Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Her Mother's Mother's Mother and Her Daughters - cover

Her Mother's Mother's Mother and Her Daughters

Maria José Silveira

Translator Eric M. B. Becker

Publisher: Open Letter

  • 2
  • 4
  • 1

Summary

Spanning 500 years of Brazilian history, Her Mother's Mother's Mother and Her Daughters chronicles a family of women, beginning in 1500 with the birth of Inaiá, daughter of a Tupiniquim warrior, and ending in 2001 with Inaiá's distant descendent, Maria Flor. As each new daughter takes the place of her mother, and the mothers before her, Maria José Silveira's captivating, cinematic prose takes us through the formation of the country itself, as well as through the roles, customs, challenges, and intrigues of the women within it. 
Subversive and refreshing, Silveira blends great storytelling with personal politics to critique the machismo, authoritarianism, and abuses of power prevalent in Brazilian culture. 
It's a delicate subject, the family story is complicated, and not everything was wine and roses. There was, of course, much happiness and love, many battles and accomplishments, great feats—after all, the women here helped to build this country from nearly nothing. But there were also stories of insanity, or murderesses, and not a few sorrows and tragedies. Great disappointments. A good many of them. 
Maria José Silveira is the author of ten novels, including the prize-winning Her Mother's Mother's Mother and Her Daughters, the film rights to which were sold to TV Globo. 
Eric M. B. Becker is editor of Words Without Borders and an award-winning journalist and literary translator. He received a PEN/Heim Translation grant for his work on Mia Couto, and has also translated works by Lygia Fagundes Telles, Noemi Jaffe, and others.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Bride Price - cover

    The Bride Price

    Anne Mallory

    • 3
    • 41
    • 0
    Winner take all . . .  
    Sebastien Deville, the debauched, dangerously handsome illegitimate son of the Duke of Grandien, has waited his whole life for revenge—and suddenly it is there for the taking. A competition sponsored by the ing has all the ton talking. The winner will receive an immense fortune, a newly created title, sponsorship, and a well-born bride—everything Sebastien needs to reclaim his mother's stolen lands and to wield the colossal power itching beneath his fingertips. His victory is all but assured . . . until he meets Caroline. 
    Caroline Martin knows all about Sebastien, the legendary heartbreaker who leaves women weeping in his wake, and she is determined not to see him win the competition in which he would claim her friend as his bride. Yet sabotage is so very hard to concentrate on when the target's searing glances promise incredible pleasure and his skillful hands vow unimaginable desire. She knows the danger he presents, the temptation he offers, yet she is willing to risk everything for all she holds dear. 
    But Sebastien Deville will do anything to win . . . and Caroline's heart may become the ultimate prize.
    Show book
  • Katherine's Web - cover

    Katherine's Web

    Maureen Mitson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This is the story of a writer unravelling a web of mystery, people and places; the mystery perpetuated through generations and still unresolved. Then a hoard of notes and mementos so unexpected, so astonishing, comes to light from a hiding place cunningly concealed that our writer senses they were not meant to be discovered. Should she betray a confidence? Was their hiding an understandable wish for discretion? Or a deliberate caution harbouring a recurring dread…? 
    Katherine’s Web is the third novel in Maureen Mitson’s Anglo-German-Australian trilogy detailing the lives and experiences of three women from the early days of colonisation until the present day. Katherine is the daughter of Esther in Esther’s Wars, who was the daughter of Beatrice in Beatrice’s Commonsensical Approach.
    Show book
  • The Diney Costeloe Collection - cover

    The Diney Costeloe Collection

    Diney Costeloe

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    A collection of three novels by global bestselling author Diney Costeloe: 
     
    THE RUNAWAY FAMILY. 
     
    A mother's struggle to protect her family and escape Nazi persecution in World War Two Germany. 
     
    THE SISTERS OF ST CROIX. 
     
    A gripping story of love, death and danger in Nazi-occupied France. 
     
    THE THROWAWAY CHILDREN. 
     
    Gritty, heartrending and unputdownable – the story of two sisters sent first to an English, then an Australian orphanage in the aftermath of World War 2.
    Show book
  • An American in Barcelona - Dr Pearson The Man Who Brought Light to Catalonia - cover

    An American in Barcelona - Dr...

    Xavier Moret

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    An inspirational novel of the real-life engineer whose ambitious project to build an electrical grid in Catalonia changed Barcelona forever Xavier Moret illuminates the story of the American engineer Frederick Stark Pearson, an entrepreneur with a global vision, whose innovative business ventures brought electricity to Catalonia. From his arrival in Barcelona in June 1911, Dr. Pearson played a key role in the industrialization of the city, building tram and train networks to benefit from this new form of energy. However, tragedy strikes when Dr. Pearson dies aboard the Lusitania, torpedoed and sunk by a German U-boat. Suddenly, his ambitious project of urban and spatial planning is in jeopardy. Moret compellingly envisions these historic events and the daily life of the American and Spanish pioneers in the local villages and work camps—a world reminiscent of the Wild West. He interweaves this story with his account of his own passionate commitment to chronicling Dr. Pearson’s remarkable achievements, and how this process of research and discovery ultimately changed his life.
    Show book
  • Harry Heron: Midshipman's Journey - cover

    Harry Heron: Midshipman's Journey

    Patrick G Cox

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the vein of Horatio Hornblower, Patrick G. Cox weaves an exciting, authentic tale of Harry Nelson-Heron, a young midshipman in the British Navy in the early 1800s. Born in 1789 during the Irish Rebellion, Harry must overcome the prejudice against the Irish, the ancient enmity between his family and another, and the usual hazards of an active and inquisitive youth in order to realise his dream of becoming an officer in Britain’s Royal Navy. When he and his faithful friend and companion Ferghal make the treacherous journey to London to find a ship, fate smiles on them. Harry is appointed a midshipman, and Ferghal joins him on the HMS Bellerophon as a seaman. Corsairs, diplomacy, and exploration challenge their skills as the seafaring life takes Harry and Ferghal across the seas and beyond. This book is entirely a work of historical fiction. Be sure to read book two in the series, Harry Heron: Into the Unknown, to see where the adventure leads.
    Show book
  • The Married Girls - cover

    The Married Girls

    Diney Costeloe

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    An unputdownable drama from the bestselling author of The Girl With No Name. 
     
    Wynsdown, 1949. In the small Somerset village of Wynsdown, Charlotte Shepherd is happily married and now feels settled in her adopted home after arriving from Germany on the Kindertransport as a child during the war. 
     
    Meanwhile, the squire's fighter pilot son, Felix, has returned to the village with a fiancée in tow. Daphne is beautiful, charming... and harbouring secrets. After meeting during the war, Felix knows some of Daphne's past, but she has worked hard to conceal one that could unravel her carefully built life. 
     
    For Charlotte, too, a dangerous past is coming back in the shape of fellow refugee, bad boy Harry Black. Forever bound by their childhoods, Charlotte will always care for him, but Harry's return disrupts the village quiet and it's not long before gossip spreads. 
     
    The war may have ended, but for these girls, trouble is only just beginning. 
     
    What readers are saying about The Married Girls: 
     
    'Thoroughly enjoyed this book' 
     
    'Three words: wonderful, captivating and enthralling' 
     
    'I am so pleased I found this author' 
     
    'Diney Costeloe at her best.
    Show book