Discover a world full of books!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Old Success - cover

The Old Success

Martha Grimes

Publisher: Atlantic Monthly Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The Old Success is the 25th book in Martha Grimes’s New York Times bestselling Richard Jury mystery series. This is the second Richard Jury book we are lucky to have the chance to publish, following the success of Grimes's 2018 installment, The Knowledge
   Grimes has sold over 10 million copies of her books in the United States alone and has been published in 17 countries. Her novels regularly hit the New York Times bestseller list. Grimes was the recipient of the Grand Master Award of the Mystery Writers of America in 2012. She has also won the Nero Wolfe Award for best American mystery (for The Anodyne Necklace). Though an American, the life-long Anglophile Grimes sets her most successful series in England centered around Scotland Yard detective superintendent Richard Jury. The Jury mysteries are wry updates on the British cozy mystery style—real violence and sexual tension raise the stakes on the genre’s intellectual games, eccentrically refined characters, and charming British settings, all of which Grimes pulls off with charming expertise. For fans of Donna Leon, Elizabeth George, Louise Penny, and PD James. Grimes, a single mother who taught English at Montgomery College for years while she tried to write, didn’t submit the first Richard Jury mystery, The Man with a Load of Mischief, until she was in her 40s. A dozen houses rejected the novel before Little, Brown published it in 1981. Each of the Richard Jury mysteries is named after a pub that features in the novel, and “the Knowledge” refers both to the test that London cab drivers have to pass to become cabbies, considered one of the hardest tests in the world, and the off-the-grid pub Grimes invents that only cabbies can find. Outside of her Richard Jury series, Grimes has also published a send-up of the publishing world, called Foul Matter, and a sequel, The Way of All Fish, as well as a 2015 memoir co-written with her son: Double Double: A Dual Memoir of Alcoholism.

Other books that might interest you

  • Uniform Justice - cover

    Uniform Justice

    Donna Leon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A wall of silence surrounds a cadet’s death at an elite military academy: “Superb . . . This is an outstanding book.” —Publishers Weekly   Detective Commissario Guido Brunetti has been called to investigate a parent’s worst nightmare. A young cadet has been found hanged, a presumed suicide, in Venice’s elite military academy.   Brunetti’s sorrow for the boy, so close in age to his own son, is rivaled only by his contempt for a community that is more concerned with protecting the reputation of the school, and its privileged students, than understanding this tragedy. The young man is the son of a doctor and former politician—a man of impeccable integrity, all too rare in politics. Dr. Moro is clearly devastated; but while both he and his apparently estranged wife seem convinced that the boy’s death could not have been suicide, neither appears eager to talk to the police or involve Brunetti in any investigation of the circumstances in which he died.   As Brunetti pursues his inquiry, he is faced with a wall of silence. Is the military protecting its own? And what of the other witnesses? Is this the natural reluctance of Italians to involve themselves with the authorities, or is Brunetti facing a conspiracy far greater than this one death?   “Brunetti is a compelling character, a good man trying to stay on the honest path in a devious and twisted world.” —The Baltimore Sun
    Show book
  • The Phoenix of Florence - Mystery and murder in medieval Italy - cover

    The Phoenix of Florence -...

    Philip Kazan

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    'Stunningly, unputdownably good' Diane Setterfield, author of Once Upon a River 
    Deep in the Tuscan countryside, a long-held feud between two aristocratic families ends in tragedy, leaving only one young girl alive. 
    Years later, amidst the winding streets and majestic facades of Florence, two murders are not all they seem. As Onorio Celavini, commander of the Medici police force, investigates, he is horrified to find a personal connection to the crimes, and a conspiracy lurking beyond. 
    Poignant and compelling, The Phoenix of Florence is a richly told and cleverly crafted tale of a struggle for identity and a battle for justice in an Italy besieged by war. 
    'A beautifully written tale of the Florentine underworld' The Times
    Show book
  • Oppose Any Foe (A Luke Stone Thriller—Book 4) - cover

    Oppose Any Foe (A Luke Stone...

    Jack Mars

    • 1
    • 11
    • 0
    “One of the best thrillers I have read this year. The plot is intelligent and will keep you hooked from the beginning. The author did a superb job creating a set of characters who are fully developed and very much enjoyable. I can hardly wait for the sequel.”
    --Books and Movie Reviews, Roberto Mattos (re Any Means Necessary)
    
    OPPOSE ANY FOE is book #4 in the bestselling Luke Stone thriller series, which begins with ANY MEANS NECESSARY (book #1)!
    
    A small arsenal of U.S. nuclear weapons are stolen from a NATO base in Europe. The world scrambles to figure out who the culprits are and what their target is—and to stop them before they unleash hell on humanity.
    
    With only hours left before it is too late, the President has no choice but to call in Luke Stone, the former head of an elite FBI para-military team. Finally getting his life back in order, and with devastating news on his own family front, Luke does not want the job. But with the newly elected female President desperate for his help, he realizes he cannot turn his back on her.
    
    In the action-packed, international cat-and-mouse chase that follows, Luke, Ed and his former team will have to be more daring, and break more rules, than ever before. With the fate of the world at stake, Luke heads into the murky fog of war and espionage, and discovers the culprit is not who he thinks it is after all.
    
    A political thriller with non-stop action, dramatic international settings and heart-pounding suspense, OPPOSE ANY FOE is book #4 in the bestselling and critically-acclaimed Luke Stone series, an explosive new series that will leave you turning pages late into the night. 
    
    Book #5 in the Luke Stone series will be available soon.
    Show book
  • Tumbled Graves - A Stonechild and Rouleau Mystery - cover

    Tumbled Graves - A Stonechild...

    Brenda Chapman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The third Stonechild and Rouleau mystery
    Kala Stonechild is the first female First Nations sleuth in Canadian crime fiction
    Author’s last three novels garnered strong reviews and advance praise
    Author’s In Winter's Grip was called "a fine debut by a talented writer" in the Globe and Mail
    Author is well-connected in the crime-writing community as a member and past president of the Capital Crime Writers and the Crime Writers of Canada
    Show book
  • The Shape Shifter - cover

    The Shape Shifter

    Tony Hillerman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Retirement has never sat well with former Navajo Tribal Police Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn. Now the ghosts of a still-unsolved case are returning to haunt him, reawakened by a photograph in a magazine spread of a one-of-a-kind Navajo rug, a priceless work of woven art that was supposedly destroyed in a suspicious fire many years earlier. The rug, commemorating one of the darkest and most terrible chapters in American history, was always said to be cursed, and now the friend who brought it to Leaphorn's attention has mysteriously gone missing. 
    With newly wedded officers Jim Chee and Bernie Manuelito just back from their honeymoon, the legendary ex-lawman is on his own to pick up the threads of a crime he'd once thought impossible to untangle. And they're leading him back into a world of lethal greed, shifting truths, and changing faces, where a cold-blooded killer still resides.
    Show book
  • The Good Wife - cover

    The Good Wife

    Jane A. Adams

    • 0
    • 1
    • 1
    A chilling murder ruins a fun day at the races in the fifth historical mystery featuring Detective Chief Inspector Henry Johnstone.  
    1929. Police surgeon Dr Clive Mason is devastated when his wife Martha is found dead in an empty horsebox at Southwell Races, her handbag stolen. The Masons were enjoying a day out at the races with their friends, Dr Ephraim Phillips and his wife Nora, when Martha went to speak to a face she recognized in a crowd - and disappeared.  
    As Detective Chief Inspector Henry Johnstone and Sergeant Mickey Hitchens investigate, it's clear this wasn't a robbery gone tragically wrong - Martha was deliberately murdered. Why did the life of this well-respected, popular member of the community meet such a tragic end? Henry and Mickey soon learn that the Masons' marriage was not what it seemed, and make a number of shocking discoveries. Who was Martha Mason, and what secrets was she hiding?
    Show book