Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
House of Leaves-Mark Z Danielewski - cover

House of Leaves-Mark Z Danielewski

Mark Z. Danielewski

Publisher: Mark Z. Danielewski

  • 1
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

Years ago, when House of Leaves was first being passed around, it was nothing more than a badly bundled heap of paper, parts of which would occasionally surface on the Internet. No one could have anticipated the small but devoted following this terrifying story would soon command. Starting with an odd assortment of marginalized youth -- musicians, tattoo artists, programmers, strippers, environmentalists, and adrenaline junkies -- the book eventually made its way into the hands of older generations, who not only found themselves in those strangely arranged pages but also discovered a way back into the lives of their estranged children.

Now, for the first time, this astonishing novel is made available in book form, complete with the original colored words, vertical footnotes, and newly added second and third appendices.

The story remains unchanged, focusing on a young family that moves into a small home on Ash Tree Lane where they discover something is terribly wrong: their house is bigger on the inside than it is on the outside.

Of course, neither Pulitzer Prize-winning photojournalist Will Navidson nor his companion Karen Green was prepared to face the consequences of that impossibility, until the day their two little children wandered off and their voices eerily began to return another story -- of creature darkness, of an ever-growing abyss behind a closet door, and of that unholy growl which soon enough would tear through their walls and consume all their dreams.

Other books that might interest you

  • A Nose for Danger - cover

    A Nose for Danger

    Bob Temple

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Explains how Jimmy's allergy helps solve a crime.
    Show book
  • As You Like It (A Graphic Novel Audio) - Graphic Shakespeare - cover

    As You Like It (A Graphic Novel...

    William Shakespeare

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Orlando makes his way to the court of Duke Frederick, and falls desperately in love with the Duke's niece, Rosalind. Meanwhile, in the Forest of Arden, the Old Duke is living peacefully after having his throne usurped by his brother, Frederick. Orlando learns about a threat on his life and flees to the forest. Shortly thereafter, Rosalind is banished by her uncle and also seeks safety there disguised as a boy. Will the Old Duke recognize his daughter? Will the lovers be reunited?
    Show book
  • Invisible Emmie - cover

    Invisible Emmie

    Terri Libenson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Jennifer L. Holm, Invisible Emmie is a humorous and surprising debut novel by Terri Libenson, creator of the internationally syndicated, Reuben Award-winning comic strip The Pajama Diaries.  
    This is the story of two totally different girls- 
    quiet, shy, artistic Emmie 
    popular, outgoing, athletic Katie 
    -and how their lives unexpectedly intersect one day, when an embarrassing note falls into the wrong hands. . . . 
     
    All the crushes, humiliations, boredom, and drama of middle school are compressed into one surprising day in this extraordinary novel.
    Show book
  • Timmy Failure - The Cat Stole My Pants - cover

    Timmy Failure - The Cat Stole My...

    Stephan Pastis

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In the sixth book in Stephan Pastis's hilarious series, Timmy is being threatened and must rely on his new partner to solve the mystery - and possibly save his life!  
    Timmy is in Key West, Florida, ostensibly for the honeymoon of his mother and Doorman Dave - if they even got married, which Timmy doubts. Unfortunately for Timmy, crime doesn't take a vacation. And because Total has fled to Cuba seeking political asylum, Timmy must rely on a new partner for help: Doorman Dave's nephew Emilio. Meanwhile, a surprise newcomer shows up in Timmy's life and, as if things couldn't get more hectic, Timmy's pants have been stolen by a six-toed cat.
    Show book
  • Let’s Go Exploring - Calvin and Hobbes - cover

    Let’s Go Exploring - Calvin and...

    Michael Hingston

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    A fascinating investigation of a beloved comic strip
     
    The internet is home to impassioned debates on just about everything, but there’s one thing that’s universally beloved: Bill Watterson’s comic strip Calvin and Hobbes. Until its retirement in 1995 after a ten-year run, the strip won numerous awards and drew tens of millions of readers from all around the world. The story of a boy and his best friend — a stuffed tiger — was a pitch-perfect distillation of the joys and horrors of childhood, and a celebration of imagination in its purest form. In Let’s Go Exploring, Michael Hingston mines the strip and traces the story of Calvin’s reclusive creator to demonstrate how imagination — its possibilities, its opportunities, and ultimately its limitations — helped make Calvin and Hobbes North America’s last great comic strip.
    Show book
  • Super Soldiers - A Salute to the Comic Book Heroes and Villains Who Fought for Their Country - cover

    Super Soldiers - A Salute to the...

    Jason Inman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Operation Iraqi Freedom Veteran and former host of All Access, DC Comics's web show, Jason Inman, discusses the influence war has had on some of the most memorable superheroes in comics.
    Show book