Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Blown - cover

Blown

Mark Haskell Smith

Publisher: Black Cat

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Hailed as “the slightly more well-adjusted offspring of Hunter S. Thompson and James Ellroy” (Los Angeles Times), Mark Haskell Smith returns with a wildly entertaining satire of corporate greed, sexual desire, and crime in the global financial services industry.



Bryan LeBlanc worked his way up into a plum position on Wall Street as the boy genius of the foreign exchange desk. Surrounded by acolytes of the free market, the true believers, the U.S. Marines of capitalism—“the few, the proud, the completely full of themselves”—Bryan soon realizes that being honest at a dishonest job is not the path to success.  He decides to give Wall Street a taste of its own medicine and hatches an intricate plan to disappear permanently with just enough misappropriated money—and sailing classes—to spend his golden years cruising the Caribbean.



Bryan quickly learns that being a criminal, even a really smart one, is more complicated than he thought.  He finds himself on the run in the Cayman Islands, wanted for murder. On his trail is an irresponsible team of investigators sent by his Wall Street firm, hellbent on reclaiming the millions before their clients notice its missing: his boss, Seo-yun Kim, who’s committed to not only clearing her name but escaping her suffocating fiancé and their pending nuptials; the investment bank’s collections agent, Neal Nathanson, depressed over a recent break-up with his boyfriend; and an ex-cop from Curaçao, Piet Room, who has traded in his badge for spouse spying as a private investigator. Their efforts are complicated by an Australian sailor begrudgingly circumnavigating the globe to fundraise for breast cancer awareness.



Wickedly funny, ribald, and sharp-eyed, BLOWN starts as a simple case of embezzlement and explodes into a fatal high-stakes gamble for money and the pursuit of happiness.

Other books that might interest you

  • Maggie on the Bounty - Maggie MacKay: Magical Tracker #3 - cover

    Maggie on the Bounty - Maggie...

    Kate Danley

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    New business partners, Maggie and Killian, are looking forward to their next job:  finding out why all the ghosts are disappearing from the Empress Adelaide, a turn of the century cruise ship which shuttled Hollywood's finest across the Atlantic Ocean during the golden age of movies.  
    But Maggie and Killian find themselves trapped in the past, caught in a time rift with only a ghost of a chance of escaping.  This ain't no pleasure cruise. 
    WARNING: This book contains cussing, brawling, and unladylike behavior.  Proceed with caution.
    Show book
  • The Art of War - cover

    The Art of War

    Sun Tzu, Silver Deer Classics

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The Art of War is a Chinese military treatise that was written during the 6th century BC by Sun Tzu. Composed of 13 chapters, each of which is devoted to one aspect of warfare, it has long been praised as the definitive work on military strategies and tactics of its time.
    
    The Art of War is one of the oldest books on military strategy in the world. It is the first and one of the most successful works on strategy and has had a huge influence on Eastern and Western military thinking, business tactics, and beyond. Sun Tzu was the first to recognize the importance of positioning in strategy and that position is affected both by objective conditions in the physical environment and the subjective opinions of competitive actors in that environment. He taught that strategy was not planning in the sense of working through a to-do list, but rather that it requires quick and appropriate responses to changing conditions. Planning works in a controlled environment, but in a competitive environment,
    Show book
  • The Spirit of Krampus - Illustrated - cover

    The Spirit of Krampus - Illustrated

    Kate Danley

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A NEW ILLUSTRATED VERSION FEATURING THE WORK OF ABIGAIL LARSON
     
    
    	December 24th has come again. What a time to get into the holiday mood! But this year, it's the spirit of Krampus, not the spirit of Christmas, that has infected adults across the globe.
     
    
    	It is up to young Skip to track down Santa Claus and set things right in a dark, dystopian world gone mad.
     
    
    	 
    Show book
  • My Maggie Valentine - Maggie MacKay: Holiday Special #3 - cover

    My Maggie Valentine - Maggie...

    Kate Danley

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Valentine's Day is terrible.  Especially when you're Maggie MacKay and tasked with chaperoning the local high school Valentine's dance.  Join Maggie and Killian on a holiday, short story adventure.  Sometimes you wrestle with demons.  And sometimes they just want to cuddle...
    Show book
  • First Love and Other Sorrows - Stories - cover

    First Love and Other Sorrows -...

    Harold Brodkey

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    In the vein of John Cheever and J. D. Salinger, this powerful collection of short stories chronicles the loss of innocence, the harsh cruelty of social distinctions, and the anguish of young loveFirst Love and Other Sorrows is the hauntingly beautiful debut collection of short stories from American master Harold Brodkey. Written when the author was in his twenties, these strong, affecting tales recall the intoxicating joy of young, springtime love, while lamenting the betrayal of dreams and false ideals in the glaring light of reality. Set in the Midwest during the 1950s, First Love and Other Sorrows centers around a Jewish family that has recently lost its patriarch—and with him the world of privilege.  Through the eyes of a son, a sister, and a mother—each one struggling to find a foothold in both family and society—these stories explore class prejudice, obsessive love, and the tragic foibles and emotional truths of being human. First Love and Other Sorrows is masterful fiction from an extraordinary literary artist.
    Show book
  • The Sonja Blue Novels Books 1–4 - Sunglasses After Dark In the Blood Paint It Black and A Dozen Black Roses - cover

    The Sonja Blue Novels Books 1–4...

    Nancy A. Collins

    • 2
    • 5
    • 0
    Four novels of the punk vampire hunter from the Bram Stoker Award–winning author and “most original voice in the world of vampire fiction since Anne Rice” (Film Threat).   Saved by modern medicine before she could die, Sonja Blue is a living vampire who still possesses a soul and is determined to hunt down creatures that prey on the innocent, while searching for the vampire lord who created her.  Sunglasses After Dark: As Sonja investigates a sleazy televangelist named Catherine Wheele, she finds herself up against a powerful inhuman adversary. Her greatest foe remains the Other, the demonic personality with whom she is locked in a constant battle for control of their shared body. Can Sonja overcome her inner demon in time to rescue an innocent man from Catherine Wheele’s unholy clutches?  In the Blood: As Sonja continues to take out her rage on demonic blood-drinkers, her hunt is attracting attention: Morgan, the vampire lord who remade her twenty years ago, wants to bring his beloved daughter to heel. At the same time, Sonja has found her existence entwined with that of a mortal—a psychic detective. Is love possible for someone like her?  Paint It Black: Following a self-destructive affair in New Orleans, the Other, Sonja’s demonic alter ego, is stronger than ever. And when Sonja learns that Morgan may be behind a string of murders in New York City, she heads straight for a face-to-face showdown.  A Dozen Black Roses: A city within a city where the undead roam free, Deadtown is dangerous for humans and vampires alike. As a gang war rages between the old guard and the new, Deadtown’s innocents are caught in the crossfire. Only Sonja Blue can save them. To see justice done, she will play both ends against the middle to save Deadtown—or else burn it to the ground.   Award-winning author Nancy A. Collins’s punk vampire series helped give rise to the urban fantasy genre and her “bone-colored, blood-smeared star—for she is certainly a star—stands bright and hot at the pinnacle of the horror heap” (Joe R. Lansdale).
    Show book