Reading without limits, the perfect plan for #stayhome
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Girl Goes Deep - Paige Turner Affair #2 - cover

The Girl Goes Deep - Paige Turner Affair #2

Mark S. R. Sterling

Publisher: Mark S. R. Sterling

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Spoiler Alert – If you have not read The Girl In The Riv the following description of this book will be a spoiler for that book. 
Paige Turner’s life as an undercover prostitute is dizzying as she navigates the criminal underbelly of the adult playground – Las Vegas.  However, it is when she is tasked to infiltrate a terrorist sleeper cell that things really get weird.   Torn between the terrorist and the Israeli agents following them, Paige struggles to hold her true allegiance to the US agency that employs her. 
 
Deep undercover Paige has lost contact with her own agency when she is swept into a murder plot.   Struggling to keep her cover intact she she learns of the true unimaginable motive for the murder.   Refusing to accept the inevitability she risks everything when she races across the Arizona desert in a plot to stop the terrorist. 
Excerpt from the story: 
“Now, one more thing,” the man now identified as David says.  “When last we spoke you said you are a prostitute – for real.” 
He waits and finally I say, “Yes.” 
 
“We are freshly arrived in town and lonely.”  From his pants pocket he withdraws a wad of bills and puts them on the table.  Shit, this is exactly why Jackson follows me around!  While I occasionally had sex to keep my cover, I strove to avoid it.  
 
“Sorry, I’m finished for the night.  I can give you some phone numbers…” 
Mr. Heterochromia chuckles and David interrupts with, “No, that won’t do.  Let me be a bit more specific.”  He taps the back of my hand as it holds the wine glass. 
I look down at the fat stack of bills and back into his eyes, “What?” 
He makes a nod towards his shoulder and I see a hitherto unnoticed third man in a black pinstripe suite standing by the wall.  He is much younger – younger than me – and not paying direct attention to us but rather he is their lookout.  “My young assistant, Michael, is getting married soon.”  He pauses but I refuse to give him another segue.  Finally, he continues, “He is a virgin, but his betrothed is not.  She does not know this – know that he is so inexperienced.  It appears that he lied to her and now he is afraid that he will…embarrass himself on his wedding night.  He is afraid that he will be unable to…please her.”  He puts a hotel room key card on top of the money and pushes it towards me.  “Room 823.  It would greatly please me if you could show him some…pointers.” 
“You have GOT to be kidding!” I say with genuine astonishment. 
“No,” he flatly states. 
I stand up and look first at the youthful Michael and then I look back at David before asking, “Honest to God, you are telling me the truth?”  This was carefully chosen wording as it was my invocation of God that caused them to cease their torture of me.  I sling my purse back over my shoulder. 
“Yes,” he emphatically responds. 
I look at Michael again and this time he is looking at me.  He is rather attractive.  Mr. Heterochromia chuckles.  I sigh and chug down the last of my wine.  Putting the glass on the table I pick up the room key and softly say, “Keep the money.  Wait ten minutes and then send him up with another glass of wine.” 
Intent on keeping my prostitution cover, I turn and head back toward the elevators thinking that Jackson would have wanted me to take the money. 
 

Other books that might interest you

  • Cherringham - Playing Dead - A Cosy Crime Series - cover

    Cherringham - Playing Dead - A...

    Matthew Costello, Neil Richards

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    When Cherringham Drama Society invite a local TV celebrity to direct their Christmas show, they get more publicity than they bargained for. Someone's out to sabotage the event, and rehearsals spin into chaos. Jack and Sarah are asked to investigate and soon discover that there's a darker mystery taking place behind the scenes ... 
    
    Cherringham is a serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new mystery thriller released each month. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. Each of the 12 self-contained episodes is a quick read for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa. 
    
    For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's The Cat Who series, Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders, and the American TV series Murder She Wrote, starring Angela Lansbury. 
    
    Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), have been writing together since the mid 90’s, creating content and working on projects for the BBC, Disney Channel, Sony, ABC, Eidos, and Nintendo to name but a few.  Their transatlantic collaboration has underpinned scores of TV drama scripts, computer games, radio shows, and - most recently - the successful crime fiction series Cherringham. Now into its second season of 12 novellas, Cherringham is popular around the world and has been adapted as a series of audiobooks in English and German.
    Show book
  • The Indigo Ghosts - cover

    The Indigo Ghosts

    Alys Clare

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In this gripping forensic mystery set in Stuart England, Gabriel Taverner uncovers a series of shocking secrets when he's summoned by his former naval captain to investigate strange goings-on aboard his ship.
    
    October, 1604. Former ship's surgeon turned country physician Gabriel Taverner is surprised to receive an urgent summons from his old naval captain. Now docked in Plymouth harbour, having recently returned from the Caribbean, Captain Colt believes his ship is haunted by an evil spirit, and has asked Gabriel to investigate.
    
    Dismissive of the crew's wild talk of mysterious blue-skinned ghosts, Gabriel is convinced there must be a rational explanation behind the mass hallucinations. But matters take a disturbing turn when he and the captain discover a body hidden behind one of the bulkheads. Calling on the help of his old friend, Coroner Theophilus Davey, piece by piece Gabriel uncovers a terrifying tale of treachery, dark magic, unimaginable cruelty – and cold-blooded murder.
    Show book
  • The Aberrationists - cover

    The Aberrationists

    Ray O’Meara

    • 2
    • 4
    • 0
    High school senior Will Kendrick always saw himself as perfectly average in every way. However, a series of disturbing dreams and a visit from an old acquaintance of his parents changes everything he thought he knew about himself. Ripped from the safety of his suburban home by a stranger, Brandt, Will is thrust into an adventure that will reveal his own hidden past, dark family ties, and a world-threatening darkness that only he can stop.Brandt informs Will not only that the Kendricks are not his birthparents—that Will’s bloodline carries what is known as the Aberration: an ancient demonic strain that gives him superhuman abilities. Brandt and an organization known as the Collective plot to use Will as a weapon against the man who killed his birthparents, Desmond Duquesne. On his journey to confront Duquesne in Boston, Will encounters other “Aberrationists”who have incredible abilities—and agendas—of their own, including the powerful but absent-minded Francis Whitworth, the amoral mind reader Mr. Wisp, and the unstable assassin Candace, who has an ironic fondness for raising the dead.
    Show book
  • Closing Time - A Stonechild and Rouleau Mystery - cover

    Closing Time - A Stonechild and...

    Brenda Chapman

    • 0
    • 14
    • 0
    Secrets abound at a northern Ontario lodge when a teenage employee is murdered. 
     
    
    
    It’s late summer and a restless Officer Kala Stonechild has taken her foster niece, Dawn, on a canoe trip at Pine Hollow Lodge in the wilderness north of Sault Ste. Marie. But the getaway turns deadly when a teenage girl goes missing on her way home from an evening shift at the lodge’s restaurant. 
     
    
    
    After the girl’s body is found between the lodge and the nearby town of Searchmont, Stonechild reluctantly agrees to help with the investigation. She’s teamed with Clark Harrison, an officer she worked with during her last posting in northwestern Ontario. As the investigation heats up, Stonechild’s past threatens the close bonds she’s forged back home. Will she return to her life in Kingston, or will the rekindling of an old relationship lure her away for good?
    Show book
  • The Red Door - An Inspector Ian Rutledge Mystery - cover

    The Red Door - An Inspector Ian...

    Charles Todd

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    “One of the best historical series being written today.”—Washington Post Book World The accolades keep pouring in for Charles Todd and his New York Times Notable, Edgar® Award-nominated series featuring British police inspector and shell-shocked World War I veteran Ian Rutledge. In The Red Door, a disturbing puzzle surrounding a lie, a disappearance, and a woman’s death ensnares the haunted investigator. Richly atmospheric and unputdownable, The Red Door proves once more that New York Times bestseller Charles Todd belongs in the august company of Ruth Rendell, Anne Perry, Martha Grimes, Ian Ransom, Peter Robinson, P.D. James, and the other contemporary masters of British mystery.
    Show book
  • A Circle of Dead Girls - cover

    A Circle of Dead Girls

    Eleanor Kuhns

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A circus arrives in Durham in the 1790s and the whole town is excited… until the body of a Shaker girl is found beaten.
    1790s. The circus has arrived in Durham, Maine. Before weaver Will Rees is able to take in its spectacle, he spots Magistrate Hanson – the man he blames for his family’s having to flee Dugard two years earlier.
    On his journey home he encounters Shaker brothers searching for a girl from their Zion community. Despite women not being allowed inside the circus, Leah had snuck out to visit it. They quickly come across her lifeless body beaten and thrown into a farmer’s field on the road leading to the circus.
    Bored of his household chores, Rees begins investigating at the expense of his home life. He becomes entranced by the lives of the circus performers, including the charismatic horse rider and tightrope walker. Is his longing for his old journeyman’s life causing him to take his eye off the case, and can he stay out of Hanson’s way and keep his family safe?
    Show book