Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Space Detectives: Extra Weird Creatures - cover

Space Detectives: Extra Weird Creatures

Mark Powers

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children's Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

'Immensely, cheerily silly' Guardian 
'A thunderously good read, so funny and action packed. Children are going to love it!' Serena Patel, author of ANISHA, ACCIDENTAL DETECTIVE 
 
Grown an extra head and don't know why? You need the Space Detectives! 
 
Connor and Ethan are bamboozled when Starville, the space station where they live, is overrun with cosmic chaos! Boys have two heads, dogs have three tails and even aliens who normally have six arms are growing extra ones!  
What is going on? Can Connor and Ethan get to the bottom of this intergalactic mystery? 
   
Featuring: a piano-playing pig, zooming hover-scooters and astronomically scrumptious Snorgleberry tarts

Other books that might interest you

  • Girl from Nowhere - cover

    Girl from Nowhere

    Tiffany Rosenhan

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    "A fast-paced spy thriller with enough twists and turns to keep readers entertained." - Publishers Weekly 
     
    Red Sparrow meets One of Us Is Lying in this action-packed, romance-filled YA debut about a girl trying to outrun her past. 
     
    Ninety-four countries. Thirty-one schools. Two bullets. Now it's over . . . or so she thinks. 
     
    Sophia Hepworth has spent her life all over the world--moving quickly, never staying in one place for too long. She knows to always look over her shoulder, to be able to fight to survive at a moment's notice. She has trained to be ready for anything. 
     
    Except this. Suddenly it's over. Now Sophia is expected to attend high school in a sleepy Montana town. She is told to forget the past, but she's haunted by it. As hard as she tries to be like her new friends and live a normal life, she can't shake the feeling that this new normal won't last. 
     
    Then comes strong and silent Aksel, whose skills match Sophia's, and who seems to know more about her than he's letting on . . .  
     
    What if everything Sophia thought she knew about her past is a lie? 
     
    Cinematic and breathtaking, Tiffany Rosenhan's debut stars a fierce heroine who will risk everything to save the life she has built for herself.
    Show book
  • Outlaws - cover

    Outlaws

    Jen Calonita

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    WANTED: ROYAL ACADEMY OUTLAWS
     
    Things are not looking great for Princess Devin Nile. In the past 24 hours, she and her four best friends have gotten kicked out of school, banished to the Hollow Woods, and declared as outlaws. (That's what happens when you accuse the Headmistress of Royal Academy of being in league with villains.) But Devin's not about to go down without a fight. Step one? Find the famous Red Riding Hood and her vigilante friends for backup. Step two? Come up with a plan to expose the truth about Headmistress Olivina to all of Enchantasia...or risk their homeland falling under villainous rule.
     
    No pressure, right?
    Show book
  • Being Toffee - cover

    Being Toffee

    Sarah Crossan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    I am not who I say I am,  
     and Marla isn't who she thinks she is. 
      
     I am a girl trying to forget.  
     She is a woman trying to remember.  
      
     Allison has run away from home and with nowhere to live finds herself hiding out in the shed of what she thinks is an abandoned house. But the house isn't empty. An elderly woman named Marla, with dementia, lives there – and she mistakes Allison for an old friend from her past named Toffee. 
      
     Allison is used to hiding who she really is, and trying to be what other people want her to be. And so, Toffee is who she becomes. After all, it means she has a place to stay. There are worse places she could be. 
      
     But as their bond grows, and Allison discovers how much Marla needs a real friend, she begins to ask herself - where is home? What is a family? And most importantly, who is she, really?
    Show book
  • Never Look Back - cover

    Never Look Back

    Lilliam Rivera

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    "Expertly blends reality and fantasy to explore what's behind love and loss, what it takes to heal." - Randy Ribay, author of National Book Award finalist Patron Saints of Nothing 
     
    Acclaimed author Lilliam  Rivera blends a touch of magical realism into a timely story about cultural identity, overcoming trauma, and the power of first love. 
     
    Eury comes to the Bronx as a girl haunted. Haunted by losing everything in Hurricane Maria--and by an evil spirit, Ato. She fully expects the tragedy that befell her and her family in Puerto Rico to catch up with her in New York. Yet, for a time, she can almost set this fear aside, because there's this boy . . . 
      
    Pheus is a golden-voiced, bachata-singing charmer, ready to spend the summer on the beach with his friends, serenading his on-again, off-again flame. That changes when he meets Eury. All he wants is to put a smile on her face and fight off her demons. But some dangers are too powerful for even the strongest love, and as the world threatens to tear them apart, Eury and Pheus must fight for each other and their lives. 
     
    Featuring contemporary Afro-Latinx characters, this retelling of the Greek myth Orpheus and Eurydice is perfect for fans of Ibi Zoboi's Pride and Daniel José Older's Shadowshaper. 
     
    A Pura Belpré Honor winner!
    Show book
  • At First Blush - cover

    At First Blush

    Beth Ellyn Summer

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Finding the perfect lip gloss? Easy.  
    Finding your way in the world? A whole lot harder . . . 
     
    Who would have thought that a teenager could have a successful career creating makeup tutorial videos on YouTube? For Lacey Robbins, this dream has been her reality. An up-and-coming YouTuber, she has thousands of fans and can't wait for the day when her subscriber count reaches the one million mark. And when she is offered a high school internship at On Trend Magazine, she figures that this could be the make it or break it moment. 
     
    But sometimes your dream job isn't all that it seems.  Her editor is only interested in promoting junk products, and her boss in the Hair and Makeup department introduces her to the larger world of makeup artistry, making her wonder if making tutorials online is all she is meant to do.  To top it all off, when the magazine's feature subject, musician Tyler Lance, turns his broodingly handsome smile her way, falling for him could mean losing her fans, forcing her to make a decision: her YouTube life or her real life? 
     
    Fans of Zoella's Girl Online will fall right into the world of this YA The Devil Wears Prada and stay hooked from the first blush to the last glossy kiss.
    Show book
  • A Midsummer Night's Dork - cover

    A Midsummer Night's Dork

    Carol Gorman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    While preparing for his school’s Shakespeare fundraiser, dorky Jerry Flack goes head to head with the school bullyJerry Flack’s first order of business as the new sixth-grade class president? Raising money to help make Hawthorne Middle School the coolest, starting with an Elizabethan fundraising festival to coincide with the class reading of Shakespeare’s A Midsummer Night’s Dream. There’s just one problem: As class president, Jerry is going to have to make a speech in front of everybody to kick off the event. What’s worse, class bully Craig Fox will see to it that Jerry embarrasses himself during his big moment. What’s a dorky class president to do?With a lot of hard work and a little bit of help from his best friends, Jerry is determined to make this event a success. Can he rise to the occasion and show Craig that the school’s biggest dork can organize the coolest Shakespeare festival ever?
    Show book