brides and Trouble in Texas Novella

Mary Connealy

Publisher: Bethany House Publishers

  • 1
  • 8
  • 0

Summary

1870s TexasBig John Conroy is a Texas Ranger asked by a friend to assist Carrie. He catches up to Carrie and her brother Isaac and races away from a dangerous man who will stop at nothing to make the beautiful young woman his wife. Soon Big John's feelings for Carrie turn to more than simply protective, and Carrie finally feels that she's in the presence of a man she can respect--something she's never known. Fans of Mary's The Kincaid Brides and Trouble in Texas series will enjoy catching up with those characters.
Available since: 05/03/2016.

Other books that might interest you

  • Dare to Love - cover

    Dare to Love

    Jennifer Wilde

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In New York Times–bestselling author Jennifer Wilde’s sensually riveting historical romance, a young lady betrayed by her first love scandalizes society by becoming one of the world’s most celebrated dancers and desirable women  When dashing soldier and diplomat Brence Stephens rescues Mary Ellen Lawrence from a band of ruffians on the Cornish moors, a rare passion is ignited in their hearts. Yet when she needs him most, Brence abandons her. With the wild blood of her gypsy father running through her veins, Mary Ellen vows to someday pay him back as she travels to London, where she is determined to become the greatest ballerina in Europe.   It’s a promise she won’t keep. She possesses something rarer than talent: star quality. Reborn as the fiery Elena Lopez, Mary Ellen dazzles the most powerful and celebrated men with her sultry performances. From princes to heads of state, her conquests include amorous composer Franz Liszt and Parisian literary lion Alexandre Dumas. But even as destiny carries her from the capitals of Europe to California’s golden hills, Mary Ellen knows that only one man, the elusive, darkly compelling Brence, can satisfy the wild longings in her heart.
    Show book
  • Full Circle - cover

    Full Circle

    Rosanne Bittner

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    With her hallmark “power, passion, tragedy, and triumph,” the award-winning author tells the story of love between a young missionary and a Sioux brave (RT Book Reviews).   The year is 1892. The last thing sheltered Christian missionary Evelyn Gibbons expected upon arriving at the Standing Rock Reservation in South Dakota was to fall in love. Yet, from the moment she clashes with Black Hawk, the fiercely proud man of the Sioux, she knows he’s everything she could ever want—and everything she can never have.   Living in the hills with his young son, Black Hawk reveres the ways of his people and is determined to preserve Sioux traditions. But when he meets Evelyn, a woman from the society he abhors, not even his own prejudices can smother the flame of desire that burns for her.   Yet in the midst of their forbidden romance is a storm of treachery and hate that threatens to destroy their love—and their lives . . .
    Show book
  • Come Away From Her - cover

    Come Away From Her

    Samuel W. Gailey

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    COME AWAY FROM HER is a boldly written mystery-suspense novel set in the rural town of Black Walnut. The story revolves around the arrival of Tess, a deaf woman running from her past, who unwittingly sets into motion a chain of disturbing events as she is forced to share her secrets with the strangers around her. Her presence upsets the status quo for the townspeople, none more so than for Cap, the pastor of the local church whose life has been marred by substance abuse and tragedy. The morning that Cap discovers a dead body outside the church, life as the town knows it is forever changed.
     
    In the vein of Big Little Lies, the identity of the victim is concealed until the climatic end of the story, but everyone in town, including Cap, has a motive. There is Maggie, an unmoored woman who numbs reality with pharmaceuticals and strange crimes; Wade, whose philandering ways are town gossip; Butch, a teenager struggling over his parent’s divorce and his own identity; and Robin, who is desperate for a way out of her marriage to Chuck, a violent man driven by ignorance and self-loathing.
     
    Written in Gailey’s critically-acclaimed style described by the NY Times as “Beautiful and brutal,” portrays its characters with compelling nuances, peeling back layer after layer until we discover the truth about the murder and its aftermath in a series of brilliant twists.
    Show book
  • Love at the Ritz - cover

    Love at the Ritz

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    After her father, the Earl of Cuttesdale, suffers a riding injury, his lovely young daughter, Lady Vilma, accompanies him to Paris, where they are to stay at a friend’s Rue St. Honoré house while he receives treatment from a Parisian expert on backs. Because he is a proud man the Earl wants no one to know that he is temporarily disabled so they travel under one of their lesser-known names, calling themselves ‘Colonel and Miss Crawshaw’.To Vilma’s astonishment the celebrated hotelier Cézar Ritz arrives at their door with a strange request which is to borrow one of the house’s chandeliers for the hotel. After agreeing to help him, Vilma soon finds herself at the Ritz Hotel, where she has an unpleasant encounter with an over-amorous French Comte – and is rescued just in time by a dashing Englishman, the Marquis of Lynworth. Assuming that Vilma is a lowly electrician’s assistant, the Marquis is nevertheless taken with her and soon he is escorting her around Paris, introducing her to all the sights, the restaurants and sophisticated Society. And, although the handsome Marquis has all London’s Society ladies, not to mention the cocottes of Paris at his feet and, despite the fact that his mother has promised his hand in marriage to Princess Helgie of Whitenberg, he finds himself bewitched with Vilma and her enchanting beauty.. For her part, she too is deeply in love – but how can she tell him now that everything he knows about her is a lie?
    Show book
  • Look With the Heart - cover

    Look With the Heart

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    After their family mansion burns to the ground, the lovely Erlina Sherwood and her little brother, the sixth Baronet of Sherwood, go to the neighbouring estate to ask if they can stay at Meldon Hall as they now have nowhere to else go. It is just about the only habitable residence in the village left after the Marquis of Meldon on inheriting the family seat disavowed his house and estate and everyone in or near it.Because of his neglect, Meldon Hall has fallen into disrepair and since local workers and even the Vicar have not been paid most of the local houses in the village are falling down and most of the villagers have left the area in despair.Expecting only to find The Hall’s caretaker in residence, Erlina is taken aback to find a strange man sitting alone in the darkness of the shuttered drawing room and after her initial shock she realises that it is the Marquis himself and he has been blinded in a racing accident. Soon she is discover the secret reason why the embittered and blind ‘Wicked Marquis’ has so cruelly neglected his people and property. Meeting his greedy unscrupulous cousin and his beautiful lover, she also realises that there are people in the world who are far more wicked than the Marquis and she suddenly finds that she is falling in love with him.
    Show book
  • Love Under Fire - cover

    Love Under Fire

    Barbara Cartland

    • 1
    • 8
    • 0
    Waif-like beauty Elvina is tiny and immature after years of malnourishment and indeed she looks far younger than her seventeen years.
     
    Weak, however, she is not. Hardened by years of beatings and abuse at the hands of her half-crazed Portuguese stepmother and sickened by her father’s constant drunken behaviour, Elvina is determined to escape Lisbon and flee to her native England.
     
    Despite the dangers of the Napoleonic War, which is raging in Spain and Portugal, she dyes her skin to make herself look Portuguese and stows away aboard the yacht of the handsome and heroic Lord Wye, bound for London with urgent dispatches from the Duke of Wellington to the Prime Minister.
     
    When she is discovered on board, the kindly Lord Wye believes her story that she is a thirteen-year-old fleeing the War to join her English sister and takes pity on her.
     
    He agrees that he will take her to England in his yacht, but first he must call in to Spain for more intelligence to show the Prime Minister and the weather suddenly becomes increasing tempestuous.
     
    And amid a terrible storm at sea and captured by the French only to fight their way free, a deep friendship under fire is kindled between Elvina and Lord Wye  and soon becomes an all-consuming love when they arrive back in England.
     
    And then other dangers to their love for each other begin to emerge.
     
     
    Show book