Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Blown - cover

Blown

Mark Haskell Smith

Publisher: Black Cat

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Hailed as “the slightly more well-adjusted offspring of Hunter S. Thompson and James Ellroy” (Los Angeles Times), Mark Haskell Smith returns with a wildly entertaining satire of corporate greed, sexual desire, and crime in the global financial services industry.



Bryan LeBlanc worked his way up into a plum position on Wall Street as the boy genius of the foreign exchange desk. Surrounded by acolytes of the free market, the true believers, the U.S. Marines of capitalism—“the few, the proud, the completely full of themselves”—Bryan soon realizes that being honest at a dishonest job is not the path to success.  He decides to give Wall Street a taste of its own medicine and hatches an intricate plan to disappear permanently with just enough misappropriated money—and sailing classes—to spend his golden years cruising the Caribbean.



Bryan quickly learns that being a criminal, even a really smart one, is more complicated than he thought.  He finds himself on the run in the Cayman Islands, wanted for murder. On his trail is an irresponsible team of investigators sent by his Wall Street firm, hellbent on reclaiming the millions before their clients notice its missing: his boss, Seo-yun Kim, who’s committed to not only clearing her name but escaping her suffocating fiancé and their pending nuptials; the investment bank’s collections agent, Neal Nathanson, depressed over a recent break-up with his boyfriend; and an ex-cop from Curaçao, Piet Room, who has traded in his badge for spouse spying as a private investigator. Their efforts are complicated by an Australian sailor begrudgingly circumnavigating the globe to fundraise for breast cancer awareness.



Wickedly funny, ribald, and sharp-eyed, BLOWN starts as a simple case of embezzlement and explodes into a fatal high-stakes gamble for money and the pursuit of happiness.

Other books that might interest you

  • Cherringham - Episode 1 - 3 - A Cosy Crime Series Compilation - cover

    Cherringham - Episode 1 - 3 - A...

    Matthew Costello, Neil Richards

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    Jack's a retired ex-cop from New York, seeking the simple life in Cherringham. Sarah's a Web designer who's moved back to the village find herself. But their lives are anything but quiet as the two team up to solve Cherringham's criminal mysteries. 
    
    This compilation contains episodes 1 - 3: MURDER ON THAMES, MYSTERY AT THE MANOR and MURDER BY MOONLIGHT. Here Jack and Sarah investigate a suicide in the River Thames - or was it murder? They investigate an "accidental" fire with deadly consequences, and they nab the culprit behind the Rotary Club choir poisoning. 
    
    Cherringham is a serial novel à la Charles Dickens, with a new mystery thriller released each month. Set in the sleepy English village of Cherringham, the detective series brings together an unlikely sleuthing duo: English web designer Sarah and American ex-cop Jack. Thrilling and deadly - but with a spot of tea - it's like Rosamunde Pilcher meets Inspector Barnaby. Each of the self-contained episodes is a quick read for the morning commute, while waiting for the doctor, or when curling up with a hot cuppa. 
    
    For fans of Agatha Christie's Miss Marple series, Lilian Jackson Braun's The Cat Who series, Caroline Graham's Midsomer Murders, and the American TV series Murder She Wrote, starring Angela Lansbury. 
    
    Co-authors Neil Richards (based in the UK) and Matthew Costello (based in the US), are known for their script work on major computer games. The Cherringham crime series is their first fictional transatlantic collaboration.
    
    +++ "A clever twist, which you might - or might not - have spotted." Bookbag
    
    +++ "Comparisons with 'Midsomer Murders' [...] are inevitable, but 'Cherringham' comes out on top when it comes to originality and - probably most crucially - the avoidance of irritating stereotypes." Killing Time Crime
    
    +++ "Sarah and Jack make an interesting combination. [...] The perfect partnership, which I can't wait to see develop over the next 11 episodes." Shaz's Book Blog
    Show book
  • A Quick Bite - cover

    A Quick Bite

    Lynsay Sands

    • 8
    • 25
    • 0
    That hot guy tied to Lissianna Argeneau's bed? He's not dessert—he's the main course! 
    Lissianna has been spending her centuries pining for Mr. Right, not just a quick snack, and this sexy guy she finds in her bed looks like he might be a candidate. But there's another, more pressing issue: her tendency to faint at the sight of blood . . . an especially annoying quirk for a vampire. Of course it doesn't hurt that this man has a delicious-looking neck. What kind of cold-blooded vampire woman could resist a bite of that? 
    Dr. Gregory Hewitt recovers from the shock of waking up in a stranger's bedroom pretty quickly—once he sees a gorgeous woman about to treat him to a wild night of passion. But is it possible for the good doctor to find true love with a vampire vixen, or will he be just a good meal? That's a question Dr. Greg might be willing to sink his teeth into . . . if he can just get Lissianna to bite.
    Show book
  • Paranormal Shifter Romance Sons of the Oracle Box Set BBW Dragon Shifter Paranormal Romance - cover

    Paranormal Shifter Romance Sons...

    Diane Hills

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    5 HOT and SEXY Dragon Romances At The Incredible Price Of $0.99 For A Limited Time! 
    Watched Over by Dragons 
    Ruled Over by Dragons 
    Fought Over by Dragons 
    Lusted Over by Dragons 
    The Dragons' Daughter 
    For fans of Milly Taiden and T.S. Joyce stories! 
    Each book in the Sons of the Oracle series can be read as a standalone and has a guaranteed HEA, no cliffhanger!
    Show book
  • Mr Apology - cover

    Mr Apology

    Campbell Armstrong

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In international bestselling author Campbell Armstrong’s tense, sophisticated thriller, an art project gone wrong draws a painter into the world of a serial killer All around himself, Harrison sees New York City sinking into chaos. Graffiti, robbery, murder, and rape fill the news—crimes committed by desperate people who saw no other option than to hurt someone. As a human being, Harrison is sickened by it. As an artist, he sees an opportunity. After years of getting no recognition for his painting, Harrison is about to quit making art when he has the idea for the Mr. Apology hotline. He posts handbills asking criminals to call in and confess their crimes—anonymously, of course—so he can turn their guilt into his art. But what starts as a clever idea soon takes a deadly turn.   When a man calls in to say he’s planning on killing someone, Harrison isn’t sure whether to believe it. But when a killing spree grips the city, this starving artist has no doubt that the final target will be Mr. Apology himself.
    Show book
  • Oracle of Nightmares - Paranormal Huntress Series #5 - cover

    Oracle of Nightmares -...

    W.J. May

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    USA Today Bestselling author, W.J. May, brings you to a new level of fantasy. Fans of Underworld and paranormal worlds will love this story! 
    "The wise learn many things from their enemies."     
    The visions are becoming worse. Stronger. The world is about to change. And there's nothing I can do. 
    My name is Atlanta Skolar, and my journey began a year ago. I lost everything protecting my home from an evil that I did not understand, and even though we survived I have more questions than answers. 
    Answers I hope to find across the ocean, in a land where the old ways still rule, and the Druids reign supreme. My only family is my brother, and he's missing, racing across Europe, hiding. All I have is a message from a vision. 
    Find him, before it's too late. 
    But I'm scared of what I might find. Because even though the Old World is gone, the evil that had once consumed it still lives. The Darkness. The end of all. Trapped behind a veil. 
    And someone—or something—is trying to set it free. 
    SERIES: 
    Never Look Back 
    Coven Master 
    Alpha's Permission 
    Blood Bonding 
    Oracle of Nightmares 
    Shadows in the Night
    Show book
  • Carmilla - cover

    Carmilla

    Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The gothic story is narrated by a young woman Laura preyed upon by a female vampire named Carmilla, later revealed to be Mircalla, Countess Karnstein. Laura lives in a picturesque and solitary castle amid an extensive forest in Styria. Her father is a wealthy English widower retired from service to the Austrian Empire.
    Show book