Slay dragons. Discover the killer. Make Love. Read without limits. #WorldBookDay offer until April 28!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Her Mother's Mother's Mother and Her Daughters - cover

Her Mother's Mother's Mother and Her Daughters

Maria José Silveira

Translator Eric M.B. Becker

Publisher: Open Letter

  • 2
  • 4
  • 1

Summary

Spanning 500 years of Brazilian history, Her Mother's Mother's Mother and Her Daughters chronicles a family of women, beginning in 1500 with the birth of Inaiá, daughter of a Tupiniquim warrior, and ending in 2001 with Inaiá's distant descendent, Maria Flor. As each new daughter takes the place of her mother, and the mothers before her, Maria José Silveira's captivating, cinematic prose takes us through the formation of the country itself, as well as through the roles, customs, challenges, and intrigues of the women within it. 
Subversive and refreshing, Silveira blends great storytelling with personal politics to critique the machismo, authoritarianism, and abuses of power prevalent in Brazilian culture. 
It's a delicate subject, the family story is complicated, and not everything was wine and roses. There was, of course, much happiness and love, many battles and accomplishments, great feats—after all, the women here helped to build this country from nearly nothing. But there were also stories of insanity, or murderesses, and not a few sorrows and tragedies. Great disappointments. A good many of them. 
Maria José Silveira is the author of ten novels, including the prize-winning Her Mother's Mother's Mother and Her Daughters, the film rights to which were sold to TV Globo. 
Eric M. B. Becker is editor of Words Without Borders and an award-winning journalist and literary translator. He received a PEN/Heim Translation grant for his work on Mia Couto, and has also translated works by Lygia Fagundes Telles, Noemi Jaffe, and others.

Other books that might interest you

  • Undiscovered Mazo de la Roche 9-Book Bundle - Explorers of the Dawn Possession Delight and 6 more - cover

    Undiscovered Mazo de la Roche...

    Mazo de la Roche

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Discover hidden gems from the bestselling author of the Jalna series.
     
     
    
    A farm inheritance cultivates an illicit love affair. An orphan finds a home with two sisters and their writer lodger and soon discovers strange and frightening events. Three motherless boys living at boarding school find freedom in their limitless imaginations. With these stories, Mazo de la Roche explores the lives of a fascinating and endearing set of characters.
     
     
    
    Discover beloved author Mazo de la Roche again with these enduring classics. Nine-book bundle includes: 
    
    
    Explorers of the Dawn 
    Possession
    Delight
    Lark Ascending
    Growth of a Man
    The Two Saplings
    A Boy in the House
    The Song of Lambert
    Bill and Coo
    Show book
  • The Bride Price - cover

    The Bride Price

    Anne Mallory

    • 12
    • 117
    • 0
    Winner take all . . .  
    Sebastien Deville, the debauched, dangerously handsome illegitimate son of the Duke of Grandien, has waited his whole life for revenge—and suddenly it is there for the taking. A competition sponsored by the ing has all the ton talking. The winner will receive an immense fortune, a newly created title, sponsorship, and a well-born bride—everything Sebastien needs to reclaim his mother's stolen lands and to wield the colossal power itching beneath his fingertips. His victory is all but assured . . . until he meets Caroline. 
    Caroline Martin knows all about Sebastien, the legendary heartbreaker who leaves women weeping in his wake, and she is determined not to see him win the competition in which he would claim her friend as his bride. Yet sabotage is so very hard to concentrate on when the target's searing glances promise incredible pleasure and his skillful hands vow unimaginable desire. She knows the danger he presents, the temptation he offers, yet she is willing to risk everything for all she holds dear. 
    But Sebastien Deville will do anything to win . . . and Caroline's heart may become the ultimate prize.
    Show book
  • The Miniaturist - A Novel - cover

    The Miniaturist - A Novel

    Jessie Burton

    • 3
    • 4
    • 0
    Now a television miniseries, as seen on Masterpiece on PBS 
    Set in seventeenth century Amsterdam—a city ruled by glittering wealth and oppressive religion—a masterful debut steeped in atmosphere and shimmering with mystery, in the tradition of Emma Donoghue, Sarah Waters, and Sarah Dunant. 
    ”There is nothing hidden that will not be revealed . . .“ 
    On a brisk autumn day in 1686, eighteen-year-old Nella Oortman arrives in Amsterdam to begin a new life as the wife of illustrious merchant trader Johannes Brandt. But her new home, while splendorous, is not welcoming. Johannes is kind yet distant, always locked in his study or at his warehouse office—leaving Nella alone with his sister, the sharp-tongued and forbidding Marin. 
    But Nella’s world changes when Johannes presents her with an extraordinary wedding gift: a cabinet-sized replica of their home. To furnish her gift, Nella engages the services of a miniaturist—an elusive and enigmatic artist whose tiny creations mirror their real-life counterparts in eerie and unexpected ways . . . 
    Johannes’ gift helps Nella to pierce the closed world of the Brandt household. But as she uncovers its unusual secrets, she begins to understand—and fear—the escalating dangers that await them all. In this repressively pious society where gold is worshipped second only to God, to be different is a threat to the moral fabric of society, and not even a man as rich as Johannes is safe. Only one person seems to see the fate that awaits them. Is the miniaturist the key to their salvation . . . or the architect of their destruction? 
    Enchanting, beautiful, and exquisitely suspenseful, The Miniaturist is a magnificent story of love and obsession, betrayal and retribution, appearance and truth.
    Show book
  • The Alexandrian Embassy - cover

    The Alexandrian Embassy

    Robert Fabbri

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Rome, AD 39: Rome. Marcus Salvius Magnus, leader of the Crossroads Brotherhood, is buying a dangerous cargo of illegal weaponry. When a deal which will ensure Magnus's dominance over Rome's criminal underworld goes sour, Magnus must regain the shipment by any means necessary... 
    As the rival West Viminal Brotherhood threatens his whole operation, Magnus fights to outwit his opponents whilst juggling the threat of the law and the demands of his patron. With enemies, plots and intrigue on all sides, can Magnus manage to evade death long enough to emerge victorious? 
    A VESPASIAN NOVELLA
    Show book
  • Mosaic Law: A Junction City Western - A Junction City Western #1 - cover

    Mosaic Law: A Junction City...

    S. D. Parker

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    What would you do if your spouse was murdered? 
    The answer comes in an exciting new western novelette from author S. D. Parker, written in the style of Louis L'Amour, James Reasoner, Robert Vaughn, and C. K. Crigger. 
    Isabella Gilmour woke one morning thinking it was just another day. It wasn't. It was the day the horrifying news thundered down on her: her husband had been shot dead by Bart Conway, the scion of the biggest cattle rancher of Junction City, Texas. In her moment of anguish, she invokes Mosaic Law: an eye for an eye, a life for a life. 
    She makes a simple request of her father: "Go get Stephen's rifle." 
    Her desperate father begs her to let the legal system work. She claims the right to kill her husband's killer. 
    Will she, or will she let justice come in the form of a bullet? 
    If you like reading Ron Schwab, Chet Cunningham, and Frank Leslie, then you'll love "Mosaic Law".
    Show book
  • The Bandits of Bonanza Flats - Farr and Fat Jack #5 - cover

    The Bandits of Bonanza Flats -...

    Kendall Hanson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    After bandits rob a Burns & Sadler stagecoach, Farr and Fat Jack volunteer to protect the next valuable shipment for a chance to confront the outlaw Dave Campey.
    Show book