Subscribe and enjoy more than 1 million books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
The Baltimore Book of the Dead - cover

The Baltimore Book of the Dead

Marion Winik

Publisher: Counterpoint

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Author is a prolific and well-connected literary critic; formerly an NPR All Things Considered commentator, Winik is an NBCC board member and reviews for People magazine, among many other prestigious media outlets. She has appeared on television including the Today Show and Oprah, and is a confident speaker with many contacts
For fans of Abigail Thomas' SAFEKEEPING, Jeannie Vanasco's THE GLASS EYE, or Maggie Nelson's JANE: A MURDER
The Baltimore Book of the Dead is a sequel, or a companion volume to The Glen Rock Book of the Dead (which Counterpoint published in 2009). The books contain brief portraits of people Winik knew, or somehow crossed paths with, who have died. The Baltimore Book of the Dead builds on the themes from the first book, and differs in that it focuses on a significant number of Baltimore-based portraits, and that the public events and famous dead people included will reflect the decade immediately past. It also features a substantial introductory essay on the subject of mourning and memory.
Intimacy and humor are manifest in the economy of each piece in The Baltimore Book of the Dead, none of which exceeds 400 words, each of which conjures and celebrates a life.

Praise from Librarians and Booksellers
“It is all too easy to hesitate before reading this book. After all, it is a collection of obituaries. One could be forgiven for thinking it will be too depressing, too grim. And yet it is luminous and kind, told with gentleness and understanding. People famous and unknown get the same treatment, their lives equal in their humanity and loss.” —Anton Bogomazov, Politics and Prose (Washington, DC)

Other books that might interest you

  • Vietnam: Remembrances of a War: With Commentary By Nelson DeMille - cover

    Vietnam: Remembrances of a War:...

    Chuck Mansfield

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    After viewing the 2017 PBS documentary “The Vietnam War” by Ken Burns and Lynn Novick, the author recognized that Americans hold widely varying opinions about the effects and significance of the conflict. Immediately, he anticipated an opportunity to write about an historic event of which he not only knew something but in which he had also participated. Vietnam and what transpired there for millions of Americans, both at home and “in-country,” are distant and increasingly fading memories. The content herein comes from Vietnam War veterans and others, many of whose observations have never before appeared in print, and do not necessarily focus on the Burns-Novick documentary. In addition to new commentary, the author has recycled several earlier writings about his own service in the Marines and Vietnam.
    Show book
  • A Well-Ordered Thing - Dmitrii Mendeleev and the Shadow of the Periodic Table Revised Edition - cover

    A Well-Ordered Thing - Dmitrii...

    Michael D. Gordin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Dmitrii Mendeleev (1834–1907) is a name we recognize, but perhaps only as the creator of the periodic table of elements. Generally, little else has been known about him. A Well-Ordered Thing is an authoritative biography of Mendeleev that draws a multifaceted portrait of his life for the first time. As Michael Gordin reveals, Mendeleev was not only a luminary in the history of science, he was also an astonishingly wide-ranging political and cultural figure. From his attack on Spiritualism to his failed voyage to the Arctic and his near-mythical hot-air balloon trip, this is the story of an extraordinary maverick. The ideals that shaped his work outside science also led Mendeleev to order the elements and, eventually, to engineer one of the most fascinating scientific developments of the nineteenth century.  A Well-Ordered Thing is a classic work that tells the story of one of the world’s most important minds.
    Show book
  • Conversations with Madeleine L'Engle - cover

    Conversations with Madeleine...

    Jackie C. Horne

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Conversations with Madeleine L'Engle is the first collection of interviews with the beloved children's book author best known for her 1962 Newbery Award-winning novel, A Wrinkle in Time. However, Madeleine L'Engle's accomplishments as a writer spread far beyond children's literature. Beginning her career as a literary novelist for adults, L'Engle (1918-2007) continued to write fiction for both young and old long after A Wrinkle in Time. In her sixties, she published personal memoirs and devotional texts that explored her relationship with religion. At the time of her death, L'Engle was mourned by fans of her children's books and the larger Christian community.L'Engle's books, as well as her life, were often marked by contradictions. A consummate storyteller, L'Engle carefully crafted and performed a public self-image via her interviews. Weaving through the documentable facts in these interviews are partial lies, misdirections, and wish-fulfillment fantasies. But, when read against her fictions, these "truths" can help us see L'Engle more deeply--what she wanted for herself and for her children, what she believed about good and evil, and what she thought was the right way and the wrong way to be a family--than if she had been able to articulate the truth more directly.The thirteen interviews collected here reveal an amazing feat of authorial self-fashioning, as L'Engle transformed from novelist to children's author to Christian writer and attempted to craft a public persona that would speak to each of these different audiences in meaningful, yet not painfully revealing, ways.
    Show book
  • My Kid Is an Asshole and So Is My Dog - cover

    My Kid Is an Asshole and So Is...

    Diana Stefano

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    My Kid Is an Asshole, and So Is My Dog 
    -- a comedic look at the drama of raising a teenage girl 
    I just returned from the mall after school shopping with my soon-to-be sophomore and her friend. I now understand why fathers opt to go camping, roll around in elk urine, and shit in a hole rather than go to the mall three days before school starts. As if the crowds weren't bad enough, my girl decided to wear a flannel that hung lower than her shorts, making it appear that she was walking around naked from the waist down.  
    She was flocked by sales people, who, I am sure, were calculating their commissions in their heads.  I mean, why not? Everybody wants to help the girl who arrives pant-less.  Obviously, she needs clothes. 
    We're not home half an hour and the vodka I poured for myself is only half gone when she yells down from her room, "Mom, have you seen my push up bra? Maybe we need to go back to the mall." 
    It's the moments like these where I'm convinced raising a teen is bullshit, and I wonder if we'll ever come out on the other side even speaking to one another. Pass the vodka. 
    There aren't enough warnings in the world for raising teenage girls. Although my mom swears my daughter takes after me, so it's karma. 
    Is it karma that I've got two barking dogs? It must be. Have you ever heard a shiu-tzu bark?  I have.  Over and over.  They think they're coyotes.  I swear.  And right now, they're wrestling over some stuffed animal, which is surely about to fling open, so I can pick up little beads all over the carpet while drinking my vodka.  No wait.  They stopped.  One of them had to drag its ass across the floor. Epic. 
    It's in the little moments where I earn my parenting badges—the faded stretch marks. 
    Ruff, ruff! 
    If this is my karma for being such an asshole to my mom, maybe we can get through this too. And if she pays attention in English, instead of scouting for a prom date, she can learn to write her own book—the sequel to this: My Mom Is an Asshole, but Not My Dog.
    Show book
  • This Is the Story of a Happy Marriage - cover

    This Is the Story of a Happy...

    Ann Patchett

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Blending literature and memoir, Ann Patchett, author of State of  Wonder, Run, and Bel Canto, examines her deepest commitments—to writing, family, friends, dogs, books, and her husband—creating a resonant portrait of a life in This is the Story of a Happy Marriage. 
    This Is the Story of a Happy Marriage takes us into the very real world of Ann Patchett’s life. Stretching from her childhood to the present day, from a disastrous early marriage to a later happy one, it covers a multitude of topics, including relationships with family and friends, and charts the hard work and joy of writing, and the unexpected thrill of opening a bookstore. 
    As she shares stories of the people, places, ideals, and art to which she has remained indelibly committed, Ann Patchett brings into focus the large experiences and small moments that have shaped her as a daughter, wife, and writer.
    Show book
  • The Garden of the Gods - cover

    The Garden of the Gods

    Gerald Durrell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Part of the trilogy of memoirs that inspired the television show The Durrells in Corfu: A naturalist’s adventures with animals—and humans—on a Greek island.  When his family moved to a Greek island, young naturalist Gerald Durrell was able to indulge his passion for wildlife of all sorts as he discovered the new world around him—and the creatures and people who inhabited it. Indeed, Durrell’s years growing up on Corfu would inspire the rest of his life.   In addition to his tales of wild animals, Durrell recounts stories about his even wilder family—including his widowed mother, Louisa, and elder siblings Lawrence, Leslie, and Margo—with undeniable wit and humor.   The final chapter in Durrell’s reflections on his family’s time in Greece before the start of World War II, The Garden of the Gods is a fascinating look at the childhood of a naturalist who was ahead of his time.  This ebook features an illustrated biography of Gerald Durrell including rare photos from the author’s estate.    
    Show book