Don't put off till tomorrow the book you can read today!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
War crimes - cover

War crimes

Martin Robert Grossman

Publisher: Koehler Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

After fleeing the vindictive communist government of Vietnam in the mass exodus of 1975, the Phan family moves to America. They become naturalized citizens and relocate to Seabrook, Texas, where they once again take up fishing for a living. But the local fishermen do not take kindly to the new outside competition. Fueled by anti-immigrant racism, a series of grisly murders take place, with the ace of spades death card marking each victim. Will the clues lead back to vengeful Vietnam-era soldiers who hate the “dinks” above all else, or is something else causing havoc?

Other books that might interest you

  • Keep The Midnight Out - A DCI Lorimer Novel - cover

    Keep The Midnight Out - A DCI...

    Alex Gray

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Two murders, twenty years apart. Time for revenge . . . 
    When the body of a red-haired young man is washed up on the shore of the beautiful Isle of Mull, Detective Superintendent Lorimer’s tranquil holiday away from the gritty streets of Glasgow is rudely interrupted. The body has been bound with twine in a ghoulishly unnatural position that strongly reminds Lorimer of another murder: a twenty-year-old Glasgow case that he failed to solve as a fledgling detective constable and which has haunted him ever since. 
    As a local cop takes charge of the island murder investigation, Lorimer tries to avoid stepping on her toes. But as the similarities between the young man’s death and the cold case grow more obvious, Lorimer realizes that there could be a serial killer on the loose after all these years. As the action switches dramatically between the Mull murder and the Glasgow cold case twenty years earlier, Lorimer tries desperately to catch a cold-hearted killer. Has someone gotten away with murder for decades? 
     
    Show book
  • Tangled Roots - cover

    Tangled Roots

    Marcia Talley

    • 1
    • 6
    • 0
    Hannah Ives’s sister, Georgina, has some astonishing news. A DNA test has revealed she is part Native American, and Hannah’s test has similar results. The link seems to come from their late mother. But how?
    As Hannah dives into constructing her family tree, she uncovers a heart-breaking love story and a mysterious death, while DNA matching turns up two second cousins, Mai and Nicholas. Hannah and her niece, Julie, are eager to embrace their new relatives and learn about their surprising ancestry, but Georgina’s husband, Scott, isn’t so keen. Are there more shocking revelations to come? And can Hannah untangle her family roots to uncover the truth behind a devastating tragedy?
    Show book
  • Red Dog - A Novel - cover

    Red Dog - A Novel

    Jason Miller

    • 1
    • 1
    • 1
    Pitbull fighters, shadowy ne’er-do-wells, and murder mark Jason Miller’s wry, darkly atmospheric second novel in his Little Egypt series—perfect for fans of Frank Bill and Greg Iles. 
    One hot summer day, in his home in the southern Illinois coal country known as Little Egypt—a Midwest Gothic wonderland of barren vistas, sinister hollows, petty corruption, and deeply strange characters—the self-appointed “redneck detective” known as Slim gets a visit from a shady-looking pair who introduce themselves as Sheldon Cleaves and his son, A. Evan, looking to hire him to find a missing dog. As a miner with a reputation for “bloodhounding”—tracking down missing persons the police can’t find or won’t—Slim is accustomed to looking for people, not pets. On the other hand, he needs the cash to fix his air conditioner. But when he pulls the thread that leads to the Cleaveses’ red-haired purebred pitbull—and then the dognapper is discovered with his head blown off—Slim finds himself plunged into a world of underground dogfights and white supremacists. . .  all because he just wanted to get cool.As bitingly funny as it is starkly violent, Red Dog marks the emergence of a new, gritty voice in detective fiction. 
    Show book
  • Devil's Fjord - cover

    Devil's Fjord

    David Hewson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    New District Sheriff Tristan Haraldsen uncovers a series of dark secrets when he investigates the disappearance of two boys in the remote Faroe Islands.
    
    Newly-appointed District Sheriff Tristan Haraldsen and his wife Elsebeth are looking forward to a peaceful semi-retirement in the remote fishing village of Djevulsfjord on the stunningly beautiful island of Vagar. But when two boys go missing during the first whale hunt of the season, the repercussions strike at the heart of the isolated coastal community.  
    
    As he pursues his investigations, Tristan discovers that the Mikkelsen brothers aren’t the first young men to have vanished on Vagar.  Determined to solve the mystery of Djevulsfjord, yet encountering suspicion wherever he turns, Haraldsen comes to realize he and his wife are not living in the rural paradise they had imagined, and that the wild beauty of the region hides a far darker reality.
    Show book
  • None So Deadly - A Cullen and Cobb Mystery - cover

    None So Deadly - A Cullen and...

    David A. Poulsen

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    A police investigator’s murder has put Cullen and Cobb back on a twenty-five-year-old cold case. 
     
    
    
    It’s a case that has haunted Cullen and Cobb for years  — the murder of eleven-year-old Faith Unruh. And now the brutal killing of a police investigator who was similarly obsessed with the little girl’s murder has put PI Mike Cobb and former crime-writing journalist Adam Cullen back on the killer’s trail — and directly in the line of fire. 
     
    
    As the case is unfolding, Cullen is desperately trying to get out from under the thumb of a local biker gang without ruining his relationship, getting arrested … or worse.
    Show book
  • Failure to Appear - A JP Beaumont Novel - cover

    Failure to Appear - A JP...

    J. A. Jance

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A shattering tale of tragedy and horror from top ten New York Times bestselling author J.A. Jance. 
     A desperate father′s search for his runaway daughter has led him to the last place he ever expected to find her: backstage at the Oregon Shakespeare Festival. But the murders in this dazzling world of make-believe are no longer mere stagecraft, and the blood is all too real. The hunt for his child has plunged former Seattle Homicide Detective J.P. Beaumont into a bone-chilling drama of revenge, greed, and butchery, where innocents are made to suffer in perverse and terrible ways. And many more young lives are at stake, unless he can uncover the villain of the piece before the final, deadly curtain falls.
    Show book