Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Take the Slow Road: England and Wales - Inspirational Journeys Round England and Wales by Camper Van and Motorhome - cover

Take the Slow Road: England and Wales - Inspirational Journeys Round England and Wales by Camper Van and Motorhome

Martin Dorey

Publisher: Conway

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Forget hurrying. Forget putting your foot down and racing through sweeping bends. Forget the understeer (whatever that is). Forget the blur of a life lived too fast. This is a look at taking life slowly. It's about taking the time to enjoy journeys and places for their own sake. It's about stopping and putting the kettle on. Stopping to take a picture. Stopping to enjoy stopping. 
  
 How are you going to do it? In a camper van or a motorhome, of course.  
  
 In this book we define the best driving routes around England and Wales for camper vans and motorhomes. We show you the coolest places to stay, what to see, what to do and explain why it's special. We meander around England and Wales on the most breathtaking roads, chugging up mountain passes and pootling along the coast. We show you stuff that's fun, often free. We include the best drives for different kinds of drivers; for surfers, wildlife watchers, climbers and walkers. We include the steepest, the bendiest, those with the most interesting bridges or views or obstacles, ferries and tidal causeways. And you don't even have to own a camper van or motorhome – we'll tell you the many places you can rent one to take you on the journey. 
  
 All of this is interspersed with beautiful photos, handy maps and quirky travel writing from the king of camper vans and motorhomes, Martin Dorey. So if all you want to do is flick through it on a cold day and plan your next outing, you'll be transported (albeit slowly) to pastures, beaches, mountains and highways that make you want to turn the key and go, go, go!

Other books that might interest you

  • The Watchers - A gripping debut horror novel for 2021 - cover

    The Watchers - A gripping debut...

    A.M. Shine

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    A spine-chilling Irish horror adventure set in the remote unknown forests of Galway, from debut Irish author A.M. Shine. 
     
    'A dark, claustrophobic read' – T. Kingfisher, author of Paladin's Grance
     
    You can't see them. But they can see you.
     
    This forest isn't charted on any map. Every car breaks down at its treeline. Mina's is no different. Left stranded, she is forced into the dark woodland only to find a woman shouting, urging Mina to run to a concrete bunker. As the door slams behind her, the building is besieged by screams.
     
    Mina finds herself in a room with a wall of glass, and an electric light that activates at nightfall, when the Watchers come above ground. These creatures emerge to observe their captive humans and terrible things happen to anyone who doesn't reach the bunker in time.
     
    Afraid and trapped among strangers, Mina is desperate for answers. Who are the Watchers and why are these creatures keeping them imprisoned, keen to watch their every move?
     
    Perfect for fans of Francine Toon, Paul Tremblay and Andrew Michael Hurley.
    Show book
  • No Room at the Little Cornish Inn - a sweet and uplifting Christmas romance - cover

    No Room at the Little Cornish...

    Nancy Barone

    • 2
    • 8
    • 0
    There's magic in the Cornish air this Christmas... 
     
    When Rosie Anderson's boss suddenly assigns her to go incognito and save a tiny inn in Cornwall from being shut down, her dreams of a Christmas holiday with her son are shattered. And, for the life of her, Rosie has no idea why she's got to go.
     
    It's chaos from the start – after hours in the car, Rosie arrives at the inn to find that there are no rooms left. She isn't there for more than a minute before she's butting heads with the manager, Irishman Mitchell Fitzpatrick. He seems to dislike her on sight, so it's confusing that he seems to get on so well with Danny... But if he's as terrible as his reputation, Rosie will have to be the one to fire him.
     
    This really isn't the Christmas Rosie was dreaming of. But maybe, just maybe, it could be a whole lot more...
     
    A sweet and uplifting Christmas romance, No Room at the Little Cornish Inn is perfect for fans of Philippa Ashley, Holly Martin and Jenny Hale.
     
    Praise for Nancy Barone: 
     
    'I thoroughly enjoyed this utterly lovely story. Touching, heartwarming and a joy to read' Holly Martin on New Hope for the Little Cornish Farmhouse
     
    'Nothing like the magic of Cornwall!' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  NetGalley reviewer 
     
    'A sweet and delightful Christmas tale' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  NetGalley reviewer
     
    'All the makings of a classic Hallmark Christmas movie!' ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐  NetGalley reviewer
    Show book