Turn 2021 into a year of reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Personal Recollections of Joan of Arc - cover

Personal Recollections of Joan of Arc

Mark Twain

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

The fictional memoir of the fifteenth-century French heroine by the author of A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court.Mark Twain’s final novel—and, by his own account, his best—is a fictional record of the life of Joan of Arc, as recorded by her loyal page and secretary, the Sieur Louis de Conte. In it, the celebrated satirist shows his great admiration for the Maid of Orléans. Beginning with her humble childhood in the French village of Domrémy, de Conte recounts Joan’s visions of Archangels and her divine quest to take control of the French army and liberate her country from the English at the age of seventeen.From her remarkable defeat of the English at Orléans to her Bloodless March to Rheims and the coronation of King Charles VII, the story progresses to Joan’s tragic defeat and imprisonment, the high drama of her trial, and her execution at the hands of the English.

Other books that might interest you

  • Finding Mercy - A Novel - cover

    Finding Mercy - A Novel

    Michael Landon Jr., Cindy Kelley

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When Mercy abandons Captain Elijah Hale to search for her true identity, he goes after her. With the threat that bounty hunters might be hot on her trail, Mercy does all she can to stay ahead of the danger, frustrating both the bad men who are after her—and Captain Hale who wants to find her and escort her safely home. But when she stumbles upon clues that help her learn who she is and where she's from, the danger escalates and she has to learn to keep her friends close and her enemies even closer—if she can determine which is which!This is historical romance with a blend of intrigue from beloved storytellers renowned for their work in film and print.
    Show book
  • Jesus Light of the World - Christmas Devotional - cover

    Jesus Light of the World -...

    Thomas Nelson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This devotional is the perfect way to focus on the Reason for the season. 
    On each day leading up to and through Christmas, best-selling authors Max Lucado, Billy Graham, and Anne Graham Lotz come together to help believers focus on Jesus and His gift of life as well as lead non-believers to the Savior who came.  This trim size is perfect as a gift for church members, families, or individuals who want to experience a deeper meaning as they celebrate the birth of Jesus, the Light of the World. 
    Note: Must be ordered in multiples of 50.  Self-shipping box can be used as counter display (4" x 6" x 5").
    Show book
  • A Season of Grace (Under Northern Skies Book #3) - cover

    A Season of Grace (Under...

    Lauraine Snelling

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    In 1910 Minnesota, Nilda Carlson's dreams are coming true. Though her first few months in America were difficult, her life now resembles the images that filled her daydreams in Norway. She and her younger brother Ivar live in their own house, just a short distance from her older brother and his family. Together they work the farm and fell trees for lumber. They plan to grow a dairy herd, weave rugs out of their own wool, and make skis to sell. Everything is going right.The only thing missing from Nilda's life is love. But though she has two suitors--a quiet schoolteacher and a handsome lumberjack--Nilda feels hesitant. A terrifying experience in Norway has made her cautious where men are concerned. When she thinks she sees the man in question, all her fears come flooding back. Is it possible the danger has followed her across the Atlantic? If Dreng Nygaard is truly in Minnesota, all of her dreams for the future could come crashing down around her.
    Show book
  • The Governess of Penwythe Hall - cover

    The Governess of Penwythe Hall

    Sarah E. Ladd

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Rich with family secrets, lingering danger, and the captivating allure of new love, this Regency romance introduces us to the Twethewey family and their search for peace, justice, and love on the Cornish coast. 
    Cornwall, England, 1811—Blamed for her husband’s death, Cordelia Greythorne fled Cornwall and accepted a governess position to begin a new life. Years later her employer’s unexpected death and his last request for her to watch over his five children force her to reevaluate. She can’t abandon the children now that they’ve lost both parents, but their new guardian lives at the timeworn Penwythe Hall . . . back on the Cornish coast she’s tried desperately to forget. 
    Jac Twethewey is determined to revive Penwythe Hall’s once-flourishing apple orchards, and he’ll stop at nothing to see his struggling estate profitable again. He hasn’t heard from his brother in years, so when his nieces, nephews, and their governess arrive unannounced, he battles both grief at his brother’s death and bewilderment over this sudden responsibility. Jac’s priorities shift as the children take up residence in the ancient halls, but their secretive governess—and the mystery shrouding her past—proves to be a disruption to his carefully laid plans. 
    Praise for The Governess of Penwythe Hall:  
    “Absolutely captivating! Once I started reading, I couldn’t put down The Governess of Penwythe Hall. This blend of Jane Eyre, Jane Austen, and Jamaica Inn has it all. Intrigue. Danger. Poignant moments. And best of all a sweet, sweet love story. This is by far my favorite Sarah Ladd book. Don’t hesitate to snatch up this title!” —Michelle Griep, Christy Award–winning author of the Once Upon a Dickens Christmas series 
    “Brimming with dangerous secrets, rich characters, and the hauntingly beautiful descriptions Sarah Ladd handles so well, 1800s Cornwall is brought vividly to life in this well-crafted tale that kept me glued to the pages. What a brilliant start to a new series!” —Abigail Wilson, author of In the Shadow of Croft Towers 
    “The Governess of Penwythe Hall is a delightful and emotionally gripping tale that will tick all the boxes for any Regency lover: romance, history, and enough unpredictable intrigue to keep you up past your bedtime.” —Kristi Ann Hunter, author of A Defense of Honor 
    “Lovers of sweet and Christian romance alike will fall in love with Delia’s strength amid the haunting backdrop of her tragic past and the Cornish coast. Throw in a handsome leading man willing to turn his life upside down for the children in Delia’s charge, and you have a story you can’t put down.” —Josi S. Kilpack, Whitney Award–winning author of the Mayfield Family seriesSweet, full-length Regency romanceFirst book in the Cornwall novels (The Governess of Penwythe Hall, The Thief of Lanwyn Manor, and The Light at Wyndcliff), but can be read as a stand-alone storyBook length: 90,000 wordsIncludes discussion questions
    Show book
  • Four Weddings and a Kiss - A Western Bride Collection - cover

    Four Weddings and a Kiss - A...

    Margaret Brownley, Mary...

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    "This collection is extremely entertaining and will make readers think back to their first kiss." ùRomantic Times, 4-1/2 Stars, TOP PICK! 
    Four best-selling, award-winning historical romance authors join together to share tales of unlikely love sparked in the late 1800s, reminding us that love often arrives in the most unexpected ways.  
    Spitfire Sweetheart by Mary Connealy 
    Maizy Place is an unruly tomboy. When she causes an accident, injuring neighbor Rylan Carstens, she becomes his unlikely caregiver. Rylan has never noticed how pretty his infuriating neighbor is, and he never expected to fall in love. 
    A Love Letter to the Editor by Robin Lee Hatcher 
    Molly Everton is the outspoken daughter of the town newspaper's owner. When her father brings in an outsider to be editor, she tries to drive him out of town. But Jack Ludgrove is not intimidated. HeÆs resolved to change Molly's mind about himùas an editor and as a man. 
    A Cowboy for Katie by Debra Clopton 
    Katie Pearl has no interest in men or love. But she needs help on her ranch so she hires Thad Rayburn, a wandering cowboy looking to make a buck. Will Thad change KatieÆs mind? 
    Courting Trouble by Margaret Brownley 
    Grace Davenport is either the unluckiest woman aliveùor a killer. When her third husband is found dead, Grace is arrested. Attorney Brock Daniels isn't interested in the caseùuntil he meets Grace. Only a miracle will prove her innocence, but the joining of two lonely hearts may be their saving grace. 
    ". . . four stories from four wonderful authors about the unpredictability of life, the amazingness of the Lord, and the wonderful ways He works within our lives to find that special someone He's picked out for us." ùCBA Retailers + Resources
    Show book
  • A Jar Full of Light - cover

    A Jar Full of Light

    Rae Walsh

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Theresa Grant fled Aveline ten years ago, certain that she would never return. She was wrong.When Theresa's teenage daughter, Maddie, pleads with her to come back to Aveline, Theresa can't say no. She finds herself packing up and driving back to the lake town of her childhood--back to the lake, the trees, and to an old friend who wants to rekindle their spark.Will a new house, new friends, and her work as a potter be enough to keep her in Aveline? Or will old secrets drive her away?A Jar Full of Light is the second book in the Aveline Series, a collection of inspirational romantic stories with quirky, lovable characters, set in a fictional lake town in California. Perfect for fans of Jan Karon, Katherine Center, or Elizabeth Berg.
    Show book