Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Adeline - cover

Adeline

Mark Torres

Publisher: Indie Owl Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

From the author of the widely acclaimed debut novel A Stirring in the North Fork, Mark Torres’ next installment, Adeline, is a fast-paced, gripping tale about the mysterious death of an innocent young woman wrongly committed to a notorious mental asylum in 1977. The ever-determined Savoy Graves returns to try and unmask the sinister fiend, only to find himself plunged deep into the dangerous and dark world of a maniacal secret society willing to guard its identity at all cost. Will Graves achieve justice for this long-buried unsolved murder? And if so, what personal sacrifices will he be forced to make?

Other books that might interest you

  • The Girl in the Glass Box - A Jack Swyteck Novel - cover

    The Girl in the Glass Box - A...

    James Grippando

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Miami attorney Jack Swyteck lands in the heart of the contentious immigration debate when he takes on the heart-wrenching case of an undocumented immigrant who fled to America to protect her daughter and save herself, in this timely and pulse-pounding thriller that explores the stories behind the headlines from New York Times bestselling author James Grippando, winner of the Harper Lee Prize for Legal Fiction. 
    Julia Rodriguez and her teenage daughter Beatriz escaped bloodthirsty gangs, random violence and, Julia's abusive husband back in El Salvador. Arriving in Miami, mother and daughter struggled to carve their own piece of the American dream. While life in the States is hard, it is safer, until Julia's rejects her boss's unwanted sexual advances. Suddenly—thanks to an "anonymous" tip to U. S. immigration authorities—she is arrested, locked in detention with criminals, and slated for deportation. Jack's only viable legal move to save her is asylum—a long shot that’s become nearly impossible in today’s charged political climate. 
    When Julia and Beatriz made the perilous trek north to freedom, they thought they’d left the danger behind them. But now, even Miami isn’t safe. A ruthless enemy may have tracked them to south Florida and is biding time, patiently waiting to strike.  
    In a case where the stakes have never been higher, Jack Sywteck may not be able to save his client—even if he wins.
    Show book
  • Best Friends Forever - an absolutely gripping crime thriller - cover

    Best Friends Forever - an...

    Dawn Goodwin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Have you ever wanted to kill your best friend? 
     
    Anna was the perfect wife. Perfect mother. Perfect woman. And now she's dead. Leaving behind her husband, David, and two young children their lives will never be the same. But Vicky will make sure life goes on... 
     
    These two women have been best friends forever, a lifetime of secrets lies between them and now Vicky is ready to step up into Anna's perfect shoes. But not everything is as it seems and as David begins to question Vicky's motives for walking into his life things might just get a little murderous. 
     
    The question on everyone's lips is, who killed Anna? And what actually happened on the night she died? 
     
    Perfect for fans of The Rumour, The Silent Patient and The Suspect.
    Show book
  • The Last Seance - Tales of the Supernatural - cover

    The Last Seance - Tales of the...

    Agatha Christie

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “Reading a perfectly plotted Agatha Christie is like crunching into a perfect apple: that pure, crisp, absolute satisfaction.”—Tana French, New York Times Bestselling Author  
     
    From the Queen of Suspense, an all-new collection of her spookiest and most sinister stories, including an Agatha Christie story never before published in the USA, The Wife of Kenite! 
    For lovers of the supernatural and the macabre comes this collection of ghostly and chilling stories from legendary mystery writer Agatha Christie. Fantastic psychic visions, specters looming in the shadows, encounters with deities, a man who switches bodies with a cat—be sure to keep the light on whilst reading these tales.  
    The Last Séance gathers twenty stories, some featuring Christie’s beloved detectives Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple, in one haunting compendium that explores all things occult and paranormal, and is an essential omnibus for Christie fans.
    Show book
  • What She Knew - A Novel - cover

    What She Knew - A Novel

    Gilly Macmillan

    • 1
    • 14
    • 0
    THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER 
    In her enthralling debut, Gilly Macmillan explores a mother’s search for her missing son, weaving a taut psychological thriller as gripping and skillful as The Girl on the Train and The Guilty One. 
    In a heartbeat, everything changes… 
    Rachel Jenner is walking in a Bristol park with her eight-year-old son, Ben, when he asks if he can run ahead. It’s an ordinary request on an ordinary Sunday afternoon, and Rachel has no reason to worry—until Ben vanishes.   
    Police are called, search parties go out, and Rachel, already insecure after her recent divorce, feels herself coming undone. As hours and then days pass without a sign of Ben, everyone who knew him is called into question, from Rachel’s newly married ex-husband to her mother-of-the-year sister. Inevitably, media attention focuses on Rachel too, and the public’s attitude toward her begins to shift from sympathy to suspicion. 
    As she desperately pieces together the threadbare clues, Rachel realizes that nothing is quite as she imagined it to be, not even her own judgment. And the greatest dangers may lie not in the anonymous strangers of every parent’s nightmares, but behind the familiar smiles of those she trusts the most. 
    Where is Ben? The clock is ticking...
    Show book
  • Damaged Goods - cover

    Damaged Goods

    Debbi Mack

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    A Marine veteran may have survived combat, but can she survive this case?
     
    Unlicensed private eye Erica Jensen works as a “researcher” who performs background checks, conducts surveillance, and takes on other dubious assignments while battling post-traumatic stress and an opioid addiction. When a wealthy man hires her to find his missing daughter, Erica ends up with more work than she bargained for: a murder victim and unwanted attention from the killers.
     
    While seeking the daughter, Erica uncovers evidence that raises questions about the dead man. Did the missing daughter know him? Did the victim have ties to an artifacts smuggling ring? Erica’s search for answers puts her in the crosshairs of people who kill to keep secrets.
     
    PRAISE FOR THE BOOK
     
    “Debbi Mack’s novella, Damaged Goods, is a fulfilling and exciting read and proof that the novella is alive and well. Highly recommended.”— David Swinson, author of The Second Girl and Trigger
     
    "Pitch perfect pace and plot with a well-drawn protagonist."— M. Ruth Myers, Shamus Award winning author of the Maggie Sullivan mystery series
     
    “Marine veteran turned unlicensed PI Erica Jensen is a flawed and intriguing heroine in this meticulous mystery. Charlie Fox would work alongside her any day!” — Zoë Sharp, author of Bad Turn
     
    "A gritty, stunning portrayal of the impact and response to post-traumatic stress, packaged inside a compelling mystery."— Frank Zafiro, author of the Charlie-316 series
     
    "Mack keeps the action rolling along while fleshing out a keeper of a protagonist. Excellent read for neo-noir and private eye fans!"— W.D. Gagliani, author of The Judas Hit and the Nick Lupo Series
    Show book
  • Dead Air - A Novel of Suspense - cover

    Dead Air - A Novel of Suspense

    Michael Bradley

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Three can keep a secret, but only if two are dead. 
     
    No one knows that better than Kaitlyn Ashe, who has been running from a childhood secret her whole life. Until now. Crowned the top rated radio DJ in Philadelphia, she is finally ready to settle down with her fiancé who knows nothing about her past. When a sudden flood of anonymous letters threatens Kaitlyn's seemingly charmed life, she realizes that someone out there knows her secret. But who?
     
    As the threatening letters escalate, Kaitlyn's life spirals toward a reunion in the one place she’d hoped to never visit again: The Shallows. Isn’t her secret buried with the dead?
     
    PRAISE FOR DEAD AIR
     
    “Want to go behind-the-scenes in the fascinating world of radio? Dead Air is steeped in authenticity thanks to Bradley’s impressive career in the field. Add in flawed, complicated characters, an eerie setting, and a jaw-dropping finale, and you have an unputdownable thriller. Gripping, a brilliantly crafted novel!” —K.J. Howe, international bestselling author of Skyjack
     
    "In his newest page-turner Dead Air, Michael Bradley will cast you to the shallows, yank you to the murkiest depths of the human psyche, and won't let you up for a single breath until the final page." —Sandra Brannan, author of the Liv Bergen Mystery Series
     
    "In Dead Air, author Michael Bradly puts his unique spin on the stalker-victim story, thanks to a rich cast of characters, a serial killer subplot, and the author's inside knowledge of the radio DJ world. Everyone's a suspect in this murderous game of musical chairs, and Bradley deftly keeps you guessing until the final note sounds. Tune in. Dead Air rocks." —J.L. Delozier, author of Con Me Once and the Persephone Smith thriller series
     
    “In Michael Bradley's Dead Air, we meet Kaitlyn Ashe, a successful and well-known radio personality in Philadelphia. Kaitlyn's got the perfect life: a devoted boyfriend, great career, and a beautiful home. The future looks bright until someone begins stalking her, threatening to unearth deadly secrets that from Kaitlyn's past that she's vowed to keep hidden until her death bed. As the stalker becomes bolder, Kaitlyn has no choice but to involve the police, giving them only part of the story about her dark past. In Bradley's thriller, the pages practically turn themselves. Dead Air is an excellent read; well-written, absorbing and filled with shocking twists. Just when you think you know where this story is going, all hell breaks loose, and Bradley expertly veers the reader onto a new and exciting path. With surprises around every corner, this book will keep you up all night until you reach its stunning conclusion. Don't miss this one!” —Lisa Regan, USA Today and Wall Street Journal bestselling crime fiction author
     
    “Just when you think you get a handle on what’s going on, another layer of the story is peeled away and you realize you have NO IDEA.” —A. S. THORNTON, author of Daughter of the Salt King“In Michael Bradley’s captivating thriller Dead Air, a radio DJ’s spotty past catches up to her . . . an exciting mystery whose flawed leads struggle to make the right decisions.” —Foreword Reviews 
    Show book