Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Evil Families - A History of Bad Blood - cover

Evil Families - A History of Bad Blood

Martin Knight

Publisher: Arcturus Publishing

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Is it true that the apple never falls far from the tree? Throughout history, you see examples where criminality seems to run in the family. From the Ptolemaic dynasty that terrorized Greek Egypt to the modern mafia, familial ties often dictate your relationship to violence, cruelty and the law.Evil Families examines just this, using case studies from across history. These include the Qing Dynasty of Ancient China, the cannibalistic Beane family in 15th century Scotland, the Stafflebacks of Kansas and the Messina brothers of London's West End. This book is about murder, madness, lust and ruthless ambition, as well as those devastating cases where family members gang up and cause harm other relatives.Everyone strives to protect their own family, but what cruelties are concealed by these bonds of blood?

Other books that might interest you

  • The Killer Strain - Anthrax and a Government Exposed - cover

    The Killer Strain - Anthrax and...

    Marilyn W. Thompson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A lethal germ is unleashed in the U.S. mail. A chain of letters spreads terror from Florida to Washington, D.C., from New York to Connecticut, from the halls of Congress to the assembly lines of the U.S. Postal Service. Five people die, and ten thousand more line up for antibiotics to protect against exposure. The government, already outsmarted by the terrorist hijackers of 9/11, leaves its workers vulnerable and a diabolical killer on the loose. 
    Based on hundreds of hours of interviews and a review of thousands of pages of government documents, The Killer Strain is the definitive account of the year in which bioterrorism became a reality in the United States. Revealing the little-known victims and unsung heroes in the anthrax debacle, investigative reporter Marilyn Thompson also examines the FBI's slow-paced investigation of the crimes and the unprecedented scientific challenges posed by the case. 
    The Killer Strain, more than just a thrilling read, is also a clarion wake-up call. It shows how billions of dollars and a decade of elaborate bioterror dress rehearsals meant nothing in the face of a real attack -- and how we may still be at risk.
    Show book
  • The Murder of the Countess Görlitz - cover

    The Murder of the Countess Görlitz

    Sabine Baring-Gould

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The bizarre death of the Countess Görlitz at Darmstadt in Germany, in 1847, was one of the greatest mysteries of the age. For several years it was widely believed that the Countess had spontaneously combusted at her writing desk. Another popular theory was that her husband, Count Görlitz, a Privy Councillor and Chamberlain to the Grand-Duke of Hesse had murdered her - a charge which he vigorously denied.It was not until three years later that light was finally shed on the case...and then the events of that fateful night turned out to be even stranger than anyone could have imagined.
    Show book
  • Greed - The 'Mr Asia' Connection - cover

    Greed - The 'Mr Asia' Connection

    Richard Hall

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Drugs, wealth, partying - murder. These were the bad habits that brought down the 1970s international heroin empire, the Organisation. Martin Johnstone was murdered under orders of Terry Clark and this is the subsequent account.
    Show book
  • Crimes & Criminals of 17th Century Britain - cover

    Crimes & Criminals of 17th...

    Daniel J. Codd

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Think the world is bad today? Then take a true-crime trip back in time to 1600s England, where violence, robbery, and cold-blooded murder ran amuck.   These days, criminals and evildoers are stopped, caught, and punished every day. But how did people deal with crimes before the police, computer records, and a consistent judicial system even existed?   Here are the stories of some of the most heinous, shocking, and unbelievable transgressions of the law in seventeenth century England, raising questions such as . . .   Which murderer committed an atrocity at an East End brothel in 1691?What superstitions lay behind the unfathomable slaughter of three innocent children at a remote farmhouse in County Durham in 1683?When was a parish constable murdered in cold blood by a party of men that allegedly included the illegitimate son of King Charles II?Where did deadly confrontations occur between supporters and opponents of King James II during the so-called Bloodless Revolution of 1688?   These cases, and many more, are explored in depth, harkening back to a time of witch hunts, dueling, and political assassinations, when the punishment for killing one’s fellow man was either more barbaric than the crime itself, or corruptly lenient.   Illustrated throughout and shedding a unique light on the era, Crimes & Criminals of 17th Century Britain is the first work of its kind to explore the monstrous murders that occurred at a time when the nation was repeatedly plunged into chaos.
    Show book
  • Shattered Justice - A Savage Murder and the Death of Three Families' Innocence - cover

    Shattered Justice - A Savage...

    John Philpin

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A family's horror— one child murdered . . .another destroyed. 
    The Crowes’ neighbors in the peaceful middle classcommunity in San Diego’s North County were shockedby the savagery of the crime—a young girl murdered,stabbed repeatedly, in her own bed in the dead of night.The lack of any evidence of forced entry led the Escondidopolice to their inevitable conclusion: someone in the familywas responsible for 12-year-old Stephanie Crowe’s slaying.The investigation quickly zeroed in on the victim’s olderbrother, Michael, and two teenage friends—three lonerswho enjoyed inhabiting dark fantasy worlds of quests andviolence. Through efficient, by-the-book police work, theboys were broken down and ultimately confessed. The onlyproblem was the detectives had gotten everything wrong . . . 
    Shattered Justice is the riveting and disturbing trueaccount of a horrific tragedy and the terrible crimethat followed—a nightmare of four innocent livesshattered, one by a killer’s blade, three byobsession and twisted law.
    Show book
  • Jesus Freaks - A True Story of Murder and Madness on the Evangelical Edge - cover

    Jesus Freaks - A True Story of...

    Don Lattin

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In the tradition of Jon Krakauer's Under the Banner of Heaven, Don Lattin's Jesus Freaks is the story of a shocking pilgrimage of revenge that left two people dead and shed new light on The Family International, one of the most controversial religious movements to emerge from the spiritual turmoil of the sixties and seventies. 
    Some say The Family International—previously known as the Children of God—began with the best intentions. But their sexual and spiritual excesses soon forced them to go underground and follow a dark and dangerous path. Their charismatic leader, David "Moses" Berg, preached a radical critique of the piety and hypocrisy of mainstream Christianity. But Berg's message quickly devolved into its own web of lies. He lusted for power and unlimited access to female members of his flock—including young girls and teenagers—and became a drunken tyrant, setting up re-indoctrination camps around the world for rebellious teenagers under his control.  
    Thousands of children raised in The Family would defect and try to live normal lives, but the prophet's heir apparent, Ricky "Davidito" Rodriguez, was unable to either bear the excesses of the cult or fit into normal society. Sexually and emotionally abused as a child, Ricky left the fold and began a crusade to destroy the only family he ever knew, including a plot to kill his own mother. 
    Veteran journalist Don Lattin has written a powerful, engrossing book about this uniquely American tragedy. Jesus Freaks is a cautionary tale for those who fail to question the prophesies and proclamations of anyone who claims to speak for God.
    Show book