Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Cult - cover

The Cult

Markus Rehbach

Publisher: TROONATNOOR

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

It took 3000 years, and this strategy, for one cult, to rule this word. Rule number one: Real power must always remain unobtrusive, invisible, unseen. Control enough of the means of mass communication that you can get to define ‘social reality’ for people, by determining what they see, hear, read, and will be taught, from cradle to grave. So that every form of communication, from television ‘programming’, to Hollywood films, to school textbooks, to facebook blogs, Youtube videos, and web posts, is ‘on message’, saying the same thing in different ways, with zero genuine ‘uncontrolled’ and thus authentically ‘alternate’ messages ever being seen or heard. Thus your carefully scripted and engineered ‘social reality’ will gain traction in the minds of most people. Any ‘dissent’ will be criminalized. Marginalised. Ridiculed. Extirpated. People will understand what ‘views’ are ‘acceptable’ and ‘required’ to ‘get ahead’. And remain out of prison.

Other books that might interest you

  • To Kill and Kill Again - The Terrifying True Story of Montana's Baby-Faced Serial Sex Murderer - cover

    To Kill and Kill Again - The...

    John Coston

    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
    The twelve-year rampage of “Missoula Mauler” Wayne Nance—and the shocking end to his murder spree To his neighbors, Wayne Nance, a furniture mover from Missoula, Montana, appeared to be an affable, considerate, and trustworthy guy. No one knew that Nance was the “Missoula Mauler,” a psychopath responsible for a series of sadistic sex slayings that rocked the idyllic town between 1974 and 1986.   Nance’s only requirement for murder was accessibility—a preacher’s wife, a teenage runaway, a female acquaintance, a married couple. Putting on a friendly façade, he could easily gain his victims’ trust. Then, one September night, thirty-year-old Nance pushed his luck, preying on a couple who lived to tell the tale.   A true story with an incredible twist, written by former Wall Street Journal editor John Coston and complete with photos, To Kill and Kill Again reveals the disturbing compulsions of a charming serial killer who fooled everyone he knew, stumped the authorities, terrified a community, and nearly got away with it.  
    Show book
  • Foul Deeds and Suspicious Deaths in Sheffield - cover

    Foul Deeds and Suspicious Deaths...

    Geoffrey Howse

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The author of A History of London’s Prisons reveals the ugly criminal past of one of England’s most beautiful cities.   It hardly seems surprising that what has become England’s fourth city has within its rich history a sinister and darker side. Take a journey to discover cases of petty crime, riots, burglary, robbery, assault, suicide, unlawful killing, manslaughter, and murder, as well as a host of quirky and quizzical crimes from the early Victorian period to modern times. One sensational case covered is that of Sheffield-born Charles Peace, considered by some criminologists to be England’s most notorious murderer. He was hanged at Leeds on February 25, 1879, for the killing of Arthur Dyson at Darnall in 1876. Peace’s criminality seemed to know no bounds. Several other sensational and forgotten murders are featured and a range of cases mentioned refer to many former landmarks in and around old Sheffield, from public houses and hotels to factories, shops, and steelworks. This book is sure to be an absorbing read for anyone interested in our local social history.
    Show book
  • Mike and I and The Great Advenutre - cover

    Mike and I and The Great Advenutre

    Samuel David

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This story is based on two young teenage boys who in the summer of 1968, manage to spend an equivalent in today’s money, 210,000 dollars in a few short weeks, after they ran away. This is a true story, which tells how they left Kansas City for Haight and Ashbury in San Francisco, and then fate intervened, as the adventure took on a completely different direction. In the 50’s they are baby boomers and by the time they were teenagers in the 60’s, juvenile delinquents. However, not violent; just knew how to manipulate the system.  Therefore, it made sense that they would join the thousands of others in 1968 and dropout.  However, they dropped in…not out…into high dollar resorts and luxury hotels. Follow their activities as they travel around the country and Mexico, living the life.      It also involves two young female runaways. They with the two boys pull off one the most amazing trips ever taken. The Military, the FBI, several states, and then Mexican officials are looking for them. However, somehow they elude them all.  They were finally caught in Chicago Illinois at the end of August 1968, during the time of the controversial Democratic Convention that year. When they were caught, investigators found a plastic bag the girls had kept the hotel keys in as souvenirs. There were 32 different hotel keys and airline tickets for 31 different flights, most first class. Enjoy, Samuel David. Author
    Show book
  • Dr Crippen Lover and Poisoner - cover

    Dr Crippen Lover and Poisoner

    William Le Queux

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    William Le Queux (1864 - 1927) was an Anglo-French journalist and writer, diplomat, traveller, flying buff and wireless pioneer who broadcast music from his own station long before radio was generally available.He was phenomenally successful as a novelist and short story writer, and many of his tales are based on his own exploits, albeit vastly exaggerated. He is widely recongnized as one of the first creators of the spy story genre, in which his diplomatic background, familiarity with European high society and his interest in technology combined to create a rich tapestry for his intrigues. Dr. Crippen, Lover and Poisoner is Le Queux's account of the case of the famous poisoner, Hawley Harvey Crippen, whom he himself claimed to have met personally on several occasions. Crippen, to escape the bondage of an unhappy marriage and because he had fallen in love with another woman, Ethel Le Neve, murdered and dissected his wife and escaped with his lover in disguise, sparking a transatlantic hue and cry.
    Show book
  • Interference - How Organized Crime Influences Professional Football - cover

    Interference - How Organized...

    Dan E. Moldea

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A shocking exposé of widespread corruption and mob influence throughout the National Football League—on the field, in the owners’ boxes, and in the corporate suitesAccording to investigative journalist Dan E. Moldea, for decades the National Football League has had a strong and unspoken understanding with a dangerous institution: organized crime. In his classic exposé, Interference, Moldea bares the dark, sordid underbelly of America’s favorite professional team sport, revealing a nest of corruption that the league has largely ignored since its inception.Based on intensive research and in-depth interviews with coaches, players, mobsters, bookies, gamblers, referees, and league officials—including some of the sport’s all-time greats—the author’s shocking allegations suggest that the betting line is firmly in the hands of the mob, who occasionally manipulate the on-field action for maximum profit. Interference chronicles a long-standing history of gambling, drugs, and extortion, of point-shaving and game-fixing, and reveals the eye-opening truth about numerous gridiron contests where the final results were determined even before the kickoff. Moldea exposes the mob connections of many of the team owners and their startling complicity in illegal gambling operations, while showing how NFL internal security has managed to quash nearly every investigation into illegality and corruption within the professional football world before it could get off the ground. Provocative, disturbing, and controversial, Interference is a must-read for football fans and detractors alike, offering indisputable proof that what’s really happening on the field, in the locker room, and behind the scenes is a whole different ball game.
    Show book
  • Dancing with the Octopus - A Memoir of a Crime - cover

    Dancing with the Octopus - A...

    Debora Harding

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    For readers of Educated and The Glass Castle, a harrowing, redemptive and profoundly inspiring memoir of childhood trauma and its long reach into adulthood, named one of the Best True Crime Books by Marie Claire. 
     
    One Omaha winter day in November 1978, when Debora Harding was just fourteen, she was abducted at knifepoint from a church parking lot. She was thrown into a van, assaulted, held for ransom, and then left to die as an ice storm descended over the city. 
     
    Debora survived. She identified her attacker to the police and then returned to her teenage life in a dysfunctional home where she was expected to simply move on. Denial became the family coping strategy offered by her fun-loving, conflicted father and her cruelly resentful mother. 
     
    It wasn't until decades later - when beset by the symptoms of PTSD- that Debora undertook a radical project: she met her childhood attacker face-to-face in prison and began to reconsider and reimagine his complex story. This was a quest for the truth that would threaten the lie at the heart of her family and with it the sacred bond that once saved her. 
     
    Dexterously shifting between the past and present, Debora Harding untangles the incident of her kidnapping and escape from unexpected angles, offering a vivid, intimate portrait of one family's disintegration in the 1970s Midwest. 
    Written with dark humor and the pacing of a thriller, Dancing with the Octopus is a literary tour de force and a groundbreaking narrative of reckoning, recovery, and the inexhaustible strength it takes to survive.
    Show book