Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Letters from Prison - cover

Letters from Prison

Marquis de Sade

Translator Richard Seaver

Publisher: Arcade Publishing

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

An intimate journey through the mind of one of history’s most notorious, scandalous, and still relevant literary figures.    Over two centuries after his death, the writings of the Marquis de Sade remain as controversial as ever. His unceasing championing of absolute freedom, unchecked by laws, religion, or morality, led to his imprisonment for much of his life. Translated by Sadean scholar Richard Seaver, this astounding collection of letters from de Sade, written primarily to his wife and despised mother-in-law, reveal a new side to one of history’s great thinkers. Spanning from 1777 to 1790, these correspondences bring a human dimension to the legend of de Sade.   Seaver’s translations retain the aristocratic hauteur of de Sade’s prose, which still possesses a clarity that any reader can appreciate. For those interested in learning about the man responsible for some of the most infamous philosophical fiction in history, Letters from Prison is an indispensable compendium that offers insights into society, religion, morals, politics, and the ways of men and women.   “These stunning epistles show a man who suffered endlessly in prison, but who never lost his spirit, finding solace in the written word.” —Publishers Weekly  Includes 16 pages of photos
Available since: 04/12/2012.
Print length: 428 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Last True Story I'll Ever Tell - An Accidental Soldier's Account of the War in Iraq - cover

    The Last True Story I'll Ever...

    John Crawford

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The only book about the war in Iraq by a soldier on the ground-destined to become a classic of war literature.John Crawford joined the Florida National Guard to pay for his college tuition-it had seemed a small sacrifice to give up one weekend a month and two weeks a year in exchange for a free education. But one semester short of graduating, and newly married, he was called to active duty-to serve in Kuwait, then on the front lines of the invasion of Iraq, and ultimately in Baghdad. While serving in Iraq, Crawford began writing short nonfiction stories, his account of what he and his fellow soldiers experienced in the war. At the urging of a journalist embedded with his unit, he began sending his pieces out of the country via an anonymous Internet e-mail account.In a voice at once raw and immediate, Crawford's work vividly chronicles the daily life of a young soldier in Iraq-the excitement, the horror, the anger, the tedium, the fear, the camaraderie. All together, the stories slowly uncover something more: the transformation of a group of young college students-innocents-into something entirely different.In the tradition of Tim O'Brien's The Things They Carried, this haunting and powerful, brutal but compellingly honest book promises to become the lasting, personal literary account of the United States' involvement in Iraq."Lawlor is masterful. Every now and then, you get a narrator who's so good he becomes indistinguishable from the character he's portraying. That would be Lawlor. He manages to convey the grittiness of the country, the gruffness of the soldiers, and Crawford's simmering anger and resentment with seamless ease." -Sandy Bauers, Philadelphia Inquirer "A tremendous book...incredibly gripping and incredibly well-written"-Jon Stewart, The Daily Show
    Show book
  • Abraham Lincoln and the American Civil War - cover

    Abraham Lincoln and the American...

    Dan Monroe

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Abraham Lincoln was arguably the greatest American president. Now, you can take a deeper look at his powerful presidency and the war that shook America 150 years ago in this insightful course.
    
     
    Raised in Kentucky and Indiana by a father who did not value education, Lincoln had only a year of formal education. Rented out for day labor by his father, Lincoln gained insight into the injustices of slavery and would go on to become a self-educated lawyer.
    
     
    After meeting the young Lincoln and examining his colorful legal adventures and improbably ascendency to the U.S. presidency, you will gain an historian’s insight into the causes of the Civil War. You will explore the war’s surprising first year, the chaos of the first battle at Bull Run, the emergence of the plodding George McClellan, and the dramatic success of Confederate arms under Robert E. Lee. With fresh insight, you will probe Lincoln’s decision to embrace emancipation and explore the reasons behind this game-changing policy change. Examine Lincoln’s unforgettable speech at Gettysburg in 1863, wherein he upheld the Declaration of Independence as the key founding document of the United States of America.
    
     
    Finally, you will explore civil liberties in both the Union and the Confederacy during the war, the emergence of Ulysses S. Grant, and Lincoln’s memorable reflections on the conflict in his Second Inaugural Address followed soon after by his tragic martyrdom.
    
     
    You will relish each lecture as you gain a deeper understanding of Abraham Lincoln and the American Civil War.
    Show book
  • A Life in Stitches - Knitting My Way Through Love Loss and Laughter - Tenth Anniversary Edition - cover

    A Life in Stitches - Knitting My...

    Rachael Herron

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “Insightfully genius, A Life in Stitches makes me grateful that Rachael Herron put down her needles long enough to pick up a pen.”—Josh Kilmer-Purcell, New York Times bestselling author of The Bucolic Plague 
    A hilarious, heartfelt romp that will bring you home to yourself. You don’t have to be a knitter to fall in love with this book—any person who’s ever made anything with their hands will dive joyfully into these pages and come back up renewed and ready to create. 
    Tenth Anniversary Edition - This beloved bestseller is newly updated with fresh stories and extra devotion to the happiness found in everyday tools. 
    Internationally bestselling author Rachael Herron shows that when life unravels, there’s usually a way to knit it back together again, and if there’s not, there’s still hope to be found in the simple tools of the craft. Honest, funny, and full of warmth, Herron’s tales, each inspired by something she knitted, will speak to anyone who’s ever loved (or lost). From her very first sweater (a hilarious disaster) to the yellow afghan that caused a breakup (and, ultimately, a breakthrough), every chapter has a moving story behind it. This beautifully candid collection about crafting the art of happiness through joy and grief is perfect for fans of Elizabeth Gilbert and Glennon Doyle. 
    Click BUY now! 
    Rachael Herron is the author of more than two dozen books, including thriller (under R.H. Herron), mainstream fiction, feminist romance, memoir, and nonfiction about writing. She received her MFA in writing from Mills College, Oakland, and she teaches writing extension workshops at both UC Berkeley and Stanford. She is a proud member of the NaNoWriMo Writer’s Board. An AmeriKiwi, she’s currently living in New Zealand.
    Show book
  • The Killing Kind - cover

    The Killing Kind

    M. William Phelps

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    She was seventeen years old, a beautiful girl with a Hollywood smile and luminous brown eyes. Sprawled in a culvert just off the gravel road like an abandoned doll, she wore only toe socks, a sweatshirt, and a necklace. She was not the killer's first victim. Nor would she be the last. 
     
    The lush, green hills that mark the border of North and South Carolina are home to a close-knit community. When the savaged remains of high-spirited Heather Catterton and sweet-natured Randi Saldana were found and a local man was linked to their murders, residents were forced to face an evil in their midst. The killer was one of their own.… 
     
    Danny Hembree was far from being an upright, law-abiding citizen. But he was part of the fabric of the local scene, devoted to his mother and sister. No one saw him as a remorseless killer who preyed on those who trusted him. When questioned by police, Hembree didn't just play cat-and-mouse and then confess. He bragged. Taunted. Laughed about his merciless deeds. 
     
    In The Killing Kind acclaimed, award-winning investigative crime journalist M. William Phelps delves into the background of Hembree's victims, bringing listeners into their lives in intimate detail. With exclusive information from detectives and prosecutors, Phelps reconstructs the chilling clues that led to Hembree's arrest, and the media sensation surrounding his trial, mistrial, and ultimate conviction. 
     
    As the victims' loved ones attempt to heal, Hembree continues to widen the scope of his crimes from behind bars. M. William Phelps draws on interviews and correspondence with the serial killer himself, bringing listeners into the minds of murderer-and into the heart of a real-life story of bloodshed, tears, and the long road to justice.
    Show book
  • Tjideng Reunion - A Memoir of World War II on Java - cover

    Tjideng Reunion - A Memoir of...

    Boudewijn van Oort

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Tjideng Reunion is set against the backdrop of World War II in the Pacific theater. In 1940, as World War II is raging in Europe, Boudewijn van Oort Sr., a Dutch immigrant living with his wife, Wilhelmina, and young son, Boudewijn Jr. (the author), in South Africa, decides to move his family to the Dutch colony of the Dutch East Indies, today known as the Republic of Indonesia. Van Oort Sr. made the move wanting to support and strengthen his mother country Holland against Japan, the threatening and belligerent aggressor. Two years after having settled down comfortably on the island of Java, Japan invades the entire Dutch East Indies archipelago. The van Oort family and their friends get caught up in the brutal war of the Pacific. 
    This story follows the fate of the van Oort family and their friends. They miraculously survive the Japanese prison camps, only to find that after they return to South Africa as refugees, the political landscape has shifted in their absence in a direction van Oort Sr. finds unacceptable. The political and military events that dramatically unfold around the family change the course of their lives forever.
    Show book
  • Big Man - Real Life & Tall Tales - cover

    Big Man - Real Life & Tall Tales

    Clarence Clemons, Don Reo, Bruce...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    For the first time ever comes the inside story of Clarence "Big Man" Clemons--his life before, during and beyond the E-Street Band, including unbelievable, never-before-told adventures with Bruce Springsteen, the band, and an incredible cast of other famous characters recounted by himself and his best friend, television writer/ producer Don Reo.Here are just a few things you'll get from reading it:   The truth behind the final hours of making Born To Run  The real story of how the E-Street Band got its name  What happened when Clarence and Ringo Starr were sitting in a hotel room and Clarence got the call that Bruce was breaking up the band  How Bruce and Clarence met that dark, stormy night at the Student Prince  The E-Street band's show at Sing-Sing prison where all of their equipment blows out right as they take the stage  The secret that Robert De Niro told Clarence and Bruce they had to keep for 25 yearsBut that's merely a glimpse.  This is not your average rock book.  It is something creative, something unique, something new.  It is the story of E-Street.  It is the story of stories.  It is the story of the Big Man.
    Show book