Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Headless Horseman of Sleepy Hollow - cover

The Headless Horseman of Sleepy Hollow

Mark Latham

Publisher: Osprey Publishing

  • 1
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

The legend of Sleepy Hollow is one of the great tales of American folklore, supposedly stemming from Washington Irving's famous short story. But what if there was more to the ghostly fable than meets the eye? What if Irving's account was based on fact? And what if the Headless Horseman of Sleepy Hollow was not unique, but merely one of a strange line of malevolent spirits sighted across the world, bringing misfortune to all that witness them? Within this book you will find long-forgotten lore about the headless spirits that have plagued mankind for centuries, and perhaps even now seek ingress into our world. The Headless Horseman, and others like him, is at large in the dark places of the world, and should one encounter such a revenant, it is said that tragedy will surely follow…

Other books that might interest you

  • Poughkeepsie Shuffle - A Crime Novel - cover

    Poughkeepsie Shuffle - A Crime...

    Dietrich Kalteis

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Jeff Nichols — a man strong of conviction but weak of character — is fresh out of the Don Jail, looking for work — any kind of work — and a way back into Ann Ryan’s good graces. She waited for his return from prison but is quickly running short on patience. An ex-inmate and friend gets Jeff a job at Ted Bracey’s used car lot, selling cars for commission only. But it’s not enough to keep him and Ann afloat in mid-80s Toronto, and the lure of easy money soon gets Jeff involved in smuggling guns from upstate New York. With that sweet Poughkeepsie cash, now he can keep his promises to Ann; he even buys them a house, but conceals the source of the money. As Jeff gets in deeper and deeper, everyone around him learns how many rules he’s willing to bend and just how far he’ll go to get on the fast track to riches. That he’s a guy who doesn’t let lessons from past mistakes get in the way of a good score.
    Show book
  • Deadlock - cover

    Deadlock

    Graham Ison

    • 3
    • 7
    • 0
    Detective Chef Inspector Harry Brock is called to Richmond Park in south-west London, where the body of a young woman has been found, and further bodies follow. With the help of Detective Superintendent Dave Poole and the rest of his team, it’s not long before Harry uncovers a dark web of lies, betrayal, desire and deceit . . .
    Show book
  • Tears of Angels The - A Scottish police procedural - cover

    Tears of Angels The - A Scottish...

    Caro Ramsay

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Past crimes cause new murder in this tense and twisting psychological thriller
    
    A few days before the summer solstice a 92-year-old woman is found burned to death in her home. On the same day, a man’s mutilated corpse is discovered in a field, his arms ripped from their sockets, a Tarot card depicting The Fool inserted in his mouth.
    
    When the victim is identified as someone for whom the police have been looking for almost a year, detectives Anderson and Costello find themselves caught up in a case where nothing is as it seems. Was the dead man really responsible for three child murders? And what is the connection with the death of the elderly woman?
    
    The investigation leads to the tranquil shores of Loch Lomond where Anderson and Costello will finally uncover the shocking truth.
    Show book
  • Eldorado - cover

    Eldorado

    Baroness Orczy

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Armand St Just, his beautiful sister Marguerite and her husband Sir Percy Blakeney are once again caught up in the turmoil of revolutionary France. And adventurer Baron de Batz enters the story. It is 1794 and Paris, despite the horrors that had stained her walls, had remained a city of pleasure, with the knife of the guillotine dropping less frequently. But this could change ....
    Show book
  • The Quiet American - cover

    The Quiet American

    Graham Greene

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    A “masterful . . . brilliantly constructed novel” of love and chaos in 1950s Vietnam (Zadie Smith, The Guardian).   It’s 1955 and British journalist Thomas Fowler has been in Vietnam for two years covering the insurgency against French colonial rule. But it’s not just a political tangle that’s kept him tethered to the country. There’s also his lover, Phuong, a young Vietnamese woman who clings to Fowler for protection. Then comes Alden Pyle, an idealistic American working in service of the CIA. Devotedly, disastrously patriotic, he believes neither communism nor colonialism is what’s best for Southeast Asia, but rather a “Third Force”: American democracy by any means necessary. His ideas of conquest include Phuong, to whom he promises a sweet life in the states. But as Pyle’s blind moral conviction wreaks havoc upon innocent lives, it’s ultimately his romantic compulsions that will play a role in his own undoing.   Although criticized upon publication as anti-American, Graham Greene’s “complex but compelling story of intrigue and counter-intrigue” would, in a few short years, prove prescient in its own condemnation of American interventionism (The New York Times).    
    Show book
  • Shadow of a Dark Queen - cover

    Shadow of a Dark Queen

    Raymond E. Feist

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    “An epic reading experience.”—San Diego Union-Tribune Acclaimed, New York Times bestselling fantasist Raymond E. Feist gets his masterful Serpentwar Saga off to a spectacular start with Shadow of a Dark Queen. Feist’s classic epic fantasy adventure returns readers to ever-imperiled Midkemia, a breathtaking, richly imagined realm of magic and intrigue, where two unlikely heroes must rally the forces of the land to stand firm against a malevolent race of monsters intent upon conquest and annihilation. Locus magazine calls Shadow of a Dark Queen, “the place to start for those yet to discover Feist’s fantasy worlds.” For fans of Terry Goodkind, George R. R. Martin, and Terry Brooks—and for anyone not already in the  thrall of this astonishing author’s literary magic—that is excellent advice indeed.
    Show book